Categories
Dub (Revolution Review

Dub Evolution, January 2008

"Dub Evolution "has been the title of this column for some time now (it used to be called"Dub Revolution"). Now there is finally the right CD box for it: The "Dub-Anthology " (Wagram / SPV), which bridges the gap from the 1970s to the present day and traces the evolution of the genre on the basis of 60 (!) Tracks. Four decades Dub on four CDs, whereby the 1970s and 1980s have to share one CD, while the 1990s are divided into “International Dub"And" French Dub“Find space on two CDs. The “New School” will then be presented in full on CD4. Of course, the world already has some anthologies of the Dubs seen - who doesn't know Rodigans "Dub Classics ”, the“ Rough Guide To Dub“Or the Trojan boxes Dub-Material from your own archives. But no anthology has attempted to trace the history of the Dub as comprehensive as the present box. Mostly the border is from the Jamaican old school Dub, to the Dub Revival of the 1990s not to be skipped - let alone a look at innovative productions of the present. This is different here: the journey through time and space of the Dub begins with Augustus Pablo's “Cassava Piece”, leads to King Tubby's “Belly Dub“And some Dubs by Sly & Robbie (also in the reincarnations of the Revolutionaries and Skin Flesh & Bones), then bypasses some rather absurd pieces, (some of which only play very little Dub have to do) to then go straight to the great - from the best Black Ark times - Lee Perry-Dub “Bird in hand” to hold shut. CD 2 then takes a big step into England in the 1990s and presents the usual suspects: Alpha & Omega, Twilight Circus or Bush Chemists. Instead of listing the compelling names like Zion Train, Rootsman, Rockers HiFi, Dreadzone, The Disciples or, of course, Jah Shaka and Mad Professor, the track listing with Rhythm & Sound, Oku Onuora, Burnt Freidman, Thievery Corporation or Tosca is impressive, but this one Context somewhat unexpected names. The journey continues to France, whose Dub-Scene the complete CD 4 is dedicated to. The reason for the detailed presentation of the French Dub-Creation is not because it is so unbelievably rich or style-defining, but simply because the "Dub Anthology ”was produced in France (and of course with a special focus on the French market). Nevertheless, the French CD is the most exciting so far because it is also for busy people Dub-Connaisseurs still hide new discoveries - or does someone already have from Ez3Kiel, Pilah or the Löbe Radiant Dub System heard? CD 4 belongs entirely to the present. The oldest piece is just 2 years old, the newest is (according to the information on the cover) from the year 2023 - it couldn't be more current. The time traveler will find mostly French names here (including the important protagonists of the French label “Sounds Around”, which is very fond of electronic music, Lena, Molecule, Roots Massacre). Then bring a little internationality Dub-Experiments like noise shaper, Dubmatix or Nucleus Roots come into play. Admittedly, if you were to write an official anthology of the Dub put together, then the selection of the pieces would look quite different. But it would be questionable whether this would be as much fun as the present CD box. The official version would of course contain all the really important classics, but - to be honest - who wants to hear them for the thousandth time? I'd rather have a few obscure but exciting French people chased through my ear canals.

The fine English re-issue label Auralux has again its weakness for Dub-Classic of the 1970s gave in and with "Dread At The Controls Dub"(Auralux / Rough Trade) an early one DubAlbum by Gussie Clarke republished. You read that right: Gussie Clarke and not Mikey Dread. The latter was supposedly "somehow" involved, but he didn't play an instrument, none Dub composed and above all: not mixed either. Gussie and Mikey were just friends - and with good friends helping each other, Mikey Gussie just borrowed his "Dread At The Controls" badge so that the album would sell better (according to Mr. Clarke in the very liner notes worth reading). Originally released in 1978, the album features 10 tracks, recorded of course by the Revolutionaries with (unmistakably) Sly Dunbar on drums. The rhythms are tight and the timing of the musicians is perfect. But what use is that if the riddims and the mix are too boring? Great producer, top notch musician and also a brilliant sound - but after 10 minutes nobody is listening anymore, because the tracks ripple smoothly and without surprises. Too bad.

There is "DC Dub Connection "(Auralux / Rough Trade) much more interesting. Behind the 10 recordings gathered here is the Heptones background singer Earl Morgan, who occasionally took a seat in the producer's chair in the late 1970s, recording albums with Earl 16, Alton Ellis and Stranger Cole. Interestingly, he didn't produce the rhythm tracks himself, but bought them from various producers. There are even two tracks by Lee Perry. It is precisely from this circumstance that the (sound-technically not so brilliant) album draws its charm: It simply offers more variety - which is not least due to the fact that Prince Jammy and Scientist have delivered beautifully inspired mixes. 

