Categories
Review

Adam Prescott meets Joe Ariwa

Ever since father Neil Fraser, the mad professor, retired, his son Joe has been taking care of new Ariwa productions. And since he has a preference for cooperation projects with other producers, there is now the album "Adam Prescott meets Joe Ariwa“(Ariwa). They both put their production skills together, hired Black Steel and Ashanti Selah (son of Aba Shanti-I) as musicians and built fat roots rhythms: classic one-drop, but also massive steppers. From my point of view, the latter turned out better. They make up for what they lack in melody and arrangement with pure energy. Indeed: most Dubs are not particularly inspired. The two vocal tunes by Ranking Joe and Donovan KingJay don't really help either. Just as little as Adam Prescott's melodic playing. I think it's wonderful that Joe is continuing his father's work, but I haven't really been enthusiastic about his albums so far. Unfortunately, “Adam Prescott Meets Joe Ariwa” is (again) no exception.

Rating: 3 out of 5.

2 replies to "Adam Prescott Meets Joe Ariwa"

Ok, I'm ready. My opinion on the album is "done".

I don't know now whether “fat Roots Riddims” is a typo or whether it is meant exactly that way. Why shouldn't riddims be "fat" sometimes. Dub, or art is always a bit of a matter of interpretation. So I'll take that as the "finest,
fat riddims ”and totally agree.
Adrian Sherwood: "At first you need a good riddim, to make a good Dub "
And the riddims here are mostly top notch !!! Ashanti Selah is not really known to me, but Black Steel is even more so.
I don't know any riddim with Black Steel who hasn't bathed in reggae soup. Black Steel is reggae !!! No matter who is sitting at the mixer and if no one is at the "Dubbutton, if Black Steel is there, I'm there too. Mad Professor, Adrian Sherwood and Lee Perry were for a long time the measure of all things in the Dub. In the meantime, my horizons have expanded enormously in this regard. Adrian Sherwood and On-U.Sound have been the undisputed number one in mine since “Heavy Rain” DubCosmos and have shown that they still have the
Avant-garde and the spearhead in Dub are. (My name is not Pato Banton, but this is my opinion). Ariwa still owes me such a work before it goes back to one of my top addresses in DubMusic can be. Nevertheless, I think the riddims here are very successful and I personally like them so much that I like the DubMix is ​​then no longer that important. I think so, by the way
"Dub Ripe Fruit “I really like Raging Fyah too. The riddims have a warmth and a groove that make me very good DubFeeling. I'm also not that big a fan of the special "Ariwa bassDub-Effekt “(I once knew its name) and also with the MickeyMouse effects I sometimes have my problems. Still that is DubMix
still much more pleasant, varied and also much more charming than this very dull, almost depressing UK steppers Dub. (Fikir Amlak is just having something really boring with this Alpha Steppa outside. I can keep it completely outside. Although I am mega-happy about Fikir Amlak in Uk-steppers-style at a staid street festival with loud beer stalls and fun pop music would).
Well, what I actually wanted to say is that Joe Ariwa certainly still has potential upwards, but as long as he has good riddims in his luggage, I'll definitely be there.

By the way, I think “Rise and Fall” is really bold. For me this is excellent roots reggae with fine DubApplications. The Dub in addition, leverages the filthy walls of Babylon completely with an almost arrogant ease and without having to make the slightest effort. (I have to express it so swollen, otherwise my feeling will not come across properly). And immediately afterwards it goes with "South East Trod" and the one that goes with it DubDiversion in seven miles of boots over the desolate plains of Mordor, on towards Mount Zion. The "Meditation Rock" then follows in the same footsteps again and does
the album perfect for me!

So much for now …………………… lemmi

Hello.
On the one hand, I can understand the assessment - there is no innovation here, everything has already been there. The sound is clear and crisp, probably above average, especially by Ariwa standards. Or am I still half deaf from Saturday's session?
On the other hand, the work starts with Ranking Joe, one of the 10 best vocalists (for me at least). There is an extra star for this, bung dillidi. Then make four of me.

The last time I saw MadPro live I wasn't even aware of how old he was. Young boy, 64 ...

Post a comment

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Adam Prescott Meets Joe Ariwa

Seit Vater Neil Fraser, der verrückte Professor, in Teilrente ist, kümmert sich sein Sohn Joe um neue Ariwa-Produktionen. Und da er eine Vorliebe für Kooperationsprojekte mit anderen Produzenten hat, gibt es jetzt das Album „Adam Prescott Meets Joe Ariwa“ (Ariwa). Beide haben ihre Produktions-Skills zusammen getan, Black Steel und Ashanti Selah (Sohn von Aba Shanti-I) als Musiker engagiert und feiste Roots-Rhythms gebaut: klassischen One-Drop, aber auch wuchtigen Steppers. Aus meiner Sicht sind letztere besser gelungen. Sie machen mit purer Energie wett, was ihnen an Melodie und Arrangement fehlt. Indeed: die meisten Dubs sind nicht sonderlich inspiriert. Da helfen auch die beiden Vocal-Tunes von Ranking Joe und Donovan KingJay nicht wirklich. Eben so wenig wie Adam Prescotts Melodicaspiel. Ich finde es wunderbar, dass Joe die Arbeit seines Vaters fortführt, aber so richtig haben mich seine Alben bisher nicht begeistern können. Leider macht „ Adam Prescott Meets Joe Ariwa“ da (wieder) keine Ausnahme.

