Categories
Review

Super Natural Sound: Dub Tape Volume 1

Sometimes they just appear like that - without notice, without warning. albums by unknown acts with cover artwork that is rather unusual for the reggae genre; the reviewer is unfortunately inclined to let such parts pass unheard in the streaming universe. Of course, you should never do that, as I did on Super Natural Sound's "Dub Tape Volume 1(Super Natural Sound) can demonstrate.

First thought: woah… Lee Perry's Black Ark studio? Already the first track makes it clear what's going on: Honest, handmade music, provided with instruments like in the olden days. That it goes so far that tapes, appropriate recording machines and various sound gadgets such as self-made sirens are used, I only find out later in the exchange with Aaron Sprague, the man behind Super Natural Sound. 

“ Lee Scratch Perry was a big influence on my approach to working in the traditional style on tape with analogue equipment. My first release was actually a track I wrote and produced with Lee Perry in 2020. As the bass player for the New York roots reggae band Mosaic Foundation, I played a show with Perry and was lucky enough to record the song "Garvey Say" with him. I've been so influenced by Lee's style, the Black Ark sound and his spiritual approach that I'm trying to capture this analog one Dub- to keep the tradition alive.”

Aaron's present debut "Dub Tapes Volume 1” under the moniker Super Natural Sound is a collection of Dubs created in the past year. Contrary to the original intention of making timeless music, the instrumental recordings are sparsely sown Dub-Effects rooted entirely in the sound of the 70s. Joining forces here are Ranking Joe with the only vocal track and a wonderful melodica and bongo duo from Japan: Aki Mittoo and Goja Bongos. Mittoo's euphonious melodica is very different from the melody and playing style of an Addis Pablo or an Art-X; The instrument is wonderfully embedded in the mix and never intrusive. 

There are also two drummers from Los Angeles and Israel, with the latter providing an extra portion of punch and slightly lifting the recordings towards the 1980s. Sprague does the rest of the instrumentation himself, completing a blend of many cultures and styles brought together, as he puts it, "by a love of reggae."

"Dub Tapes Volume 1” is intended to be just the first of many more albums from Super Natural Sound; ready-recorded vocal tracks, which will be presented by various female singers, are already waiting for the release. "Working with the different musicians drives me and always allows me to create something new," says Aaron Sprague. “I make sure that Super Natural Sound's music is positive, full of love and good vibes. The analog recording technology is helpful here and helps to preserve these vibes in the best possible way. After all, music is medicine, and I also support the healing effect with sounds for which I build my own instruments. All my equipment, which is older than me - from the 60s, 70s and 80s - plays a big role in this. I love the sound of that time and I want to spread it with my work; But above all I want to make music that I want to hear myself. The "Dub Tapes Volume 1" is just the beginning - the Super Natural Sound studio still has a lot up its sleeve."

There is nothing to add; the man knows what he is doing and what he wants to achieve with it. Respect for the handmade music based on an old recipe and also for the fact that he doesn't just go through the whole thing as an ego trip - quite the opposite: New York meets Japan meets California meets Israel, and it still sounds like a piece. LSP lives on - in all the musicians he inspired. "Dub Tapes Volume 1” bears witness to this.

Rating: 4 out of 5.

16 Responses to “Super Natural Sound: Dub Tape Volume 1"

Thank you for bringing up this (and not only this) album, which I most certainly would not have discovered without you guys. The first run is promising.

I am so sorry !

