Categories
Reggae

iLLBiLLY HiTEC: King Size Dub Special - Overdubbed by Dub Pistols

Out of us over! The iLLBiLLY HiTECs give up. What a pity. The world needs good reggae bands who are keen to experiment and play, who don't care about narrow genre boundaries and orthodox style theory, bands who succeed in sharing the energy of 90ies dancehall Dub and electronics that really get going and produce real party music - without switching off claim and intelligence. In short: iLLBiLLY HiTEC is disbanding and has earned an official obituary in the form of a best-of album - and that is exactly what gives them "King Size Dub Special: iLLBiLLY HiTEC (Overdubbed by Dub Pistols)“Our favorite Hamburg label Echo Beach. Since there are only three real albums of the iLLBiLLYs, the King Size represents Dub Spechial edition with no less than 21 tracks represents a considerable part of the total oeuvre of the German band. There are also a number of instrumental and DubVersions, which makes the whole thing interesting for us too. I have to admit, the first time I listened to it, I was a bit stressed by the album's overwhelming energy, but the longer it ran, the more I liked it. In the past few weeks, I've always clicked it when I needed a good mood boost. What can I say: it worked every time. Catchy melodies, smart arrangements, clever sampling, powerful up-tempo beats and the ingenious dramaturgy of the sampler cannot fail. I also love the good old jungle beats that are interspersed here as an intermediate sprint. And the three Dubmatix mixes are terrific again anyway. Oh yes, almost forgot: all the tracks were from the Londoners Dub Pistols overdubbed. I have Original and Overdubb not compared with the magnifying glass, but I can't help but get the impression that the pistols fired with a rather small caliber.

Rating: 4 out of 5.
Categories
Five Star Reggae Review

Radical Vibration: Abaddown

At Steppers, opinions always differ significantly. However, I am completely open-minded in this regard and really appreciate good steppers. I love sound system nights when the bass bursts over the heads of the dancers like storm surges. Nights when body and rhythm become one. A Dub not be repetitive enough at all. What might sound boring on the sofa is just right in the sound system. Only a few beat-makers have mastered the art, this repetitive, meditative, magical Dubs that work so perfectly in the sound system. One of them resides - not in the UK, but in Geneva: Radikal Vibration. The name is program. The four beat producers and sound system operators Sabu, Son'Ja, Robert Safety & Flegus deliver the ultimate hardcore beats, which they decorate with illustrious vocal artists, or give it to the very best. Last year they released the Brother Culture album, Code Name, from which the hit “Jump Up Pon It” emerged. They just started with "Abaddown“(Evidence Music) a second album with various vocalists like King Kong, Mark Wonder, Micah Shemaiah, Teacha Dee, Wayne Smith, Senham Smith and others - but also with four massive ones Dubs after. I'm deeply impressed by that (the emphasis is on "heavy"). Above all Dubs roar in my ears that it is a relief. I would say: This year's Heavy Bass Prize is going - at the last minute - to Switzerland!

Rating: 5 out of 5.
Categories
Five Star Reggae Review

Marcel-Philipp: Morning Sessions, Vol. 1 & 2

CS2977586-02A-BIG

Dub tends to be rather dark music. Magical, mystical, metaphysical - deep and difficult. But how about the complete antithesis to our favorite sound: happy, lively, optimistic music that goes well with a sunny summer morning in the country? Here it is: Marcel-Philipp: "Morning Sessions Vol. 1" and "Morning Sessions Vol. 2" (Ashera Records). The young multi-instrumentalist from Baden-Wuerttemberg presents us with 24 so incredibly lively instrumentals, spread over two albums, that it is pure joy. Anyone who does not feel the sun rise while listening to the “Morning Sessions” must be an incorrigible misanthropist. Its sound reminds me of those Studio One recordings where Jackie Mittoo touched the keys and the groove just poured out. The organ also plays a leading role with Marcel-Philipp - directly after the melodica, the instrument that is inextricably linked with the name Augustus Pablo. The simplicity and childlike innocence inherent in its sound fit perfectly with the simple and therefore all the more beautiful melodies that Marcel-Philipp elicits from it. The arrangement of the instrumentals' up-tempo beats, which are mostly reminiscent of early reggae, is characterized by its simplicity. Anyone who wants to could consider this naive and under-complex. I, on the other hand, tend to just have fun with this thoroughly optimistic music.

