Categories
Review

Elite Beat: Selected Rhythms

First of all, this album has nothing to do with reggae beats Dub but very much. My recommendation today are Elite beat with her current album from 2019 "Selected Rhythms“(Research Records). Elite Beat is a music collective from Portland, USA, specializing in an intoxicating mix of ethio (pian) jazz, African rhythms, Mali blues, Tuareg guitar music and Black Ark psychedelia. With their powerful melodic bass lines and percussion-driven polyrhythms, they create ecstatic compositions with magical horn passages and exciting juju guitar that stimulate the senses. The focus is very much on tracks recorded live, DubEffects and the use of the recording studio as an additional instrument, which is de facto the Dub-Thought matters. The approach of the musicians is as relaxed as this music, which again doesn't really fit into any category. The musician clique meets once a week to hang out, exchange ideas, make music and let their creativity run free. The tape machine is running, the jam is easy and tidy DubElements mixed in (in real time). Only such cool, relaxed tracks can actually emerge. "Selected Rhythms" now features eight of the best works by Elite Beat. A pleasant change.

Rating: 4 out of 5.

8 responses to "Elite Beat: Selected Rhythms"

Hi Ras, thanks for keeping back straight dubios music albums that are outside of the "Irie Selassie mainstream". I would never find these albums on my own.
1000 thanks Reiner

Hi Reiner, thank you very much! I am very pleased to read that my “remote Dub-Recommendations "find their addressees.

Stay tuned ...

High Ras Vorbei !

I'm so sorry but I can't do anything with the album yet. I perceive everything you write to be the opposite of what I perceive when listening. Especially with the basslines I can't keep up. I don't find them powerful or melodic. For me very bulky and cerebral (as René might say). The “Irie Selassie
Mainstream Basslines “much to infinitely much better. I fully admit that, because for me they are the origin of my enthusiasm for reggae music and the essence of reggae, the DUB ! Sometimes the music here is as if it were an African Head Charge disc that you forgot to let Adrian Sherwood mix it up properly in the magic drum. Doesn't mean that I don't have any here Dubfind elements. Nope, is dubbig enough but somehow I lack the magic. I already mentioned it before that I got an African Head Charge record that wasn't by Adrian Sherwooddubbed was thrown away. It's just like cooking a soup completely without salt and without any other spices. Even if there are people who might even like it, for me it is unacceptable.
But hey… .. what the heck ……. after all, there are still people who really appreciate this music. I also like to go on trips to others DubAbysses but this excursion is a little too rocky for me and it feels like I'm not wearing any shoes.

Cheers …………………. lemmi

Hi Lemmi, nice to read from you again. You know my motto: "It's all a matter of taste ..."
In addition, we On-U Sound Addicts agree that the form of the day generally decides when it comes to music. There is music that I can hear well today and it will not speak to me tomorrow. African Head Charge (AHC) is a very fitting example. I can still very well remember my first impressions of “My Life in a Hole in the Ground”. When I ceremoniously put the album on the turntable in 1981, lowered the playback arm and then heard these sounds that I hadn't heard before. Honestly, I didn't know what was happening to me. Was that an absolute mistake? In any case, it wasn't the expected On-U-Reggae à la Creation Rebel. At first, completely frustrated, I buried this damn disk sooooo deep in a pile of records. A few days later I dared to go back to AHC and hear and be amazed, suddenly there was a small entrance. It took weeks for AHC to fully tap into it. Today I know every note and “My Life in a Hole in the Ground” is still a highlight in my collection.

High Ras Vorbei !
I can only agree with you on all points. My daily form couldn't be good on Monday, because it was the first day after my little vacation. Nevertheless, your example with "My life in a hole ... .." shows how extreme things can be at times. I would definitely call myself an AHC fan, but they are really mixed, as we have already noticed. In “My Life ……” I really only liked and still like “Elastic Dance”. I like that for reasons that are certainly inexplicable for many, but unearthly good. I was confirmed as a DJ this one Dub-Tune times in the opening act for a Macka B / Mad Professor concert. He would have someone else too Dub from the disc but he played exactly that. In some things there is no need for a discussion ;-)
It may be that I'm completely wrong here again, but I guess the AHC has a decisive advantage over it
Have Elite Beat. AHC are Africans! Or are still firmly rooted in Africa. Rhythmically, they simply have it best worldwide. I don't know why, as a German Piefke, I am so into these remote rhythms, but I get downright high from African children's choirs. There is always the right MUSIC in there. You write about African rhythms, Ethiopian jazz and polyrhythms, but maybe the musicians should meet more often than once a week so that the music sounds more compact and well-rehearsed. I haven't researched anything here and write completely from the gut, so that you can practically shoot at my empty goal and me as an unsuspecting tasteless man
Make idiots stand there. That wouldn't be a problem for me, because every now and then I need someone to bring me back down to earth.
I always thought that I would Dub-Jazz can also do really well. Prince Fatty with Nostalgia 77, for example, is great.
But I think I'm not quite as open to jazz as you and René, for example ……… ..

Even if I sometimes think that it is with certain Dubs cannot have different tastes because they are simply unbelievably good, so of course I would like to agree with your motto ………………….

"It's all a matter of taste" ………………………. lemmi

"... maybe the musicians should meet more often than once a week so that the music sounds more compact and well-rehearsed."

Hi Lemmi, Elite Beat doesn't seem to be that bad. Otherwise they would not have played for three days in 2017 with Mdou Moctar, the “Hendrix” of the Sahel blues. (https://elitebeat.bandcamp.com/album/mdou-moctar-meets-elite-beat-in-a-budget-dancehall) Here too, Elite Beat could easily keep up in terms of rhythm (imho).
Ok, I admit I'm biased. This Tuareg or Sahel sound has blown me away since I saw a band from Mali or Niger in the walls of Essaouira (Morocco) in the late 70s. Trance-like, mind blowing! There are moments in life when you hear previously unknown music and it grabs you immediately ... or vice versa

Warning: this music has something else in common with me Dub Blog is presented to do nothing!

High Ras

I really hope you're not in the mood like me. I would be at least a little "angry" with you if you had launched such a sentence as I "play together more often" and so on. That sounds a little exaggerated by me and I can only say that it slipped out of my mind, although when writing you actually have enough time to weigh your words. Somehow I tried to put my musical impression into words, but I don't always succeed.
I followed your link and I have to say that I really like "We and We In Azawad". The dancehall riddim also goes well with me, but the instrumentation especially on “In A Budget Dancehall” is more for snakes ;-). Sorry if he seems a bit arrogant again, but that's the best way to get my feeling back when listening. Some instruments come in frequencies that just hurt me.
Partly the part in this music that doesn't bother me reminds me of Glitterbeat in Dub. And I think this album is extra class. Although it is a bit annoying here and there.
Ok, I don't want to exhaust your self-consciousness any further. I can well understand that this music has grabbed you. It was similar to me when I heard and saw Youssou N'Dour for the first time live on the Loreley. The sound and the groove and especially the instruments made me buy everything I could get from him after the concert. Unfortunately, his voice is only something for snakes in the long run. Oops, now someone slipped out again.

Until ………………… lemmi

That's a tip! I would not have found it in my sources. I like it exceptionally well. The tracks have good grooves. Unlike Lemmi, I don't miss the reggae beat a bit.

Post a comment

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Elite Beat: Selected Rhythms

Gleich vorweg, mit Reggae-Beats hat dieses Album nichts am Hut, mit Dub jedoch sehr wohl. Meine Empfehlung heute sind Elite Beat mit ihrem aktuellen Album aus 2019 „Selected Rhythms“ (Research Records). Elite Beat ist ein Musikerkollektiv aus Portland, USA, das sich auf eine berauschende Mischung aus Ethio(pian) Jazz, afrikanische Rhythmen, Mali-Blues, Tuareg-Gitarrenmusik und Black Ark Psychedelia spezialisiert hat. Mit ihren kraftvollen melodischen Basslines und percussiongetriebenen Polyrhythmen kreieren sie ekstatische Kompositionen mit magischen Hornpassagen und spannender Juju-Gitarre, die die Sinne beleben. Der Fokus liegt dabei sehr stark auf live eingespielten Tracks, Dub-Effekten und dem Einsatz des Tonstudios als zusätzliches Instrument, was de facto den Dub-Gedanken ausmacht. Die Herangehensweise der Musiker ist so entspannt wie diese Musik, die wieder so richtig in keine Schublade passt. Die Musiker-Clique trifft sich einmal die Woche, um abzuhängen, sich auszutauschen, Musik zu machen und ihrer Kreativität freien Lauf zu lassen. Die Bandmaschine läuft, es wird locker gejamt und ordentlich Dub-Elemente (in Echtzeit) beigemischt. Dabei können eigentlich nur solche geile, entspannte Tracks entstehen. Auf „Selected Rhythms“ sind nun acht der besten Werke von Elite Beat versammelt. Eine wohltuende Abwechslung.

Meine Wertung:

8 Gedanken zu „Elite Beat: Selected Rhythms“

  1. Hi Ras, danke, dass du immer wieder gerade dubios-music-alben vorstellst die abseits vom „Irie-Selassie-Mainstream“ sind. Von alleine würde ich diese Alben nie finden.
    1000 Dank Reiner

  2. High Ras Vorbei !

    Es tut mir so leid aber ich kann mit dem Album bis jetzt noch gar nix anfangen. Alles was du schreibst, empfinde ich als das Gegenteil von dem, was ich beim Hören empfinde. Ganz besonders bei den Basslines komme ich nicht mit. Ich empfinde sie weder als kraftvoll noch als melodisch. Für mich sehr sperrig und verkopft ( wie René vielleicht sagen würde ). Da sind mir die „Irie Selassie
    Mainstream Basslines“ wesentlich bis unendlich viel lieber. Das gestehe ich mir auch uneingeschränkt zu, denn sie sind für mich der Ursprung meiner Begeisterung für ReggaeMusic und eben der Essenz von Reggae, dem DUB ! Teilweise ist die Musik hier so, als ob es sich um eine African Head Charge Scheibe handeln würde, bei der man vergessen hat, sie von Adrian Sherwood in der Zaubertrommel ordentlich durchmischen zu lassen. Soll nicht heißen, das ich hier keine Dubelemente finde. Nö, is dubbig genug aber irgendwie fehlt mir die Magie. Ich habe es ja schon mal erwähnt, das ich eine African Head Charge Scheibe die nicht von Adrian Sherwood gedubbed wurde weggeschmissen habe. Das ist enfach so, als ob man eine Suppe komplett ohne Salz und ohne jegliche andere Gewürze, kochen würde. Auch wenn es Leute gibt, die das eventuell sogar mögen, für mich ist das inakzeptabel.
    Aber hey ….. was solls ……. immerhin gibt es noch Menschen, die diese Musik sehr zu schätzen wissen. Ich mache ja auch gern Ausflüge in andere DubAbgründe aber dieser Ausflug ist mir ein wenig zu steinig und es fühlt sich so an, als ob ich dabei keine Schuhe trage.

    Greetings …………………. lemmi

    1. Hi Lemmi, schön wieder von dir zu lesen. Du kennst doch mein Motto: „Alles reine Geschmackssache…“
      Außerdem sind wir On-U Sound Addicts uns einig, dass generell bei Musik die Tagesform entscheidet. Es gibt Musik, die kann ich heute gut hören und morgen spricht sie mich keineswegs an. African Head Charge (AHC) ist da ein sehr passendes Beispiel. Ich kann mich noch sehr gut an meine ersten Impressionen bei „My Life in a Hole in the Ground“ erinnern. Als ich 1981 das Album ganz feierlich auf den Plattenteller legte, den Abspielarm senkte und dann diese, bis dahin nicht gekannten, Klänge hörte. Ehrlich, ich wusste nicht wie mir geschieht. War das nun ein absoluter Fehlgriff? Auf jeden Fall war es mal nicht der erwartete On-U-Reggae à la Creation Rebel. Zuerst habe ich völlig frustriert diese vermaledeite Scheibe gaaanz tief in einem Plattenstapel vergraben. Einige Tage später habe ich mich wieder an AHC ran getraut und höre und staune, plötzlich war ein kleiner Zugang da. Es hat Wochen gedauert bis sich AHC völlig erschlossen hatte. Heute kenne ich jeden Ton und „My Life in a Hole in the Ground“ ist immer noch ein Highlight in meiner Sammlung.

      1. High Ras Vorbei !
        Da kann ich dir in allen Punkten nur Recht geben. Die Tagesform konnte bei mir am Montag gar nicht gut sein, denn es war der erste Tag nach meinem kleinen Urlaub. Dennoch zeigt auch dein Beispiel mit „My life In a Hole ….. “ wie extrem die Dinge manchmal sein können. Ich würde mich durchaus als AHC – Fan bezeichnen aber die sind wirklich sehr durchwachsen, wie wir ja schon mal festgestellt haben. Bei „My Life …… “ gefiel und gefällt mir eigentlich nur „Elastic Dance“. Das gefällt mir aus, für viele sicherlich unerklärlichen Gründen, aber überirdisch gut. Bestätigt wurde ich darin, als ein DJ diesen Dub-Tune mal im Vorprogramm zu einem Macka B / Mad Professor – Konzert aufgelegt hat. Er hätte ja auch einen anderen Dub von der Scheibe auflegen können aber er spielte eben genau diesen. In manchen Dingen bedarf es halt keiner Diskussion ;-)
        Mag sein, das ich hier wieder völlig falsch liege aber ich schätze mal, das AHC einen entscheidenden Vorteil gegenüber
        Elite Beat haben. AHC sind Afrikaner ! Oder sind eben immer noch fest mit Afrika verwurzelt. Die haben es rhythmisch einfach weltweit am besten drauf. Ich weiß nicht, warum ich als deutscher Piefke so auf diese entlegenen Rhythmen abfahre aber ich werde schon von afrikanischen Kinderchören regelrecht high. Da is einfach immer richtig MUSIK drin. Du schreibst zwar von afrikanischen Ryhthmen, Ethiopian Jazz und Polyrhythmen aber vielleicht sollten die Musiker sich doch öfter treffen als einmal die Woche, damit die Musik kompakter und eingespielter klingt. Ich habe hier jetzt nix recherchiert und schreibe komplett aus dem Bauch heraus, so das ihr praktsch auf mein leeres Tor schießen könnt und mich als ahnungslosen geschmacksverirrten
        Deppen dastehen lassen könnt. Das wäre kein Problem für mich, denn hin und wieder brauche ich es, das mich jemand wieder zurück auf den Boden der Tatsachen zurückholt.
        Ich dachte immer, das ich Dub-Jazz auch richtig gut ab kann. Prince Fatty mit Nostalgia 77 zum Beispiel, finde ich Spitze.
        Aber ich glaube ich bin doch nicht ganz so offen für Jazz wie z.B. Du und René ………..

        Auch wenn ich manchmal meine, das es bei bestimmten Dubs keine unterschiedlichen Geschmäcker geben kann, weil die einfach unfassbar gut sind, so schließe ich mich deinem Motto natürlich gern an ………………….

        „Alles reine Geschmacksache“ ………………………. lemmi

        1. „……vielleicht sollten die Musiker sich doch öfter treffen als einmal die Woche, damit die Musik kompakter und eingespielter klingt.“

          Hi Lemmi, so schlecht eingespielt scheinen Elite Beat nicht zu sein. Sonst hätten sie 2017 sicherlich nicht drei Tage lang mit Mdou Moctar, Dem „Hendrix“ des Sahel-Blues gespielt. (https://elitebeat.bandcamp.com/album/mdou-moctar-meets-elite-beat-in-a-budget-dancehall) Auch hier konnten Elite Beat in puncto Rhythmus (imho) locker mithalten.
          Ok, ich gebe zu, ich bin befangen. Dieser Tuareg- oder Sahel-Sound haut mich weg, seit ich Ende der 70er das Konzert einer Band aus Mali oder Niger in den Mauern Essaouiras (Marokko) gesehen habe. Tranceartig, mind blowing! Es gibt Momente im Leben, da hört man eine bisher unbekannte Musik und sie packt einen sofort…oder umgekehrt s.o.

          Achtung: Diese Musik hat mit dem, was sonst im Dub Blog vorgestellt wird, nichts zu tun!

          1. High RasVorbei !

            Ich hoffe sehr, du bist nicht so drauf wie ich. Ich wäre nämlich zumindest ein bischen „sauer“ auf Dich, wenn Du so einen Satz vom Stapel gelassen hättest wie ich in Sachen “ öfter zusammenspielen“ und so. Das klingt schon ein wenig überzogen von mir und ich kann nur sagen, der is mir so rausgerutscht, obwohl man beim Schreiben eigentlich genug Zeit hat, seine Worte abzuwägen. Irgendwie habe ich versucht meinen musikalischen Eindruck in Worte zu fassen aber so ganz gelingt mir das halt nicht immer.
            Ich bin deinem Link gefolgt und muss sagen, das mir „We and We In Azawad“ sogar richtig gut gefällt. Auch der Dancehall Riddim geht mir gut rein aber die Instrumentierung ganz besonders bei „In A Budget Dancehall“ ist dann doch eher was für Schlangen ;-). Sorry, wenn der jetzt auch wieder etwas arrogant wirkt aber so gibt es mein Gefühl beim Hören am besten wieder. Manche Instrumente kommen in Frequenzen daher die mir einfach nur Wehtun.
            Teilweise erinnert mich der Teil in dieser Musik, der mich nicht stört, an Glitterbeat in Dub. Und diese Scheibe finde ich extraklasse. Obwohl sie hier und da auch mal etwas nervt.
            Ok, ich möchte deine Befangenheit nicht noch weiter ausreizen. Ich kann gut verstehen, das Dich diese Musik gepackt hat. So ähnlich ging es mir mal, als ich Youssou N´Dour zum ersten mal Live auf der Loreley gehört und gesehen habe. Der Sound und der Groove und ganz speziell die Instrumente haben mich veranlasst, nach dem Konzert alles zu kaufen, was ich von ihm bekommen konnte. Leider ist seine Stimme auf Dauer auch nur was für Schlangen. Upps, jetzt is mir schon wieder einer rausgerutscht.

            Bis denne ………………… lemmi

  3. Das ist ja mal ein Tipp! Hätte ich in meinen Quellen nicht gefunden. Gefällt mir aber ausnehmend gut. Die Tracks haben gute Grooves. Da vermisse ich – anders als Lemmi – den Reggae-Beat kein bisschen.

Kommentar verfassen

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.