Categories
Review

JA-13 Cooperative Presents Rico Rodriguez: Rico - Order Of Distinction

The London-based JA-13 Cooperative is essentially Richard Drury and Keith Finch. Neither of these are blank pages: Richard Drury was considered one of the most promising songwriters in England in the 90s and the multi-instrumentalist Keith Finch already played in several (ska) bands. Together they now have "JA-13 Cooperative Presents Rico Rodriguez: Rico - Order Of Distinction“(Jamdown Records) produced. The studio sessions with the 80-year-old Rico began in 2014, but soon had to be canceled because Rico fell seriously ill and died as a result in September 2015 in a London hospital. Drury and Finch then left the recordings for almost 5 years until they finally had an approval with the fan and released Rico's very last recordings in spring 2019. The 9-track album bears the more than fitting title "Rico: Order of Distinction". In 2007 Rico received the British Order of “Member of the British Empire” (MBE) for his services to music and in October 2012 he was awarded the “Silver Musgrave Medal” for his outstanding service to Jamaica by the Institute of Jamaica.

The older work begins with a real ska scorcher "Gold Rush", which is immediately powerful in the legs. The rest of the tracks are more leisurely, depending on their age. With his soft, unmistakable trombone playing, Rico leads the listener through all fields of Jamaican music. From African influences, Burru drumming to jazz borrowings, the listener is offered everything. "Hold Him Joe" and "Ninety And Nine" are revisions of standards from Rico's very early days, when he was still taking trombone lessons at Alpha Boys School. Of course, the remaining instrumental pieces are also absolutely worth listening to. Emmanuel "Rico" Rodriguez demonstrates his masterful trombone playing to the fullest one last time, as if he had already suspected during the sessions that he didn't have much time left. The entertaining album ends with the “Mountain Mix”, a replay of the timeless instrumental from the 2006 album “Wareika Vibes” produced by Drury and Finch. How many overdubs were ultimately necessary for “Rico: Order of Distinction” is secondary, most important is the end result and that is convincing. “Rico: Order Of Distinction” has not become a pure instrumental album, because Dubtechniques were used in the mixing process, albeit not overly opulent.
Drury and Finch took the necessary time for this crisp production and thus earned Rico's music for the very last time the appreciation and respect it deserves.

Rating: 4 out of 5.

4 replies to "JA-13 Cooperative Presents Rico Rodriguez: Rico - Order Of Distinction"

High Ras Vorbei !

They are “opulent” Dubtechniques were really not used. But what does it matter if the music here is again (almost) not to be criticized at all, because it is beyond any doubt. I don't have anything to criticize either, but I already have a few weaker moments, because Rico sometimes slips off something with his trombone play, so that I could also believe that I'm at a fair. Sounds a bit bitchy now, but at a fair it can sometimes be a lot of fun. So don't put that with the fair too much on the gold scales, because that's really just a minor matter.
In any case, “Gold Rush” really starts right away. Ropp Auff has yet another excellent Ska Tune in his collection ;-) Even if afterwards - as you write - it's a bit more leisurely, it's still full of reggae power. The riddims are very powerful and smell like primeval soup. “Kings” sounds a bit like Christmas to me, but that can be very appropriate again at the right time. With "Hold Him Joe" it is mainly the trumpet
that really refines the tune for me.
“Somebody To Love” is also very successful here and I especially like the little echo on the RiddimGuitar. A little Dub must be ;-) No, honestly, this special sound of the RiddimGuitar is the icing on the cake for me and goes one better with the beautiful tune. Otherwise everything is great and I would especially like to mention “Wareika Vibes”. For me this is the best piece that I know from Rico. I have had a slightly different version of it on an ingenious sampler for a long time (it would be serious,
if I knew the name of the sampler now) and for a long time I thought I would be one of the chosen ones who even knew this tune. Quite hidden, as a single tune I have it in the list of “Deep In Dub" found. This one
List is not printed daily in the New York Times, it is probably still reserved for the “connoisseurs” of this world. Here on “Order Of Distinction” the version actually seems a bit to me dubbiger, so that it definitely closes the circle again and im DubBlog had to be discussed.
I find the information on "Jamaica - 13 Cooparatives" particularly interesting! It's my top priority now, everything
to google what I can find about it. I think that they also produced my "secret" sampler and maybe they have a lot more in the PipeLine. As an old reggae bunny, I know almost every reggae tune before it was even produced, so I'm always particularly happy when I find something in the way of mixing, the way of production and the overall sound impression that makes me special makes me sit up and take notice in his
Spell pulls.
Jamaica - 13 Cooperative has a very special sound, an extraordinarily exciting sound of the instruments that fascinates me. Let's see if they were or are aware of this or if it was just a coincidence. ( Yes, yes, I know Ras Vorbei, there is
no coincidences ;-)).

