Categories
Review

Bob Marley & The Wailers: In Dub Flight. 1

How time flies. Exactly forty years ago today, a message on the radio hit me right in the heart. I pulled my old VW Beetle to the side of the road, stopped in shock and felt like I had just received the sad news that a very good friend of mine had died. Reggae's figurehead, the Tuff Gong, had lost his last battle with cancer. After almost six months of treatment at the Ringberg Clinic in Rottach-Egern, Bob Marley's health deteriorated significantly in early May 1981 and he decided to fly back to Jamaica to spend the last days of his life there. Unfortunately, he should no longer achieve this goal. Already on the way back to the Caribbean it collapsed at the airport in Munich-Riem. After a stopover in Miami on the morning of May 11th, he was too weak to continue the flight. He was taken to a clinic, where he died a short time later. One of the most charismatic and challenging performers of our time, a musical, political and even spiritual figure of mystical proportions died at the age of 36 and is and remains Reggae's greatest icon and an outstanding figure of our time. No artist in modern music has dominated his genre like Bob Marley has dominated reggae. Marley sang of rebellion, riot, rasta and the power of love. A man who rose from the most modest of circumstances to become a role model for the oppressed. He was the most renowned Jamaican artist who gave a voice to the daily struggle of his people and the Rastafarian culture (s) and also the first to achieve global fame.
Bob Marley & the Wailers recorded eight studio and two live albums together during their lifetime. On the occasion of his 65th birthday (February 6th) - if he had seen him - in 2010 "Bob Marley & The Wailers - In Dub Flight. 1" released.
Apart from Soul Revolution II, which Lee Perry originally only released on his label, “In Dub Vol. 1 “one of Marley's few attempts Dubs to be published in album length. That makes the album interesting from the start, but also daring. With “Roots Rock Dub“The album starts and the skanking rhythm guitar in combination with fragmented backing vocals are complemented by jazzy saxophone sounds. The “Jamming Version” almost completely dispenses with echo and reverb. "Is This Love Dub“Comes out much stronger: The lead vocals are faded in and out, echo, reverb and beautiful percussions show the way. "One Love / People Get Ready Dub“Sounds good to me too. In “Forever Loving Jah Dub“Aston Barrett's incomparable bass takes on the role that he played in Dub also due to the main role. The “Lively Up Your Dub“Retained more of Bob Marley's voice than any other track. "Three Little Birds Dub“Sounds a bit like from the beginnings of reggae, maybe also because of the classical instrumentation. "Crazy Baldhead Dub“Looks even darker and therefore more interesting, while“ Waiting in Vain ”seems much darker to me than the original. "She's gone Dub"Contains much of the original vocals before being converted into a great old-school version /Dub-Style transitions. The album closes with a "Smile Jamaica Version" and a somewhat muffled production sound that was characteristic of the time.
"Lively Up Your Dub“Is the only track on this album that clearly shows that it was mixed by Scientist. The remaining ten tracks could have been mixed by Bob Marley with Aston Barrett or other sound engineers working in the Tuff Gong Studio. Unfortunately, no further information can be found on the album in this regard.
In conclusion, it can be stated that “Bob Marley & The Wailers - In Dub Vol. 1 “No major mixer trickery taking place or one Dubfireworks being burned down. Rather, we get before our eyes and especially ears that also in the reduced Dubsound Robert Nesta Marley's songs and melodies light up like fixed stars in the infinite universe.

Rating: 4 out of 5.

7 replies to “Bob Marley & The Wailers: In Dub Vol. 1 "

What a beautiful homage to the king of reggae, Ras Vorbei !!!

