Categories
Review

Tsadqan: Dub Meditation

If you are only a little interested in reggae, you cannot avoid typical Nyahbinghi chants. My first contacts with Nyahbinghi Songs were actually “Rastaman Chant” by Bob Marley & The Wailers, followed by Bunny Wailer's “This Train”, Cultures “So long Babylon a fool I”, IJahman's “Zion Hut”, Bob Marley's “Babylon System” and of course albums by Ras Michael (Dadawah) and the parade copy par excellence: Count Ossie & The Mystic Revelation of Rastafari “Grounation”. Even Jimmy Cliff opened his 1980s concerts with the Nyahbinghi Chant "Bongo Man".
The style of music that Rasta and percussionist Oswald Williams alias Count Ossie, who died in 1976, created together with The Mystic Revelation of Rastafari from its early beginnings in the late 1950s to the groundbreaking milestone “Grounation” (1973) and beyond, that is still today The foundation of "Kings Music", i.e. roots reggae.
The Nyahbinghi seances, also called Reasonings or Grounations, exerted an enormous influence on almost all Jamaican musicians, from Prince Buster, Rico, Cedric "IM" Brooks, Tommy McCook to Bob Marley and many other Foundation Artists. Even Keith Richards of the Rolling Stones, an outspoken reggae fan, is enthusiastic about the classic Nyahbinghi sound and therefore produced two albums for the Wingless Angels - a group around Justin Hinds - in the early 1990s. Almost every music lover in the world has known at least one Nyahbinghi song since 1993, namely "Oh Carolina" in the version of Shaggy. Produced by Prince Buster in 1958 with the Folkes Brothers and Count Ossies Afro combo, the original was released in 1960.

Nyahbinghi is derived from an East African territorial movement that opposed European imperialism and was active in various African states from 1850 to 1950. This movement also inspired many Jamaicans to oppose British colonialism in the 50s. This music then got its name from Jamaica and became the musical pillar of the Rasta religion and its followers.

Let's get to the actual project of "Tsadqan: Dub Meditation", the Dub-Album to "The Tsadiq Nyahbinghi". The current album takes us far back in time when the Nyahbinghi style was brought to life. The classical instrumentation: Thunder, Funde and Repeater or also called Kete, was combined to unique melodies by means of an electric bass, sparingly used guitar solos and keyboard interludes. This created a beautiful new mix in which tradition and modern times merge into a unique atmosphere. "Dub Meditation ”contains twelve tracks, two per track Dubs, in classic NyahbinghiDub-Style. The first ten tracks were discreet by Nick Manasseh, who is not unknown here, in his new London studio, that is to say: without major ones DubGimmicks, mixed. The last two tracks on the album are two unreleased bonus tracks from the opus "Shakaroot meets Tsadqan" and here Petah Sunday was allowed to show his mixing talent. The first ten tracks are unreleased Dub-Cuts from the 2020 album "Tsadqan - The Tsadiq Nyahbinghi", which have been withheld until now and only played in a few live performances.

Those who get involved in this typical, unadulterated sound will experience the meditative effect on their own body and rise into the air and glide like on the wings of an eagle. The sound is truly back to the Cradle of Roots Music made in Basel, Switzerland.

Rating: 4.5 out of 5.

5 replies to "Tsadqan: Dub Meditation"

Thank you for your detailed historical classification Ras Vorbei!
I already knew a lot, but some things are new to me ...
An album that I listen to very often and that inspires me a lot, especially in its simplicity and monotony ...

I also have to thank you for the great tip, Philipp. To explain the spelling: Nyahbinghi. I have consistently kept the "old" spelling, just as the word was written earlier on the first albums. But there are also other possibilities: Nyabinghi or Nyabingi also seem to be spelled correctly. Even Michele Galeazzi aka Mighi Tsadiq uses both spellings in the same text.

