Categories
Review

Dreadlock Tales: Years 2000-2006

Today there are Dub from the far north, more precisely from Finland. As the title suggests, the recordings are not brand new. Nevertheless, it is worthwhile to take a closer look at this (free) retrospective. Dreadlock Tales is (today) a DubProject by Kimmo Ilmari Tyni, a musician and sound engineer from Helsinki. Together with Kasper Philström he founded "Dreadlock Tales" in 1999 as a studio project, about reggae and preferred Dub record. The project can look back on more than 20 years of musical development and history. Perhaps it was also obvious because of the anniversary, the very first Dubs from the early years, "Dreadlock Tales: Years 2000-2006“To be published as a complete work lasting over 40 minutes. We hear an exemplary compilation of very early “Dreadlock Tales” titles, including the very first track ever recorded by the two musicians. Most of those gathered here Dubs were still played in analog. But even in the early days, Kimmo Ilmari Tyni had this “analog vs. Digital thing ”going on, in which he likes two different Dub-Versions made. First an analog version recorded with instruments, which was then followed by the digital version produced with "machines". A very nice example at “AmBush Dub # 1 & # 2 ″ to hear out. Those gathered here DubThey were recorded and mixed together with Kasper Philström. Kaspar Philström sat on the drums and took over a number of other instruments. Kimmo Tyni dedicated himself to guitar, bass and keyboard instruments. The melodic basslines and dynamic riddims were recorded and mixed in analogue old-school style. References to the old ones Dub-Masters cannot be ignored here either. What is particularly considered a curiosity in the Dub What has to be emphasized is the use of a didgeridoo or harmonica on some tracks. The melodic was used relatively sparingly on only one track. I was very excited about the in advance Dubversion of "Wild Child", a Doors cover from the 1969 "Soft Parade" album. At the end of the title we get a fat pound of rocky, groovy guitar riffs on our ears, which unfortunately have nothing in common with Robbie Krieger's guitar sound and therefore seem rather (dis) disturbing to me. That is why especially Dubheads the last two minutes of “Wildubchild “confidently.
Nevertheless, we can say on the whole positive: Even if these tracks were possibly created during the pitch-black Finnish winter, they still exude enough warmth to make the studio the only place of refuge where you can protect yourself from the frost and the mood swings of a winter depression could.
Conclusion: I personally like the recordings from the early years much better than the current works by Dreadlock Tales.

Info: Kasper Philström, who also appeared as a co-producer and on the controls at the beginning of Dreadlock Tales, left the project after the recordings for “SynchroniCity” (2007), which has since been continued by Kimmo Tyni alone.

Rating: 3.5 out of 5.

4 replies to "Dreadlock Tales: Years 2000-2006"

I'm excited again here too Ras Vorbei !

I think the show is really great! However, once again I am very sorry for my vocabulary with all the many Dubs that exist hardly makes new variants available. Personally, it's always about basslines, DubAtmosphere, effects and ultimately the whole groove. All aspects have been implemented so well here that I can only be thrilled. The effects are consistently on my wavelength and especially above the drums there are sometimes more, sometimes less, real effect thunderstorm cells, which once again creates fantastic space-time curves in my head. Yes, there is a certain “astrophilia” for many too DubHeads unavoidable. Hence my comparison to cosmic phenomena again and again. In any case, the reverb effects on the drums show what is in such a mixer, among other things, everything. For me it creates “images” of
visible "gravitational waves", which float like streaks over all seven mornings through all the hills and valleys and pick up speed every morning until they finally change into a special - possibly through aurora borealis - fantastic glow on the horizon and a lasting, magical impression leave. And if you multiply my attempt to describe this feeling or this experience by 5 times 10 to the power of nine, you get roughly an impression of how it works for me and why I always spin around a bit or have no problem with it to get mad about it. But that remains speculation.
Every now and then I am beguiled by a very nice keyboard or synthesizer "melody", for which the word melody seems a little too long, because the "melodies" are very short and only consist of a few tones, but these tones hit my innermost and become Played in just the right order to light up my soul. I especially like that with “South from here”, where fine percussions join in and round off the sound experience wonderfully. With "Dub Rider “, both the sound of the RiddimKeyboard and the effects on it hit my nerve! Fantastic !
Yes and "WildDubChild “actually suits me very well. I can't help but take revenge on the Doors by bitching around here a little. The guitar solo (ver)
doesn't bother me that much and the keyboard only hints at how extremely annoying these miserably long, quacky keyboard passages in the Doors have made even the best tunes unbearable. Nothing against "Riders On The Storm" and of course "The End" (in both versions)! For me that is and will remain a "VERY BIG CINEMA" !!!
And once again I lean a little bit far out of the window by admitting that I don't hear a single digitally produced recording here. Even with “Ambush Dub"
the instruments - especially bass and drum, of course - sound like the finest organic chocolate from Rapunzel. Only at DubRider the bass sounds sythetic, but it is an A
bubbles and also has a very cool bass line.