Rating 5 stars

Categories
Five Star Reggae Review

Hollie Cook: Twice

Screenshot-2014 05-24 to 16.56.24

I have to get rid of it: I'm totally flashed by Hollie Cook's new album right now Twice. Such a wacky, cool combination of superb, ultra-tightly produced Ska and Reggae rhythms and Hollie's bright, floating voice - that just makes me happy. And then there are the strings that totally annoyed me with the Trojan productions of the 70s - here they are used congenially. Then there are just great melodies and beautiful, touching lyrics. But the best thing is that Twice designed as a showcase album, so Hollies songs seamlessly into one Dub- Skip version. Great.
That producer Prince Fatty and Hollie Cook are a winning team, they have already proven on Hollie's debut album. On Twice now outdo yourself.
Rating 5 stars

Categories
Five Star Reggae Review

Lee "Scratch" Perry: Back on the Controls

Lee Perry

It's tragic. Whenever I get a new one Lee Perry-Album flutters on the table, I feel more duty than pleasure to listen to it. Lee Perry was once THE innovator of reggae. The originator of a fantastically complex, magical and absolutely unique sound, born from the happy encounter between analog studio equipment, gifted musicians, a lot of marijuana and even more rum with a very special genius that resides in Lee Perry's head (still this side of the border to madness) was. Towards the end of the 1970s, genius crossed this line and Perry became the quirky, babbling owl whose monotonous monologues have since been heard on countless albums by third-rate reggae bands. Bands trying to capitalize on Perry's legendary name to this day. What a crash, what a tragic fate. Now a new attempt: Daniel Boyle - a little-known British reggae producer - had been working with the Madman on a new album for around a year. Before that, he had meticulously bought the equipment from Perry's Black Ark studio and experimented with it until he finally succeeded in what no one had ever done before: reproducing the legendary sound from Perry's prime. Now the new work is available, to which Perry not only contributed the (let's call it) vocals, but which he allegedly co-produced: Lee "Scratch" Perry: Back on the Controls. It's a double showcase album with 11 vocal tunes and 11 DubVersions and, thanks to a successful Kickstarter campaign, is also being released as a CD and beautifully illustrated double vinyl edition. Top or flop? No doubt about it: It catapults itself to the rank of probably the best Perry album of the modern age - a rank, however, which it ranks with Adrian Sherwood's "Dub Setter ”album from 2010. Daniel Boyle (who I hadn't seen before) and Perry have created an official masterpiece here by copying the Black Ark sound, but fortunately foregoing (with one exception) re-brewing the old pieces. Instead, the two of them go their own way, present strong, independent rhythms interspersed with warm brass sections, dose Lee Perry's babbling very appropriately, even elicit some good melodies from him and also offer fantastic melodies as a bonus DubVersions. Perry also seems to have recognized that he has something very special in his hands, which is why he decided to revive his honorable upset label to offer the album a worthy home. Welcome back, Mr. Perry.
Screenshot-2014 04-18 to 20.40.26

Categories
Reggae Review

Mishmash Vol. 1

CS2408494-02A-BIG

Alpha & Omega have released a new album: The Half That's Never Been Told (Steppas Records). I don't know anyone Dub-Act that's been productive for so many years, like Alpha & Omega. But not only that: they have been so true to their style for around 25 years that it is difficult to distinguish between new albums and re-releases. The Half That's Neve Been Told makes no exceptions: heavy bass, dark rumbling, monotonous - just the way we love it.

CS2410665-02A-BIG

The Resonators have their album The Constant a DubVersion and this together with the original album on a Deluxe Edition (Wah Wah 45s) packed. I already loved the vocal versions. The Dubs make me feel good now.

CS2419287-02A-BIG

I've never had from Dub for Light heard, but the new album Mindset (Dan Dada) then I noticed. Rarely so minimalist Dub belongs. Certainly not my favorite album, but it is definitely an exciting listening experience.

CS2408642-02A-BIG

Not only the son of Augustus Pablo does Dubs, also the son of Jah Shaka, Young Warrior, is in the Dub-Business. For his sound system he has produced several tracks, 6 of which are now instrumentals plus Dub-Versions on the album Presents Dub Box (Jah Shaka) released can be heard. Of course, hardcore steppers, as usual from the father. However, these are quite simple, digital productions that sound like they were recorded in a tin can. In the sound system this is clear, but not on the home hi-fi.

CS2426207-02A-BIG

If more digital Dub, then rather like on the album Mangrove Meets Ganjaman_72 in 5-Track Digital Dub Flight. 1 (Fast Forward Sound). Here, the 8-bit sound à la Jahtari is deliberately played - in a virtuoso manner. The album, the Ganjaman_5, offers 72 tracks by Mangrove in the best Shwocase style DubVersions. Nice.

