Categories
Review

Dubcancerdubra: Dubcancerdubra

Drummers seem to be Dubmaster to be predestined: Ludovic Daquin (LD Dub), Aldubb, Felix Wolter (Dubvisionist), Ben McKone (General Roots), Nelson Miller (Burning Spear) are just a few that come to mind. Ergo, the trained drummer Gianluca Ferrara is with his project "Dubcancerdubra“In the best of company. He originally played drums in a Bob Marley cover band. When all of this no longer really impressed him, Gianluca left "Dubcancerdubra “Ferrara soon joined the band to learn the craft of sound engineer at the Fonoprint studio in Bologna. A few years later he moved to Milan to deepen the knowledge he had learned at CPM (a music vocational center). At the same time, at the same time, he was employed by the computer music specialist “Cubase Magazine”. But that also seems to beDubcancerdubra “not to have been the absolute fulfillment. Because after a period of retreat, self-reflection and a short break as a post-production technician at radio, he turned to his own music production. Under the pseudonym "Dubcancerdubra ”he originally published as a composer, arranger, sound engineer and Dub-Master his first own productions only on the web. The seven tracks, now as a complete work show, have become a very nice conglomerate. A thunderstorm of reverb and echo effects does not await us, but a very relaxed album, the Dub, Trip-hop, downtempo, toasting, acid jazz, classic borrowings à la Matthias Arfmann and much more. A great discovery for me.
Today Gianluca Ferrara is also known under the pseudonym "DubMatter ”at the start. On his “Live Dub Session EP “- not bad either - it pays homage to four (potent) hemp varieties.

Rating: 4 out of 5.

One answer to "Dubcancerdubra: Dubcancerdubra "

Mmmmmh? Actually, I was just in the process of sharing the data in a good mood and full of enthusiasm.
I think “A Spliff In The Desert” has turned out really well and it makes you want to see “Mathias Arfmann Part II.
"Dubcancerdubra The Weeds Mood “I could skip further, but I don't have to. Actually, it's okay for me.
“Roozstep Galaxy” lives up to its name. Sounds really nice like big, wide, unlimited space and grooves
in a solid orbit somewhere between Jupiter and Saturn. "The Ambission" has really great drums, I think, and "The Lion"
first reminded me of "Natural Mystic" by Bob and his Wailers, although it was completely different but also
fine bassline passes over. But now I'm already at the point where I could completely burn down Babylon again. I've already listened to the disc twice, but
in principle I can now only comment from my memory. “Badcamp” has the penetrating “habit” after two or three runs
Request to buy in the form of a Babylonian road block in the middle of the face, so that you can no longer hear, or no longer between the tunes
can jump back and forth to take a closer look at any details. However, the site always advertises with “unlimited streaming” and similar empty ones
promises. My mood and the associated anger at the wrong turn of the times no longer correspond to a feeling as it should be on a Friday. I only know that the others do to me too Dubs very much liked here on the "data disk". Sorry man but I'm really not from the cia or nsa or nsu or bnd
or some other fascist organization and so I really can't understand why I should pay money for simple, simple data.

And then a warning for all those who would like to try out “A Spliff in The Desert”. I don't recommend this because once a spliff like that works, you get an extremely dry mouth. In our early days as teenagers, we always referred to this phenomenon as desert flash. And if you don't have anything to drink with you, the good turn is over. But that's only on the edge.

Sorry for the "simple, simple data"! Still are DubData but only data (ones and zeros, nothing more ...) I always like to ride around on this topic, especially when I think of the recommended one DubDisc for my life. All my grumbling about our "new values" is ultimately nothing more than another compliment for the music in this database.

"Every man" wants "to be a bad man, no one" wants "to be a good man" …………………………… .. lemmi