Well, a few more words have turned out than I initially thought, but I have formulated a lot of things in this way or something similar. It could be that this happens more often ;-) Always exactly when good to very good Dubs are recommended.

Something like that ………………………… .. lemmi

Thank you lemmi,

I knew that, the doors always go with me. As you put it correctly: “Great cinema” what this band delivered back then. I would like to mention “LA Woman”, the last regular album with Jim Morrison, for which the Doors even got a bass player. As I said, the guitar at the end of “WildDubChild ”doesn't fit at all in my opinion. This "snappy" guitar sound then destroys the cozy atmosphere built up by the track. Such beautiful elements are interwoven in the track: flute, harmonica, neat DubEffects and then that guitar steamroller that irons everything smoothly. But that's the only disturbing thing.

Oh yes, I really want to experience Aurora Borealis live!

I especially like that good one Dub arises around the globe. Whether in Finland or New Zealand is completely sausage. In so many countries it will be good Dub produced, only Jamaica - the mother country - is not able to do this. What a shame!

To AmBush Dub # 1 & # 2:

I listened again, # 2 was only created digitally. No drums, no bass, all synthesizers and sequencers - the result is amazing.

Yo! Ras Vorbei !

That's why good René always likes to rave about that Dub meanwhile a kind
Has become world music.
I would - as my way is - expand it and say, DUB IS THE
MUSIC AND THE INTERNATIONAL LANGUAGE OF ALL ALIENS BEYOND THE UNIVERSE!
That with the Dub from Jamaica I don't accept it like that. Even if it should actually be true. But I don't have time for my “conspiracy theory” on the subject at the moment ……………. (They really want me to work here ;-))

So ! I'll be back ……. no question ……………… lemmi

Post a comment

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Kategorien
Dub

Dreadlock Tales: Years 2000-2006

Heute gibt es Dub aus dem hohen Norden, genauer aus Finnland. Die Aufnahmen sind, wie der Titel bereits verrät, nicht brandaktuell. Dennoch lohnt es sich, in diese (kostenlose) Werkschau einmal intensiver reinzuhören. Dreadlock Tales ist (heute) ein Dub-Projekt von Kimmo Ilmari Tyni, einem Musiker und Soundengineer aus Helsinki. Zusammen mit Kasper Philström hat er 1999 „Dreadlock Tales“ als Studioprojekt gegründet, um Reggae und bevorzugt Dub aufzunehmen. Das Projekt kann bereits auf über 20-Jahre musikalische Entwicklung und Geschichte zurückschauen. Möglicherweise lag es auch wegen des Jubiläums nahe, die allerersten Dubs aus den Anfangsjahren, „Dreadlock Tales: Years 2000–2006“, als über 40-minütiges Gesamtwerk zu veröffentlichen. Zu Ohren bekommen wir eine exemplarische Zusammenstellung ganz früher „Dreadlock Tales” Titel, einschließlich des allerersten Tracks, der jemals von den zwei Musikern aufgenommen wurde. Die meisten der hier versammelten Dubs wurden noch analog eingespielt. Doch schon in den Anfangszeiten hatte Kimmo Ilmari Tyni dieses „Analog- vs. Digital-Ding“ am Laufen, bei dem er gerne zwei unterschiedliche Dub-Versionen anfertigte. Zuerst eine analog mit Instrumenten eingespielte Version, der dann die digitale mit „Maschinen” erzeugte Version folgte. Exemplarisch sehr schön bei „AmBush Dub #1 & #2″ herauszuhören. Die hier versammelten Dubs wurden noch zusammen mit Kasper Philström eingespielt und gemixt. Kaspar Philström saß am Schlagzeug und übernahm etliche andere Instrumente. Kimmo Tyni widmete sich Gitarre, Bass und Tasteninstrumenten. Eingespielt und gemixt wurden die melodischen Basslines und dynamischen Riddims analog im Old-School-Stil. Verweise auf die alten Dub-Meister sind auch hier nicht zu überhören. Was man ganz besonders als Kuriosum im Dub hervorheben muss, ist bei einigen Tracks der Einsatz eines Didgeridoos oder der Mundharmonika. Die Melodika wurde nur bei einem Track relativ sparsam eingesetzt. Sehr gespannt war ich im Vorfeld auf die Dubversion von „Wild Child“, einem Doors-Cover aus dem 1969 erschienenen „Soft Parade” Album. Am Titelende bekommen wir ein fettes Pfund rockig-fetziger Gitarrenriffs auf die Ohren, die leider nix mit Robbie Kriegers Gitarrensound gemein haben und deshalb auf mich eher (ver)störend wirken. Darum können sich vor allem Dubheads die letzten zwei Minuten von „Wildubchild” getrost schenken.
Trotzdem können wir aber insgesamt positiv vermerken: Auch wenn diese Tracks möglicherweise während des pechschwarzen finnischen Winters entstanden sind, verströmen sie dennoch genug Wärme, um das Studio zum einzigen Zufluchtsort werden zu lassen, an dem man sich vor dem Frost und den Stimmungsschwankungen einer Winterdepression schützen konnte.
Fazit: Mir persönlich gefallen die Aufnahmen der frühen Jahre bedeutend besser, als die heutigen Werke von Dreadlock Tales.