CS2406378-02A-BIG

As you can often read in the blog: I'm a big, big fan of Prince Fatty. In his row Prince Fatty vs. he now competes against Mungo's Hi Fi (= Prince Fatty vs. Mongo's Hi Fi (Mr. Bongo)). What fun! Not much with me Dub To do, it's still a terrific old-school album in the style of the digital dancehall of the early 1990s. Absolutely suitable for those times Dub-Blow bass debris out of your ears.

CS2435472-02A-BIG

Where we are currently with non-Dub-Albums are: Chronixx Debut Dread & Terrible I really like (Chronixx Music). Has an irresistible old school charm and also offers three nice ones Dubs.

CS2438732-02A-BIG

So, I still have one: Various Artists: Dub Tentacles, Vol. 5 (Fresh Poulp). After the last, rather Dubstep-oriented Dub-Tentacles Vol. 4, the net label is now 100% again Dub returned. That's right! With the exception of Du3normal, everyone is gathered here for me Dub-Acts unknown, but I still like their sound. The sampler offers nothing exciting new, but is still worth listening to - especially since it is available for download free of charge: http://www.fresh-poulp.net/releases/fpr070/

Categories
Reggae Review

Ruts DC: Rhythm Collision Vol. 2

Ruts DC

1982 met the British ex-punk band Ruts DC the crazy professor in his Ariwa studio for the first time and there recorded the album “Rhythm Collision Vol. 1”, which has been mixed up and down there since the label Echo Beach was founded. Now, 31 years after this work, the remaining Ruts men have knocked on Mad Professor again for a new one Dub- Produce album. Prof. Neil Fraser should have been very happy about this (as was Echo Beach), because even after more than three decades, the legendary name of the Ruts should still be able to mobilize a group of buyers beyond the regular reggae audience. The professor was probably less pleased that his very own profession, namely the mix of the album, was not in demand at all. Prince Fatty was supposed to do this job. Now lies the promising work, "Rhythm Collision Vol. 2“(Echo Beach), finally before - and it didn't go bad at all. Okay, enthusiasm sounds different. Ultimately, it's a matter of taste. It feels more like an instrumental album to me. It's nowhere near as deep as I think modern Dub-Album, on the other hand, it's not as playful as I think Prince Fatty can be. Instead of pure rhythm & sound, the Ruts DCs rely on classic song structures and authentic band sound. And you can't complain: the songs are mostly really good and the guest vocalists (Tenor Fly, Molara, Aynzli Jones and others) are very good across the board. Of course there are good ones too Dubs. The track "Sun and Stars" is such a case. Wonderfully deconstructed, detoxified and puristically mixed by Prince Fatty. Also a great old schoolDubwhich sounds as if Scientist had been sitting in the studio with Augustus Pablo, is the track "Heavyweight Style". I would have wished for more of that.

My verdict: 31 years later - here it is: the new album from ex-punk-band Ruts DC. More instrumental than pure dub. But the songs are nice.
My rating: 6 (out of 10)
Check it out: Juno

Categories
Reggae

David Rodigan on the BBC

Rodigan

I owe my reggae socialization in large part to a man: David Rodigan. In the 1980s he sent his two-hour radio show "Rodigans Rockers" to the living rooms of local reggae fans via BFBS. After that, it was part of the Kiss FM program for a long time, but it could not be received in Germany. After Kiss had postponed his reggae show to increasingly unattractive slots (it ended up being Sunday night at midnight), Rodigan announced and signed on to the BBC. Today his new show ran for the first time. Here in Germany you can follow it on the internet - and if you miss it, you can catch up on it on the BBC website. Memories are awakened. Welcome back!
Rodigan on BBC 1Xtra