“I'm going fishing” ………………. lemmi

Greetings,

I was able to experience Rico live a few times and was always very touched when this very humble and down-to-earth person, despite his successes, took the stage. He was (almost) embarrassed to get stage applause. Even Bob Marley had hired Rico as support for his European tour in 1977, which some here might not be aware of. But it was only as a member of the Specials that life became more bearable for Rico and his family in cold, cloudy England.

@Lemmi you asked the question somewhere why you bought the "Wareika Dub“Didn't know before. As far as I know, it was only released in 1977 as a pre-release (blank label) in an edition of 50 copies. Rico said he did not own a copy of the album. I had (still have) a tape that a friend (second-hand records) could get me over a thousand corners.

In my research I found this interesting statement from Rico: “I don't play trombone like a trombonist, I play trombone like saxophone. I really never studied the trombone technique, and maybe if I studied the trombone technique, I wouldn't be so popular; I would have been sounding like one of the other technicians. Because I don't play with that amount of technique — it's more soul feeling. "

Perhaps it is really the unusual, instinctive trombone playing that distinguishes his work and creativity and makes it so unique. With his death one of my sooooo great heroes left again.

By the way, since the 1979 sampler: “This Is Reggae Music” (Island Records) I have been looking for this entire concert. Unfortunately only this one title is on the LP.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oH3Q2dhHEko

You induce me to make a statement that outlines me as an unsuspecting artificer.
I have to admit that I most likely could not distinguish the trombone playing by Rico from the trombone playing by, for example, Vin Gordon. When I read the really interesting statement from him, like he himself his trumpet playing
feels, I asked myself whether I would be in a position to always be able to differentiate with certainty. In doing so, it becomes clear to me again that personally I am mainly a "riddim fetishist" who does not pay so much attention to the playing style and the virtuosity of the musicians. Well, I thought I had to give this to the “best” so that you could understand me better in the future if I once again didn't show enough respect for a musician's ability. It is then simply because I simply cannot judge it because I lack the "professionalism" to do so. I can only say whether I like the melody or not. The fact that Rico plays the trombone more like a saxophone would probably not have struck me in a hundred years ……………… ..

I haven't scolded at all today, so I'll write here again that I was able to experience Rico live at least once. Of course, I don't scold Rico, but rather our göttinger culture bastards. (It's a pity that they don't im DubRead the blog, but that's what culture bastards are like). The awesome concert took place somewhere in a village near Göttingen. There were about 5 houses and at least a small ballroom. It came out around 50
Spectators / listeners (sorry for that) which didn't harm the atmosphere or the concert in the least. A fantastic concert where Rico praised the band “Them play like Real Rastamen” which was and still is a huge compliment for white musicians (especially when it comes to reggae). (Yes, there is such a little racist in me too, only that my racism works in the completely different direction). I wish the Göttingen Kulturheinis weren't so narrow-minded and would manage to bring a few good reggae events to Göttingen again. So that people like Rico don't have to run into a small village with 50 inhabitants. Well, he doesn't have to anymore. The Göttingen culture fuzzies have no chance to make up for their failures in the matter of Rico. Even if you now say “but we only recently had Jamaram”, I say, that doesn't work. Nothing against Jamaram, I like them when they play reggae, but against Rico it's just ……. well, I don't want to become racist again now.

Greetingzzzzzzzz ………………… .. lemmi

Even if you're not interested in that now, I owe it to myself. The sampler with or from JA-13 is called "Heroes of Kingston". There is good singing. Among other heroes like Alton Ellis, BB Seaton, Owen Gray, Derrick Morgan and also the good old Dennis Alcapone. For me it was and is a top-class sampler because it has very "fluffy" riddims and a very special sound that doesn't come across as very common either. The whole thing is very special and I can only say that I'm always in a really good mood.