Every word of your review speaks from my soul! As usual, I would have completely forgotten both the day of his death and his birthday. However, I always forget my birthdays (I've even forgotten my mother's). But not everyone lives the day like me and so I am very grateful that you thought of Bob Marley today, Ras Vorbei.
And then with such a fitting one DubI think it's just a success to appreciate the disc!
The Dubs are described so well that I can't put anything on it and, above all, don't want to. It may be that there is no "Dubfireworks "with" great mixer trickery "is available, but as if you had felt my complaints of the last few days, we now have one here DubDisk (just the fact that I can write “Disk” again makes me feel good), with basslines that couldn't be better anywhere. The family man himself !!! Normally I would write "from my point of view" but here I do not allow any other way of seeing or hearing ;-) !!! There are people who can't start with Bob Marley's reggae (especially those from the ex-sound system scene) but I can only regret such "lateral thinkers" ......
I have (felt) this disc for at least 10 years and I keep wondering why it has only stayed with Volume 1 so far. If I add it all up, we should be at Volume 8 by now, plus two liveDub-Discs ;-). It's a shame, because here too I would like to express the wish, "Please more of it" !!!
Ja Ras Vorbei ! All those who don't know this disc yet and (which would be even worse) don't have it, should write you a whole mountain of thanks, because this disc is a TREASURE!
You can't help that you can't see the first five stars here, but why did you forget the 10th? .... ;-)

"One Good Thing About Music Is, when it hits you feel no pain" ... .. The Prophet! ………………………… so long ……. lemmi

"... I keep asking myself why it has only stayed with Vol.1 so far."

Thank you very much lemmi!
I've been asking myself this question for ages. During Bob Marley's lifetime there were mostly versions or on the B-side of the singles Dubs to find and from that we have ours Dub-Tape put together. The Redemption Song single is on the back z. B. the band version. On the singles there was usually a delicacy to be found.
Perhaps now, on the occasion of the 40th anniversary of death, “In Dub Vol. 2 ”published. I would be happy.

A few days ago I was rummaging through my archive again and, in keeping with the 40th anniversary of Bob Marley's death, I found this:

https://soundcloud.com/greenlion89/sets/dubwiser-collection-sampler

The mixes come from Dartanyan GreenLion Winston, who some also know about his Dubmixes for Taxi Taboo 1 should be known. When you listen to it, you realize again what an incredibly good riddim section like that of the Barrett brothers can do. Carly's drums and Aston's basslines are unmatched to this day. I also find the old audio recordings and interview recordings from that time very nice.

I'm gasping again!

The Dubs are even better than the ones on “Vol. 1" !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

More radical effects and an even deeper one DubThe atmosphere !

And that's exactly what I always try to talk about. The Riddim Section makes the music!
A lot more comes out of it than if a computer program chokes on loops.
And when it comes to the Barrett Brothers, quality is once again far above quantity.

Danrtanyan Green Lion Winston! Please hear my cry! I (we) need 8 albums in vinyl
from this amazing great DubMusic !!!

"So long, so long, so long many people dem a suffer" ………………… ..lemmi

I like to remember the album, dreams of freedom v. Marley and
Bill Laswell, who is incredibly good with a lot of experience and sensitivity Dubs by Marley has created songs that are not the usual reggaedublike to serve the listener, and will only develop after listening to them several times.
I would have liked to have heard this record in the warm-up or at the end of a sound system session.
Beautiful.