Honest hand-played music. Memories of Lee Perry are awakened and the analogue ones Dubtradition is praised. But I find it limp. The riddims seem tired and powerless to me. Although I'm not quite sure if I'm just describing my own condition. But it can't be quite that, because for my standards I'm quite in the juice right now. Spring feelings and the anticipation of summer are spreading through me and otherwise things are actually going quite well. It can always be better but no, I'm completely at peace with my own little world right now. So I see the weaknesses more in the riddims. I'm sorry but the bassist (I know that's exactly who this is about)
I can't give stars. And also the rhythm guitar and the riddim keyboard don't really dare to pluck the strings or really hit the keys. That seems way too tacky to me. These riddims make me weak, not strong. Of course, “Peaceful Meditation” also says something about the intention of the producer. Maybe he has too much power himself and would like to ground himself a bit more personally with these riddims or something like that. For me, “Peaceful Meditation” stands out a bit again. It's probably because it reminds me a lot of “Precinct Of Sound” ( by who do you think !?! ). I immediately had the association with this one Dub from DUB SYNDICATE ! The riddim and bass melody are only similar, but it almost seems to me that the bass line is almost identical, only played in slow motion by Aaron Sprague here. Basically, any comparison with that Dub Syndicate is almost like comparing apples to oranges. ( No, it doesn't work for me. I don't like apples or pears and who should be apple and who should be pear ? ) Well, you know, On .U Sound is for me the very best thing in things Dub has happened worldwide so far and that Dub Syndicate is the culmination of this creation. From my point of view, a comparison is therefore not possible at all. Nevertheless, "Peaceful Meditation" reminded me of the "Highlanders of the Dub“ recalls what in itself is a grandiose
"Performance" is. I'll put it in here. If you want, you can try to follow my synapses or think your own way about me or my views. You can also open my eyes again and completely refute me. It may well be that my senses are raving about that Dub Syndicate have been glorified once again. Precinct Of The Sound https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dNwqfbTMOn4 ……………………… Oh, wonderful ;-) That’s the only way the meadow will turn green ….
I don't even know if I should call it a "problem". But for me the best time for Dub and music in general. I can't help but compare everything "new" with the "old". For me almost everything has been there before and the newer "things" are automatically compared with it. Let's take Lee Perry for example. I think it's great that he has so many fans and has inspired just as many. But how and why should it be possible, this man, this sound and these musicians
to copy. From my point of view, there is not the slightest need for this, because there is the original. Ok, I'm being unfair. Aaron Sprague never tried
Copy Lee "Scratch" Perry. But the Upsetters can't just be replaced by Israeli or Japanese or "backstabbing" musicians either.

Jamaica is my Big Bang of Music! ( New York is just "a knife a fork a bottle and a cork" ) …………………… lemmi

I got to the Super Natural Sound Dub Tapes a lot of musical associations, but that Dub Syndicate isn't one of them. I've tried, but I don't see anything similar between Peaceful Meditation and Precinct Of Sound.

I tend to think of the Niney the Observer productions, the Wackie's label releases and of course the Black Ark era. I also think it's not about copying someone, it's about re-creating the specifics of a certain sound. Each studio had its own characteristics, its own atmosphere and soundscapes, and that's what artists want to work with today. The studio sound as an instrument, so to speak. In this case, I think it worked very well.

Reply

"I've tried, but I don't see anything similar between Peaceful Meditation and Precinct Of Sound."

"You only have to hear it once with my ears"..... ;-)

Yes, it is a through ball for anyone who doubts or even despairs of my ears. I also think that my "comparison", actually it was just a memory, was brought out from quite far away, from the most hidden corners of my emotional cellar. I totally understand if you don't understand gtk.
The sound is really very good and "Garvey Say" with Lee Perry doesn't allow for any grumbling either.
I really want to write a lot more than that. It would once again be about the quality, not even the quality of the musicians at all, but about the quality of the riddims that the Jamaicans and their migrants scattered all over the world gave out. They simply had the best feeling for reggae, which isn't really surprising.......it could go further, but I don't want to strain it any further.

I'd rather go back into the goal first ………………………… lemmi

Hello gtk, help me out. I can't hear a single note from the Black Ark era either. What I hear is almost none DubEffects and no typical Black Ark sound at all.

Sorry Steffen.