Yeah man "I am like the invisible man" …………. "Dance with me baby" ………………………… lemmi

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * marked

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Kategorien
Dub

JA-13 Cooperative Presents Rico Rodriguez: Rico – Order Of Distinction

Die in London ansässige JA-13 Cooperative sind im Kern Richard Drury und Keith Finch. Beides keine unbeschriebenen Blätter: Richard Drury galt in den 90ern als einer der vielversprechendsten Songwriter Englands und der Multiinstrumentalist Keith Finch spielte bereits in einigen (Ska)Bands. Zusammen haben sie nun “JA-13 Cooperative Presents Rico Rodriguez: Rico – Order Of Distinction” (Jamdown Records) produziert. Die Studio-Sessions mit dem 80-jährigen Rico begannen 2014, mussten jedoch bald abgebrochen werden, weil Rico schwer erkrankte und an den Folgen im September 2015 in einem Londoner Krankenhaus verstarb. Drury und Finch ließen dann die Aufnahmen fast 5 Jahre liegen, bis sie endlich doch noch mit dem Fan ein Einsehen hatten und Ricos allerletzte Aufnahmen im Frühjahr 2019 veröffentlichten. Das 9-Track-Album trägt den mehr als passenden Titel “Rico: Order of Distinction”. Rico erhielt 2007 für seine Verdienste um die Musik den britischen Orden “Member of the British Empire” (MBE) und im Oktober 2012 wurde ihm dann vom Institute of Jamaica die “Silver Musgrave Medal” für seine herausragenden Dienste für Jamaica verliehen.

Das Alterswerk beginnt gleich mit einem echten Ska-Scorcher “Gold Rush”, der sofort mächtig in die Beine geht. Beim Rest der Tracks geht’s dann – altersbedingt – gemächlicher zur Sache. Rico führt mit seinem weichen, unverkennbaren Posaunenspiel den Hörer durch sämtliche Gefilde jamaikanischer Musik. Von afrikanischen Einflüssen, Burru-Drumming bis Jazz-Anleihen wird dem Hörer alles geboten. “Hold Him Joe” und “Ninety And Nine” sind Überarbeitungen von Standards aus Ricos sehr frühen Tagen, als er an der Alpha Boys School noch Posaunenunterricht erhielt. Selbstverständlich sind auch die verbleibenden Instrumentalstücke absolut hörenswert. Emmanuel “Rico” Rodriguez demonstriert uns ein letztes Mal sein meisterhaftes Posaunenspiel in vollen Zügen, als hätte er bei den Sessions bereits geahnt, dass ihm nicht mehr viel Zeit bleibt. Das kurzweilige Album endet mit dem “Mountain Mix”, ein Wiederhören des zeitlosen Instrumentals aus dem 2006 von Drury und Finch produzierten Album “Wareika Vibes”. Wie viele Overdubs schlussendlich für “Rico: Order of Distinction” nötig waren, ist sekundär, am wichtigsten ist doch das Endergebnis und das ist überzeugend. “Rico: Order Of Distinction” ist kein reines Instrumentalalbum geworden, denn Dubtechniken kamen beim Abmischen doch zum Einsatz, wenngleich nicht allzu opulent.
Drury und Finch haben sich für diese crispe Produktion die nötige Zeit gelassen und so Ricos Musik ein allerletztes Mal die gebührende Wertschätzung und Hochachtung erbracht.

Bewertung: 4 von 5.

4 Antworten auf „JA-13 Cooperative Presents Rico Rodriguez: Rico – Order Of Distinction“

High Ras Vorbei !