Reply

Originally this is "death to all white oppressors music" and that is exactly the rhythm where I have to go. In the meantime they have probably checked that there are also really bad orcs among the black Africans, who would ideally not have been born in the first place. Very brutal ones weighted especially like to "take on" unarmed women and children.
WTF !!!
Therefore the term Nyahbinghi was expanded to include this knowledge and means "death to all black and white oppressors". Which means that you can now save yourself the list of "bright" colors. So it is music that suppresses EVERYONE, to put it mildly, wishing the plague on your neck and I agree with that wholeheartedly.
Perhaps it is my own anger about all these inadequacies in our asocial social disaster that makes me feel like deep satisfaction every blow from thunder, finds and repeaters. I don't bother to calculate exact numbers, because even a refugee is too many. But the many people who are on the run around the world because this pays off and pays off really well for some financial orcs have been innocently driven into this misery and nobody feels moved by this situation
to change even the slightest. "NYABINGHI !!!" I would like with all my heart that all orks (from putin to trump and baiden, all bolzonaros and assads to lukaschenkos and people like zuckerberg and rockefellers consorts) on their earlobes, nicely excited for a long time Clothesline hangs and then dangles there as a daunting example. True to the motto, check out these taugenixen. Actually you should kill them, but with all the anger I feel, killing is not as close to me as the orcs, who not only have no qualms about killing, but really enjoyed killing. I would love to ask you personally, “WHAT'S UP WITH YOU ?!” When was your humanity driven out ?! (... or are you actually orcs ?!) You want to be our country fathers and you behave like Kf (you know what word should be here, but I don't know what your anger is like about all this shit. I don't know how far you can open your collar before it bursts). My collar bursts at least verbally with every news broadcast.
I can't get the pictures out of my head either, which I recently had to endure on the TV again. Somewhere in Africa children stood in a long line in front of a barren wall from which a small pipe came. About 40 liters of water per hour (!!!) trickled out of it. It takes half an hour to fill a canister with 20 liters of water!
(Sorry, you could have worked that out yourself, but that's how the misery becomes clear). Nestle, on the other hand, can draw on the full and sells the COMMON GOODS
WATER, which every African is morally and legally entitled to for as much money as an average “earning” African can barely afford. ! NYABINGHI! Bomb Them! Shoot Them! Hang Them! BURN THEM! Boom A Yeh !!! You have to be clear about that! A Swiss company (as far as I know) sells the water to the Africans in Africa, which they give the Africans through dubhave "redeemed" ios business and empty promises. And our ursula speaks of European values ​​in Brussels!?! And to top it all off, musicians from Switzerland make what is probably the most original music that ever came from Africa. You can't get more decadence!?
Indeed !! Personally, I can easily go one better, because I actually like the record. Yes, what is it now? I've gotten pretty wrong! Is nothing to just save the world for a moment.
In the past (when I was even more naive than today) I would have liked to have been a “Recruting Soldier Of JAH Army” in Peter Tosh's troupe, but firstly this army is still missing and secondly my brain is a bit too soft for that. Verbally I can always freak out a bit and beat the drum, but in concrete terms I'm just a limp "washcloth" without a solid plan.
There will probably be no Hancock pulling the orcs on the clothesline, but we humans urgently need something like a JAH Army that is always there when heads of state are not serving their people with body and soul; when dolphins and rhinos are brutally slaughtered and not even allowed to experience the grace of killing; when people, who in principle live on the largest water reservoir on earth, have to drink from a rusty trickle, while others drink champagne at a price of 100.000 euros and imagine that they can’t get any more powder without rhinoceros, shark and dolphin powder. NYABINGHI !!!