I'm not gtk and I can't help you out but the lack of "snazzy" and clever ones DubEffects also add to the difficulty for me. Because Aaron Sprague is reading along here, I would like to add that I don't think his music is bad, but unfortunately it's not enough to cause a storm of enthusiasm.
It's always the diversity and I assume that more value was placed on a "laid back feeling".
Dub is for me primarily a kind of playing around with music and sound.
Play is fun and should not be taken too seriously. That's why I always like to have a few new "DubJokes" in the form of strange sounds - and especially riddim effects. Of course, that's always a certain risk, because I don't automatically like everything just because it's funny, strange or particularly experimental. I love it if Dub how a rook jumper jumps from a 10 with a triple somersault and quadruple twist. If there isn't enough going on, I feel like a simple jump with my nose closed ...... It's better than going down on foot, but it's not exciting at all. Except for the jumper himself.

Yes, sorry again, I'm a little close to the lab head again today.

EEK A MOUSE no sing "la la" and no "ye ye" EEK A MOUSE sings
"Ban Ban Diddle Di Deh" (or something like that).....

"Zungguzungguguzungguzeng" ……………….. lemmi

I mean, for example, track 1 (Peaceful Meditation) can serve as a prime example of the Black Ark overtones. For example the sound of the keyboard syncopation hook or the mix of the hi-hat. Amazing how the man managed that; on the other hand, it should not be an impossible task with correspondingly old equipment.

Yes, as noted in the review, they are Dub-Effects few and far between. It's the way it is, I can't change anything about it :-) It was undoubtedly about the studio sound. That was also very clever, because with LSP's very special Dub-Working on technology seems to me to be an impossibility... as a musician I wouldn't even want to try it.

With all due respect gtk, a bit of analogue equipment doesn't make a typical Black Ark sound. To my regret, I can't even hear Peaceful Meditation as a prime example of Black Ark reminiscences. Nobody gets the classic Lee Perry Black Ark sound and that's a good thing. Ok, you were mainly concerned with the studio sound, I can understand that. I can only speak for myself, for my part I hear Aaron Sprague's typical studio sound but I don't hear a Black Ark sound anywhere. Putting aside the Black Ark comparison, I like it Dub Tapes Volume 1 is still quite good.

Completely agree, Steffen: It's all about the sound and not about Lee Scratch Perry and his style Dub to produce, weave in sound gimmicks and put on reverberant echoes and lots of acoustic magic. It's not even about the playing style of the Upsetter & Co., but about a specific sound. When I said "woah... Compass Point Studios?" I didn't mean Sly & Robbie, but the sound of the studios... and maybe Simmons as well. That's all there is to it.

Reply

Ok gtk, I don't hear a typical Black Ark sound even if you think you can hear it. Let's leave it, I have the feeling we're talking past each other.

No, Steffen - I think we're just talking about two different worlds... that's all there is to it.

Reply

What went through my head when I read the review repeatedly and when we commented, was the attitude (I always feel a bit strange when using foreign words, but I couldn't think of anything more appropriate here), with which Aaron Spragues approached the music approaches. hand-played ! Analog gear and analog Dubmixing !
Exactly what I always dream of! No sterile and lifeless drum programs, no keyboard basses and a lot of natural feeling. Including reverb and echo, which are nothing more than fascinating natural phenomena. Unfortunately, the riddims and instrumentals don't flash me enough, so I forgot to thank Aaron Spragues for the very commendable approach and at least to let him live up to it. So again completely without irony:

Big Up Mr Sprague! Your concept is perfect! ("But at first you need a good riddim to make a good Dub“ ) ………………………… Lemmy

PS : what is a good riddim ?

"A fascinating, recurring sequence of noises (if possible, but not necessarily produced by musical instruments)"

"The most important criterion: the lemmi has to really like it" …………

Ok, ok I already have the goalkeeper gloves on again ………………. lemmi

Some people in this world create and try to spread love, some people try to destroy and spread hate. "Love and hate cannot be friends". Of course we don't have the same taste! I'm glad. I hope everyone can know love and peace one day. "Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don't matter and those who matter don't mind." - Lee Scratch Perry

Yeah man!

Your words sounds like a very good Dub to me

I am very afraid that mankind is living in the last days of Democracy. There are only some islands of free speech and free minds in this world. the DubBlog is one of these islands and that makes me happy. But I think, for example, Pablo Moses knew that a long time before, when he was singing :

"IN THE FUTURE IT'S A GO TERRIBLE!"

