Categories
Events

Dub live.

Here again an overview of the upcoming Dub-Events.

On December 21, the 29. Dub Stories instead. This time the Roots Plague sound system is a guest. More information here.

Four days later there is the Reggae Attack X-Mas Special with the reverbalists and the Chalwa sound system in the same place. Info at FB.

On December 27th at Yaam in Berlin: Berlin Dub Arena - 4 sound systems in session! Unfortunately too far away for me. Info here.

And on December 28th, “Reggae /Dub Left Vol.15 “with Wicked Steppa Sound (France) and Bissoman (Italy) on the Versionist International Soundsystem, in Jeckyl & Hyde.

The new year begins on January 4th with the Senior Allstars on platform 1 in Münster. Find out more here.

On January 11th, the Soundsystemkultur Ruhr-Revier e. V. a rub a Dub-Night in Oberhausen. Here is the information.

On February 22nd, the AZ Wuppertal Dub Diversity # 9 of the Zion Garden Sound System takes place. Here is the information.

A little later in Cologne: Cologne Soundsystem Meeting on February 29th in the Kulturbunker. "Roots & Culture in a heavyweight style!". You can find information here.

Categories
Events

International Dub Gathering

Easter takes place for the third time the International Dub Gathering held in Spain. For me, however, it will be the first time. The fantastic line-up (Channel One, Congo Natty, Adrian Sherwood, Mungo's HiFi, Hempress Sativa, Blackborad Jungle, Alpha Steppa, Dubkasm - to name just a few) I couldn't resist and invested in tickets and flights. After the United Nations of Dub-Weekender has canceled the flags in cold Wales, it will now be three days at Bass & Sunshine in Alicante. Not a bad substitute in my opinion. More information about the event at Website.

Categories
Events

Serendubity festival

Germany also has its own Dub-Festival. However, the boundaries are not so narrowly drawn: Reggae, Ska, Balkan Beats, Dubstep, drum 'n' bass, jungle, etc. are part of the program. This time around: Braintheft, Illbilly Hitec & Longfingah, Dreadnut Inc., Jahtari Riddim Force, Chris Dubflow feat. Bigga Baloo and many other artists, bands and DJs. The time has come next weekend: the open-air festival will take place from July 19 to 21 in Berlin - with the best weather, it seems.
For more information: boomdubity.de

Categories
Events

I'm loving it: United Nations Of Dub-Weekender

Jah Shaka on the Unod weekender
Jah Shaka on the Unod weekender

Last weekend in the seaside resort of Prestatyn in North Wales / UK the “United Nations Of Dub-Weekender ”instead. Organized by the busy Dub-Tousassa I-mitri, it was the first multi-day festival of the Dubthat ever took place in the United Kingdom. The lineup was impressive: Jah Shaka played the first evening with their own sound system, the second evening was shared - also with their own sound system - the Iration Steppas, King Earthquake and Kibir La Amlak. For graduation on Sunday stood Aba Shanti-I on the schedule, which had to be canceled due to illness. So played instead Jah Tubby's, Young Warrior and Channel One for the favor of the assembled Dub-Local community. Anyone who has ever been a British Dub-Soundsystem live will know that the music here (despite all the proclaimed spirituality) becomes a thoroughly physical matter. The bass pressure waves that are released from the approximately four meter high speaker towers of the sound system are so powerful that they not only make your trouser legs flutter and set the lungs vibrating, but literally make every cavity in the body vibrate like a resonance body . This is how I perceived my sinuses for the first time in my life - not necessarily beautiful, but impressive.

All of the sound systems were great. They alternately played three tracks each plus rewinds and versions. While old Roots records found their way onto the turntables in the first hour, the rest of the nights belonged to the UK steppers sound, deafeningly loud, powerful and hypnotic. If the first third of a track is played with a largely balanced frequency ratio, then it belongs to Dub-Sound system ritual that inevitably comes to the point where the soundman turns up the bass frequency to one hundred percent and thus gives the dancers a physical kick in the buttocks. Even the coolest dreadlocks can no longer stand still.

The location of the extraordinary event was an event hall complex in the center of a typical holiday camp, as it covered the British west coast in the course of the 1950s. Originally, they offered average British families inexpensive all-inclusive holidays with five-bed rooms in row bungalows, direct access to the beach and evening entertainment in the casino or one of the halls. Since the golden days of these camps are long gone, they now love to open their gates to strange guests like long-haired guests Dub- Disciples from all over the world and put their halls in the service of a music that would have made the original guests of such facilities screaming the distance. So it came to be that an estimated 800 Dubheads, mostly from the UK, but also from France, Italy, Switzerland and even Japan (I had the impression that we were the only guests from Germany) in an almost surreal-looking scenery, between countless slot machines, chip shop, camping shop, youth home The ambience and turquoise-seated multi-purpose halls were found again.

