Categories
Dub (Revolution Review

Dub Evolution, November 2008

"... One of the hardest dub albums ever released ”, says the Rough Guide To Reggae about the album "Dub I "by producer Jimmy Radway & The Fe Me Time All Stars (Pressure Sounds / Groove Attack). This statement is an excellent argument - about the fact that "Dub I was "one of the hardest albums ever TO GET", but there is no need for a discussion. Published in Jamaica in 1975 with an edition of only 300 copies, "Dub I ”as one of the first Dub-Albums in general - and an early work by master engineer Errol Thompson - something like the holy grail of reggae collectors. The chosen few, whose collection was crowned by one of the rare, remaining vinyl records on this album, now have to accept a sharp drop in the price of their assets, because Pressure Sounds re-releases that Dub-Album now perfectly remastered with five bonus tracks, the original cover and detailed liner notes. As a Dub-Connoisseur of the year 2008, knowing the long history of the Dub (even after 1975), the revolutionary new and above all the “hardness” of the album may no longer be revealed. You have already heard too much of this music, which is not lacking in innovations, you have had tons of heavy bass thrown around your ears and has been whirled through many an echo chamber. From today's perspective, the sound and the arrangement of "Dub I “somewhat conventional. In retrospect, however, one can understand why the dry, clear and straightforward sound, dominated by powerful brass, was perceived as revolutionary back then. If Radway's Micron label hadn't already been broke when the album was released, a higher circulation and a few promos in the mailboxes of Virgin or Island Records would certainly have secured Mr. Radway a place in the Reggae Hall Of Fame. It didn't turn out that way, which is why we are now more than thirty years late listening to the album and granting it the recognition it has been denied for so long.

How innovative Dub can be can be seen in the album "Kasbah Rockers with Bill Laswell" (Barraka) (to acquire z. B. via Amazon or iTunes). Under this title, the musician Pat Jabbar, who lives in Basel, has released an album with some artists from his Barraka label, the Trip Hop Beats, "Rai'n'B", Dub and combines progressive dance sounds with traditional Moroccan influences. Bill Laswell, who plays bass on 11 tracks, grooves here together with musicians and singers like Youssef El Mejjad from Amira Saqati, Abdelaziz Lamari and Abdelkader Belkacem from Maghrebika or Kadir & Erdem from the Swiss-Turkish hip hop crew Makale. It sings in Turkish and Arabic about the life of young Muslims in the western world - or exactly the other way around - the confrontation of the Islamic world with western influences. Incidentally, two tracks on the album, "Bledstyle" and "Shta", were selected by Ridley Scott for the soundtrack of his new film "Body Of Lies". You won't find proven reggae beats at the Kasbah Rockers, but the elements of Dub are ubiquitous. Laswell's heavy rolling bass in particular draws a direct connection to the Dub. Instrumentation, mix and arrangement do the rest. The mood of the music is dark, psychedelic and, last but not least, strange and exotic. An eventful, acoustic excursion into unknown territory.

In order to regain safe ground, let's listen to the new EP of Abassi All Stars, "No Answer" (Universal Egg / Import). Three of the four tracks are based on Mr. Perch's “No Answer” rhythm - an extremely fast steppers beat with the familiar synth sounds. But despite the now really more than worn sound, Neil Perch knows how to screw good rhythms together again and again and - perhaps his greatest achievement - to develop decent melodies. With Minoo, Omar Perry and Carlton Livingston there are three vocalists on “No Answer”, each of whom knows how to contribute a really nice song. Especially the refrain of the latter "I don't have the answers to all those questions" has an insidious catchy tune.

Let's stay briefly in the area of ​​the well-known: Alpha & Omega lay with "Songs From The Holy Mountain" (Alpha & Omega / Import) a new (new?) album. To be honest, I lost track of the two Brits. A&O have remained so consistently true to their style since the 1990s that you cannot tell whether you are listening to new or well-known material. Somehow everything here sounds like deep jungle. The vocals, which are contributed by Paul Fox and Jonah Dan, are definitely new. The two hardly came up with much, so the second part of the album with the DubVersion that is actually interesting. Although I probably own all A&O albums from the last 15 years and have heard them many times, the mystical, dark sound enchants me every time anew. This explains why nothing really good can be said about “Songs From The Holy Mountain”, but I still recommend the album from the bottom of my heart.

The Wackies label, which is carefully maintained in Berlin, is with "Black World Dub"(Wackies / Indigo) a new old work by Bullwackie's All Stars was released. First published in 1979, it offers us DubVersions of reworking old (Studio One) hits like "Heptones Gonna Fight", "Guiding Star", "Skylarking" or "This World". We owe this selection to Leroy Sibbles, who directed most of the recordings on the album and of course also contributed the bass playing. The sound is typical of Wackies: warm, soft and rather fuzzy. Some tracks have little surprises in store, such as the breathtaking percussions on "Skylarking" or the interspersed syndrums on "Morning Star", which at the time were the sensational product of the latest Japanese technology.