“Opulent” sind die Dubtechniken ja wirklich nicht zum Einsatz gekommen. Aber was macht das schon, wenn die Musik hier wieder mal ( fast ) gar nicht zu kritisieren ist, da sie über jeden Zweifel erhaben ist. Ich habe auch nix zu kritiesieren aber so ein paar schwächere Momente habe ich dann schon, denn auch Rico gleitet mit seinem Posaunenspiel manchmal etwas ab, so das ich auch glauben könnte, ich bin auf ner Kirmes. Klingt jetzt wieder etwas zickig aber auf ner Kirmes kann es ja gelegentlich auch hoch her gehen. Also legt das mit der Kirmes nicht zu sehr auf die Goldwaage, denn das ist echt nur Nebensache.
Es geht jedenfalls mit “Gold Rush” schonmal gleich richtig los. Da hat Ropp Auff doch schon wieder einen excelenten Ska Tune mehr in seiner Sammlung ;-) Auch wenn es danach – wie Du schreibst etwas gemächlicher zugeht, so ist das trotzdem voll mit ReggaePower. Die Riddims sind doch sehr kraftvoll und duften nach Ursuppe. “Kings” klingt aber für mich doch ein wenig nach Weihnachten aber das kann ja zu passender Zeit auch wieder sehr treffend sein. Bei “Hold Him Joe” ist es vor allem die Trompete,
die den Tune für mich so richtig veredelt.
“Somebody To Love” ist hier auch sehr gut gelungen und ganz besonders fahre ich auf das kleine Echo auf der RiddimGuitar ab. Ein bischen Dub muss sein ;-) Nee aber ehrlich, dieser spezielle Sound der RiddimGuitar ist für mich das Salz in der Suppe und setzt bei dem schönen Tune noch einen drauf. Ansonsten alles super und ganz besonders möchte ich noch “Wareika Vibes” erwähnen. Für mich ist Das das beste Stück, was ich von Rico kenne. Ich habe es schon lange in einer etwas anderen Version auf einem genialen Sampler ( seriös wäre es,
wenn ich den Namen des Samplers jetzt wüsste ) und ich dachte lange Zeit, ich wäre einer der Auserwählten, die diesen Tune überhaupt kennen. Ganz versteckt, als einzelnen Tune habe ich ihn dann auch in der Liste von “Deep In Dub” gefunden. Da diese
Liste ja nun auch nicht täglich in der New York Times abgedruckt wird, bleibt er wohl immer noch den “Connaisseuren” dieser Welt vorbehalten. Hier auf “Order Of Distinction” erscheint mir die Version tatsächlich etwas dubbiger, so das es auf jeden Fall auch wieder den Kreis schließt und im DubBlog besprochen werden musste.
Ganz besonders Interressant finde ich die Information zu “Jamaica – 13 Cooparative” ! Es hat jetzt oberste Priorität für mich, alles
zu googeln, was ich dazu finden kann. Ich glaube nämlich, das die auch meinen “geheimen” Sampler produziert haben und eventuell haben die noch viel mehr in der PipeLine. Als alter Reggaehase kenne ich natürlich fast jeden ReggaeTune schon, bevor er überhaupt produziert wurde, deshalb freue ich mich immer ganz besonders, wenn ich in der Art des Mixens, in der Art der Produktion und überhaupt am gesamten Soundeindruck etwas finde, was mich ganz speziell aufhorchen lässt und mich in seinen
Bann zieht.
Jamaica – 13 Cooperative hat einen ganz speziellen Sound, einen außergewöhnlich spannenden Klang der Instrumente, der mich fasziniert. Mal schauen, ob denen das bewusst war bzw. ist oder ob das einfach nur Zufall war. ( Jaja, ich weiß Ras Vorbei, es gibt
keine Zufälle ;-) ).

“Ich geh Angeln” ………………. lemmi

Greetings,

Rico durfte ich einige Male live erleben und war immer wieder sehr berührt, wenn dieser, trotz seiner Erfolge, sehr bescheidene und bodenständige Mensch die Bühne betrat. Es war ihm (fast) peinlich Bühnenapplaus zu bekommen. Selbst Bob Marley hatte Rico als Support für seine Europatour 1977 angeheuert, was hier einigen nicht bekannt sein dürfte. Doch erst als Mitglied der Specials wurde das (Über)Leben für Rico und seiner Familie im kalten, trüben England erträglicher.

@Lemmi du hast hier irgendwo die Frage gestellt, warum du die “Wareika Dub” nicht früher kanntest. Nach meiner Kenntnis ist sie 1977 lediglich als Pre-Release (Blank Label) in einer Auflage von 50 Stück erschienen. Rico besaß nach eigener Aussage selbst kein Exemplar des Albums. Ich hatte (habe immer noch) ein Tape, das mir ein Freund (Second-Hand-Records) über tausend Ecken besorgen konnte.

Bei meiner Recherche habe ich von Rico diese interessante Äußerung gefunden: “I don’t play trombone like a trombonist, I play trombone like saxophone. I really never studied the trombone technique, and maybe if I studied the trombone technique, I wouldn’t be so popular; I would have been sounding like one of the other technicians. Because I don’t play with that amount of technique—it’s more soul feeling.”

Vielleicht ist es wirklich das ungewöhnliche, instinktive Posaunenspiel, welches sein Werk und Schaffen auszeichnet und so einzigartig macht. Mit seinem Tod ist wieder einer meiner gaaaanz großen Helden gegangen.

