Categories
Dub (Revolution Review

Dub Evolution June 2009


I saw it with the highest expectations DubDocumentary by Bruno Natal. With expectations that were too high, it seems, because instead of portraying the music, its fascinating way of production and performance, the film often did not go through the series of interviews that were too substantial. Perhaps that was the reason for Souljazz's decision to dedicate a CD of the same title to the film - which, however, is not sold in a bundle with the film, but has to be purchased separately. A purchase that is well worth it, given the CD "Dub Echoes "(Soul Jazz / Indigo) in no way contains the “soundtrack” of the documentary, but a completely independent and also extremely competent and tasteful compilation of Dubs from the long history of the genre. The spectrum ranges from Lee Perry productions to King Tubby mixes to Sly & Robbie, Rhythm & Sound to the latest Dubstep-tracks from Kode9 or Harmonic 313. And as the Dynamite compilations show, Souljazz doesn't believe in chronology. Why the C64 sound from Disrupt here seamlessly on the Dub Syndicate with Bim Sherman's coaxing voice bounces only to be followed by one Dubto be swept away by a no less powerful King TubbyDub is contrasted. Orthodox music historians will tip off this mess. Music hedonists, on the other hand, should experience a full intoxication, because the unusual mix of the tracks results in a fascinatingly holistic one Dub-Experience in which the specific peculiarities and at the same time the universality of Dub to be absolutely evident. A sensual insight that can only be provided by the work itself and not through objective documentation. So maybe the film never had a chance to get a grip on its subject. The CD, on the other hand, manages it with dreamlike security. I would like a whole series of compilations based on this pattern. And anyway: It's actually about time for Dub-Compilations - Dubthanks to step!

Where we're from Dubstep talk. The double CD "I love Dubstep "(Rinse / Groove Attack) landed in Germany one year late. Rinse vouches for selected ones based on compilations by Skream and Plastician Dubstep quality. With “I Love Dubstep “, Pirate Radio has now assembled a collection of the best of the last 5 years of the young genre. The 23 tracks on Disc 1 were put together by perhaps the busiest compilation mixer Youngsta and represent the Who Is Who des Dubstep: Skream, Caspa, Loefah, Skream, Benga, Distance and - did I already mention it: Skream. Wobble bass tracks have the upper hand here, nicely technoid and minimalistic. Disc 2, on the other hand, has taken on Geeneus and leads us to the dark side of the Dubstep. Significantly, he starts his collection with Shackleton and ends it with Burial. In between he gathers Digital Mystikz, The Bug, Fat Freddy's Drop (which one would not have expected here) and of course Skream. Who your entry into Dubstep would like to dare is well served with the 45 tracks.

We continue with the second Dubstep CD release of the month: Caspa, "Everybody's Talking - Nobody's Listening" (Sub Soldiers / Rough Trade). Right at the intro my heart was really warm: I hadn't heard the voice of good old David Rodigan, who starts here in praise of Caspa, on the radio for a long time. The 12 tracks that follow have nothing to do with reggae. But all the more so with a large disco rave. Compared to the productions on “I Love Dubstep “are caspas Dubs often mercilessly overproduced, oscillating between techno and pop and not infrequently annoying with excessive grime raps and voiceovers (as fitting with the album title). But there are also more reduced - and therefore all the more powerful - tracks like z. B. “Terminator”, which is completely dominated by a brutally brutal wobble bass, or “I Beat My Robot” - mechanically cold, ruthless and evil.

You want the warm beats of classic reggaeDubs back. And who delivers it to us? Of course our local favorite label Echo Beach again. This time it will be an extraterrestrial one Dub- Artifact Presents: Dubblestandart, Lee Scratch Perry & Ari Up, “Return From Planet Dub"(Collision / Groove Attack). Back from the planet Dub, pack the four Viennese boys from Dubblestandart from what they brought us from there: finds, trophies and the acoustic recordings of two aliens with the names Lee "Scratch" Perry and Ari Up. Okay, Alien # 1 has a deterrent effect, I know! Perry's babbling is in fact hardly bearable. But the Dubblestandarts have pleasantly cut his torrent of speech to a fraction, so that his songs are closer Dubs with sampled vocals. Only with "Fungus Rock" is Perry allowed to make fables about fungal diseases of the vagina - no one had the heart to shorten this wacky text. “Fungus Rock” is interesting for another reason, because this is where the Viennese experiment Dubheads with great virtuosity Dubstep. In general, one has to state that the Dubblestandarts are truly up to date. Every song is full of great ideas, the mix is ​​exciting, the basslines swing and the sound is overwhelming. And so that you can really enjoy this virtuosity, CD 2 of the double album offers all tracks again as Dub-Versions - which sounds like an absurd idea, since every piece on CD 1 already has a Dub is. Anyway, I would love to listen to a third CD with remixes of the remixes. Especially since it is teeming with immortal melodies. There are very, very cool reinterpretations of “Chase The Devil” and “Blackboard Jungle” - why hasn't anyone else come up with this great idea at Lee Perry as a studio guest? My personal favorite, however, is the Jean-Michel Jarre homage "Oxygen pt. 4" with director David Lynch at the microphone. You can only say: Welcome back! We are glad that you are back!