Heartbeat Records has just released a nice album for the Revival Selection: Dub Specialist, "Dub"(Heartbeat / in-acoustics). Here you can find Dub-Versions of classic Studio One recordings - which of course is always nice. This time there are among others "African Beat", "Mojo Rocksteady", "Swing Easy", "Mean Girl" and many more. Nice scruffy sound, wonderful basslines, great melodies and all of this, of course, remastered and nicely packaged. What more do you want?

Finally, let's take a quick look at an album from Jamaica: Penthouse All-Stars, "Dub Out Her Blouse & Skirt "(VP / Groove Attack). "Dub from Jamaica “sounds good at first, but in this case it is not very spectacular. The only thing you can hear on this VP release is Studio One reworkings, which Donovan Germain produced for his Penthouse label in the 1980s and 1990s. Digital material in a sound that has unfortunately survived quite a bit and today, whether its simplicity, is no longer quite convincing. You can hear Steele & Clevie, Robbie Lyn, Dave Kelly, the Firehouse Crew and Steven “Lenky” Marsden. By the way, from the album you can immediately understand why with the arrival of digital music in Jamaica the Dub took his leave.

One answer to "Dub Evolution, November 2008 "

Post a comment

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Dub Evolution, November 2008

„… One of the hardest dub albums ever released“, steht im Rough Guide To Reggae über das Album „Dub I“ von Produzent Jimmy Radway & The Fe Me Time All Stars (Pressure Sounds/Groove Attack). Über dieses Statement ließe sich vorzüglich streiten – darüber, dass „Dub I“ one of the hardest albums ever TO GET“ war, braucht es jedoch keine Diskussion. 1975 mit einer Auflage von nur 300 Stück in Jamaika veröffentlicht, war „Dub I“ als eines der ersten Dub-Alben überhaupt – und zudem noch ein Frühwerk von Meister-Engineer Errol Thompson – so etwas wie der heilige Gral der Reggae-Sammler. Die wenigen Auserwählten, deren Sammlung von einer der raren, verbliebenen Vinyl-Scheiben dieses Albums gekrönt wurden, müssen nun einen herben Kurssturz ihres Anlagevermögens hinnehmen, denn Pressure Sounds wiederveröffentlicht das Dub-Album nun perfekt remastert mit fünf Bonus-Tracks, dem Original-Cover und ausführlichen Linernotes. Als Dub-Connoisseur des Jahres 2008, mit Kenntnis der langen Geschichte des Dub (auch nach 1975), mag sich das revolutionär Neue und vor allem die „Härte“ des Albums nicht mehr erschließen. Zu viel von dieser an Innovationen nicht armen Musik hat man schon gehört, hat sich tonnenschwere Bässe um die Ohren hauen lassen und ist durch so manche Echo-Kammer gewirbelt worden. Aus heutiger Sicht wirkt der Sound und das Arrangement von „Dub I“ einigermaßen konventionell. Retrospektiv betrachtet lässt es sich jedoch nachvollziehen, warum der trockene, von kraftvollen Bläsern dominierte, klare und schnörkellose Sound damals als revolutionär wahrgenommen wurde. Wäre Radways Micron-Label zum Zeitpunkt der Veröffentlichung des Albums nicht bereits pleite gewesen, dann hätten eine höhere Auflage und ein paar Promos in den Briefkästen von Virgin- oder Island-Records, Mr. Radway gewiss einen Platz in der Reggae Hall Of Fame gesichert. So ist es nicht gekommen, weshalb wir uns das Album nun mit über dreißigjähriger Verspätung anhören und ihm die Anerkennung zugestehen, die ihm so lange versagt geblieben ist.

Wie innovativ Dub sein kann, lässt sich an dem Album „Kasbah Rockers with Bill Laswell“ (Barraka) (zu beziehen z. B. über Amazon oder iTunes) zeigen. Unter diesem Titel hat der in Basel lebenden Musikers Pat Jabbar mit einigen Artists seines Barraka-Labels ein Album veröffentlicht, das Trip Hop Beats, „Rai’n’B“, Dub und progressive Dance-Sounds mit traditionellen marokkanischen Einflüssen verbindet. Bill Laswell, der auf 11 Tracks Bass spielt, groovt hier zusammen mit Musikern und Sängern wie Youssef El Mejjad von Amira Saqati, Abdelaziz Lamari und Abdelkader Belkacem von Maghrebika oder Kadir & Erdem von der schweizerisch-türkischen Hip Hop-Crew Makale. Gesungen wird auf türkisch und arabisch über das Leben junger Muslime in der westlichen Welt – oder genau umgekehrt – die Konfrontation der islamischen Welt mit westlichen Einflüssen. Zwei Stücke des Albums, „Bledstyle“ und „Shta“, wurden übrigens von Ridley Scott für den Soundtrack seines neuen Films „Body Of Lies“ ausgewählt. Ausgewiesene Reggae-Beats sucht man bei den Kasbah Rockers zwar vergeblich, doch die Elemente des Dub sind allgegenwärtig. Vor allem Laswells schwer rollender Bass zieht eine direkte Verbindung zum Dub. Instrumentierung, Mix und Arrangement tun ihr übriges. Die Stimmung der Musik ist düster, psychedelisch und nicht zuletzt fremd und exotisch. Eine erlebnisreiche, akustische Exkursion in unbekanntes Gebiet.