I knew this song a very long time but it doesn't help me, because I am not ready to die !

Ok, Reggae is not only "good vibes" and "vegatable breakfast". It's reality!

…… and there is “a thin line between love and hate”

I hope my english was able to be understand ;-) and when I read the word "english" my mind is coming to "hinglan". "Hinglan Is a Bitch" (LKJ). They are ready to send Julian Assange into the hell of American "justice". Democracy and Freedom is in the highest danger, like it never did before.

But who am I, that I told you all these bad things. I am sure that you are not sleeping on the tries and its nothing new for anyone here, but I like the feeling that I can talk about it.

"Dub against fashism” / “READY AIM FIRE !!!”…………………………… lemmi

( "Come Back Jesus" )

Post a comment

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Kategorien
Review

Super Natural Sound: Dub Tapes Volume 1

Manchmal erscheinen sie ganz einfach so – ohne Ankündigung, ohne Vorwarnung. Alben unbekannter Acts mit für das Reggae-Genre eher unüblicher Cover-Artwork; der Rezensent ist leider geneigt, solche Teile im Streaming-Universum ungehört vorbei ziehen zu lassen. Das sollte man freilich niemals machen, wie ich an Super Natural Sound’s „Dub Tapes Volume 1“ (Super Natural Sound) demonstrieren kann.

Erster Gedanke: woah… Lee Perry’s Black Ark-Studio? Schon der erste Track macht klar wo’s langgeht: Ehrliche, handgemachte Musik, versehen mit Instrumenten wie anno dunnemal. Dass das so weit geht, dass noch Tapes, entsprechende Aufnahmemaschinen und diverse Sound Gadgets wie selbstgebaute Sirenen verwendet werden, erfahre ich erst später im Austausch mit Aaron Sprague, dem Mann hinter Super Natural Sound. 

„ Lee Scratch Perry hat meine Herangehensweise, im traditionellen Stil auf Band mit analogem Equipment zu arbeiten, stark beeinflusst. Meine erste Veröffentlichung war eigentlich ein Track, den ich 2020 mit Lee Perry geschrieben und produziert habe. Als Bassist der New Yorker Roots-Reggae-Band „Mosaic Foundation“ spielte ich damals eine Show mit Perry und hatte das Glück, mit ihm gemeinsam den Song „Garvey Say“ aufnehmen zu können. Ich bin so sehr von Lee’s Stil, dem Black Ark-Sound und seiner spirituellen Herangehensweise beeinflusst worden, dass ich versuche, diese analoge Dub-Tradition weiter am Leben zu erhalten.“

Aaron‘s vorliegendes Debut „Dub Tapes Volume 1“ unter dem Moniker Super Natural Sound ist eine Sammlung von Dubs, die im vergangenen Jahr entstanden sind. Entgegen der ursprünglichen Absicht, zeitlose Musik zu machen, sind die Instrumental-Aufnahmen mit eher spärlich gesäten Dub-Effekten gänzlich im Sound der 70er Jahre verwurzelt. Mitstreiter sind hier Ranking Joe mit dem einzigen Vocal-Track und ein wunderbares Melodica- und Bongo-Duo aus Japan: Aki Mittoo und Goja Bongos. Mittoo’s wohlklingende Melodica unterscheidet sich stark von der Melodieführung und Spielweise eines Addis Pablo oder eines Art-X; wunderbar im Mix eingebettet wirkt das Instrument niemals aufdringlich. 

Dazu kommen noch zwei Schlagzeuger aus Los Angeles und Israel, wobei letzterer für eine extra Portion Punch sorgt und die Aufnahmen leicht in Richtung 1980er hievt. Den Rest der Instrumentierung erledigt Sprague selbst und vervollständigt damit eine Mischung aus vielen Kulturen und Stilen, die „durch die Liebe zum Reggae“ zusammengebracht wurde, wie er selbst sagt.