Post a comment

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Kategorien
Dub

Dubrakadubra: Dubrakadubra

Schlagzeuger scheinen zum Dubmaster prädestiniert zu sein: Ludovic Daquin (LD Dub), Aldubb, Felix Wolter (Dubvisionist), Ben McKone (General Roots), Nelson Miller (Burning Spear) sind nur ein paar, die mir spontan einfallen. Ergo, der gelernte Drummer Gianluca Ferrara befindet sich mit seinem Projekt “Dubrakadubra” in allerbester Gesellschaft. Ursprünglich spielte er Schlagzeug in einer Bob Marley-Coverband. Als ihn das alles nicht mehr so richtig begeisterte, verließ Gianluca “Dubrakadubra” Ferrara bald die Band, um im Fonoprint Studio in Bologna das Handwerk des Tontechnikers zu erlernen. Einige Jahre später zog er nach Mailand, um am C.P.M. (ein Musikberufszentrum) sein erlerntes Wissen zu vertiefen. Parallel dazu war er zum gleichen Zeitraum auch als Mitarbeiter bei der Computermusik-Fachzeitschrift “Cubase Magazine” beschäftigt. Aber auch das scheint für “Dubrakadubra” nicht die absolute Erfüllung gewesen zu sein. Denn nach einer Zeit des Rückzugs, der Selbstreflexion und einer kurzen Unterbrechung als Postproduktionstechniker beim Rundfunk, wendete er sich seiner eigenen Musikproduktion zu. Unter dem Pseudonym “Dubrakadubra” veröffentlichte er ursprünglich als Komponist, Arrangeur, Tontechniker und Dub-Master seine ersten eigenen Produktionen nur im Web. Die sieben, jetzt als Gesamtwerkschau, versammelten Tracks sind ein sehr schönes Konglomerat geworden. Ein Gewitter von Reverb- und Echo-Effekten erwartet uns nicht, aber ein sehr entspanntes Album, das Dub, Trip-Hop, Downtempo, Toasting, Acid Jazz, Klassik-Anleihen à la Matthias Arfmann und vieles mehr aufbieten kann. Für mich eine tolle Entdeckung.
Heute ist Gianluca Ferrara auch unter dem Pseudonym “DubMatter” am Start. Auf seiner “Live Dub Session E.P.” – auch nicht übel – erweist er vier (potenten) Hanfsorten die Ehre.

Bewertung: 4 von 5.

Eine Antwort auf „Dubrakadubra: Dubrakadubra“

Mmmmmh ? Eigentlich war ich gerade dabei die daten gut gelaunt und voller Enthusiasmus zu kommnetieren.
“A Spliff In The Desert” ist schon mal richtig gut gelungen finde ich und es macht große Lust auf “Mathias Arfmann Part II.
“Dubrakadubra The Weeds Mood” könnte ich auch weiter skippen, muss ich aber nicht. Geht mir eigentlich auch ganz gut rein.
“Roozstep Galaxy” macht seinem Namen alle Ehre. Klingt richtig schön nach großem, weitem, unbegrenzten Weltraum und groovt
in einer soliden Umlaufbahn irgendwo zwischen Jupiter und Saturn. “The Ambission” hat richtig geile Drums, wie ich finde und “The Lion”
erinnerte mich zunächst an “Natural Mystic” vom Bob und seinen Wailers, wobei es ja dann doch komplett in eine andere aber ebenso
feine Bassline übergeht. Jetzt bin ich aber schon an dem Punkt, wo ich Babylon schon wieder komplett abfackeln könnte. Ich habe die Scheibe zwar schon zwei mal durchgehört aber
im Prinzip kann ich jetzt nur noch aus meiner Erinnerung kommentieren. “badcamp” hat die penetrante “abgewohnheit” nach zwei max. drei durchgängen eine
kaufaufforderung in form einer babylonischen roadblock mitten ins face zu knallen, so das man nicht mehr weiter hören kann, bzw. nicht mehr zwischen den Tunes
hin und her springen kann, um eventuelle Details nochmal genau unter die Lupe zu nehmen. Geworben wird auf der Seite aber immer mit “unlimited streaming” und ähnlichen leeren
versprechungen. Meine Laune und mein damit verbundener Zorn gegenüber dem Irrweg der Zeiten entspricht jetzt so rein gar nicht mehr einem Feeling, wie es sich für einen Freitag gehört. Ich weiß nur noch, das mir auch die anderen Dubs hier auf der “Datenscheibe” sehr gut gefallen haben. Sorry mann aber ich bin echt nicht vom cia oder nsa oder nsu oder bnd
oder irgendso eine andere faschistische organisation und kann also echt nicht nachvollziehen, warum ich für einfache simple daten geld bezahlen soll.

Und dann noch eine Warnung für all jene, die das mit dem “A Spliff in The Desert” mal ausprobieren möchten. Ich kann das nicht empfehlen, denn wenn so ein Spliff erst mal wirkt, bekommt man einen extrem trockenen Mund. Wir haben dieses Phänomen in unseren Anfangstagen als Teenies immer als Wüstenflash bezeichnet. Und wenn man dann nix zu Trinken dabei hat, isses vorbei mit dem guten Turn. Das aber mal nur so am Rande.

Sorry für die “einfachen simplen daten” ! Sind immerhin DubDaten aber eben nur daten ( einsen und nullen, mehr nich … ) Auf diesem Thema reite ich immer besonders dann gern herum, wenn ich mir die empfohlene DubScheibe für mein Leben gern gekauft hätte. Mein ganzes Gemeckere über unsere “neuen werte” ist also letztendlich nix anderes, als ein weiteres Kompliment für die Musik in dieser datenbank.

“Every Man “wants” to be a bad man, no one “wants” to be a good man” …………………………….. lemmi

Kommentar verfassen

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.