In addition to the sound system arena, there were two other “floors”: the UNOD arena, in which various Dub-Artists (but with a permanently installed PA) performed and the “Selector's Arena”, the only room with a club feeling, in which various Selectors passed the tone arm every hour. I was particularly impressed by the appearance of Alpha & Omega, where Christine Omega played live bass. Manassehs Gig with Kenny Knotts Suffered from the competition of the sound systems in the big arena and was - although it was absolutely worth listening to - only followed by a few listeners, where however Steve Vibronics, Mungo's Hifi and the Bush Chemists the sound systems with their impressive performances could easily stand up to. The Selectors especially liked me Marek Bogdanski Dreadsquad convinces with his artistic DJ set.

A continuation of the weekender is already planned for 2014. We'll be there!

 unod-Weekender on Facebook

unod-Weekender website

Kategorien
Event

Dub live.

Hier mal wieder ein Überblick anstehender Dub-Events.

Am 21. Dezember finden im Tryptichon in Münster die 29. Dub Stories statt. Diesmal ist das Roots Plague Soundsystem zu Gast. Hier mehr Infos.

Vier Tage später gibt’s am gleichen Ort das Reggae Attack X-Mas Special mit den Reverbalists und dem Chalwa Sound-System. Infos bei FB.

Am 27. Dezember im Yaam in Berlin: Berlin Dub Arena – 4 Soundsystems in session! Leider zu weit weg für mich. Infos hier.

Und am 28. Dezember findet in Lüneburg “Reggae/Dub Links Vol.15” mit Wicked Steppa Sound (France) und Bissoman (Italy) auf dem Versionist International Soundsystem statt, und zwar im Jeckyl&Hyde.

Das neue Jahr beginnt am 4. 1. mit den Senior Allstars im Gleis 22 in Münster. Hier erfahrt ihr mehr.

Am 11. Januar veranstaltet der Soundsystemkultur Ruhr-Revier e. V. eine Rub a Dub-Night in Oberhausen. Hier die Infos dazu.

Am 22. Februar findet im AZ Wuppertal Dub Diversity #9 des Zion Garden Sound-System statt. Hier die Infos.

Wenig später in Köln: Cologne Soundsystem Meeting am 29. Februar im Kulturbunker. “Roots & Culture ina heavyweight Style!”. Infos gibt’s hier.

Kategorien
Event

International Dub Gathering

Ostern findet zum drittem Mal das International Dub Gathering in Spanien statt. Für mich wird es allerdings das erste Mal sein. Dem fantastischen Line-up (Channel One, Congo Natty, Adrian Sherwood, Mungo’s HiFi, Hempress Sativa, Blackborad Jungle, Alpha Steppa, Dubkasm – um nur einige zu nennen) konnte ich nicht widerstehen und habe in Tickets und Flug investiert. Nachdem der United Nations of Dub-Weekender im kalten Wales die Fahnen gestrichen hat, werden es nun drei Tage bei Bass & Sunshine in Alicante sein. Keine schlechter Ersatz, wie ich finde. Weitere Infos zum Event auf der Website.

Kategorien
Event

Serendubity-Festival

Auch Deutschland hat sein eigenes Dub-Festival. Allerdings werden die Grenzen nicht so eng gefasst: Reggae, Ska, Balkan Beats, Dubstep, Drum ‘n‘ Bass, Jungle, etc. gehören mit zum Programm. Mit von der Partie sind diesmal: Braintheft, Illbilly Hitec & Longfingah, Dreadnut Inc., Jahtari Riddim Force, Chris Dubflow feat. Bigga Baloo und viele andere Artists, Bands und DJs. Nächstes Wochenende ist es so weit: das Open-Air-Festival findet vom 19. bis 21 Juli in Berlin – bei bestem Wetter, wie es scheint – statt.
Weitere Infos unter: serendubity.de

