Categories
Five Star Review

Dub Spencer & Trance Hill: Black Album

The Zurich Dub-Combo Dub Spencer & Trance Hill is in dubblog a regular guest. Their albums usually get 5 out of 5 stars, which is the highest rating. If a friend points out a “previously officially unpublished, only known to a small circle” work that has appeared on YouTube via Twitter, then of course you will listen carefully. Since September 2020 the "Black album“Apparently online there and has so far reached a good 800 listeners. So it remained an insider tip and raised even more questions for it. Indeed: What is this “Black Album” about?

Band bassist and manager Marcel “Masi” Stalder sheds light on the matter on request. Around the time of “Riding Strange Horses” (2010) Nicolai Beverungen worked for his record label Echo Beach - wherever Dub Spencer & Trance Hill publish their stuff - the idea of ​​an Echo Beach anniversary album had with verdubGood versions of well-known songs, to which the people of Zurich should also make a contribution. Because at that time Stalder and colleagues had so much fun recording strange songs dubTo put on a nice dress, they suddenly recorded around a dozen tracks with the idea of ​​releasing them as a separate album. The problem: The rights were not available for all songs. Therefore, the album disappeared in the drawer - with the exception of one song that made it onto the aforementioned "Riding Strange Horses", which was only equipped with cover versions: "Enter Sandman" by Metallica.

The rest of the "Black Album" found the light of the public in a different way. For one thing, it offered Dub Spencer & Trance Hill to their fans after concerts on self-burned CDs; However, it was a very small edition of only around 100 pieces. On the other hand, Echo Beach brought out a best of the Zurich band in 2017 with “Return Of The Supervinyl”. As the name suggests, only on vinyl, but with a treat - a link to the "Black Album", which was never officially released. Because the activation of the link was only possible in a roundabout way and required a lot of nerve, the vinyl edition was quickly sold out, the ominous work was still reserved for a small group of interested people. Until it was uploaded to Youtube almost a year ago. Presumably from a fan.

Now that the winding paths of the “Black Album” have been clarified, the most important question still arises: Is it worth listening to the ten songs on it? Absolutely - if you are on verdubbte cover versions are available! Marcel Stalder explains with a laugh that every member of the band has brought in his “youthful sins”, his “musical hateful love”. What Dub Spencer & Trance Hill made it out of it is - once again - simply great. Even “The Final Countdown” by Europe (the original causes me physical pain personally) is an experience. In contrast to “Riding Strange Horses”, the original voices are missing on the “Black Album”. But it doesn't matter. That was the only way James Brown's “I Feel Good” could turn out so spooky and gloomy. Nothing more is revealed, except that one likes to put up with such youthful sins. The album fits in seamlessly with the early work of Dub Spencer & Trance Hill one. It is not difficult to read from the previous lines that the writer would like an official publication at a later date.

Tracklist:

1. "Enter Dubman "(" Enter Sandman "by Metallica)

2. "The Final Dub Down "(" The Final Countdown "from Europe)

3. "Eye Of The Lion" ("Eye Of The Tiger" by Survivor from the "Rocky IV" soundtrack)

4. "Bomb Back" feat. Nya ("Bomb Track" by Rage Against The Machine)

5. "Chilly Jean" ("Billie Jean" by Michael Jackson)

6. "Tire" ("Fire" by Jimi Hendrix)

7. "I Feel Stoned" ("I Feel Good" by James Brown)

8. "Owner Of A Dub Heart “feat. The Homestories ("Owner Of A Lonely Heart" by Yes)

9. "The Sea" ("The Ocean" by Led Zeppelin)

10. "Until The End Of The Disc" ("Until The End Of The World" by U2)

Rating: 5 out of 5.

5 replies to "Dub Spencer & Trance Hill: Black Album "

Wow! Well, I'm curious about that. I deciphered the record and meanwhile also the note on the back cover with reading glasses and in the light at the window. Well, I'm curious to see if I can still get the mp3s ...

Thanks again for the offer. I wrote to Echo Beach yesterday and received the mp30's (+ WAV files) within 3 minutes. I was very happy that it went so quickly and so easily. So now I'm curious about the songs ...