Categories
Reggae

Dreadsquad: The Riddim Machine Versions

versions

In the meantime, excellent reggae is emerging almost everywhere in Europe: France, England, Italy, Germany: all great reggae nations. Poland is also one of them. A producer from Lodz alone takes the credit for this: Marek Bogdanski aka Dreadsquad! Since 2001 he has been screwing together some wonderful, energetic rhythms that are musically located somewhere between Ska, Early Reggae and Dancehall. Over time, they have been voiced by a variety of European and Jamaican artists (Ward 21, Tenor Fly, Top Cat, General Levy, U Brown, Milion Stylez, Lady Chann, Tipa Irie, Jah Mason, Perfect, Dr Ring Ding) and in In the form of a few solo albums and many singles (which, however, were compiled into one-rhythm samplers) Last year, “The Riddim Machine” was a Best Of Dreadsquad that I ran in continuous rotation for a long time. Well, a year later, no, unfortunately not the right one appears DubAlbum, but “only” a version album, with the largely unmixed rhythms. It is appropriately titled “The Riddim Machine Versions” (Superfly Studio Poland) - and what can I say: I'm loving it! Great instrumentals, which it is not surprising that they inspired the artists mentioned above to create excellent songs. In addition to original compositions, you can also hear great reworkings by riddims like Sleng Teng or Stalag. That is fun! Now I'm just waiting for that DubAlbum - or optionally on new material. Mainly supplies from the east.
Audio sample at Juno

Categories
Reggae

Studio One Ironsides

Studio One Ironsides

I love the music from Coxson's Studio One. But unfortunately, unfortunately, I've heard my nice, not so small Studio One collection so often in the course of my more than thirty years of passion for reggae that the songs - no matter how fantastic - no longer appeal to me. But now the soul jazz label, which in recent years has made a great contribution to the processing of the Studio One catalog, has released an album whose appeal I have completely succumbed to: “Studio One Ironsites”. Although the album also contains some of the great Studio One classics, it mixes them so cleverly with rare, almost unheard material that for me it amounts to a rediscovery of good old Studio One.
Audio sample on iTunes

iLLBiLLY HiTEC: King Size Dub Special – Overdubbed by Dub Pistols

Aus uns vorbei! Die iLLBiLLY HiTECs danken ab. Wie schade. Die Welt braucht gute, experimentier- und spielfreudige Reggae-Bands, die auf enge Genre-Grenzen und orthodoxe Stiltheorie pfeifen, Bands, denen es gelingt, die Energie des 90ies-Dancehall mit Dub und Elektronik zu verbinden, die mal so richtig loslegen und echte Party-Musik produzieren – ohne dabei Anspruch und Intelligenz abzuschalten. Kurz: iLLBiLLY HiTEC löst sich auf und hat einen amtlichen Nachruf in Form eines Best-Of-Albums verdient – und genau das spendiert ihnen mit „King Size Dub Special: iLLBiLLY HiTEC (Overdubbed by Dub Pistols)“ unser Hamburger Lieblingslabel Echo Beach. Da es von den iLLBiLLYs nur drei echte Alben gibt, repräsentiert die King Size Dub Spechial-Ausgabe mit sage und schreibe 21 Track einen beachtlichen Teil des Gesamtoevres der deutschen Band. Darunter befinden sich auch etliche Instrumental- und Dub-Versionen, was die ganze Sache auch für uns interessant macht. Ich muss zugeben, beim ersten schnellen Hören hat mich die überbordende Energie des Albums anfangs schon etwas gestresst, doch je länger es lief, desto besser gefiel es mir. In den letzten Wochen klickte ich es immer an, wenn ich einen gute Laune-Boost gebrauchen konnte. Was soll ich sagen: hat jedes mal geklappt. Eingängige Melodien, smarte Arrangements, cleveres Sampling, druckvolle Uptempo-Beats und die ausgeklügelte Dramaturgie des Samplers können nicht scheitern. Ich liebe ja auch die guten alten Jungle-Beats, die hier als Zwischensprint eingestreut sind. Und die drei Dubmatix-Mixe sind sowieso wieder grandios. Ach ja, fast vergessen: Alle Tracks wurden von den Londoner Dub Pistols overdubbed. Ich habe Original und Overdubb zwar nicht mit der Lupe verglichen, kann mich des Eindrucks jedoch nicht erwehren, dass die Pistolen mit eher kleinem Kaliber geschossen haben.

Meine Wertung:

