Categories
Review

Dub Club Meets The Lions: This Generation In Dub

CS2472417-02A-BIG

Here we have a fine example of the old school Dub - transported and transformed into the here and now. Classic live mixing of hand-played reggae - no laptop included. Pure & simple. Location: Los Angeles, home turf of the Lions, a reggae band that played with "This Generation" 2012 had presented their debut album. And the Dub Club, well-known LA venue, in front of which queues of people form on weekends who want to hear the good, old 70ies reggae sound nice and loud and in the company of like-minded people. Tom Chasteen, operator of the Dub Club, record collector and producer of the two (last discussed here) "Signs & Wonders"-Retro albums, the Lions debut enthusiastically turned the buttons and with it “This Generation In Dub" (Stones Throw) a solid in record time DubVersion conjured up. The strength of this album, however, lies less in the mix, which is undoubtedly perfectly fine, than in the template processed by Chasteen, the tunes of the Lions. The band is bursting with energy, enthusiasm, ideas and virtuoso playing. Even though Dub obeys the principle of reduction and compression, the musical richness of the debut album is in every measure of the Dub-Version noticeable. Varied arrangements, frequent changes in tempo, catchy melodies, pleasant live sound and a classic, but very inspired mix - all of this combines into a wonderfully musical one Dub-Abum that is really fun.

Rating 4 stars

One answer to "Dub Club Meets The Lions: This Generation In Dub"

I've had this record for a long time. Although I liked it right away, it is somehow one of my big ones Dub-Drawers got stuck for a long time. When I heard it again years later, I not only knew why I bought it, but I also knew straight away how my favoriteDub is working.

Energy ! Joy of playing! Virtuoso game! …… and a classic, very inspired mix !!!

Something similar can certainly happen with downloads, but I am always thrilled when I rummage through my drawers and dig out an "older" disc that I don't really know that well and then notice what a great treasure slumbered in my drawer. That's the advantage when you have more music than time to listen to it. The music always stays fresh.
I don't think much of thinking about death, but when I think about the fact that one can no longer hear music in death, I get scared!?!

So I need more than just one life ……………. lemmi

Post a comment

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Kategorien
Dub

Dub Club Meets The Lions: This Generation In Dub

CS2472417-02A-BIG

Hier haben wir ein schönes Beispiel für die alte Schule des Dub – transportiert und transformiert ins Hier und Jetzt. Klassisches Live-Mixing von handgespieltem Reggae – no laptop included. Pure & simple. Schauplatz des Geschehens: Los Angeles, home turf der Lions, einer Reggae Band, die mit „This Generation“ 2012 ihr Debut-Album vorgelegt hatte. Und: der Dub Club, wohlbekannte L.A.-Venue, vor der sich an Wochenenden Schlangen von Menschen bilden, die den guten, alten 70ies-Reggae-Sound schön laut und in Gesellschaft Gleichgesinnter hören wollen. Tom Chasteen, Betreiber des Dub Club, Plattensammler und Produzent der beiden (zuletzt hier besprochenen) „Signs & Wonders“-Retro-Alben, hat sich kurzerhand das Debut der Lions vorgeknöpft begeistert an den Knöpfen gedreht und mit „This Generation In Dub“ (Stones Throw) im Rekordtempo eine solide Dub-Version gezaubert. Die Stärke dieses Albums liegt allerdings weniger im Mix, der zweifellos völlig in Ordnung ist, als viel mehr in der von Chasteen verarbeiteten Vorlage, den Tunes der Lions. Die Band birst regelrecht vor Energie, Spielfreude, Ideen und virtuosem Spiel. Obwohl Dub dem Prinzip der Reduktion und Verdichtung gehorcht, ist der musikalische Reichtum des Debut-Albums in jedem Takt der Dub-Version spürbar. Abwechslungsreiche Arrangements, häufige Tempiwechsel, eingängige Melodien, angenehmer Live-Sound und ein klassischer, aber sehr inspirierter Mix – all das verbindet sich zu einem wunderbar musikalischen Dub-Abum, das richtig Freude macht.

Rating 4 Stars

Eine Antwort auf „Dub Club Meets The Lions: This Generation In Dub“

Diese Scheibe habe ich auch schon lange. Obwohl sie mir auf Anhieb sehr gut gefiel, ist sie irgendwie in einer meiner großen Dub-Schubladen für lange Zeit stecken geblieben. Als ich sie nach Jahren wieder mal gehört habe, wusste ich nicht nur, warum ich sie mir gekauft habe, sondern ich wusste auch gleich wieder, wie mein LieblingsDub funktioniert.

Energie ! Spielfreude ! Virtuoses Spiel ! …… und ein klassischer ,sehr inspirierter Mix !!!

Mit Downloads kann sicherlich ähnliches passieren aber ich bin immer wieder begeistert, wenn ich meine Schubladen durchwühle und so eine “ältere” Scheibe herauskrame, die ich eigentlich noch gar nicht so gut kenne und dann merke, welch großartiger Schatz da in meiner Schublade schlummerte. Das ist der Vorteil, wenn man mehr Musik hat, als Zeit, sie zu hören. Die Musik bleibt quasi immer frisch.
Ich halte ja nix davon über den Tod nachzudenken aber wenn ich daran denke, daß man im Tode keine Musik mehr hören kann, wird mir Angst und Bange !?!

Ich brauche daher mehr als nur ein Leben ……………. lemmi

Kommentar verfassen

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.