Info: Kasper Philström, der zu Beginn von Dreadlock Tales auch als Koproduzent und an den Reglern in Erscheinung trat, verließ nach den Aufnahmen zur „SynchroniCity” (2007) das Projekt, welches seither von Kimmo Tyni alleine weitergeführt wird.

Bewertung: 3.5 von 5.

4 Antworten auf „Dreadlock Tales: Years 2000-2006“

Auch hier bin ich wieder begeistert, Ras Vorbei !

Richtig klasse finde ich die Werkschau ! Es tut mir allerdings mal wieder sehr leid, das mein Wortschatz bei all den vielen Dubs, die es so gibt, kaum noch neue Varianten zur Verfügung stellt. Mir persönlich geht es immer um Basslines, DubAtmosphäre, Effekte sowiso und letzendlich um den ganzen Groove. Alle Aspekte sind hier so gut umgesetzt, das ich nur begeistert sein kann. Die Effekte sind durchweg auf meiner Wellenlänge und ganz besonders über den Drums liegen hier mal mehr, mal weniger, regelrechte EffektGewitterZellen, was bei mir mal wieder fantastische Raum-Zeit-Krümmungen im Kopf erzeugt. Ja, eine gewisse “Astrophilie” ist ja auch für viele DubHeads unumgänglich. Daher immer wieder mein Vergleich zu kosmischen Phänomänen. Die Hall-Effekte auf den Drums zeigen hier jedenfalls mal wieder, was in so einem Mischpult, unter anderem, alles so drinsteckt. Bei mir erzeugt es “Bilder” von
sichtbaren “Gravitationswellen”, die schlierenartig über alle sieben Morgen durch sämtliche Hügel und Täler schweben und dabei mit jedem Morgen erneut Fahrt aufnehmen, bis sie schließlich in ein speziell – eventuell durch Aurora Borealis – fantastisches Leuchten am Horizont übergehen und dabei einen bleibenden, magischen Eindruck hinterlassen. Und wenn man meinen Versuch, dieses Gefühl bzw. dieses Erlebnis zu beschreiben, mit 5 mal 10 hoch neun multipliziert, bekommt man in etwa einen Eindruck, wie das bei mir wirkt und warum ich immer so ein bischen rumspinne, bzw. kein Problem damit hätte, dabei waahnsinnig zu werden. Das bleibt aber Spekulation.
Hin und wieder betört mich auch eine sehr schöne Keyboard oder Synthesizer”Melodie”, für die das Wort Melodie sicherlich ein wenig zu lang erscheint, weil die “Melodien” sehr kurz sind und nur aus wenigen Tönen bestehen aber diese Töne treffen mein Innerstes und werden genau in der richtigen Reihenfolge gespielt, um meine Seele zu erhellen. Das gefällt mir ganz besonders bei “South from here” wo sich dann auch noch feine Percussions dazu gesellen und das Klangerlebnis wunderbar abrunden. Bei “Dub Rider” trifft sowohl der Sound des RiddimKeyboards als auch die darauf liegenden Effekte genau meinen Nerv ! Fantastisch !
Ja und “WildDubChild” passt mir eigentlich auch sehr gut. Ich kann es mir nicht verkneifen, mich bei den Doors zu rächen, indem ich hier ein klein wenig rumzicke. Das Guitarrensolo ( ver )
stört mich nicht so sehr und auch das Keyboard deutet lediglich nur an, wie extrem enervierend diese elend langen quäkigen Keyboardpassagen bei den Doors, selbst den besten Tune unerträglich gemacht haben. Nix gegen “Riders On The Storm” und natürlich “The End” ( in beiden Versions ) ! Das ist und bleibt auch für mich “GANZ GROSSES KINO” !!!
Und ich lehne mich mal wieder ein klein wenig weit aus dem Fenster, indem ich gestehe, das ich hier keine einzige durchweg digital produzierte Aufnahme höre. Auch bei “Ambush Dub”
klingen die Instrumente – vor allem natürlich Bass and Drum – durchweg nach feinster BioSchokolade von Rapunzel. Lediglich bei DubRider klingt der Bass sythetisch, wobei er aber Eins A
blubbert und auch eine sehr geile BassLine hat.