Um wieder sicheres Terrain zurück zu gewinnen, hören wir jetzt mal in die neue EP der Abassi All Stars, „No Answer“ (Universal Egg/Import). Basis von drei der vier Tracks ist Mr. Perchs „No Answer“-Rhythm – ein ausgesprochen schneller Steppers-Beat mit den bekannten Synthie-Sounds. Doch Neil Perch versteht es trotz des nun wirklich mehr als abgenutzten Sounds, immer wieder gute Rhythms zusammen zu schrauben und – vielleicht sein größtes Verdienst – ordentliche Melodien zu entwickeln. So finden sich auf „No Answer“ mit Minoo, Omar Perry und Carlton Livingston gleich drei Vokalisten, von denen ein jeder einen richtig schönen Song beizusteuern weiß. Vor allem der Refrain des letzteren „I don‘t have the answers to all those questions“ hat eine heimtückische Ohrwurm-Qualität.

Bleiben wir kurz im Bereich des wohl bekannten: Alpha & Omega legen mit „Songs From The Holy Mountain“ (Alpha & Omega/Import) ein neues (neues?) Album vor. Ehrlich gesagt, habe ich bei den beiden Briten den Überblick verloren. A&O bleiben ihrem Stil seit den 1990er Jahren so konsequent treu, dass man nicht unterscheiden kann, ob man neues oder wohl bekanntes Material hört. Irgendwie klingt hier alles nach tiefstem Dschungel. Neu sind aber auf jeden Fall die Vocals, die von Paul Fox und Jonah Dan beigesteuert werden. Viel eingefallen ist den beiden aber kaum, so dass der zweite Teil des Albums mit den Dub-Versions, der eigentlich interessante ist. Obwohl ich wahrscheinlich alle A&O-Alben der letzten 15 Jahre besitze und sie auch schon viele Male gehört habe, verzückt mich der mystisch, düstere Sound jedes Mal von neuem. So erklärt sich, warum sich über die „Songs From The Holy Mountain“ nichts wirklich Gutes sagen lässt, ich das Album aber trotzdem von Herzen empfehle.

Auf dem in Berlin gewissenhaft gepflegten Wackies-Label ist mit „Black World Dub“ (Wackies/Indigo) ein neues altes Werk der Bullwackie‘s All Stars erschienen. Erstveröffentlicht im Jahre 1979, bietet es uns Dub-Versionen von Reworkings alter (Studio One-)Hits wie „Heptones Gonna Fight“, „Guiding Star“,„Skylarking“ oder „This World“. Zu verdanken haben wir diese Auswahl Leroy Sibbles, der die meisten Aufnahmen des Albums leitete und natürlich auch das Bassspiel beisteuerte. Der Sound ist typisch Wackies: warm, weich und ziemlich unscharf. So manche Tracks halten kleine Überraschungen bereit, wie etwa die atemberaubenden Percussions auf „Skylarking“ oder die eingestreuten Syndrums auf „Morning Star“, die seinerzeit das Aufsehen erregende Produkt modernster japanischer Technik waren.

Ein schönes Album für die Revival Selection hat Heartbeat Records soeben veröffentlicht: Dub Specialist, „Dub“ (Heartbeat/in-akustik). Hier finden sich Dub-Versions klassischer Studio One-Aufnahmen – was natürlich immer schön ist. Mit dabei sind diesmal u.a. „African Beat“, „Mojo Rocksteady“, „Swing Easy“, „Mean Girl“ und viele mehr. Schön schrammeliger Sound, wundervolle Basslines, tolle Melodien und das alles selbstverständlich remastert und schön verpackt. Was will man mehr?

Werfen wir abschließend noch einen kurzen Blick auf ein Album aus Jamaika: Penthouse All-Stars, „Dub Out Her Blouse & Skirt“ (VP/Groove Attack). „Dub aus Jamaika“ klingt zunächst gut, ist in diesem Fall aber wenig spektakulär. Zu hören gibt es auf diesem VP-Release nämlich lediglich Studio One-Reworkings, die Donovan Germain in den 1980er und 1990er Jahren für sein Penthouse-Label produziert hat. Digitales Material in einem Sound, der sich leider ziemlich überlebt hat und heute, ob seiner Simplizität, nicht mehr recht zu überzeugen weiß. Zu hören gibt es Steele & Clevie, Robbie Lyn, Dave Kelly, die Firehouse Crew und Steven „Lenky“ Marsden. An dem Album lässt sich übrigens unmittelbar nachvollziehen, warum mit dem Einzug der digitalen Musik in Jamaika der Dub seinen Abschied nahm.

Meine Wertung:

Ein Gedanke zu „Dub Evolution, November 2008“

Kommentar verfassen

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.