Yes sorry Ras Your review is really very informative again and also illuminates the background of reggae and Dub very well by making it clear that it is without Nyabinghi
probably no progressive and aggressive reggae. Music that not only (but also) leads us to believe that “everything is so beautiful” and “oh ick love you so”, but music that shakes us up or at least shakes us up.
There are people who (in other forums) take up the startling and sometimes subversive text passages from decades-old and recurring reggae revelations and “brush” them on their false flags. There are “demonstrations” of empty thinkers drifting sharply to the right, on which “Get Up Stand Up” by Bob Marley and The Wailers is played. The very often recurring encouragement of the RASTAS or reggae artists "WAKE UP" or "WAKE UP AND LIFE" is also only too gladly translated into German by the right-wing orcs and culminates in the request that we should really soon " should wake up ”. False Fake Flag Drag - queen!
In addition, people join today who then completely mess up the whole thing and want to push a Rasta text that recurs in the good old tradition into the right corner. Only because they either never wanted to look beyond lovers reggae or because they simply did not notice that the right-wing orcs are using the "HookLines" of the reggae artists and thus putting them in the wrong light. False Fake Flag Drag - queen! I do not know whether these other forums are not all infiltrated by right-wing orcs or whether there are only people hanging around who simply do not buckle up or who simply lack the necessary background to really understand reggae.
I am overjoyed that besides myself there are also others who, with very simple food for thought, create clear relationships in the minds of the confused. Provided that you are not completely confused and obscured by the MultimediaFalseFlagDrag-queen show.

I like the disc ;-) ………………………. lemmi

And again ! Sorry Ras

I actually wanted to ask your forgiveness that I couldn't think of anything better for your great review than my interpretation of "Nyabinghi" ... ..

But somehow there was too much pressure on my head again, which occasionally resembles a dud that did not go off in World War II and now has to deal with the concentrated load of explosive bullshit.

At the moment I could really “hug” the whole world again ;-) ……… .. lemmi

All right, lemmi. Thank you for your reasoning about (just) some grievances and infamy on this planet. Nyahbinghi means ...

Post a comment

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Kategorien
Review

Tsadqan: Dub Meditation

Wer sich nur ein wenig für Reggae interessiert, kommt an typischen Nyahbinghi Chants nicht vorbei. Meine ersten Kontakte mit Nyahbinghi Songs waren tatsächlich „Rastaman Chant“ von Bob Marley & The Wailers, gefolgt von Bunny Wailers „This Train“, Cultures „So long Babylon a fool I“, IJahmans „Zion Hut“, Bob Marleys „Babylon System“ und selbstverständlich Alben von Ras Michael (Dadawah) und das Paradeexemplar schlechthin: Count Ossie & The Mystic Revelation of Rastafari „Grounation“. Selbst Jimmy Cliff eröffnete seine 1980er Konzerte mit dem Nyahbinghi Chant „Bongo Man“.
Der Musikstil, den der 1976 verstorbene Rasta und Percussionist Oswald Williams alias Count Ossie zusammen mit The Mystic Revelation of Rastafari seit seinen frühen Anfängen in den späten 1950er Jahren bis zum bahnbrechenden Meilenstein „Grounation“ (1973) und darüber hinaus schufen, stellt bis heute das Fundament der „Kings-Music“, sprich des Roots Reggae.
Die Nyahbinghi-Séancen, auch Reasonings oder Grounations genannt, übten einen enorm großen Einfluss auf fast alle jamaikanischen Musiker aus, von Prince Buster, Rico, Cedric „IM“ Brooks, Tommy McCook bis Bob Marley und vielen anderen Foundation Artists. Selbst Keith Richards von den Rolling Stones, ein ausgesprochener Reggae Fan, ist vom klassischen Nyahbinghi Sound begeistert und hat darum in den frühen 1990ern zwei Alben der Wingless Angels – eine Gruppe um Justin Hinds – produziert. Seit 1993 kennt beinahe jeder Musikfreund der Welt wenigstens einen Nyahbinghi Song, nämlich „Oh Carolina“ in der Version von Shaggy. Das von Prince Buster 1958 mit den Folkes Brothers und Count Ossies Afro-Combo produzierte Original wurde 1960 veröffentlicht.

Nyahbinghi leitet sich übrigens von einer ostafrikanischen Territorialbewegung ab, die sich dem europäischen Imperialismus widersetzte und von 1850 bis 1950 in verschiedenen afrikanischen Staaten aktiv war. Diese Bewegung inspirierte in den 50er Jahren ebenfalls viele Jamaikaner sich gegen den britischen Kolonialismus zu widersetzen. Von Jamaika aus erhielt diese Musik dann ihren Namen und wurde zur musikalischen Säule der Rasta-Religion und ihrer Anhänger.