While the reggae industry is crumbling around the world, the German label "Inakustik" is trying a new reggae line. It starts with a Dub-Album: “Bebo In A Dub Style - Featuring Sly & Robbie "(Tafari / Inakustik). Originally published in 1985, the year of slang tang, “Bebo In A Dub Style “almost antiquated - if it weren't for the championship of the 1A session musicians of the time: Sly & Robbie, Robbie Lyn, Willi Lindo, Dean Frazer and Sticky, Skyjuce & Scully. Their timing is so precise, the rhythms are so tight and the sound so crystal clear that the recordings have something timeless about them. Actually, the only thing missing is the laziness of the Dub-Mixers Peter Chemist. If he had paid a little more attention to the controls on his mixer, then “Bebo In A Dub Style ”deserves its title and would probably also be a milestone in the Dub-History become.

Post a comment

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Kategorien
Dub Dub (R)evolution

Dub Evolution, Januar 2008

„Dub Evolution“ ist nun schon seit geraumer Zeit der Titel dieser Kolumne (früher hieß sie „Dub Revolution“). Nun gibt es endlich die passende CD-Box dazu: Die „Dub-Anthology“ (Wagram/SPV), die den Bogen von den 1970er Jahren bis in die Gegenwart schlägt und die Evolution des Genres an Hand von 60 (!) Tracks nachzeichnet. Vier Jahrzehnte Dub auf vier CDs, wobei sich die 1970er und 1980er Jahre jedoch eine CD teilen müssen, während die 1990er unterteilt in „International Dub“ und „French Dub“ auf zwei CDs Platz finden. Die „New School“ wird dann auf CD4 in aller Breite präsentiert. Natürlich hat die Welt schon einige Anthologien des Dubs gesehen – wer kennt nicht Rodigans „Dub Classics“, den „Rough Guide To Dub“ oder die Trojan-Boxen mit Dub-Material aus den eigenen Archiven. Aber noch keine Anthologie hat versucht, die Geschichte des Dub so umfassend dar zu stellen, wie die die vorliegende Box. Meist wird die Grenze vom jamaikanischen Old School Dub, zum Dub Revival der 1990er Jahre nicht übersprungen – geschweige denn, dass ein Blick auf innovative Produktionen der Gegenwart geworfen würde. Das ist hier anders: Die Reise durch Zeit und Raum des Dub beginnt mit Augustus Pablos „Cassava Piece“, führt an King Tubbys „Belly Dub“ und einigen Dubs von Sly & Robbie (auch in den Reinkarnationen der Revolutionaries und Skin Flesh & Bones) vorbei, umschifft dann einige eher abwegige Stücke, (von denen manche zudem nur äußerst wenig mit Dub zutun haben) um anschließend geradewegs auf den großartigen – aus bester Black Ark-Zeit stammenden – Lee Perry-Dub „Bird in Hand“ zuzuhalten. CD 2 macht dann einen großen Schritt ins England der 1990er Jahre und präsentiert hier die üblichen Verdächtigen: Alpha & Omega, Twilight Circus oder Bush Chemists. Statt die zwingenden Namen wie Zion Train, Rootsman, Rockers HiFi, Dreadzone, The Disciples oder natürlich Jah Shaka und Mad Professor aufzuführen, bietet das Tracklisting mit Rhythm & Sound, Oku Onuora, Burnt Freidman, Thievery Corporation oder Tosca zwar eindrucksvolle, doch in diesem Kontext etwas unvermutete Namen. Weiter geht die Reise nach Frankreich, dessen Dub-Szene die komplette CD 4 gewidmet ist. Der Grund für die so ausführliche Darstellung des französischen Dub-Schaffens liegt nicht etwa darin, dass es so unglaublich reichhaltig oder stilprägend wäre, sondern schlicht darin, dass die „Dub Anthology“ in Frankreich (und natürlich mit besonderem Blick auf den französischen Markt) produziert wurde. Trotzdem ist die französische CD die bisher spannendste, weil sich hier auch für umtriebige Dub-Connaisseure noch neue Entdeckungen verbergen – oder hat jemand schon von Ez3Kiel, Pilah oder dem Löbe Radiant Dub System gehört? CD 4 gehört ganz der Gegenwart. Das älteste Stück ist gerade mal 2 Jahre alt, das neuste stammt (laut Angabe auf dem Cover) aus dem Jahr 2023 – aktueller geht es nicht. Der Zeitreisende findet hier – wen wundert‘s – auch überwiegend französische Namen (u. a. die wichtigen Protagonisten des sehr der elektronischen Musik zugetanen französischen Labels „Sounds Around“, Lena, Molecule, Roots Massacre). Ein wenig Internationalität bringen dann Dub-Experimentatoren wie Noiseshaper, Dubmatix oder Nucleus Roots ins Spiel. Zugegeben: Würde man eine amtliche Anthologie des Dub zusammen stellen, dann sähe die Auswahl der Stück wohl ziemlich anders aus. Aber fraglich wäre, ob diese auch so viel Spaß machen würde, wie die vorliegende CD-Box. In der amtlichen Version wären natürlich alle wirklich wichtigen Klassiker enthalten, doch – ehrlich gesagt – wer will diese noch zum tausendsten Male hören? Ich lasse mir da lieber ein paar obskure aber spannende Franzosen durch die Gehörgänge jagen.

