Sid Bucknor: Sid's Melodic Vibes

3 replies to “Sid Bucknor: Sid’s Melodic Vibes”

In a somewhat uninspired manner, the pieces are simply alphabetized from “Song A” to “Song J”. The uninspired only refers to the song names, the music is definitely more inspired.
A re-release, from when, I have no idea (70s?).
I find it irritating that they say it's an instrumental album and then "Song B" comes with vocals. And yes, the hi-hats are sometimes mixed a bit harshly... otherwise the songs are waiting for time and leisure for a serious, conscious listen...

Another addendum: The cover is misleading!
The songs live exclusively from guitars, organs and percussion... there are no brass instruments!

I think these are true (rare) treasures! The riddims create an ethereal or let's say very distant feeling. The keyboard sound is sometimes recorded a little too blatantly or “brightly” or perhaps just takes itself a little too seriously.
What you (Philip) perceive here as “a bit garish” is often referred to by me as “cymbals” – loosely taken from the “Flying Cimbals”. Singers like Johnny Clark were probably really into it. I can't understand that with the best of intentions. To me that sounds like a sound-technical accident.
Nevertheless, these “melodic vibes” here are a real feast for the ears for me.

Cheers …………. lemmi

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * marked

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Sid Bucknor: Sid’s Melodic Vibes

3 Antworten auf „Sid Bucknor: Sid’s Melodic Vibes“

Etwas uninspiriert sind hier die Stücke einfach von „Song A“ bis „Song J“ durchalphabetisiert. Das uninspiriert bezieht sich aber nur auf die Songnamen, die Musik ist definitiv inspirierter.
Ein Re-Release, von wann, keine Ahnung (70er-Jahr?).
Irritierend finde ich, dass es heisst, es sei ein Instrumental-Album und dann der „Song B“ mit Vocals daher kommt. Und ja, die Hi-Hats sind z.T. etwas gar grell abgemischt… ansonsten warten die Songs auf Zeit und Musse für ein ernsthaftes, bewusstes Anhören…

Noch ein Nachtrag: Das Cover ist irreführend!
Die Songs leben ausschliesslich von Gitarren, Orgeln und Perkussion… Bläser sind nicht dabei!

Ich finde, das sind wahre ( rare ) Schätze ! Die Riddims erzeugen ein himmlisches oder sagen wir mal, sehr abgehobenes Gefühl. Der KeyboardSound ist auch manchmal etwas zu krass bzw. „grell“ aufgenommen oder nimmt sich vielleicht auch nur etwas zu wichtig.
Das, was Du ( Philipp ) hier als „etwas gar grell“ empfindest wird von mir sehr oft als „gezimbele“ – frei von den „Flying Cimbals“ übernommen – bezeichnet. Sänger wie Johnny Clark standen da wohl voll drauf. Ich kann das beim besten Willen nicht nachvollziehen. Für mich klingt das nach einem soundtechnischen Unfall.
Dennoch sind diese „Melodic Vibes“ hier, ein echter Ohrenschmaus für mich.

Greetings …………. lemmi

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.