„Dub Tapes Volume 1“ soll nur das erste von vielen weiteren Alben von Super Natural Sound sein; auf die Veröffentlichung warten bereits fertig eingespielte Vokal-Tracks, die diverse Sängerinnen präsentieren werden. „Die Arbeit mit den unterschiedlichen Musikern treibt mich an und lässt mich immer Neues erschaffen.“, so Aaron Sprague. „Ich sorge dafür, dass die Musik von Super Natural Sound positiv, voller Liebe und guter Stimmung ist. Die analoge Aufnahmetechnik ist hier hilfreich und hilft, diese Vibes bestmöglich zu erhalten. Schliesslich ist Musik Medizin, und ich unterstütze den heilenden Effekt auch durch Klänge, für die ich eigene Instrumente baue. Mein gesamtes Equipment, das älter ist als ich – aus den 60er, 70er und 80er Jahren – spielt dabei eine große Rolle. Ich liebe den Sound von damals und will ihn mit meiner Arbeit verbreiten; ich will aber vor allem Musik machen, die ich selbst hören möchte. Die „Dub Tapes Volume 1“ sind dabei lediglich der Anfang – das Super Natural Sound-Studio hat noch so einiges in petto.“

Dem ist nichts mehr hinzuzufügen; der Mann weiß was er tut und was er damit bezwecken will. Respekt für die handgemachte Musik nach alter Rezeptur und auch dafür, dass er das Ganze nicht allein als Ego-Trip durchzieht – ganz im Gegenteil: New York trifft Japan trifft Kalifornien trifft Israel, und trotzdem klingt’s wie aus einem Guss. LSP lebt weiter – in allen Musikern, die er inspiriert hat. „Dub Tapes Volume 1“ zeugt davon.

Bewertung: 4 von 5.

16 Antworten auf „Super Natural Sound: Dub Tapes Volume 1“

Vielen Dank fürs Hervorholen dieses (und nicht nur dieses) Albums, das ich ohne euch sehr sicher nicht entdeckt hätte. Der erste Durchlauf ist vielversprechend.

Es tut mir so leid !