Das feine englische Re-Issue-Label Auralux hat erneut  seiner Schwäche für Dub-Klassiker der 1970er Jahre nachgegeben und mit „Dread At The Controls Dub“ (Auralux/Rough Trade) ein frühes Dub-Album von Gussie Clarke wiederveröffentlicht. Richtig gelesen: Gussie Clarke und nicht Mikey Dread. Letzterer war angeblich zwar „irgendwie“ beteiligt gewesen, aber er hat kein Instrument gespielt, keinen Dub komponiert und vor allem: auch nicht gemixt. Gussie und Mikey waren einfach nur befreundet – und da sich gute Freunde unter die Arme greifen, hat Mikey Gussie seine „Dread At The Controls“-Marke einfach nur ausgeliehen, damit sich das Album besser verkaufte (laut Aussage von Mr. Clarke in den sehr lesenswerten Linernotes). Ursprünglich 1978 veröffentlicht, präsentiert das Album 10 Tracks, eingespielt natürlich von den Revolutionaries mit (unverwechselbar) Sly Dunbar an den Drums. Die Rhythms sind tight und das Timing der Musiker ist perfekt. Doch was nützt das, wenn die Riddims und der Mix zu langweilig sind? Toller Produzent, Top-Notch-Musiker und zudem noch brillanter Sound – aber nach 10 Minuten hört niemand mehr zu, denn die Tracks plätschern einförmig und ohne Überraschungen dahin. Schade.

Da ist „DC Dub Connection“ (Auralux/Rough Trade) schon viel interessanter. Hinter den hier versammelten 10 Aufnahmen steckt der Heptones-Backgroundsänger Earl Morgan, der Ende der 1970er Jahre gelegentlich im Produzentensessel Platz nahm und mit Earl 16, Alton Ellis und Stranger Cole Alben aufnahm. Interessanterweise produzierte er die Rhythm-Tracks nicht selbst, sondern kaufte sie von diversen Produzenten zusammen. Selbst von Lee Perry sind zwei Tracks dabei. Genau aus diesem Umstand bezieht das (soundtechnisch allerdings nicht so brillante) Album seinen Reiz: Es bietet einfach mehr Abwechslung – was nicht zuletzt auch daran liegt, dass Prince Jammy und Scientist schön inspirierte Mixe abgeliefert haben. 

Während die Reggae-Industrie weltweit zerbröselt, versucht sich das deutsche Label „Inakustik“ an einer neuen Reggae-Linie. Den Anfang macht u. a. ein Dub-Album: „Bebo In A Dub Style – Featuring Sly &Robbie“ (Tafari/Inakustik). Ursprünglich im Jahr des Slang-Tang, 1985, veröffentlicht, klingt „Bebo In A Dub Style“ fast schon antiquiert – wäre da nicht die Meisterschaft der 1A-Session-Musiker der Zeit: Sly & Robbie, Robbie Lyn, Willi Lindo, Dean Frazer und Sticky, Skyjuce & Scully. Ihr Timing ist so präzise, die Rhythms sind so tight und der Sound so glasklar, dass die Aufnahmen etwas zeitloses haben. Eigentlich hapert es nur an der Faulheit des Dub-Mixers Peter Chemist. Hätte er den Reglern seines Mischpultes etwas mehr Aufmerksamkeit gewidmet, dann dürfte „Bebo In A Dub Style“ seinen Titel zu recht tragen und wäre wohl auch zu einem Meilenstein der Dub-History geworden.

Kommentar verfassen

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.