Radikal Vibration: Abaddown

Bei Steppers gehen hier die Meinungen ja stets deutlich auseinander. Ich bin diesbezüglich jedoch völlig open minded und weiß guten Steppers sehr zu schätzen. Ich liebe  Sound System-Nächte, in denen die Bässe über den Köpfen der Tanzenden herein brechen wie Sturmfluten. Nächte, in denen Körper und Rhythmus eins werden. Dazu kann ein Dub gar nicht repetitiv genug sein. Was auf dem Sofa vielleicht langweilig klingt, ist im Sound System gerade recht. Nur wenige Beat-Schmieden beherrschen die Kunst, diese repetitiven, meditativen, magischen Dubs zu bauen, die im Sound System so perfekt funktionieren. Eine davon residiert – nicht im UK, sondern in Genf: Radikal Vibration. Der Name ist Programm. Die vier Beat-Producer und Sound System-Operators Sabu, Son’Ja, Robert Safety & Flegus liefern ultimative Hardcore-Beats, die sie mit illustren Vocal Artists dekorieren, oder auch pur zum besten geben. Letztes Jahr veröffentlichten sie das Brother Culture-Album: „Code Name“, aus dem der Hit „Jump Up Pon It“ hervor ging. Soeben legten sie mit „Abaddown“ (Evidence Music) ein zweites Album mit diversen Vokalisten wie King Kong, Mark Wonder, Micah Shemaiah, Teacha Dee, Wayne Smith, Senham Smith und anderen – aber auch mit vier wuchtigen Dubs nach. Ich bin davon schwer beeindruckt (die Betonung liegt auf „schwer“). Vor allen die Dubs dröhnen in meinen Ohren, dass es eine Wohltat ist. Ich würde sagen: Der diesjährige Heavy-Bass-Prize geht – auf den letzten Drücker – in die Schweiz!

Meine Wertung:

Marcel-Philipp: Morning Sessions, Vol. 1 & 2

CS2977586-02A-BIG

Dub ist tendenziell eine eher dunkle Musik. Magisch, mystisch, metaphysisch – tief und schwer. Doch wie wäre es mal mit der kompletten Antithese zu unserem Lieblings-Sound: Eine fröhliche, beschwingte, optimistische Musik, die zu einem sonnigen Sommermorgen auf dem Land passt? Hier ist sie: Marcel-Philipp: „Morning Sessions Vol. 1“ und „Morning Sessions Vol. 2“ (Ashera Records). Der junge Multiinstrumentalist aus Baden-Württemberg präsentiert uns hier 24 auf zwei Alben verteilte, so ungemein beschwingte Instrumentals, dass es eine pure Freude ist. Wer beim Hören der „Morning Sessions“ nicht die Sonne aufgehen spürt, muss unverbesserlicher Misanthrop sein. Sein Sound erinnert mich an jene Studio One-Aufnahmen, bei denen Jackie Mittoo in die Tasten griff und der Groove nur so strömte. Auch bei Marcel-Philipp spielt die Orgel eine Hauptrolle – direkt nach der Melodica, jenem Instrument, das untrennbar mit dem Namen Augustus Pablo verknüpft ist. Die ihrem Klang innenwohnende Einfachheit und kindliche Unschuld passen kongenial zu den schlichten und dadurch nur umso schöneren Melodien, die Marcel-Philipp ihr entlockt. Auch das Arrangement der meist an frühen Reggae erinnernden Uptempo-Beats der Instrumentals zeichnet sich durch Einfachheit aus. Wer will, könnte das für naiv und unterkomplex halten. Ich hingegen neige dazu, an dieser durch und durch optimistischen Musik einfach Spaß zu haben.

Rating 5 Stars

Meine Wertung:

Hollie Cook: Twice

Bildschirmfoto 2014-05-24 um 16.56.24

Ich muss es loswerden: Ich bin momentan völlig geflasht von Hollie Cooks neuem Album Twice. So eine abgefahrene, coole Kombination von superben, ultra-tight prodzierten Ska- und Reggae-Rhythms und Hollies heller, über den Dingen schwebender Stimme – das macht mich einfach glücklich. Und dann wären da noch die Streicher, die mich bei den Trojan-Produktionen der 70er total genervt haben – hier sind sie kongenial eingesetzt. Hinzu kommen einfach großartige Melodien und schöne, anrührende Texte. Das Beste aber ist, dass Twice als Showcase-Album konzipiert ist, Hollies Songs also nahtlos in eine Dub-Version übergehen. Klasse.
Dass Produzent Prince Fatty und Hollie Cook ein Winner-Team sind, haben sie ja schon auf Hollies Debut-Album bewiesen. Auf Twice übertreffen sie sich jetzt selbst.
Rating 5 Stars

Meine Wertung:

Lee „Scratch“ Perry: Back on the Controls

Lee Perry

Es ist schon tragisch. Immer, wenn mir ein neues Lee Perry-Album auf den Tisch flattert, verspüre ich mehr Pflicht als Lust, es mir anzuhören. Lee Perry war einmal DER Innovator des Reggae. Der Urheber eines fantastisch komplexen, magischen und absolut einzigartigen Sounds, geboren aus der glücklichen Begegnung von analogem Studioequipment, begnadeten Musikern, viel Marihuana und noch mehr Rum mit einem ganz speziellen Genius, der im Kopf Lee Perrys (noch diesseits der Grenze zum Wahnsinn) beheimatet war. Gegen Ende der 1970er Jahre überschritt das Genie diese Grenze und Perry wurde zu dem verschrobenen, brabbelnden Kauz, dessen monotone Monologe seither auf ungezählten Alben oft drittklassiger Reggae-Bands zu hören sind. Bands, die versuchen, aus dem legendären Namen Perrys bis heute Kapital zu schlagen. Welch Absturz, welch tragisches Schicksal. Nun ein neuer Versuch: Seit rund einem Jahr arbeitete Daniel Boyle – ein wenig bekannter britischer Reggae-Produzent – mit dem Madman an einem neuen Album. Zuvor hatte er die Ausstattung von Perrys Black Ark-Studio akribisch nachgekauft und so lange mit ihr herumexperimentiert, bis ihm schließlich gelang, was zuvor noch niemand geschafft hatte: den legendären Sound aus Perrys bester Zeit zu reproduzieren. Nun liegt das neue Werk vor, zu dem Perry nicht nur den (nennen wir es mal) Gesang beisteuerte, sondern das er angeblich auch mitproduziert hat: Lee „Scratch“ Perry: Back on the Controls. Es ist ein Doppel-Showcase-Album mit 11 Vocal-Tunes und 11 Dub-Versions und erscheint dank einer erfolgreichen Kickstarter-Kampagne auch als CD und schön bebilderte Doppel-Vinyl-Ausgabe. Top oder Flop? Kein Zweifel: Es katapultiert sich auf den Rang des wohl besten Perry-Albums der Neuzeit – einen Rang allerdings, den es sich mit Adrian Sherwoods „Dub Setter“-Album von 2010 teilen muss. Daniel Boyle (der mir bisher noch nicht untergekommen war) und Perry haben hier ein amtliches Meisterwerk geschaffen, indem sie den Black Ark-Sound zwar kopieren, glücklicherweise aber darauf verzichten (mit einer Ausnahme) die alten Stücke neu aufzubrühen. Statt dessen gehen die beiden eigene Wege, präsentieren starke, eigenständige, mit warmen Bläsersätzen durchzogene Rhythms, dosieren Lee Perrys Gebrabbel sehr angemessen, entlocken ihm sogar einige gute Melodien und bieten als Bonus zudem noch fantastische Dub-Versions. Auch Perry scheint erkannt zu haben, dass er da etwas ganz Besonderes in den Händen hält, weshalb er sich dazu entschlossen hat, sein ehrenvolles Upsetter-Label wiederzubeleben, um dem Album eine würdige Heimat zu bieten. Willkommen zurück, Mr. Perry.
Bildschirmfoto 2014-04-18 um 20.40.26

Meine Wertung:

Mishmash Vol. 1

CS2408494-02A-BIG

Alpha & Omega haben ein neues Album veröffentlicht: The Half That’s Never Been Told (Steppas Records). Ich kennen keinen Dub-Act, der seit so vielen Jahren produktiv ist, wie Alpha & Omega. Doch nicht nur das: sie sind seit rund 25 Jahren ihrem Stil so treu, dass es schwer fällt, neue Alben  und Wiederveröffentlichungen voneinander zu unterscheiden. The Half That’s Neve Been Told macht da keine Ausnahmen: bassschwer, düster grollend, monoton – genau so, wie wir es lieben.

CS2410665-02A-BIG

Die Resonators haben ihrem Album The Constant eine Dub-Version geschenkt und diese zusammen mit dem Originalalbum auf eine Deluxe Edition (Wah Wah 45s) gepackt. Ich habe schon die Vocal-Versionen geliebt. Die Dubs machen mich jetzt seelig.

CS2419287-02A-BIG

Noch nie hatte ich von Dub for Light gehört, aber das neue Album Mindset (Dan Dada) ist mir dann doch aufgefallen. Selten so minimalistischen Dub gehört. Wird gewiss nicht mein Lieblingsalbum, aber eine spannende Hörerfahrung ist es auf jeden Fall.

CS2408642-02A-BIG

Nicht nur der Sohn von Augustus Pablo macht Dubs, auch der Sohn von Jah Shaka, Young Warrior, ist im Dub-Business. Für sein Sound System hat er einige Tracks produziert, von denen nun 6 Instrumentals plus Dub-Versions auf dem Album Presents Dub Box (Jah Shaka) veröffentlicht zu hören sind. Natürlich Hardcore-Steppers, wie vom Vater gewohnt. Allerdings handelt es sich um recht simple, digitale Produktionen, die so klingen, als seien sie in einer Blechdose aufgenommen worden. Im Sound System geht das klar, auf dem Home-HiFi eher nicht.