Ehrliche handgspielte Musik. Erinnerungen an Lee Perry werden geweckt und die analoge Dubtradition wird gepriesen. Aber ich finde es schlaff. Die Riddims wirken auf mich müde und kraftlos. Wobei ich mir dabei nicht ganz sicher bin, ob ich lediglich meinen eigenen Zustand beschreibe. So ganz kann das aber nicht sein, denn für meine Verhältnisse stehe ich gerade ganz gut im Saft. Frühlingsgefühle und die Vorfreude auf den Sommer breiten sich in mir aus und auch sonst läufts eigentlich ganz gut. Besser geht immer aber nee, bin grad mit meiner eigenen kleinen Welt vollkommen im reinen. Also sehe ich die Schwächen doch eher bei den Riddims. Es tut mir leid aber dem Bassisten ( ich weiß, es ist genau der, um den es hier geht )
kann ich keine Sterne geben. Und auch die Rhythmusguitarre sowie das Riddimkeyboard traut sich nicht richtig, an den Saiten zu zupfen, bzw. mal richtig in die Tasten zu hauen. Auf mich wirkt das viel zu zaghaft. Diese Riddims machen mich schlapp und nicht stark. „Peaceful Meditation“ sagt natürlich auch einiges über die Absicht des Produzenten aus. Eventuell hat er selbst zu viel Power und möchte sich mit diesen Riddims ganz persönlich ein bischen mehr erden oder so ähnlich. „Peaceful Meditation“ ragt für mich hier aber auch wieder ein wenig heraus. Liegt wohl daran, das es mich ziemlich an „Precinct Of Sound“ ( von wem wohl !?! ) erinnert. Ich hatte sofort die Assoziation zu diesem Dub vom DUB SYNDICATE ! Der Riddim und die Bassmelodie sind nur ähnlich aber es kommt mir fast so vor, als wäre die BassLine fast identisch, allerdings vom Aaron Sprague hier lediglich in Zeitlupe gespielt. Im Grunde ist jeder Vergleich mit dem Dub Syndicate fast so, als würde man Äpfel mit Birnen vergleichen. ( Nee, klappt nicht bei mir. Ich mag weder Äpfel noch Birnen und wer soll da Apfel und wer soll Birne sein ? ) Also ihr wisst ja, On .U Sound ist für mich das Allerbeste, was in Sachen Dub bisher weltweit passiert ist und das Dub Syndicate ist dabei die Krönung dieser Schöpfung. Ein Vergleich ist daher aus meiner Sicht ganz und gar nicht möglich. Dennoch hat mich „Peaceful Meditation“ immerhin an die „Highländer des Dub“ erinnert, was an sich schon eine grandiose
„Leistung“ ist. Ich setze den mal hier rein. Wer möchte kann versuchen, meinen Synapsen zu folgen oder sich eben seinen Teil, bezüglich meiner Person bzw. meinen Ansichten, zu denken. Ihr könnt mir auch gern meine Augen wieder öffnen und mich komplett widerlegen. Kann schon sein, das meine Sinne durch mein schwärmen über das Dub Syndicate wieder einmal etwas verklärt wurden. „Precinct Of The Sound“ https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dNwqfbTMOn4 ……………………… hach, herrlich ;-) Nur so wird die Wiese grün ….
Ich weiß gar nicht, ob ich es als „Problem“ bezeichnen soll. Aber für mich ist die beste Zeit für Dub und Musik im allgemeinen eben schon gewesen. Ich kann gar nicht anders, als alles „Neue“ mit dem Alten“ zu vergleichen. Für mich ist nahezu alles schon mal dagewesen und die neueren „Sachen“ werden automatisch damit verglichen. Nehmen wir doch nur mal Lee Perry. Ich finde es ja toll, das er so viele Fans hat und ebenso viele Inspiriert hat. Aber wie und vor allem auch warum soll es möglich sein, diesen Mann, diesen Sound und diese Musiker
zu kopieren. Dafür besteht aus meiner Sicht nicht die geringste Notwendigkeit, denn es gibt ja das Original. Ok, ich werde ungerecht. Aaron Sprague hat ja zu keiner Zeit versucht,
Lee „Scratch“ Perry zu kopieren. Aber die Upsetters können auch nicht einfach so von israelischen oder japanischen oder „hintertupfischen“ Musikern ersetzt werden.

Jamaica is my Big Bang of Music ! ( New York is just „a knife a fork a bottle and a cork“ ) …………………… lemmi

Ich habe zu den Super Natural Sound Dub Tapes viele musikalische Assoziationen, aber das Dub Syndicate ist keine davon. Ich habe mich bemüht, aber ich sehe auch keine Ähnlichkeit von Peaceful Meditation zu Precinct Of Sound.

Mir fallen da eher die Produktionen von Niney the Observer, die Releases vom Wackie’s-Label und natürlich die Black Ark-Ära ein. Ich denke auch, dass es nicht darum geht jemand zu kopieren, sondern die Besonderheiten eines bestimmten Sounds zu re-kreieren. Jedes Studio hatte seine Besonderheiten, seine eigene Atmosphäre und Klangwelten, und damit wollen Künstler heute arbeiten. Der Studiosound als Instrument, sozusagen. Das ist in diesem Fall sehr gut gelungen, meine ich.

„Ich habe mich bemüht, aber ich sehe auch keine Ähnlichkeit von Peaceful Meditation zu Precinct Of Sound.“

„Ihr müsst es nur einmal mit meinen Ohren hören“ ….. ;-)

Ja, is ja eine Steilvorlage für jeden, der an meinen Ohren zweifeln oder gar verzweifeln möchte. Ich denke auch, das mein „Vergleich“, eigentlich war es nur eine Erinnerung, von ziemlich weit her, aus den verstecktesten Ecken meines Gefühlskellers hervorgeholt wurde. Ich kann gut nachvollziehen, wenn du das nicht nachvollziehen kannst gtk.
Der Sound ist wirklich sehr gut und auch „Garvey Say“ mit Lee Perry lässt keine Meckereien zu.
Ich möchte da eigentlich noch viel mehr zu schreiben. Es würde mal wieder um die Qualität, gar nicht mal so die Qualität der Musiker, sondern um die Qualität der Riddims gehen, die von den Jamaikanern und deren, in alle Welt verstreuten Migranten, ausgegengen ist. Die hatten einfach das beste Feeling für Reggae, was ja eigentlich auch nicht verwunderlich ist …………… es ginge noch weiter aber ich möchte das jetzt gerade nicht noch weiter strapazieren.