Kommen wir zum eigentlichen Projekt von „Tsadqan: Dub Meditation“, das Dub-Album zu „The Tsadiq Nyahbinghi“. Das aktuelle Album führt uns weit in die Zeit zurück, in der der Nyahbinghi-Stil zum Leben erweckt wurde. Die klassische Instrumentierung: Thunder, Funde und Repeater oder auch Kete genannt, wurde durch elektrischen Bass, sparsam eingesetzten Gitarrensoli und Keyboardinterludes zu einzigartigen Melodien zusammengefügt. Dadurch entstand eine schöne neue Mischung, in der sich Tradition und Neuzeit zu einer einzigartigen Atmosphäre verschmelzen. „Dub Meditation“ enthält zwölf Tracks, pro Track je zwei Dubs, im klassischen Nyahbinghi-Dub-Stil. Die ersten zehn Tracks wurden vom hier nicht unbekannten Nick Manasseh in seinem neuen Londoner Studio dezent, soll heißen: ohne große Dub-Spielereien, gemixt. Bei den letzen beiden Titeln des Albums handelt es sich um zwei unveröffentlichte Bonustracks aus dem Opus „Shakaroot meets Tsadqan“ und hier durfte Petah Sunday sein Mixing-Talent zeigen. Die ersten zehn Tracks sind unveröffentlichte Dub-Cuts aus dem 2020 erschienenen Album „Tsadqan – The Tsadiq Nyahbinghi“, die bis jetzt zurückgehalten und nur bei wenigen Live-Auftritten gespielt wurden.

Wer sich auf diesen typischen, unverfälschten Sound einlässt, wird die meditative Wirkung am eigenen Körper erfahren und sich wie auf den Schwingen eines Adlers in die Lüfte erheben und dahingleiten. Der Sound ist wahrlich back to the Cradle of Roots Music made in Basel, Switzerland.

Bewertung: 4.5 von 5.

5 Antworten auf „Tsadqan: Dub Meditation“

Danke für deine ausführliche geschichtliche Einordnung Ras Vorbei!
Vieles wusste ich bereits, einiges ist mir doch neu…
Ein Album, das ich sehr oft höre und das mich sehr inspiriert, gerade in seiner Schlichtheit und Monotonie…

Auch ich habe dir für den tollen Tipp zu danken, Philipp. Zur Erläuterung der Schreibweise: Nyahbinghi. Ich habe konsquent die „alte“ Schreibweise beibehalten, so wie das Wort auch früher auf den ersten Alben geschrieben wurde. Es gibt aber auch andere Möglichkeiten: Nyabinghi oder Nyabingi scheinen auch richtig geschrieben zu sein. Selbst Michele Galeazzi aka Mighi Tsadiq verwendet im selben Text beide Schreibweisen.