Naja, sind nun doch wieder ein paar mehr Worte geworden, als ich zunächst dachte aber vieles habe ich so oder so ähnlich wohl schon öfter mal formuliert. Könnte sein, das das noch öfter vorkommt ;-) Eben immer ganau dann, wenn hier gute bis sehr gute Dubs empfohlen werden.

So oder so ähnlich ………………………….. lemmi

Danke lemmi,

das weißte ja, die Doors gehen bei mir auch immer. So wie du richtig sagst: “Ganz großes Kino” was diese Band damals abgeliefert hat. Möchte noch “L.A. Woman” erwähnen, das letzte reguläre Album mit Jim Morrison, für das sich die Doors sogar einen Bassisten leisteten. Wie gesagt, die Gitarre zum Ende von “WildDubChild” passt so meines Erachtens überhaupt nicht. Dieser “pratzige” Gitarrensound zerstört mir dann doch die durch den Track aufgebaute wohlige Stimmung. In dem Track sind so schöne Elemente verwoben: Querflöte, Mundharmonika, ordentlich Dub-Effekte und dann diese Gitarrendampfwalze, die alles glatt bügelt. Das ist aber auch das einzig Störende.

Oh ja, Aurora Borealis möchte auch ich unbedingt mal live erleben!

Mir gefällt ganz besonders, dass guter Dub rund um den Erdball entsteht. Ob in Finnland oder Neuseeland ist völlig wurst. In so vielen Ländern wird guter Dub produziert, lediglich Jamaika – das Mutterland – ist dazu nicht in der Lage. Sehr schade!

Zu AmBush Dub #1 & #2:

Hab’ nochmals reingehört, #2 ist nur digital entstanden. Kein Schlagzeug, kein Bass, alles Synthesizer und Sequenzer – das Resultat ist schon krass.

Yo ! Ras Vorbei !

Deshalb schwärmt der gute René ja auch immer gern, das Dub inzwischen eine Art
Weltmusik geworden ist.
Ich würde das – so wie meine Art nunmal ist – noch erweitern und sagen, DUB IS THE
MUSIC AND THE INTERNATIONAL LANGUAGE OF ALL ALIENS BEYOND THE UNIVERSE !
Das mit dem Dub aus Jamaica nehme ich so nicht hin. Auch wenn es tatsächlich stimmen sollte. Aber für meine “Verschwörungstheorie” zu dem Thema habe ich im Moment keine Zeit ……………. ( Die wollen echt, das ich hier Arbeite ;-) )

Also ! Ich komme wieder ……. keine Frage ……………… lemmi

Kommentar verfassen

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.