Ich geh´ dann lieber erst mal wieder ins Tor ………………………… lemmi

Hallo gtk, hilf mir auf die Sprünge. Ich kann da auch keinen einzigen Ton aus der Black Ark-Ära hören. Was ich höre, sind fast keinerlei DubEffekte und überhaupt kein typischer Black Ark Sound.

Sorry Steffen.

Ich bin zwar nicht gtk und ich kann dir auch nicht auf die Sprünge helfen aber der Mangel an „spritzigen“ und cleveren DubEffekten kommt auch für mich noch erschwerend hinzu. Weil Aaron Sprague hier mitliest, möchte ich aber noch hinzufügen, das ich seine Musik ja nicht schlecht finde aber es reicht halt leider auch nicht, um in Begeisterungsstürme zu verfallen.
Es ist immer die Diversität und hier wurde halt mehr Wert auf ein „Laid Back – feeling“ gelegt, nehme ich an.
Dub ist für mich auch in erster Linie eine Art Spielerei mit Musik und Sound.
Spiel bedeutet Spaß und sollte nicht zu ernst betrieben werden. Deshalb habe ich auch gern immer wieder mal ein paar neue „DubJokes“ in Form von seltsamen Sound – und ganz besonders auch RiddimEffekten. Das ist natürlich auch immer ein gewisses Risiko, denn auch mir gefällt nicht automatisch alles, nur weil es witzig, seltsam oder eben besonders experimentell sein sollte. Ich leibe es, wenn Dub wie der Sprung eines TurmSpringers vom 10er mit dreifachem Salto und vierfacher Schraube ausgeführt wird. Wenn zu wenig los ist, empfinde ich das wie einen simplen Fußsprung mit Nase zuhalten ……. Is zwar auch besser als zu Fuß wieder runter zu gehen aber eben auch in keinster Weise prickelnd. Außer für den Springer bzw. die Springerin selbst.

Ja sorry nochmal, bin heute wieder etwas nah am Laberkopf dran.

EEK A MOUSE no sing „la la“ und no „ye ye“ EEK A MOUSE sings
„Ban Ban Diddle Di Deh“ ( oder so ähnlich ) …..

„Zungguzungguguzungguzeng“ ……………….. lemmi

Ich meine beispielsweise Track 1 (Peaceful Meditation) kann als exemplarisches Beispiel für die Black Ark-Anklänge dienen. Etwa der Klang vom Synkopen-Hook des Keyboards oder die Abmischung des Hi-Hats. Erstaunlich, wie der Mann das hinbekommen hat; andererseits sollte es mit entsprechend altem Equipment auch kein unmögliches Unterfangen sein.

Ja, wie in der Rezension schon bemerkt, sind die Dub-Effekte spärlich gesät. Is‘ nun mal so, da kann ich nix dran ändern :-) Da ging’s zweifellos um den Studio-Sound. Das war auch sehr g’scheit, denn mit LSP’s sehr spezieller Dub-Technik zu arbeiten scheint mir ein Ding der Unmöglichkeit zu sein… das würde ich als Musiker gar nicht erst versuchen wollen.

Mit Verlaub gtk, ein bisschen analoges Equipment macht noch keinen typischen Black Ark Sound. Zu meinem Bedauern kann ich noch nicht einmal Peaceful Meditation als exemplarisches Beispiel für Black Ark-Anklänge hören. Den klassischen Lee Perry Black Ark Sound bekommt niemand hin und das ist auch gut so. Ok, dir ging es hauptsächlich um den Studio Sound, kann ich verstehen. Ich kann nur für mich sprechen, ich für meinen Teil höre von mir aus Aaron Spragues typischen Studio Sound aber einen Black Ark Sound höre ich nirgends. Wenn ich den Black Ark Vergleich verdränge, gefällt mir Dub Tapes Volume 1 dennoch ganz gut.