Not from the planet Dub I received the new album from the beautiful northern Italy RB Stylers, “Indubstria "(Alambic Conspiracy / Import). In the best old school manner, it presents 12 tracks as a showcase, one song each followed by his Dub-Mix. Hand-played, powerful rhythms shape the sound, which is somewhere between Zion Train and Draedzone. Particularly noteworthy are the melodious and at the same time powerful songs by singer Michela Grena, which on the one hand form a nice complement to the rhythms, but on the other - as can be heard on the starter song "Let The Shine" - are in perfect harmony with the music. The vowel versions go seamlessly into the Dub-Mix over so that a piece lasts almost 8 minutes. The best thing about the album, however, is that it is - hard to believe - free (and legal) on the BR Stylers homepage (www.brstylers.com) can be downloaded.

One answer to "Dub Evolution June 2009 "

Post a comment

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Kategorien
Dub Dub (R)evolution

Dub Evolution Juni 2009


Mit höchsten Erwartungen sah ich dem Dub-Dokumentarfilm von Bruno Natal entgegen. Mit zu hohen Erwartungen, wie es scheint, denn statt die Musik, ihre faszinierende Art der Produktion und Aufführung zu portraitieren, erging sich der Film in der Aneinanderreihung oft nicht allzu substantieller Interviews. Vielleicht war das der Grund für Souljazz‘ Entscheidung, dem Film eine CD gleichen Titels zu widmen – die allerdings nicht im Bundle mit dem Film vertrieben wird, sondern extra gekauft werden muss. Ein Kauf, der sich durchaus lohnt, da die CD “Dub Echoes” (Soul Jazz/Indigo) keineswegs den „Soundtrack“ der Doku enthält, sondern eine gänzlich eigenständige und zudem äußerst kompetente und geschmackssichere Zusammenstellung von Dubs aus der langen Geschichte des Genres. Das Spektrum erstreckt sich von Lee Perry-Produktionen über King Tubby-Mixen zu Sly & Robbie, Rhythm & Sound bis hin zu aktuellen Dubstep-Tracks von Kode9 oder Harmonic 313. Und wie es bereits die Dynamite-Kompilationen zeigen, hält man bei Souljazz nichts von Chronologie. Weshalb der C64-Sound von Disrupt hier nahtlos auf das Dub Syndicate mit Bim Shermans einschmeichelnder Stimme prallt, nur um danach von einem Dubstep-Wumms hinweggefegt zu werden, der schließlich von einem nicht weniger kraftvollen King-Tubby-Dub kontrastiert wird. Orthodoxe Musikhistoriker werden bei diesem Durcheinander Ausschlag bekommen. Einen Vollrausch hingegen dürften Musikhedonisten erleben, denn die ungewöhnliche Mischung der Tracks ergibt eine faszinierend ganzheitliche Dub-Experience, in der die spezifischen Eigenheiten und zugleich die Universalität von Dub ganz und gar evident vor Augen treten. Eine sinnliche Einsicht, die nur von dem Werk selbst und nicht durch eine sachliche Dokumentation geleistet werden kann. Vielleicht hatte der Film daher nie eine Chance, sein Thema in den Griff zu bekommen. Die CD schafft es hingegen mit traumwandlerischer Sicherheit. Ich würde mir eine ganze Kompilationsreihe nach diesem Muster wünschen. Und überhaupt: Eigentlich ist es doch mal wieder an der Zeit für Dub-Compilations – Dubstep sei Dank!

Wo wir gerade von Dubstep reden. Die Doppel-CD „I Love Dubstep“ (Rinse/Groove Attack) ist mit einem Jahr Verspätung auch in Deutschland gelandet. Rinse bürgt nach Compilations von Skream und Plastician für ausgesuchte Dubstep-Qualität. Mit „I Love Dubstep“ hat das Pirate-Radio nun eine Sammlung des Best Of der letzten 5 Jahre des jungen Genres versammelt. Die 23 Tracks der Disc 1 wurden vom vielleicht meist beschäftigten Compilation-Mixer Youngsta zusammengestellt und präsentieren das Who Is Who des Dubstep: Skream, Caspa, Loefah, Skream, Benga, Distance und – hatte ich ihn schon erwähnt: Skream. Wobble-Bass-Tracks haben hier die Oberhand, schön technoid und minimalistisch. Der Disc 2 hat sich hingegen Geeneus angenommen und führt uns eher zur dunklen Seite des Dubstep. Bezeichnenderweise beginnt er seine Kollektion mit Shackleton und beendet sie mit Burial. Dazwischen versammelt er Digital Mystikz, The Bug, Fat Freddy‘s Drop (die man hier eher nicht erwartet hätte) und natürlich Skream. Wer dein Einstig in Dubstep wagen möchte, ist mit den 45 Tracks bestens bedient.

