Categories
Five Star Review

Burning Spear: Living Dub Flight. 2

The next bad news: After Frederick "Toots" Hibbert, Corona unfortunately caught the next one and brought them to the grave much too early. The well-known sound engineer Barry O'Hare died at the end of September at the age of 56. He leaves behind his wife and two children. He reportedly died just days after testing positive for COVID-19 at the West Indies University Hospital in Kingston. Barry O'Hare might be relatively unknown to some, although he was also at the mixer for Burning Spears Grammy Award-winning 2000 album "Calling Rastafari". It was not until 2018 that he was honored by the Jamaica Reggae Industry Association (JaRIA) for his significant role in the development and continued existence of reggae.
The greatest work that Barry O'Hare leaves in my eyes for the fan base is the remix of "Burning Spear: Living Dub Flight. 2"From 1992." Living Dub Vol. 2 ”was originally published in 1980 as Dub-Version of Burning Spears epoch-making "Hail HIM" in a mix by Sylvan Morris released on LP. The present album is not a new edition of the originalDubAlbum but a completely new one Dub-Mix of Barry O'Hare and Nelson Miller (Burning Spear drummer). For me, “Hail HIM” is the last classic Burning Spear work, if not his definitive masterpiece. The backing band made up a large part of the “unemployed” Wailers. Bob Marley was just very seriously ill and was receiving medical treatment in Dr. Issel's clinic in Bad Wiessee. So Burning Spear took the opportunity and worked with Aston "Familyman" Barrett to produce this gem. The remix album doesn't have a single weak point either. The album starts with “Cry Africa” (Cry Blood Africans) and Burning Spears fading in and out, plaintive vocals knock me out again, as happened when I first came into contact with this album. Actually, “Living Dub Vol. 2 “so homogeneous that there is no track that is worth highlighting. Every title has the perfect flow. The Wailers deliver great music and Barry O'Hares congenial Dubs with lots of sound effects are fantastically beautiful. From the haze of echo and reverb, fantastic "blowers", flowing keyboards, rich bass lines, complex Nyahbinghi drumming and Burning Spears plaintive voice emerge again and again. Even if you might think I'm crazy, “Burning Spear: Living Dub Vol. 2 “is still one of the best classics Dub-Albums from the heyday. An absolute must for everyone Dub- / Reggae fan. Really well done, Barry! (RIP)

Rating: 5 out of 5.

8 responses to “Burning Spear: Living Dub Vol. 2 "

"Living In Dub Vol. II ”we both discussed in detail last year Ras Vorbei. It was about nothing less than the “Holy Grail of Dub". After initially doing another album for the “Holy Grail of Dub"Brought me into play, you got me with" Living Dub Vol. II “countered very cool and in the end I agreed with you out of deepest inner conviction.
I also say:

Rest In Peace Barry O´ Hare ……………………………………………………………………… (lemmi)

Hi lemmi,

true and again not. As far as I can remember, we had it about the first of the three versions. The one mixed by Sylvan Morris in 1980. Basically you are right again, because the bottom line is the same. The album whether vocal or Dub is just awesome! I was also interested in the final eulogy for Barry O'Hare, because with this mix he made himself immortal.

Ah now yes! All right Ras Vorbei ! You (or I) have to listen carefully to both or all three versions in order to hear the subtle differences. If I'm not mistaken, the version by Barry O'Hare is the one where at the end there is another - also very successful - DubVersion of Civilized Reggae resp.
"Do The Reggae" is on it. First and foremost, the albums live the most, through the excellent riddims - who determine the measure of all things worldwide.
I could have checked it out exactly again on youtube, but youtube is currently very much suspected of promoting right “bad thoughts”
and thus to advance worldwide fascism. In any case, it goes against the grain for me what they are "sending" and what kind of comments they allow. I have to wonder that reggae is still shown and broadcast there. But somehow you have to collect all the sheep first. Maybe not the best topic and maybe misinterpreted by me, but my youtube algorithm seems to believe that you can somehow turn me to the "right".

YouTubeSystem is the Vampire ……………… lemmi

Hi lemmi,

a title from the original Hail HIM - "Jah See & Know" - was omitted, but 9th World Dub (Bad to Worst) and 10. Over All Dub (Civilized Reggae) packed on the album. The order of the titles was the same as in the O'Hare version of Living Dub Vol.2 not retained. I couldn't find any reasons for this. Just artistic freedom.
I don't know the third edition. As it stands, the tracks have been renamed again and the album has been extended by two more Dubs added. Barry O'Hares Mix was otherwise remastered but retained. So much for my research.

Give Thanks Ras Vorbei !

I heard somewhere the third version of the album was out at two Dubs extended by Adrian Sherwood ;-)

Can't guarantee nothing. Sometimes I hear voices too
in my head that didn't say anything ;-)

"The Road is so foggy" ……………. lemmi

Raspect Ras Vorbei... thank you for your in-depth information ... haven't put on the album for a long time, thanks to your (sad) review I'm just enjoying it again; much of what you mention has so far eluded my knowledge ... really great! Back then I experienced Burning Spear live around '95 or '96 at Usine in Geneva. That resonates to this day ... Jah bless ...

PS And it's always nice to hear that spotify doesn't give everything after all ... so the "ancient hunter-gatherer" is sometimes worth it ... just don't get away from it ...

Hi Philipp,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback.

Yes, Burning Spear live has never disappointed me, on the contrary, he and his Burning Band have always left a lasting, very positive impression. On his very first tour through Germany in January 1981, I was very lucky - from today's perspective - to see Burning Spear in the Mannheim rose garden. You can easily find the bootleg from Mannheim and later the gig in the Rockpalast on youtube. The intro alone ... awesome. The entire concert was a truly mystical event that still gives goose bumps when you listen to it again.

Post a comment

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Kategorien
Dub Five Star

Burning Spear: Living Dub Vol. 2

Die nächste Hiobsbotschaft: Nach Frederick “Toots” Hibbert hat Corona leider den Nächsten erwischt und viel zu früh ins Grab gebracht. Der bekannte Soundengineer Barry O’Hare verstarb Ende September im Alter von 56 Jahren. Er hinterlässt seine Frau und zwei Kinder. Berichten zufolge starb er nur wenige Tage nachdem er positiv auf COVID-19 getestet worden war im Universitäts-Krankenhaus der West Indies in Kingston. Barry O’Hare könnte vielleicht doch Einigen relativ unbekannt sein, obwohl er auch für Burning Spears Grammy-preisgekröntes Album “Calling Rastafari” aus dem Jahr 2000 am Mischpult saß. Erst 2018 wurde er von der Jamaica Reggae Industry Association (JaRIA) für seine bedeutende Rolle in der Entwicklung und dem Fortbestand des Reggae geehrt.
Das größte Werk, das Barry O’Hare in meinen Augen der Fangemeinde hinterlässt, ist der Remix von “Burning Spear: Living Dub Vol. 2” aus dem Jahr 1992. “Living Dub Vol. 2” wurde ursprünglich 1980 als Dub-Version zu Burning Spears epochaler “Hail H.I.M.” im Mix von Sylvan Morris auf LP veröffentlicht. Das vorliegende Album ist keine Neuauflage des Original-Dub-Albums, sondern ein völlig neuer Dub-Mix von Barry O’Hare und Nelson Miller (Drummer bei Burning Spear). Die “Hail H.I.M.” ist für mich das letzte klassische Burning Spear Werk, wenn nicht sein definitives Meisterwerk. Die Backing Band stellte damals ein großer Teil der “arbeitslosen” Wailers. Bob Marley war gerade sehr schwer erkrankt und befand sich in ärztlicher Behandlung in Dr. Issels Klinik in Bad Wiessee. Also ergriff Burning Spear die Gelegenheit und produzierte zusammen mit Aston “Familyman” Barrett dieses Glanzstück. Auch das Remix-Album hat keine einzige Schwachstelle. Das Album beginnt mit “Cry Africa” (Cry Blood Africans) und Burning Spears ein- und ausgeblendeter, klagender Gesang haut mich wieder um, wie bereits beim ersten Kontakt mit diesem Album geschehen. Eigentlich ist “Living Dub Vol. 2” so homogen, dass es keinen Track gibt, den es lohnt, ausdrücklich hervorzuheben. Jeder Titel hat den perfekten Flow. Die Wailers liefern großartige Musik und Barry O’Hares kongeniale Dubs mit vielen Sound-Effekten sind traumhaft schön. Aus dem Dunst von Echo und Reverb tauchen immer wieder fantastisches “Gebläse”, fließende Keyboards, satte Basslines, komplexes Nyahbinghi-Drumming und Burning Spears klagende Stimme auf. Auch wenn ihr mich vielleicht für verrückt haltet, “Burning Spear: Living Dub Vol. 2” ist immer noch eines der besten klassischen Dub-Alben aus der Blütezeit. Ein absolutes Muss für jeden Dub-/Reggae Fan. Really well done, Barry! (R.I.P.)

Bewertung: 5 von 5.

8 Antworten auf „Burning Spear: Living Dub Vol. 2“

“Living In Dub Vol. II” haben wir beide ja im vergangenen Jahr ausführlich besprochen Ras Vorbei. Es ging dabei um nichts geringeres als den “Heiligen Gral des Dub”. Nachdem ich zunächst ein anderes Album für den “Heiligen Gral des Dub” ins Spiel gebracht habe, hast Du mich mit “Living Dub Vol. II” ganz cool ausgekontert und ich habe dir am Ende auch aus tiefster innerer Überzeugung zugestimmt.
Ich sage dann auch mal :

Rest In Peace Barry O´ Hare ……………………………………………………………………… ( lemmi )

Hi lemmi,

stimmt und auch wieder nicht. Wir hatten es nach meiner Erinnerung über die erste, der drei Versionen. Die 1980 von Sylvan Morris gemixte. Im Grunde hast du wieder recht, denn die Quintessenz ist die gleiche. Das Album ob Vocal oder Dub ist einfach nur geil! Mir ging es auch, um die letzte Laudatio für Barry O’Hare, denn mit diesem Mix hat er sich unsterblich gemacht.

Ah jetzt ja ! Alles klar Ras Vorbei ! Man ( bzw. ich ) muss wohl beide oder auch alle drei Versions intensiv durchhören, um die feinen unterschiede herauszuhören. Wenn ich mich jetzt nicht irre, ist die Version von Barry O´Hare diejenige, wo am Ende noch eine – ebenfalls sehr gelungene – DubVersion von Civilized Reggae bzw.
“Do The Reggae” drauf ist. In erster Linie leben die Alben aber wohl auch am meisten, durch die excellenten – weltweit das Maß aller Dinge bestimmenden – Riddims.
Ich hätte es auch auf youtube nochmal genau abchecken können aber youtube ist bei mir gerade sehr stark im Verdacht, rechtes “Gedankenschlecht” zu begünstigen
und damit den weltweiten Faschismus voranzutreiben. Es geht mir jedenfalls zu sehr gegen den Strich, was die da so “senden” und welche Art von Kommentaren die da zulassen. Ich muss mich wundern, das dort immer noch Reggae gezeigt und gesendet wird. Aber irgendwie muss man die ganzen Schäfchen ja auch erst mal einsammeln. Vielleicht nicht das beste Thema und eventuell auch falsch von mir interpretiert aber mein youtube Algorhythmus scheint zu glauben, das sie mich auch noch irgendwie auf “rechts” drehen können.

YouTubeSystem is the Vampire ……………… lemmi

Hi lemmi,

ein Titel aus der Original Hail H.I.M. – “Jah See & Know” – wurde weggelassen, dafür wurden 9. World Dub (Bad to Worst) und 10. Over All Dub (Civilized Reggae) mit auf das Album raufgepackt. Die Reihenfolge der Titel wurde bei der O’Hare-Version von Living Dub Vol.2 nicht beibehalten. Gründe dafür konnte ich keine finden. Künstlerische Freiheit eben.
Die dritte Ausgabe kenne ich nicht. So wie es aussieht, wurden die Titel erneut umbenannt und das Album wurde um zwei weitere Dubs ergänzt. Barry O’Hares Mix wurde remastered ansonsten aber beibehalten. So viel meine Recherche.

Give Thanks Ras Vorbei !

Ich habe irgendwo gehört, die dritte Version von dem Album wurde um zwei Dubs von Adrian Sherwood erweitert ;-)

Kann für nix garantieren. Manchmal höre ich auch irgendwelche Stimmen
in meinem Kopf, die gar nix gesagt haben ;-)

“The Road is so foggy” ……………. lemmi

Raspect Ras Vorbei… danke dir für deine vertiefenden Informationen… habe das Album lange nicht mehr aufgelegt, dank deiner (traurigen) Rezension geniesse ich es gerade mal wieder; vieles, was du da erwähnst, entzog sich bisher meines Wissens… wirklich grossartig! Habe Burning Spear anno dazumal ca. ’95 oder ’96 mal noch live in der Usine in Genf erlebt. Das hallt bis heute nach… Jah bless…

P.S. Und immer wieder schön zu hören, dass spotify eben doch nicht alles hergibt… da lohnt sich das “altertümliche Jäger- und Sammlertum” also manchmal doch… komm einfach nicht los davon…

Hi Philipp,

vielen lieben Dank für deine positive Rückmeldung.

Ja, Burning Spear live hat mich noch niemals enttäuscht, ganz im Gegenteil er und seine Burning Band haben immer einen bleibenden, sehr positiven Eindruck hinterlassen. Bei seiner allerersten Tour im Januar 1981 durch Deutschland, hatte ich das große Glück – aus heutiger Sicht – Burning Spear im Mannheimer Rosengarten zu sehen. Das Bootleg von Mannheim und später der Auftritt im Rockpalast kannst du mühelos auf youtube finden. Alleine das Intro…Hammer. Das komplette Konzert, war ein wahrlich mystisches Ereignis, das heute immer noch beim erneuten Hören eine Gänsehaut auslöst.

Kommentar verfassen

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.