Kategorien
Event

I’m loving it: United Nations Of Dub-Weekender

Jah Shaka auf dem Unod-Weekender
Jah Shaka auf dem Unod-Weekender

Letztes Wochenende fand in dem Badeort Prestatyn in North Wales/UK der „United Nations Of Dub-Weekender“ statt. Organisiert von dem umtriebigen Dub-Tausendsassa I-mitri, war es das erste mehrtägige Festival des Dub, das je im United Kingdom statt fand. Das Lineup war beeindruckend: Jah Shaka bestritt mit eigenem Sound System den ersten Abend, den zweiten Abend teilten sich – ebenfalls mit eigenen Soundsystems – die Iration Steppas, King Earthquake und Kibir La Amlak. Für den Abschluss am Sonntag stand Aba Shanti-I auf dem Schedule, der aber krankheitsbedingt absagen musste. So spielten statt dessen Jah Tubby‘s, Young Warrior und Channel One um die Gunst der versammelten Dub-Gemeinde. Jeder, der schon einmal ein britisches Dub-Soundsystem live erlebt hat, wird wissen, das die Musik hier (trotz aller proklamierten Spiritualität) zu einer durch und durch körperlichen Angelegenheit wird. Die Bass-Druckwellen, die sich von den ca. vier Meter hohen Lautsprechertürmen der Soundsystems lösen, sind so gewaltig, dass sie nicht nur die Hosenbeine flattern lassen und die Lungenflügel in Schwingungen versetzen, sondern buchstäblich jeden Hohlraum des Körpers wie einen Resonanzkörper zum vibrieren bringen. So habe ich zum ersten Mal in meinem Leben meine Nasennebenhölen wahrgenommen – nicht unbedingt schön, aber eindrucksvoll.

Alle Soundsystems waren großartig. Sie spielten abwechselnd je drei Tracks zzgl. Rewinds und Versions. Während in der jeweils ersten Stunde alte Roots-Scheiben ihren Weg auf die Plattenteller fanden, gehörte der Rest der Nächte dem UK-Steppers-Sound, ohrenbetäubend laut, gewaltig und hypnotisch. Wird das erste Drittel eines Tracks mit weitgehend ausgewogenem Frequenzverhältnis gespielt, so gehört es zum Dub-Soundsystem-Ritual, dass unweigerlich der Punkt kommt, an dem der Soundman die Bassfrequenz zu hundert Prozent aufdreht und den Tänzern damit geradezu körperlich einen Tritt in den Hintern verpasst. Selbst die coolsten Dreadlocks können dann nicht mehr ruhig stehen.

Ort des außergewöhnlichen Geschehens war ein Veranstaltungshallen-Komplex im Zentrum eines typischen Feriencamps, wie sie im Laufe der 1950er Jahren die britische Westküste überzogen. Ursprünglich boten sie britischen Durchschnittsfamilien preiswerte All-Inclusive-Ferien mit Fünfbettzimmern in Reihen-Bungalows, direktem Zugang zum Strand und abends Entertainment im Spielkasino oder einer der Hallen. Da die goldenen Zeiten dieser Camps längst vorbei sind, öffnen sie ihre Pforten inzwischen liebend gerne auch so absonderlichen Gästen wie langhaarigen Dub-Jüngern aus aller Welt und stellen ihre Hallen in den Dienst einer Musik, welche die ursprünglichen Gäste solcher Anlagen schreiend hätten das Weite suchen lassen. So kam es, dass sich schätzungsweise 800 Dubheads, überwiegend aus dem UK, aber auch aus Frankreich, Italien, der Schweiz und sogar Japan (ich hatte den Eindruck, wir waren die einzigen Gäste aus Deutschland) in einer geradezu surreal wirkenden Szenerie, zwischen ungezählten Geldspielautomaten, Pommesbude, Campingshop, Jugendheim-Ambiente und türkis bestuhlten Mehrzweckhallen wieder fanden.

Neben der Soundsystem-Arena gab es noch zwei weitere „Floors“: die U. N. O. D.-Arena, in der verschiedene Dub-Artists (allerdings mit einer fest installierten PA) auftraten und der „Selector‘s Arena“, dem einzigen Raum mit Club-Feeling, in dem diverse Selectors sich in stündlichen Wechsel den Tonarm weiterreichten. Besonders beeindruckt hat mich der Auftritt von Alpha & Omega, bei dem Christine Omega live Bass spielte. Manassehs Gig mit Kenny Knotts litt unter der Konkurrenz der Soundsystems in der großen Arena und wurde – obwohl er absolut hörenswert war – nur von wenigen Zuhörern verfolgt, wo hingegen Steve Vibronics, Mungo‘s Hifi und die Bush Chemists den Soundsystems mit ihren eindrucksvollen Auftritten locker Paroli bieten konnten. Bei den Selectors hat mich vor allem Marek Bogdanski Dreadsquad mit seinem kunstvollen DJ-Set überzeugt.

Für 2014 ist bereits eine Fortsetzung des Weekenders geplant. Wir werden da sein!

 u.n.o.d.-Weekender bei Facebook

u.n.o.d.-Weekender Website