CS2426207-02A-BIG

Wenn schon digitaler Dub, dann lieber so wie auf dem Album Mangrove Meets Ganjaman_72 in 5-Track Digital Dub Vol. 1 (Fast Forward Sound). Hier wird bewusst mit dem 8-Bit-Sound à la Jahtari gespielt – und zwar virtuos. 5 Tracks von Mangrove bietet das Album, die Ganjaman_72 in bester Shwocase-Manier um Dub-Versions ergänzt hat. Nice.

CS2406378-02A-BIG

Wie im Blog des öfteren zu lesen ist: Ich bin ein großer, großer Fan von Prince Fatty. In seiner Reihe Prince Fatty vs. tritt er nun gegen Mungo’s Hi Fi an (= Prince Fatty vs. Mongo’s Hi Fi (Mr. Bongo)). Was für ein Spaß! Hat zwar nicht viel mit Dub zu tun, ist aber trotzdem ein grandioses Old-School-Album im Stile der Digital-Dancehall der frühen 1990er Jahre. Absolut geeignet, um mal die Dub-Bass-Ablagerungen aus den Ohren zu blasen.

CS2435472-02A-BIG

Wo wir gerade bei Nicht-Dub-Alben sind: Chronixx Debut Dread & Terrible (Chronixx Music) gefällt mir richtig gut. Hat einen unwiderstehlichen Old School-Charme und bietet zudem noch drei schöne Dubs.

CS2438732-02A-BIG

So, einen hätte ich noch: Various Artists: Dub Tentacles, Vol. 5 (Fresh Poulp). Nach dem letzten, eher Dubstep-orientiertem Dub-Tentacles Vol. 4, ist das Netlabel nun wieder zu 100% Dub zurück gekehrt. Richtig so! Mit Ausnahme von Du3normal sind mir alle hier versammelten Dub-Acts unbekannt, ihr Sound gefällt mir aber trotzdem. Der Sampler bietet zwar nix aufregend Neues, ist aber trotzdem hörenswert – zumal er kostenlos zum Download bereit steht: http://www.fresh-poulp.net/releases/fpr070/

Meine Wertung:

Ruts DC: Rhythm Collision Vol. 2

Ruts DC

1982 traf die britische Ex-Punkband Ruts DC zum ersten Mal den verrückten Professor in dessen Ariwa-Studio und nahm dort das Album „Rhythm Collision Vol. 1“ auf, das seit Bestehen des Labels Echo Beach dort rauf und runter gemixt wird. Nun, 31 Jahre nach diesem Werk, haben die verbleibenden Ruts-Mannen wieder bei Mad Professor angeklopft, um dort ein neues Dub-Album zu produzieren. Darüber dürfte sich Prof. Neil Fraser sehr gefreut haben (ebenso wie Echo Beach), denn selbst nach über drei Dekaden sollte der legendäre Name der Ruts noch eine Käuferschicht jenseits des Reggae-Stammpublikums mobilisieren können. Weniger gefreut hat sich der Professor aber wahrscheinlich darüber, dass seine ureigenste Profession, nämlich der Mix des Albums, gar nicht gefragt war. Diesen Job sollte Prince Fatty übernehmen. Nun liegt das vielversprechende Werk, „Rhythm Collision Vol. 2“ (Echo Beach), endlich vor – und ist gar nicht schlecht geworden. Okay, Enthusiasmus klingt anders. Letztendlich ist es eine Frage des Geschmacks. Mir kommt es eher wie ein Instrumentalalbum vor. Es ist bei weitem nicht so deep, wie ich mir ein modernes Dub-Album wünsche, andererseits ist es aber auch nicht so verspielt, wie ich es Prince Fatty durchaus zutraue. Statt auf puren Rhythm & Sound, setzten die Ruts DCs auf klassische Songstrukturen und authentischen Band-Sound. Und da kann man nicht meckern: Die Songs sind größtenteils wirklich gelungen und die Gastvokalisten (Tenor Fly, Molara, Aynzli Jones u.a.) durch die Bank sehr gut. Natürlich gibt es auch gute Dubs. Der Track „Sun and Stars“ ist so ein Fall. Von Prince Fatty wunderbar dekonstruiert, entschlackt und puristisch gemixt. Ebenfalls ein großer Old-School-Dub, der klingt, als hätte Scientist mit Augustus Pablo im Studio gesessen, ist der Track „Heavyweight Style“. Davon hätte ich mir mehr gewünscht.