Hi Hans,

thank you for this recommendation! Only now have I taken the time to listen to the “Black Album” completely. If I had known that Jimi Hendrix ("Fire") - my absolute highlight of the Black Album - from Dub Spencer & Trance Hill dubwas technically processed, I would not have given up so quickly a few months ago. “Enter Sandmann” at the beginning completely led me on the wrong track and I thought the “Black Album” was a copy of the “Riding Strange Horses”. By the way, the “Black Album” was viewed more than 60 times on youtube within one day. My favorites are: "Tire" ("Fire" by Jimi Hendrix), "I Feel Stoned" ("I Feel Good" by James Brown), "The Sea" ("The Ocean" by Led Zeppelin), "Until The End Of The Disc ”(“ Until The End Of The World ”by U2) and of course“ Enter Dubman ”(“ Enter Sandman ”by Metallica). Even “Owner Of A Dub Heart "(" Owner Of A Lonely Heart "by Yes), in my opinion the worst Yessong ever, is after the Dubtreatment by Dub Spencer & Trance Hill clearly audible.

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * marked

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Kategorien
Five Star Review

Dub Spencer & Trance Hill: Black Album

Die Zürcher Dub-Combo Dub Spencer & Trance Hill ist im dubblog ein regelmässiger Gast. Ihre Alben heimsen in der Regel 5 von 5 Sternen ein, also die Höchstbewertung. Wenn einen nun ein Bekannter via Twitter auf ein „bislang offiziell unveröffentlichtes, nur einem kleinen Kreis bekannten“ Werk hinweist, das auf Youtube aufgetaucht sei, wird man natürlich hellhörig. Seit September 2020 ist das „Black Album“ dort offenbar online und hat bis dato gut 800 Hörerinnen und Hörer erreicht. Ist also ein Insider-Tipp geblieben und hat dafür umso mehr Fragen aufgeworfen. In der Tat: Was hat es mit diesem „Black Album“ auf sich?

Band-Bassist und -Manager Marcel „Masi“ Stalder bringt auf Anfrage Licht in die Sache. Um den Zeitpunkt von „Riding Strange Horses“ (2010) habe Nicolai Beverungen für sein Plattenlabel Echo Beach – wo auch Dub Spencer & Trance Hill ihre Sachen veröffentlichen – die Idee eines Echo-Beach-Jubiläumsalbums gehabt mit verdubbten Versionen bekannter Songs, zu dem auch die Zürcher einen Beitrag leisten sollten. Weil Stalder und Kollegen damals so viel Spass daran hatten, fremden Songs ein dubbiges Kleid anzuziehen, hatten sie plötzlich rund ein Dutzend Titel eingespielt mit der Idee, diese als eigenes Album zu veröffentlichen. Das Problem: Nicht für alle Lieder lagen die Rechte vor. Deshalb verschwand das Album in der Schublade – mit Ausnahme eines Songs, der es auf das erwähnte, ausschliesslich mit Coverversionen bestückte „Riding Strange Horses“ schaffte: „Enter Sandman“ von Metallica.

Der Rest des „Black Album“ fand auf anderem Weg das Licht der Öffentlichkeit. Zum einen boten es Dub Spencer & Trance Hill ihren Fans nach Konzerten auf selbergebrannten CDs an; es war allerdings eine Kleinstauflage von nur rund 100 Stück. Zum anderen brachte Echo Beach 2017 mit „Return Of The Supervinyl“ eine Best-of der Zürcher Band heraus. Wie es der Name besagt, nur auf Vinyl, dafür mit einem Zückerchen – einem Link auf das offiziell nie erschienene „Black Album“. Weil die Aktivierung des Links nur auf Umwegen möglich war und einiges an Nerven brauchte, die Vinyl-Auflage dazu schnell ausverkauft war, blieb das ominöse Werk weiterhin einem kleinen Kreis Interessierter vorbehalten. Bis es nun, vor mittlerweile fast einem Jahr, auf Youtube geladen wurde. Mutmasslich von einem Fan.

