Categories
Review

Brother Culture: Code Name in Dub

The Brixton MC Brother Culture is experiencing something like its second spring. First the hit single “Jump Up Pon It”, then the successful album “Code Name” and now the third trick: “Code name in Dub“(Evidence Music). You have to give the likeable Rasta one thing: he has a feel for hooklines. Gold to one Dub-Sound system dance to really boil. Too bad, however, that he doesn't manage to knit full-fledged songs around these hooklines, which means that he has to repeat them endlessly in staccato to get to song length. That annoys me a little. I was all the more happy than that Dub-The counterpart to “Code Name” appeared, promising good Swiss quality productions without annoying lyrics loops. Far from it: the vocal part is for one Dub-Album huge. Even worse: without vocals, the productions remain terrifyingly pale. Fast beats that leave no room for exciting arrangements, stereotypes Dub-Mixing and generally mostly smooth sound. Well, I had hoped for more. But high expectations are usually the cause of disappointment.

Rating: 2.5 out of 5.

6 replies to “Brother Culture: Code Name in Dub"

I can't and don't want to talk people into it. But I don't find the activity particularly effective. These are all cheap riddims quickly swept away by the computer. Hardly to make out any differences, since you're a nerd and hear that up and down. All of that already existed in reggae. Even a Gregory Isaacs felt 90 percent of the time "ridden" cheap riddims that were even more brutal according to NintendoSound
have sounded. No, no, and once again no. I refuse such a future, where one should be fobbed off and satisfied with such cheap riddims.
This is canned music. I don't hear this sound from Gregory either.

Brother Culture also has to be careful that its quality does not get lost in the quagmire of quantity. Better to have one disc a year and then do it with love, passion and dedication. This is the main reason why Bob Marley is still known, loved and famous all over the world today.

Otherwise, everything is a matter of taste ;-) ……………………… lemmi

Also don't get warm with the code name in Dub... for that the Clive Hunt - Blue Lizzard album is very recommendable ... very cool and instrumental too dubwith a big touch ... a real pearl ... I'm curious to see who will take on this work ... it's a must! ;)

Isn't it particularly "dubbig “but the music opens my heart. At first, however, it is too heavy-handed for me. That could then turn out to be in the long run
prove to be a reason why the album won't run that often for me after all. Maybe I am still too spoiled by yesterday, because I completely celebrated the "Heavy Rain" again. I like to "take off" because I like to take it off every now and then.
My body is completely back on the ground (at work) but my soul is still full in the weekend.

Until ……………… .. lemmi

I also really like the brother. But it is now clear that I am such Dubs only hear when there are no others or would not exist.
I think the first 5 are really typical for “UK DunceDub". It couldn't be more stupid and mechanical. In addition, they crackle all the time
always very sympathetic vocals from Brother Culture. There can be no mystical thing like this DubExperience come about. Since you basically have fun too
about systematically banging his head against the wall.
"Dub Generation “is basically no better, but somehow I had to pay attention a little. I particularly like the second half.
I can't explain it rationally now. Also "Dub Them “went down well with me. Maybe that's because the “riddim piano” (keyboard) is at least a little bit here
provides "KlimBim" in the head. Somehow the riddim grabbed me, too, but in the end these are just small glimpses of light on this dull pounding
UKDub Uniformity.
I think the Steppers Group will celebrate it.

Clive Hunt “Blue Lizzard” and the data from Brother on bandcamp also have to be checked.

Until ………………. lemmi

Post a comment

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Kategorien
Dub

Brother Culture: Code Name in Dub

Der Brixton-MC Brother Culture erlebt gerade so etwas wie seinen zweiten Frühling. Erst die Hit-Single „Jump Up Pon It“, dann das erfolgreiche Album „Code Name“ und nun der dritte Streich: „Code Name in Dub“ (Evidence Music). Eines muss man dem sympathischen Rasta lassen: Er hat ein Gespür für Hooklines. Gold wert, um einen Dub-Sound System-Dance so richtig zum Kochen zu bringen. Zu schade jedoch, dass es ihm nicht gelingt, um diese Hooklines herum vollwertige Songs zu stricken, was zur Folge hat, dass er diese endlos stakkatohaft wiederholen muss, um auf Song-Länge zu kommen. Mich nervt das ein wenig. Umso mehr freute ich mich, als das Dub-Pendant zu „Code Name“ erschien, versprach es doch gute Schweizer Qualitätsproduktionen ohne enervierende Lyrics-Schleifen. Jedoch weit gefehlt: Der Vocal-Anteil ist für ein Dub-Album gewaltig. Noch schlimmer: Ohne Vocals bleiben die Produktionen erschreckend blass. Schnelle Beats, die keinen Raum für spannungsvolle Arrangements lassen, stereotypes Dub-Mixing und generell meist aalglatter Sound. Tja, da hatte ich mehr erhofft. Aber hohe Erwartungen sind ja meist Ursache von Enttäuschungen.

Bewertung: 2.5 von 5.

6 Antworten auf „Brother Culture: Code Name in Dub“

Ich kann und will den Leuten ja nicht reinreden. Aber ich finde die Umtriebigkeit nicht sonderlich effektiv. Das sind alles BilligRiddims mal eben schnell vom Computer hingerotzt. Kaum unterschiede auszumachen, seitdenn man ist Nerd und hört das rauf und runter. Das gab es im Reggae alles schon. Auch ein Gregory Isaacs hat gefühlt zu 90 Prozent solche BilligRiddims “geritten”, die noch etwas brutaler nach NintendoSound
geklungen haben. Nein Nein und nochmals Nein. Ich verweigere mich einer solchen Zukunft, wo man mit solchen billigen Riddims abgespeist und zufrieden sein soll.
Das ist Musik aus der Dose. Auch vom Gregory höre ich mir diesen Sound nicht an.

Brother Culture muss auch aufpassen, das seine Qualität nicht im Sumpf der Quantität untergeht. Lieber eine Scheibe pro Jahr und diese dann mit Liebe, Passion und Hingabe. Das ist der Hauptgrund, warum Bob Marley auch heute noch in der ganzen Welt bis in den letzten Winkel bekannt, geliebt und berühmt ist.

Ansonsten, is ja alles reine Geschmacksache ;-) ……………………… lemmi

Werde auch nicht warm mit dem Code Name in Dub… dafür gerade sehr empfehlenswert das Clive Hunt – Blue Lizzard-Album… sehr cool und erst noch instrumental und dubbig angehaucht… eine wahre Perle… bin gespannt, wer sich diesem Werk hier annimmt… it’s a must! ;)

Is ja nicht sonderlich “dubbig” aber bei der Musik geht mir das Herz auf. Im ersten Moment ist es mir aber zu bläserlastig. Das könnte sich dann auch auf Dauer als
ein Grund erweisen, warum das Album bei mir letztenendes doch nicht so oft laufen wird. Eventuell bin ich noch zu verwöhnt von Gestern, denn da habe ich die “Heavy Rain” wieder mal komplett abgefeiert. Ich habs gern “abgehoben”, da ich hin und wieder gern abhebe.
Mein Körper ist schon wieder komplett am Boden ( auf der Arbeit ) angelangt aber meine Seele ist noch voll im Wochende.

Bis denne ……………….. lemmi

Ich mag den Brother auch sehr gern. Aber is ja inzwischen klar, das ich solche Dubs nur höre, wenn es gar keine anderen gibt, bzw. geben würde.
Die ersten 5 finde ich so richtig typisch für “UK-DunceDub”. Stupider und maschineller geht es wohl nicht. Dazu prasseln die ganze Zeit die ansonsten
immer sehr sympathischen Vocals vom Brother Culture auf uns ein. So kann kein mystisches DubErlebnis zustande kommen. Seitdenn man hat grundsätzlich auch Spaß
daran, seinen Kopf mit System gegen die Wand zu hauen.
“Dub Generation” ist vom Prinzip her auch nicht besser aber irgendwie musste ich da doch ein wenig aufhorchen. Besonders die zweite Hälfte gefällt mir richtig gut.
Rational erklären kann ich das jetzt nicht. Auch “Dub Them” ist gut bei mir angekommen. Vielleicht liegt das daran, das das “RiddimKlavier” ( Keyboard ) hier wenigstens ein bischen
für “KlimBim” im Kopf sorgt. Irgendwie hat mich da auch der Riddim gepackt aber das sind letztenendes nur kleine LichtBlicke auf diesem stumpf vor sich hin stampfenden
UK-Dub Einheitsbrei.
Ich denke mal, die SteppersFraktion wird es feiern.

Clive Hunt “Blue Lizzard” und die Daten vom Brother auf bandcamp müssen auch gecheckt werden.

Bis denne ………………. lemmi

Kommentar verfassen

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.