Ganz d’accord, Steffen: Es geht hier nur um den Sound und nicht um Lee Scratch Perry und seine Art Dub zu produzieren, Sound-Gimmicks einzuflechten und verhallte Echos und jede Menge akustischen Magic drauf zu packen. Es geht noch nicht mal um die Spielweise der Upsetter & Konsorten, sondern um einen spezifischen Klang. Wenn ich sagte „woah… Compass Point Studios?“ meinte ich ja auch nicht Sly & Robbie, sondern den Sound der Studios… und vielleicht auch noch Simmons. Mehr steckt da nicht dahinter.

Ok gtk, ich höre keinen typischen Black Ark Sound auch wenn du ihn meinst wahrzunehmen. Lassen wir das, ich habe das Gefühl wir reden aneinander vorbei.

Nicht doch, Steffen – ich denke, wir sprechen lediglich von zwei verschiedenen Welten… mehr ist da nicht.

Was mir hier beim wiederholten lesen der Rezension als auch bei unseren Kommnentaren nochmal durch den Kopf ging, war die Attitude ( ich komme mir beim benutzen von Fremdwörtern immer etwas komisch vor aber hier ist mir nix passenderes eingefallen ), mit der Aaron Spragues an die Musik herangeht. Handgespielt ! Analoges Equipment und analoges DubMixing !
Genau das, wovon ich immer träume ! Keine sterilen und leblosen Drumprogramme, keine Keyboardbässe und überhaupt jede Menge Naturfeeling. Inklusive Hall und Echo, welche nix anderes sind, als faszinierende Naturphänomene. Leider flashen mich die Riddims bzw. Instrumentals nicht genug, so das ich es vergessen habe, mich für die sehr lobenswerte Herangehensweise bei Aaron Spragues zu bedanken und ihn wenigstens dafür mal richtig hochleben zu lassen. Also nochmal komplett ohne Ironie :

Big Up Mr. Sprague ! Your Concept Is Perfect ! ( „But at first you need a good riddim to make a good Dub“ ) ………………………… lemmi

P.S. : Was ist ein guter Riddim ?

„Eine faszinierende, immer wiederkehrende Abfolge von Geräuschen ( möglichst aber nicht zwingend von MusikInstrumenten erzeugt )“

„Wichtigstes Kriterium : es muss dem lemmi richtig gut gefallen“ ………………………

Ok, ok ich hab die Torwarthandschuhe bereits wieder an ……………………………. lemmi

Some people in this world create and try to spread love, some people try to destroy and spread hate. „Love and Hate cannot be friends“. Of course we don’t have the same taste! I am glad. I hope everyone can know love and peace one day. „Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don’t matter and those who matter don’t mind.“-Lee Scratch Perry

Yeah Mann´ !

Your words sounds like a very good Dub to me.

I am very afraid, that mankind is living in the last days of Democracy. There are only some Islands of free speach and free minds in this world. The DubBlog is one of this Islands and that makes me happy. But I think, for example, Pablo Moses knew that a long time bevore, when he was singing :

„IN THE FUTURE IT A GO TERRIBLE !“

I knew this song a very long time but it doesn´t help me, because I am not ready to die !

Ok, Reggae is not only „good vibes“ and „vegatable breakfast“. It is Reality !

…… and there is „a thin line between love and hate“

I hope my english was able to be understand ;-) and when I read the word „english“ my mind is coming to „hinglan“. „Hinglan Is a Bitch“ ( LKJ ). Them are ready to send Julian Assange into the hell of american „justice“. Democracy and Freedom is in the highest danger, like it never did bevore.

But, who am I, that I told you all these bad things. I am sure that you are not sleeping on the tries and its nothing new for anyone here, but I like the feeling that I can talk about it.

„Dub against fashism“ / „READY AIM FIRE !!!“…………………………… lemmi

( „Come Back Jesus“ )

Kommentar verfassen

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.