Ursprünglich ist das „Tod allen weißen Unterdrückern Musik“ und das ist genau der Rhythmus, wo ich mitmuss. Inzwischen hat man wohl gecheckt, das es auch bei den schwarzen Afrikanern ganz üble orks gibt, die am Besten erst gar nicht geboren worden wären. Ganz brutale wichte die es besonders gern mit unbewaffneten Frauen und Kindern „aufnehmen“.
WTF !!!
Von daher wurde der Begriff Nyahbinghi wohl um diese Erkenntnis erweitert und Bedeutet „Tod allen schwarzen und weißen Unterdrückern“. Womit man sich die Aufzählung der „bunten“ Farben ja jetzt auch ganz sparen kann. Es ist also Musik, die ALLEN unterdrückern, gelinde ausgedrückt, die Pest an den Hals wünscht und dem schließe ich mich aus vollem Herzen an.
Vielleicht ist es mein eigener Zorn über diese ganzen Unzulänglichkeiten in unserem asozialen Sozialdaseinsdesaster, welches mich jeden Schlag von Thunder, Funde und Repeater wie eine tiefe Genugtuung empfinden lässt. Ich mache mir nicht die Mühe, genaue Zahlen zu recherschieren, denn schon ein Flüchtling ist zu viel. Aber die vielen Menschen, die weltweit auf der Flucht sind, weil sich das hier für einige finanzorks richtig gut rechnet und auszahlt, sind unschuldig in diese Not getrieben worden und niemand fühlt sich bewogen, an diesem Zustand
auch nur das geringste zu ändern. „NYABINGHI !!!“ Ich würde mir von ganzem Herzen wünschen, das man alle orks ( von putin über trump und baiden, alle bolzonaros und assads bis hin zu lukaschenkos und leuten wie zuckerberg und rockefellers konsorten ) am Ohrläppchen,schön aufgereit an eine lange Wäscheleine hängt und sie dann dort als abschreckendes Beispiel vor sich hin baumeln lässt. Ganz nach dem Motto, seht euch diese Taugenixe an. Eigentlich müsste man sie töten aber bei allem Zorn, den ich empfinde, liegt mir das Töten nicht so nahe, wie den orks, die da nicht nur keine Skrupel haben, sondern regelrecht gefallen am Töten haben. Ich würde sie nur zu gern mal persönlich fragen, „WAS IST LOS MIT EUCH ?!“ Wann hat man euch die menschlichkeit ausgetrieben ?! ( … oder seit ihr tatsächlich orks ?!) Ihr wollt unsrere Landesväter sein und ihr benehmt euch wie K.f. ( ihr wisst, welches Wort hier stehen müsste aber ich weiß nicht, wie es um euren Zorn über diesen ganzen scheiß bestellt ist. Ich weiß nicht, wie weit ihr euren Kragen noch aufmachen könnt, bevor er platzt ). Mein Kragen platzt zumindest verbal bei jeder Nachrichtensendung aufs neue.
Mir gehen auch die Bilder nicht aus dem Kopf, die ich erst neulich wieder im Frensehen ertragen musste. Irgendwo in Afrika standen Kinder in einer langen Schlange vor einer kargen Wand, aus dem ein kleines Rohr kam. Daraus tröpfelten ca. 40 Liter Wasser pro Stunde (!!!). Um einen Kanister mit 20 Liter Wasser zu füllen braucht es also eine halbe Stunde !!!
( Sorry, das hättet ihr auch selbst ausrechnen können aber so wird die Misere halt richtig deutlich ). Nestle kann da hingegen aus dem vollen schöpfen und verkauft das ALLGEMEINGUT
WASSER, welches jedem Afrikaner moralisch und gesetzlich zusteht für so viel Geld, wie sich ein durchschnittlich „verdienender“ Afrikaner gerade noch leisten kann. !NYABINGHI! Bomb Them ! Shoot Them ! Hang Them ! BURN THEM ! Boom A Yeh !!! Das muss man sich mal klar machen ! Eine schweizer Firma ( so weit ich weiß ) verkauft den Afrikanern in Afrika das Wasser, was sie den Afrikanern durch dubiose Geschäfte und leere Versprechungen „abgeluxt“ haben. Und unsere ursula redet in Brüssel von europäischen Werten !?! Und zu allem Überfluss machen Musiker aus der Schweiz die wohl ursprünglsichste Musik, die jemals aus Afrika entsprungen ist. Mehr Dekadenz geht nicht !?
Doch !! Ich persönlich kann da locker noch einen drauf setzen, denn mir gefällt die Scheibe sogar. Ja, was issn jetz ? Ziemlich verrant habe ich mich ! Is nix mit nur mal kurz die Welt retten.
In der Vergangenheit ( als ich noch naiver war als heute ), wäre ich gern ein „Recruting Soldier Of JAH Army“ in der Truppe von Peter Tosh geworden aber erstens fehlt diese Armee bis heute und zweitens is mein Hirn dafür doch etwas zu weich. Verbal kann ich ja immer wieder mal ein bischen ausrasten und auf die Pauke hauen aber konkret bin ich auch einfach nur ein schlaffer „waschlappen“ ohne handfesten Plan.
Es wird wohl keinen Hancock geben, der die orks auf die Wäscheleine zieht aber wir Menschen brauchen dringend so etwas wie eine JAH Army, die jederzeit zur Stelle ist, wenn Staatsoberhäupter ihrem Volk nicht mit Leib und Seele dienen; wenn Delfine und Nashörner ganz brutal abgeschlachtet werden und dabei noch nicht mal die Gnade der Tötung erfahren dürfen; wenn Menschen, die im Prinzip auf dem größten Wasserreservoir der Erde leben, aus einem verrosteten Rinnsal trinken müssen, während hier andere Champagner im Preis von 100.000 Euro trinken und sich einbilden, sie bekommen ohne Nashorn, Hai – und Delfin Pulver keinen mehr hoch. NYABINGHI !!!

Ja sorry RasVorbei ! Deine Rezension ist wirklich wieder sehr informativ und beleuchtet auch die Hintergründe von Reggae und Dub sehr gut, indem du klarmachst, das es ohne Nyabinghi
wohl keinen progressiven und aggressiven Reggae gegeben hätte. Musik, die uns nicht nur ( aber auch ) von „alles is so schön“ und „ach ick lieb dir ja so“ vorgaukelt, sondern Musik, die uns wachrüttelt oder zumindest aufrüttelt.
Es gibt leute, die ( in anderen foren ) die aufrüttelnden und zum Teil staatsfeindlichen Textpassagen aus jahrzehntealten und immer wieder kehrenden ReggaeOffenbarungen aufgreifen und diese auf ihre falschen Flaggen „pinseln“. So gibt es „demonstrationen“ von stark nach rechts abdriftenden leerdenkern, auf denen „Get Up Stand Up“ von Bob Marley and The Wailers gespielt wird. Die sehr oft wiederkehrende Aufmunterung der RASTAS bzw. ReggaeArtists „WAKE UP“ oder auch „WAKE UP AND LIFE“ wird ja von den rechten orks auch nur zu gern ins deutsche übersetzt und gipfelt in der Aufforderung, das wir hier doch nun mal wirklich bald „erwachen sollten“. False Fake Flag Drag – queen !
Dazu gesellen sich heute leute, die das ganze dann komplett verschwurbeln und einen, in guter alter Tradition wiederkehrenden RastaText in die rechte Ecke drängen wollen. Nur weil sie entweder über Loversreggae nie hinaus schauen wollten oder weil sie es einfach nicht mitbekommen haben, das die rechten orks sich der „HookLines“ der ReggaeArtists bedienen und diese somit ins falsche Licht rücken. False Fake Flag Drag – queen ! Ich weiß nicht, ob diese anderen Foren nicht schon alle von rechten orks infiltriert sind oder ob da nur leute rumhängen, die es einfach nicht schnallen, bzw. denen einfach der nötige Background fehlt, um Reggae wirklich richtig zu verstehen.
Ich bin überglücklich, das es außer mir aber auch noch andere gibt, die durch ganz einfache Denkanstöße wieder für klare Verhältnisse in den Köpfen der Verwirrten sorgen. Vorausgesetzt, sie sind noch nicht komplett durch die MultimediaFalseFlagDrag-queen Show verwirrt und vernebelt.

Die Scheibe gefällt mir ;-) ………………………. lemmi

Und nochmal ! Sorry RasVorbei !

Ich wollte eigentlich um Verzeihung bitten, das mir zu deiner tollen Rezension nix besseres eingefallen ist, als meine Interpretation von „Nyabinghi“ …..

Aber irgendwie war da wieder zu viel Druck auf meinem Kopf, der gelegentlich einem Blindgänger ähnelt, der im zweiten Weltkrieg nicht mit hochgegangen ist und nun mit der geballten Ladung an explosivem Bullshit klarkommen muss.

Zur Zeit könnte ich aber auch echt wieder die ganze Welt „umarmen“ ;-) ……….. lemmi

Alles gut, lemmi. Danke für dein Reasoning über (nur) einige Missstände und Infamitäten auf diesem Planeten. Nyahbinghi means …

Kommentar verfassen

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.