Post a comment

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Kategorien
Review

Bob Marley & The Wailers: In Dub Vol. 1

Wie doch die Zeit vergeht. Genau heute vor vierzig Jahren traf mich eine Nachricht im Radio mitten ins Mark. Ich fuhr meinen alten VW-Käfer an den Straßenrand, hielt wie in Schockstarre an und fühlte mich so, als wenn ich gerade die traurige Nachricht erhalten hätte, dass ein sehr guter Freund von mir gestorben wäre. Die Galionsfigur des Reggae, der Tuff Gong, hatte seinen letzten Kampf gegen den Krebs verloren. Nachdem sich Bob Marley beinahe acht Monate in der Ringberg Klinik in Rottach-Egern hat behandeln lassen, verschlechterte sich Anfang Mai 1981 sein Gesundheitszustand sehr deutlich und er beschloss, zurück nach Jamaika zu fliegen, um dort die letzten Tage seines Lebens zu verbringen. Dieses Ziel sollte er leider nicht mehr erreichen. Bereits auf dem Rückweg in die Karibik kollabierte er auf dem Flughafen in München-Riem. Nach einer Zwischenlandung in Miami am Morgen des 11. Mai war er für einen Weiterflug zu schwach. Er wurde in eine Klinik gebracht, wo er kurze Zeit später verstarb. Einer der charismatischsten und herausforderndsten Interpreten unserer Zeit, eine musikalische, politische und sogar spirituelle Figur mystischen Ausmaßes verstarb 36-jährig und ist und bleibt Reggaes größte Ikone und eine herausragende Figur unserer Zeit. Kein Künstler in der modernen Musik hat sein Genre so dominiert wie Bob Marley den Reggae. Marley sang von Rebellion, Aufständen, Rasta und der Kraft der Liebe. Ein Mann, der sich aus bescheidensten Verhältnissen erhob, um ein Vorbild für die Unterdrückten zu werden. Er war der renommierteste jamaikanische Künstler, der dem täglichen Kampf seines Volkes und der Rastafari-Kultur (s)eine Stimme gab und obendrein der Erste, der globalen Ruhm erlangte.
Bob Marley & the Wailers haben zusammen zu Lebzeiten acht Studio- und zwei Live-Alben eingespielt. Anlässlich seines 65. Geburtstags (6. Februar) – wenn er ihn erlebt hätte – wurde 2010 „Bob Marley & The Wailers – In Dub Vol. 1“ veröffentlicht.
Wenn man einmal von Soul Revolution II absieht, die Lee Perry ursprünglich nur auf seinem Label veröffentlichte, ist „In Dub Vol. 1“ einer der wenigen Versuche Marley Dubs in Albumlänge zu veröffentlichen. Das macht das Album von vornherein interessant, aber auch gewagt. Mit „Roots Rock Dub“ startet das Album und die skanking Rhythmusgitarre in Kombination mit fragmentierten Backing Vocals werden durch jazzige Saxofon Klänge ergänzt. Die „Jamming Version“ verzichtet fast vollständig auf Echo und Hall. „Is This Love Dub“ kommt wesentlich stärker: Die Lead-Vocals werden ein- und ausgeblendet, Echo, Hall und schöne Percussions weißen den Weg. „One Love/People Get Ready Dub“ klingt in meinen Ohren ebenfalls gelungen. Bei „Forever Loving Jah Dub“ übernimmt Aston Barretts unvergleichlicher Bass die Rolle, die ihm im Dub auch gebührt, die Hauptrolle. Beim „Lively Up Your Dub“ wurde mehr von Bob Marleys Stimme beibehalten als bei einigen anderen Tracks. „Three Little Birds Dub“ klingt ein bisschen wie aus den Anfängen des Reggae, vielleicht auch aufgrund der klassischen Instrumentierung. „Crazy Baldhead Dub“ wirkt noch dunkler und dadurch auch interessanter, während „Waiting in Vain“ mir noch wesentlich düsterer erscheint als das Original. „She’s Gone Dub“ enthält einen Großteil des Originalgesangs, bevor es in einen großartigen Old-School-Version/Dub-Stil übergeht. Das Album schließt mit einer „Smile Jamaica Version“ und einem für die damalige Zeit charakteristischen, etwas dumpfen, Produktionssound.
„Lively Up Your Dub“ ist der einzige Track auf diesem Album, bei dem zweifelsfrei zu erkennen ist, dass er von Scientist gemixt wurde. Die restlichen zehn Tracks könnten Bob Marley zusammen mit Aston Barrett oder andere im Tuff Gong Studio tätige Sound-Engeneers gemixt haben. Auf dem Album sind diesbezüglich leider keinerlei weitere Informationen zu finden.
Abschließend kann man feststellen, dass auf „Bob Marley & The Wailers – In Dub Vol. 1“ keine größeren Mischpult Tricksereien stattfinden oder ein Dubfeuerwerk abgebrannt wird. Vielmehr bekommen wir vor Augen und besonders Ohren geführt, dass auch im reduzierten Dubsound Robert Nesta Marleys Songs und Melodien wie Fixsterne im unendlichen Universum erleuchten.

Bewertung: 4 von 5.

4 Antworten auf „Bob Marley & The Wailers: In Dub Vol. 1“

Was für eine schöne Huldigung an den King des Reggae, Ras Vorbei !!!

Jedes Wort deiner Rezension spricht mir aus der Seele ! Ich Banause hätte sowohl seinen TodesTag als auch seinen Geburtstag wie üblich komplett vergessen. Meine Geburtstage vergesse ich allerdings auch immer ( ja sogar den meiner Mutter habe ich schon mal vergessen ). Aber nicht jeder lebt so in den Tag hinein, wie ich und so bin ich sehr dankbar, das Du heute an Bob Marley gedacht hast, Ras Vorbei.
Und das dann mit einer so treffenden DubScheibe zu würdigen, finde ich einfach nur gelungen !
Die Dubs sind so gut beschrieben, das ich da auch nix mehr draufsetzen kann und vor allem auch nicht will. Mag sein, das hier kein „Dubfeuerwerk“ mit „großen Mischpulttricksereien“ vorliegt aber als hättest Du mein Klagen der letzten Tage genau mitempfunden, haben wir hier jetzt eine DubScheibe ( schon allein das ich mal wieder „Scheibe“ schreiben darf bringt mich gut drauf ), mit Basslines, die es weit und breit nicht besser geben kann. The Familyman himself !!! Normalerweise würde ich schreiben „aus meiner Sicht“ aber hierbei lasse ich keine andere Sicht-oder Hörweise zu ;-) !!! Es gibt ja Leute, die mit dem Reggae von Bob Marley nix anfangen können ( ganz besonders die aus der ex-Soundsystem Scene ) aber solche „Querdenker“ kann ich nur bedauern ……
Ich habe diese Scheibe schon ( gefühlt ) mindestens 10 Jahre und ich frage mich immer wieder aufs neue, warum es bisher nur bei Vol.1 geblieben ist. Wenn ich alles zusammenzähle, müsten wir doch insgesamt inzwischen bei Vol.8 sein, plus zwei Live-Dub-Scheiben ;-). Schade, denn auch hier würde ich gern den Wunsch äußern, „Bitte mehr davon“ !!!
Ja Ras Vorbei ! Alle die diese Scheibe noch nicht kennen und ( was noch viel schlimmer wäre ) nicht haben, sollten Dir einen ganzen Berg an Danksagungen schreiben, denn diese Scheibe ist ein SCHATZ !
Du kannst ja nix dafür, das man die ersten fünf Sterne hier nicht sehen kann aber warum hast du den 10ten vergessen ? …. ;-)

„One Good Thing About Music Is, when it hits you feel no pain“ ….. The Prophet ! ………………………… so long ……. lemmi

„…ich frage mich immer wieder aufs neue, warum es bisher nur bei Vol.1 geblieben ist.“

Vielen lieben Dank lemmi!
Diese Frage stelle ich mir auch bereits seit ewigen Zeiten. Zu Bob Marleys Lebzeiten waren auf der B-Seite der Singles meistens Versions oder Dubs zu finden und daraus haben wir uns dann unser Dub-Tape zusammengestellt. Auf der Redemption Song Single ist auf der Rückseite z. B. die Band Version. Auf den Singles war meist ein Schmankerl zu finden.
Vielleicht wird jetzt anlässlich des 40sten Todestages endlich „In Dub Vol. 2“ veröffentlicht. Mich würd’s freuen.

Vor ein paar Tagen war ich mal wieder in meinem Archiv am Stöbern und habe, passend zum 40sten Todestag von Bob Marley, noch das hier gefunden:

https://soundcloud.com/greenlion89/sets/dubwiser-collection-sampler

Die Mixes stammen von Dartanyan GreenLion Winston, der einigen auch durch seine Dubmixes für Taxi Taboo 1 bekannt sein dürfte. Beim Durchhören merkt man erst wieder, was eine wahnsinnig gute Riddim Section wie die der Barrett Brüder leisten kann. Carlys Drums und Astons Basslines sind bis heute unerreicht. Sehr schön finde ich auch die alten Toneinspielungen und Interviewmitschnitte aus der Zeit.

Ich habe schon wieder Schnappatmung !

Die Dubs sind ja noch besser als die auf „Vol. 1“ !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Radikalere Effekte und eine noch tiefere DubAtmosphäre !

Und ja genau davon versuche ich immer zu reden. Die Riddim Section macht die Musik !
Da kommt einfach wesentlich mehr bei raus, als wenn sich ein Computerprogramm an Loops verschluckt.
Und wenn es sich dann noch um die Barrett Brüder handelt, steht Qualität mal wieder ganz weit über Quantität.

Danrtanyan Green Lion Winston ! Please hear my cry ! I ( we ) need 8 Albums in Vinyl
from this amazing great DubMusic !!!

„So long, so long, so long many People dem a suffer“ …………………..lemmi

Kommentar verfassen

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.