Weiter geht‘s mit dem zweiten Dubstep-CD-Release des Monats: Caspa, „Everybody‘s Talking – Nobody‘s Listening“ (Sub Soldiers/Rough Trade). Gleich beim Intro wurde es mir so richtig warm ums Herz: Die Stimme des guten alten David Rodigan, der hier zu einem Lobgesang auf Caspa anhebt, hatte ich schon lange nicht mehr im Radio gehört. Die 12 Tracks, die dann folgen, haben mit Reggae allerdings nichts zu tun. Dafür umso mehr mit einem Großraumdisco-Rave. Verglichen mit den Produktionen auf „I Love Dubstep“ sind Caspas Dubs häufig gnadenlos überproduziert, pendeln zwischen Techno und Pop und nerven nicht selten durch ausufernde Grime-Raps und Voiceovers (wie passend bei dem Albumtitel). Es gibt aber auch reduziertere – und dafür umso schlagkräftigere – Tracks wie z. B. „Terminator“, der ganz von einem bestialisch brutalen Wobble-Bass dominiert wird, oder „I Beat My Robot“ – mechanisch kalt, rücksichtslos und böse.

Da wünscht man sich die warmen Beats des klassischen Reggae-Dubs zurück. Und wer liefert sie uns? Natürlich wieder unser heimatliches Lieblingslabel Echo Beach. Dieses Mal wird ein extraterrestrisches Dub-Artefakt präsentiert: Dubblestandart, Lee Scratch Perry & Ari Up, „Return From Planet Dub“ (Collision/Groove Attack). Zurück vom Planeten Dub, packen die vier Wiener Jungs von Dubblestandart aus, was sie uns von dort mitgebracht haben: Fundstücke, Trophäen und die akustischen Aufzeichnungen zweier Aliens mit den Namen Lee „Scratch“ Perry und Ari Up. Okay, Alien Nr. 1 hat eine abschreckende Wirkung, ich weiß! Perrys Gebrabbel ist in der Tat kaum erträglich. Aber die Dubblestandarts haben seinen Redeschwall wohltuend auf einen Bruchteil beschnitten, so dass seine Songs eher Dubs mit eingesampelten Vocals ähneln. Nur beim „Fungus Rock“ darf Perry nach Belieben über Pilzerkrankungen der Vagina fabulieren – diesen abgefahrenen Text zu kürzen, brachte wohl niemand übers Herz. „Fungus Rock“ ist aber aus einem weiteren Grund interessant, denn hier experimentieren die Wiener Dubheads ganz virtuos mit Dubstep. Überhaupt muss man konstatieren, dass die Dubblestandarts wahrlich auf der Höhe der Zeit sind. Jeder Song steckt voller guter Ideen, der Mix ist spannend, die Basslines swingen und der Sound ist überwältigend. Und damit sich diese Virtuosität auch richtig auskosten lässt, bietet CD 2 des Doppelalbums alle Tracks noch einmal als Dub-Versions – was nach einer absurden Idee klingt, da jedes Stück auf CD 1 ja schon ein Dub ist. Egal, ich würde auch noch eine dritte CD mit Remixen der Remixe begeistert anhören. Zumal es hier von unsterblichen Melodien nur so wimmelt. So gibt es sehr, sehr coole Neuinterpretationen von „Chase The Devil“ und „Blackboard Jungle“ – warum ist bei Lee Perry als Studiogast sonst noch niemand auf diese grandiose Idee gekommen? Mein persönlicher Favorit ist jedoch die Jean-Michel Jarre-Hommage „Oxygen pt. 4“ mit Regisseur David Lynch am Mikrophon. Da kann man nur sagen: Welcome back! Wir sind froh, dass ihr wieder da seid!

Nicht vom Planeten Dub sondern aus dem schönen Norditalien erreichte mich das neue Album der R. B. Stylers, „Indubstria“ (Alambic Conspiracy/Import). In bester Old School-Manier präsentiert es 12 Tracks als Showcase, also je ein Song gefolgt von seinem Dub-Mix. Handgespielte, wuchtige Rhythms prägen den Sound, der irgendwo zwischen Zion Train und Draedzone liegt. Besonders erwähnenswert sind die melodiösen und zugleich kraftvollen Songs von Sängerin Michela Grena, die einerseits einen schönen Komplementär zu den Rhythms bildeen, andererseits aber – wie auf Startsong „Let The Shine“ gut zu hören – in perfektem Einklang mit der Musik stehen. Nahtlos gehen die Vokalversionen in den Dub-Mix über, so dass ein Stück fast 8 Minuten dauert. Das Beste an dem Album ist aber, das es – kaum zu glauben – kostenlos (und legal) auf der Homepage der B. R. Stylers (www.brstylers.com) heruntergeladen werden kann.

Eine Antwort auf „Dub Evolution Juni 2009“

Kommentar verfassen

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.