Meine Wertung:

2 Gedanken zu „Adam Prescott Meets Joe Ariwa“

  1. Ok, ich bin soweit. Meine Meinung zu dem Album ist „fertig“.

    Ich weiß jetzt nicht, ob „feiste Roots Riddims“ ein Schreibfehler ist oder ob es genau so gemeint ist. Warum sollen Riddims nicht auch mal „feist“ sein. Dub, bzw. Kunst ist ja immer auch ein bischen Interpretationssache. Also nehme ich das jetzt mal als „feinste,
    feiste Riddims“ und stimme dem voll und ganz zu.
    Adrian Sherwood : „At first you need a good Riddim, to make a good Dub !“
    Und die Riddims sind hier größtenteils vom Feinsten !!! Ashanti Selah ist mir nicht wirklich bekannt aber Black Steel umso mehr.
    Ich kenne keinen Riddim mit Black Steel, der nicht in der Ursuppe von Reggae gebadet hat. Black Steel ist Reggae !!! Egal wer da am Mischpult sitzt und wenn überhaupt niemand an den „Dubknöpfen“ rumschraubt, wenn Black Steel dabei ist, bin ich auch dabei. Mad Professor, Adrian Sherwood und Lee Perry waren für mich ja lange Zeit das Maß aller Dinge im Dub. Inzwischen hat sich auch mein Horizont in dieser Hinsicht extrem erweitert. Adrian Sherwood und On-U.Sound sind seit „Heavy Rain“ wieder unangefochten die Nummer eins in meinem DubCosmos und haben damit eigentlich auch wieder gezeigt, das sie immer noch die
    Avantgarde und die Speerspitze im Dub sind. ( My name is not Pato Banton, but this is my opinion ). So ein Werk ist Ariwa mir noch schuldig, bevor es wieder zu einer meiner Top Adressen in DubMusic werden kann. Dennoch finde ich die Riddims hier sehr gelungen und mir persönlich gefallen sie so gut, das mir der DubMix dann nicht mehr ganz so wichtig ist. Ich finde übrigens
    „Dub Ripe Fruit“ mir Raging Fyah auch richtig gut. Die Riddims haben eine Wärme und einen Groove, der mich ein sehr gutes DubFeeling haben lässt. Ich bin auch kein so großer Fan von dem speziellen „Ariwa-Bass-Dub-Effekt“ ( ich wusste mal, wie der heist ) und auch mit den geleierten MickeyMouse-Effekten habe ich so manches Mal meine Probleme. Dennoch ist der DubMix
    immer noch wesentlich angenehmer, abwechslungsreicher und auch viel charmanter als dieser ganz dröge, ja fast schon deprimierende UK-steppers Dub. ( Fikir Amlak hat da gerade wieder was ganz dröges mit diesem Alpha Steppa draußen. Das kann von mir aus ganz draußen bleiben. Obwohl ich mich bei einem biederen Straßenfest mit lauter Bierbuden und lulliger Popmusik, megamäßig über Fikir Amlak im Uk-steppers-Style freuen würde ).
    Also, was ich eigentlich sagen wollte ist, das Joe Ariwa sicherlich noch Potential nach oben hat aber solange er gute Riddims im Gepäck hat, bin ich auf jeden Fall dabei.

    „Rise and Fall“ finde ich übrigens richtig fett. Das ist für mich excellenter RootsReggae mit feinen DubApplikationen. Der Dub dazu hebelt die dreckigen Mauern von Babylon, mit geradezu arroganter Leichtigkeit und ohne sich im geringsten anstrengen zu müssen, komplett aus. ( Ich muss das so geschwollen ausdrücken, ansonsten kommt mein Feeling nicht richtig rüber ). Und gleich danach geht es mit „South East Trod“ und der dazu gehörigen DubDiversion mit sieben Meilen Stiefeln über die trostlosen Ebenen von Mordor, weiter in Richtung Mount Zion. Der „Meditation Rock“ tritt dann nochmal in die selben Fußstapfen und macht
    das Album für mich perfekt !

    Soweit erst mal …………………… lemmi

  2. Moin.
    Ich kann die Bewertung einerseits nachvollziehen – hier findet keine Innovation statt, alles schon mal dagewesen. Sound ist klar und knackig, gerade für Ariwa-Verhältnisse wahrscheinlich überdurchschnittlich. Oder bin ich noch halb taub von der Session am Samstag?
    Andererseits startet das Werk mit Ranking Joe, einem der 10 besten Vocalists (für mich jedenfalls). Dafür gibt es einen Extra-Stern, bung dillidi. Macht dann vier von mir.

    Als ich MadPro das letzte Mal live gesehen habe war mir gar nicht bewusst wie alt er schon ist. Junge Junge, 64…

Kommentar verfassen

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.