My verdict: 31 years later – here it is: the new album from ex-punk-band Ruts DC. More instrumental than pure dub. But the songs are nice.
My rating: 6 (out of 10)
Check it out: Juno

Meine Wertung:

David Rodigan bei der BBC

Rodigan

Meine Reggae-Sozialisierung habe ich zu großen Teilen einem Mann zu verdanken: David Rodigan. Er schickte in den 1980ern seine zweistündige Radioshow „Rodigans Rockers“ via BFBS in die Wohnzimmer hiesiger Reggae-Fans. Danach war er lange Zeit bei Kiss FM im Programm, das aber in Deutschland nicht empfangen werden konnte. Nachdem Kiss seine Reggae-Sendung auf immer unattraktivere Sendeplätze verschoben hatte (zum Schluss war  es Sonntagnacht um 0 Uhr), kündigte Rodigan und heuerte bei der BBC an. Heute lief seine neue Sendung zum ersten Mal. Hier in Deutschland lässt sie sich via Internet verfolgen – und sollte man sie verpassen, so kann man sie auf der BBC-Seite nachholen. Da werden Erinnerungen wach. Welcome Back!
Rodigan auf BBC 1Xtra

Meine Wertung:

Dreadsquad: The Riddim Machine Versions

Versions

Mittlerweile entsteht nahezu überall in Europa vorzüglicher Reggae: Frankreich, England, Italien, Deutschland: alles große Reggae-Nationen. Neudings gehört auch Polen dazu. Den Verdienst daran trägt allein ein Produzent aus Lodz: Marek Bogdanski a.k.a. Dreadsquad! Seit 2001 hat er einige wunderbare, vor Energie sprühende Rhythms zusammengeschraubt, die musikalisch irgendwo zwischen Ska, Early Reggae und Dancehall angesiedelt sind. Im Laufe der Zeit wurden sie von einer Vielzahl europäischer und jamaikanischer Artists gevoiced (Ward 21, Tenor Fly, Top Cat, General Levy, U Brown, Milion Stylez, Lady Chann, Tipa Irie, Jah Mason, Perfect, Dr Ring Ding) und in Form von wenigen Solo-Alben und vielen Singles (die allerdings zu One-Rhythm-Samplern kompiliert wurden) veröffentlicht. Letztes Jahr erschien mit „The Riddim Machine“ ein Best Of Dreadsquad, das bei mir lange Zeit in Dauerrotation lief. Nun, ein Jahr später, erscheint – nein, leider nicht das dazu passende Dub-Album, sondern „nur“ ein Version-Album, mit den weitgehend ungemixten Rhythms. Es trägt den passenden Titel „The Riddim Machine Versions“ (Superfly Studio Poland) – und, was soll ich sagen: I’m loving it! Grandiose Instrumentals, bei denen es nicht verwundert, dass sie die oben genannten Artists zu hervorragenden Songs inspirierten. Neben Original-Kompositionen gibt es dort auch klasse Reworkings von Riddims wie Sleng Teng oder Stalag zu hören. Das macht Spaß! Jetzt warte ich nur noch auf das Dub-Album – oder wahlweise auf neues Material. Hauptsache Nachschub aus dem Osten.
Hörprobe bei Juno

Meine Wertung:

Studio One Ironsides

Studio One Ironsides

Ich liebe die Musik aus Coxsones Studio One. Doch leider, leider habe ich meine nette, gar nicht so kleine Studio One-Kollektion im Laufe meiner nunmehr über dreißigjährigen Leidenschaft für Reggae so of gehört, dass mich die Songs – auch wenn sie noch so fantastisch sind – nicht mehr so richtig reizen. Doch nun hat das Souljazz-Label, dass sich in den letzten Jahren ja sehr um die Aufarbeitung des Studio One-Katalogs verdient gemacht hat, ein Album heraus gebracht, dessen Reiz ich vollkommen erlegen bin: „Studio One Ironsites“. Obwohl das Album auch einige der großen Studio One-Klassiker enthält, mischt es diese so geschickt mit rarem, nahezu ungehörtem Material, dass es für mich geradezu einer Neuentdeckung des guten alten Studio Ones gleichkommt.
Hörprobe bei iTunes

Meine Wertung: