Categories
Review

Lee Groves: Dance a Dub

How much I loved the sound of Rockers Hi Fi, Dreadzone, Groove Corp., More Rockers, and other progressives Dub-Bands that made dance music in the 1990s and Dub fused into an exciting new sound. A sound that doesn't just have dance beats Dub-Ingredients provided. No, it was a complete reinvention that synthesized wonderfully complex beats with reggae basslines and offbeats. Break beat, industrial, drum and bass, indietronic, ambient and yes, house and techno also influenced this sound. Those were the times! At that time I wrote cockily about the “future of Dub". Well, far from it. The sound evaporated over the years and from the old warriors only Dreadzone is left with mediocre releases. But luckily there is Echo Beach's brilliant back catalog and luckily there is Lee Groves. The former contains the matching tunes and the latter has the dance /Dub-Groove the 90s soaked up with breast milk. If you bring both together, you get: "Dance a Dub“(Echo Beach) - a glorious renaissance of what was once so progressive Dub-Sounds. Lee Groves just knows how to do tunes from the Dub Pistols, Dubblestandart, the Dub Syndicate, and many others, to make the original sound like they were recorded in Birmingham in 1995. For this purpose, Mr. Groves has vigorously remodeled the templates, overdubbed, provided with a good shot of kinetic energy and mixed powerfully. I think it's perfect. Which is not surprising, by the way, because Lee Groves is a rock-hard music professional. He started out programming sound cards for the hottest synthesizers of the early 90s, sounds that are prominently found in pieces by Vangelis or the Pet Shop Boys. Then he founded PuSH-Records - among others with Spencer Graham from Dreadzone (!). In his career as a producer, big names followed one another: Depeche Mode, Marilyn Manson, Janet Jackson, Craig David, Goldfrapp, Beck, Britney Spears, Black Eyed Peas and even Janet Jackson. And now, to crown his career: Dance a Dub!

Rating: 4.5 out of 5.

5 replies to “Lee Groves: Dance a Dub"

I like the album very much - well-produced and with the highest sound quality, but unfortunately almost all the tracks are structured according to the same scheme: They start out rootsy and after 2 or 3 minutes seamlessly transition into a dance track. This is undoubtedly done very well, but it got a little bored over time. And yet the time was ripe for a good "Hook, line & sinker" album - let's see if it works.

Yes, as I know myself, at the end of the day the disc is on my shelves at home and is sometimes put on "occasionally in the private sector".
As an old DreadZone fan, when I read the review (this time, for once, first in the Riddim), I literally gasped out of sheer anticipation. 99% of that kind of thing always backfires. For me, too, it comes down to disappointment at first. There is not a single version here that I do not already have in at least ONE other version much better in my "archive". This is certainly also due to the fact that all these versions of DubTopHeads ala Adrian Sherwood, Umberto Echo, AlDubb, Dubvisionist and all the others
DubProducers "around the world" already several timesdubbed and who are "most likely" much better off than a "rock-hard music professional" who already has his ears with something like Depeche Mode, Marilyn Manson, Janet Jackson, Craig David, Goldfrapp, Beck, Britney Spears, Black Eyed Peas " messed up ". (I still find Depeche Mode quite acceptable, I have to admit). All the others certainly also have their raison d'être but as DubNerd, I can really "stand over it" if that's right ;-)
In addition, he can be as “rock hard” as “as he wants”, the ultra-tough business of Dub and reggae music he has so far "skillfully" eluded himself by producing pop music.
It's not that bad, but that's why it can Dub ? That's not enough for my taste right away. Maybe I'll get used to it if I throw that part back in at home. Especially with the "sound" in the 2nd half or as gtkriz says, in the minutes after the first 2-3, I don't really get along very well. I just don't like this hyperactive clattering with the drums. Exceptions confirm the rule and so “Pump Up The Volume” works really well for me in this version too. But for me it doesn't quite get to the “original” (?) By Marrs either. I've been celebrating that from then until now. But this version here also cuts a lot for me.
But I also think that there is absolutely no reference to the version by Marrs, but a completely different cover of “Pump Up The Volume” is meant. But I really wanted to bring this old version of Marrs into the "game".
Rockers HighFi never grabbed me back then. My euphoric gasp came from the names DreadZone and Groove Corporation. The fusion of reggaeDub and techno is something of a trademark of DreadZone for me. Even I would not have had the slightest objection if that was a strong branch on the big one DubWould have become a tree.
I had to look at the DreadZone “Rare Dubs “but I have not regretted it, especially under the techno aspect. I can't and won't do anything against DreadZone Rules !!! ( mostly ). Groove Corporation has the name “Groove” rightly in his / her name. Rockers Hifi have not become the best known for nothing, because (as far as I can tell) they most likely served the hype of the time, which even reached far into the mainstream. But I don't want to make it really bad now either.
Normally Echo Beach doesn’t sell a CD and if there is one, I’ll be there despite all the “shortcomings”. If not, who cares ?! ……………

So long ………………………. lemmi

I can only join the canon of the previous commentators ... somehow quite good the album, but ...! I suppose that it will not do too many revolutions with me either and its existence is more on the "shelf" ... is not the first of its kind and will not be the last.
At the moment I'm more in the backflash of the 90s Dubs and celebrate the showcase-style disc by Russ D aka The Disciples "A Vault Full Of Roots" (https://russdisciples.bandcamp.com/album/a-vault-full-of-roots) completely off, although admittedly certain sounds come across as a bit dusty or even old-fashioned ...
The work grooves, is down-to-earth, good reggaeDub and has really good conscious lyrics. Especially the songs and DubVersions of "Breaking Away", "Glad You Gone" & "Love King Selassie" stand out and stick in the ear canals and convolutions of the brain and turn out to be real catchy tunes that reverberate in a positive and relaxing way even hours after consumption keep spinning. What I really like when sound inspires and evolves in my own universe ... is sure to work well in a dance over a fat sound system.

I still remember “Prowling Lion” - THE Dub- 90s anthem from the Disciples. I thought it was great back then. Unfortunately, Russ hasn't evolved since then, so it's probably a good idea to hear the old material. Unfortunately, the album you mentioned is not in the stream - and somehow I haven't been able to bring myself to spend £ 10 for it so far. After your plea, however, I will go into myself again.

Reply

It's been a few years since I last bought a CD, but when I read the review in RIDDIM for “Dance A DUB“I read the cinema in my head (old times, memories ...) and for a few days the CD has been in the changer and is heard at least once a day. I can also agree with the previous comments, especially towards the end everything becomes a bit too monotonous for me. BUT: It's just a wonderful time travel.

Post a comment

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Kategorien
Review

Lee Groves: Dance a Dub

Wie sehr liebte ich den Sound von Rockers Hi Fi, Dreadzone, Groove Corp., More Rockers und anderen progressiven Dub-Bands, die in den 1990er Jahren Dance-Music und Dub zu einem aufregenden, neuen Sound verschmolzen. Einem Sound, der nicht einfach nur Dance-Beats mit Dub-Ingredienzien versah. Nein, es war eine völlige Neuerfindung, die wunderbar komplexe Beats mit Reggae-Basslines und Offbeats synthetisierte. Break Beat, Industrial, Drum and Bass, Indietronic, Ambient und ja, auch House und Techno beeinflussten diesen Sound. Das waren Zeiten! Ich schrieb damals großspurig von der „Zukunft des Dub“. Tja, weit gefehlt. Der Sound evaporierte über die Jahre ins Nichts und von den alten Recken ist eigentlich nur noch Dreadzone mit mittelmäßigen Releases übrig geblieben. Aber zum Glück gibt es den brillanten Back-Katalog von Echo Beach und zum Glück gibt es Lee Groves. Ersterer enthält die passenden Tunes und letzterer hat den Dance/Dub-Groove der 90er mit der Muttermilch aufgesogen. Führt man nun beides zusammen entsteht: „Dance a Dub“ (Echo Beach) – eine glorreiche Renaissance des einst so progressiven Dub-Sounds. Lee Groves hat es einfach drauf, Tunes von den Dub Pistols, Dubblestandart, dem Dub Syndicate, und vielen anderen mehr, original so klingen zu lassen, als wären sie in Birmingham des Jahres 1995 aufgenommen worden. Dazu hat Mr. Groves die Vorlagen kräftig umgemodelt, overdubbed, mit einem ordentlichen Schuss Bewegungsenergie versehen und druckvoll abgemischt. Perfekt, wie ich finde. Was im Übrigen nicht verwundert, denn Lee Groves ist beinharter Musikprofi. Angefangen hat er mit der Programmierung von Sound-Karten für die angesagtesten Synthesizer der frühen 90er Jahre, Sounds die sich prominent in Stücken von Vangelis oder den Pet Shop Boys finden. Danach gründete er PuSH-Records, – unter anderem mit Spencer Graham von Dreadzone (!). In seiner Produzentenkarriere reihten sich anschließend Big Names aneinander: Depeche Mode, Marilyn Manson, Janet Jackson, Craig David, Goldfrapp, Beck, Britney Spears, Black Eyed Peas und sogar Janet Jackson. Und nun, zur Krönung seiner Laufbahn: Dance a Dub!

Bewertung: 4.5 von 5.

5 Antworten auf „Lee Groves: Dance a Dub“

Ich mag das Album sehr – gut produziert und klanglich auf der Höhe, aber leider sind fast alle Tracks nach dem gleichen Schema aufgebaut: Sie fangen rootsy an und gehen nach 2 oder 3 Minuten nahtlos in einen Dancetrack über. Das ist zweifellos sehr gut gemacht, hat mich aber mit der Zeit doch ein wenig gelangweilt. Und doch war die Zeit reif für ein gutes „Hook, line & sinker“-Album – mal sehen ob’s Wirkung zeigt.

Ja, so wie ich mich kenne, steht die Scheibe am Ende ja dann doch bei mir Zuhause im Regal und wird „gelegentlich im privaten Bereich“ auch mal aufgelegt.
Als alter DreadZoneFan hatte ich beim Lesen der Rezension ( diesmal ausnahmsweise zuerst in der Riddim ) regelrecht Schnappatmung aus lauter Vorfreude. Sowas geht ja zu 99% immer nach hinten los. Auch bei mir läuft es zunächst auf Enttäuschung hinaus. Es gibt hier keine einzige Version, die ich nicht schon in mindestens EINER anderen Version schon viel besser in meinem „Archiv“ habe. Das liegt bestimmt auch daran, das all diese Versions von DubTopHeads ala Adrian Sherwood, Umberto Echo, AlDubb, Dubvisionist und all den anderen
DubProduzenten „around the world“ schon mehrfach gedubbed wurden und die das „höchstwahrscheinlich“ viel besser daruf haben, als ein „beinharter MusikProfi“, der seine Ohren schon mit sowas wie Depeche Mode, Marilyn Manson, Janet Jackson, Craig David, Goldfrapp, Beck, Britney Spears, Black Eyed Peas „versaut“ hat. ( Depeche Mode finde ich dabei noch recht akzeptabel muss ich gestehen ). All die anderen haben sicherlich auch ihre Daseinsberechtigung aber als DubNerd darf ich da ja wohl mal richtig „drüber stehen“, wenns recht ist ;-)
Außerdem, kann er noch so „beinhart“ sein, „wie er will“, dem ultraharten Business von Dub und Reggae Musik hat er sich ja bisher „gekonnt“ entzogen, indem er PopMusik produziert hat.
Is ja nicht schlimm aber kann er deswegen auch Dub ? Für meinen Geschmack reicht das auf Anhieb nicht. Vielleicht gewöhne ich mich ja noch dran, falls ich das Teil Zuhause doch noch mal reinschmeiße. Ich komme vor allem mit dem „sound“ in der 2. Hälfte oder wie gtkriz sagt, in den Minuten nach den ersten 2-3, nicht wirklich gut klar. Dieses hyperaktive rumgescheppere mit den Drums mag ich einfach nicht. Ausnahmen bestätigen die Regel und so geht „Pump Up The Volume“ bei mir auch in dieser Version hier richtig gut ab. An das „Original“ (?) von Marrs kommt es für mich aber auch noch nicht ganz ran. Das feiere ich seit damals bis heute immer wieder gerne ab. Aber diese Version hier fetzt auch mächtig bei mir.
Ich denke aber auch, das hier überhaupt kein Bezug zu der Version von Marrs besteht, sondern ein ganz anderes Cover von „Pump Up The Volume“ gemeint ist. Ich wollte aber diese alte Version von Marrs unbedingt ins „Spiel“ bringen.
Rockers HighFi hat mich damals nie gepackt. Meine euphorische Schnappatmung kam durch die Namen DreadZone und Groove Corporation zustande. Die Fusion von ReggaeDub und Techno ist für mich sowas wie ein Markenzeichen von DreadZone. Auch ich hätte nicht das geringste dagegen gehabt, wenn das ein starker Ast am großen DubBaum geworden wäre.
Ich musste mir die, zunächst auch von mir verschmähte, DreadZone „Rare Dubs“ doch zulegen und ich habe es besonders unter dem TechnoAspekt nicht bereut. Kann und will ich nix gegen machen, DreadZone Rules !!! ( meistens ). Groove Corporation trägt den Namen „Groove“ vollkommen zurecht in seinem/ihren Namen. Rockers Hifi sind nicht umsonst -mal wider- die bekanntesten geworden, denn die haben ( so weit ich das beurteilen kann ) doch am ehesten den damaligen Hype bedient, der sogar weit in den Mainstream hineinreichte. Aber so richtig schlecht will ich die jetzt auch nicht machen.
Normalerweise lässt Echo Beach sich mit dem Verkauf einer CD ja nicht lumpen und sollte es eine geben, bin ich trotz aller „Mängel“ dabei. Falls nicht, wen interressiert´s ?! ……………

So long ………………………. lemmi

Kann mich da nur in den Kanon der vorherigen Kommentatoren einreihen… irgendwie ganz gut die Scheibe, aber…! Vermute, dass sie bei mir auch nicht allzu viele Umdrehungen machen wird und ihr Dasein eher im „Regal“ fristet… ist nicht die erste dieser Art und wird nicht die letzte sein.
Bin momentan gerade eher im Backflash des 90er-Jahre Dubs und feiere die im Showcase-Stil daherkommende Scheibe von Russ D aka The Disciples „A Vault Full Of Roots“ (https://russdisciples.bandcamp.com/album/a-vault-full-of-roots) voll ab, obwohl gewisse Sounds zugegebenermassen ein bisschen verstaubt oder gar altbacken daherkommen…
Das Werk groovt, ist bodenständig guter Reggae-Dub und hat richtig gute conscious Lyrics. Besonders die Songs und Dubversionen von „Breaking Away“, „Glad You Gone“ & „Love King Selassie“ stechen hervor und bleiben in den Gehörgängen und Gehirnwindungen haften und entpuppen sich als richtige Ohrwürmer, die auch stunden nach dem Konsum noch positiv und entspannend nachhallen und sich im Kopf weiterspinnen. Das, was ich eigentlich so richtig mag, wenn Sound inspiriert und sich im eigenen Universum weiterentwickelt… kommt sicher auch gut an einem Dance übers fette Sound System.

Ich erinnere mich noch an „Prowling Lion“ – DIE Dub-Hymne der 90er von den Disciples. Fand ich damals großartig. Leider hat Russ sich seit dem nicht weiter entwickelt, deshalb ist es wahrscheinlich eine gute Idee, das alte Material zu hören. Leider gibt’s das von dir erwähnte Album nicht im Stream – und irgendwie konnte ich mich bisher nicht überwinden, dafür 10 £ auszugeben. Nach deinem Plädoyer werde ich aber noch mal in mich gehen.

Es ist wohl schon einige Jahre her, dass ich mir zuletzt eine CD gekauft habe, aber als ich die Rezension im RIDDIM zu der „Dance A DUB“ gelesen habe ging das Kopfkino (alte Zeiten, Erinnerungen…) los und seit ein paar Tagen liegt die CD jetzt im Wechsler und wird täglich mindestens einmal gehört. Ich kann mich den vorherigen Kommentaren ebenfalls anschließen, insbesondere zum Ende wird mir alles etwas zu eintönig. ABER: Es ist einfach eine wunderebare Zeitreise.

Kommentar verfassen

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.