Übrigens, seit Erscheinen des Samplers aus 1979: “This Is Reggae Music” (Island Records) suche ich dieses komplette Konzert. Leider ist auf der LP lediglich dieser eine Titel.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oH3Q2dhHEko

Du verleitest mich wieder zu einer Aussage, die mich als ahnungsloser Kunstbanause outet.
Ich muss nämlich zugeben, das ich das Posaunenspiel von Rico höchstwahrscheinlich nicht von dem Posaunenspiel von z.B. Vin Gordon unerscheiden könnte. Als ich die wirklich Interrassante Äußerung von ihm gelesen habe, wie er selbst sein Posaunenspiel
empfindet, habe ich mir die Frage gestellt, ob ich denn überhaupt in der Lage wäre, das immer mit Sicherheit unterscheiden zu können. Dabei wird mir wieder klar, das ich persönlich doch hauptsächlich ein “Riddimfetischist” bin, der gar nicht so genau auf die Spielweise und die Virtuosität der Musiker achtet. Nun ja, ich dachte ich muss das hier mal zum “Besten” geben, damit ihr mich in Zukunft besser versteht, wenn ich mal wieder nicht genug Respekt für das Können eines Musikers aufgebracht habe. Es liegt dann einfach daran, das ich es schlichtweg nicht beurteilen kann, da mir dazu doch die “professionalität” fehlt. Ich kann nur sagen, ob mir die Melodie gefällt oder eben nicht. Das Rico die Posaune eher so spielt wie ein Saxophon, wäre mir wahrscheinlich auch in hundert Jahren noch nicht aufgefallen ………………..

Ich habe ja heute noch gar nicht geschimpft, deshalb schreibe ich hier nochmal, das ich Rico wenigstens auch ein einziges mal Live erleben durfte. Ich schimpfe natürlich nicht über Rico, sondern über unsere göttinger Kulturbanausen. ( Schade das die nicht im DubBlog lesen aber das haben Kulturbanausen nunmal so an sich ) . Das Hammergeile Konzert fand nämlich irgendwo in einem Dorf in der Nähe von Göttingen statt. Da waren etwa 5 Häuser und immerhin ein kleiner Festsaal. Es kamen so in etwa 50
Zuschauer/ innen /Hörer / innen ( sorry für das ) was der Stimmung und dem Konzert nicht im geringsten geschadet hat. Ein fantastisches Konzert, wo Rico die Band noch gelobt hat “Them play like Real Rastamen” was für weiße Musiker ein Riesenkompliment ( speziell in Sachen Reggae ) war und immer noch ist. ( Ja so ein kleiner Rassist steckt doch auch in mir, nur das mein Rassismus in die komplett andere Richtung wirkt ). Ich wünschte die göttinger Kulturheinis wären nicht so borniert und würden es schaffen, hier auch mal wieder ein paar gute Reggae-Events nach Göttingen zu holen. Damit Leute wie Rico nicht in einem kleinen Dorf mit 50 Einwohnern auflaufen muss. Naja, muss er ja jetzt nicht mehr. Die Göttinger Kulturfuzzies haben keine Chance, ihre Versäumnisse in Sachen Rico wieder gut zu machen. Auch wenn se jetzt sagen “aber wir hatten doch neulich erst Jamaram”, sage ich, das gildet nicht. Nix gegen Jamaram, ich mag die, wenn sie Reggae spielen aber gegen Rico ist das eben wieder nur ……. naja, ich will jetzt nicht schon wieder rassistisch werden.

Greetingzzzzzzzz ………………….. lemmi

Auch wenn euch das jetzt gar nicht interessiert, bin ich mir das selbst schuldig. Der Sampler mit oder von JA-13 heist “Heroes of Kingston”. Da wird ordentlich gesungen. Unter anderen Heroes wie Alton Ellis, BB Seaton, Owen Gray, Derrick Morgan und auch der gute alte Dennis Alcapone. Für mich war und ist das ein Sampler der Extraklasse, weil er sehr “fluffige” Riddims hat und dazu noch einen ganz speziellen Sound, der auch nicht so ganz alltäglich daherkommt. Very Special das Ganze und ich kann nur sagen, das ich dabei immer richtig gute Laune habe.

Yeah Mann ! “I am like the invisible man” …………. “Dance with me baby” ………………………… lemmi

Kommentar verfassen

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.