Nachdem die verschlungenen Wege des „Black Album“ damit geklärt wären, steht noch die wichtigste Frage im Raum: Lohnt es sich, den darauf enthaltenen zehn Songs ein Ohr zu leihen? Unbedingt – wenn man auf verdubbte Coverversionen steht! Marcel Stalder erklärt mit einem Lachen, jedes Bandmitglied habe seine „Jugendsünden“, seine „musikalischen Hasslieben“ eingebracht. Was Dub Spencer & Trance Hill daraus gemacht haben, ist – einmal mehr – schlicht grossartig. Selbst „The Final Countdown“ von Europe (das Original bereitet mir persönlich schier körperliche Schmerzen) ist ein Erlebnis. Im Gegensatz zu „Riding Strange Horses“ fehlen auf dem „Black Album“ allerdings die ursprünglichen Stimmen. Macht aber gar nichts. Wohl nur so konnte „I Feel Good“ von James Brown derart spooky und düster geraten. Mehr sei nicht verraten, ausser dass man sich solche Jugendsünden sehr gerne gefallen lässt. Das Album reiht sich nahtlos ins Frühwerk von Dub Spencer & Trance Hill ein. Dass sich der Schreibende eine nachträgliche offizielle Veröffentlichung wünscht, lässt sich aus den vorangegangenen Zeilen wohl unschwer herauslesen.

Tracklist:

1. „Enter Dubman“ („Enter Sandman“ von Metallica)

2. „The Final Dub Down“ („The Final Countdown“ von Europe)

3. „Eye Of The Lion“ („Eye Of The Tiger“ von Survivor vom „Rocky IV“-Soundtrack)

4. „Bomb Back“ feat. Nya („Bomb Track“ von Rage Against The Machine)

5. „Chilly Jean“ („Billie Jean“ von Michael Jackson)

6. „Tire“ („Fire“ von Jimi Hendrix)

7. „I Feel Stoned“ („I Feel Good“ von James Brown)

8. „Owner Of A Dub Heart“ feat. The Homestories („Owner Of A Lonely Heart“ von Yes)

9. „The Sea“ („The Ocean“ von Led Zeppelin)

10. „Until The End Of The Disc“ („Until The End Of The World“ von U2)

Bewertung: 5 von 5.

5 Antworten auf „Dub Spencer & Trance Hill: Black Album“

Wow! Na da bin ich ja mal gespannt. Die Platte habe ich und inzwischen auch den Hinweis auf dem Backcover mit Lesebrille und im Licht am Fenster entziffert. Na da bin ich ja mal gespannt, ob ich noch an die mp3s kommen kann…

Nochmals vielen Dank für das Angebot. Ich habe gestern Echo Beach angeschrieben und innerhalb von 30 Minuten die mp3´s (+ WAV-Dateien) bekommen. Hab mich sehr gefreut, dass das so schnell und super unkompliziert gelaufen ist. So, jetzt bin ich auf die Lieder gespannt…

Hallo Hans,

vielen Dank für diese Empfehlung! Erst jetzt habe ich mir die Zeit genommen, das „Black Album“ komplett durchzuhören. Wenn ich gewusst hätte, dass von Jimi Hendrix („Fire“) – mein absolutes Highlight des Black Albums – von Dub Spencer & Trance Hill dubtechnisch bearbeitet wurde, hätte ich vor ein paar Monaten nicht so schnell aufgegeben. „Enter Sandmann“ am Anfang hat mich komplett auf die falsche Fährte geführt und ich dachte, das „Black Album“ sei ein Abklatsch der „Riding Strange Horses“. Übrigens, das „Black Album“ wurde innerhalb eines Tages bei youtube bereits über 60 Mal aufgerufen. Meine Favoriten sind: „Tire“ („Fire“ von Jimi Hendrix), „I Feel Stoned“ („I Feel Good“ von James Brown), „The Sea“ („The Ocean“ von Led Zeppelin), „Until The End Of The Disc“ („Until The End Of The World“ von U2) und natürlich „Enter Dubman“ („Enter Sandman“ von Metallica). Selbst „Owner Of A Dub Heart“ („Owner Of A Lonely Heart“ von Yes), meines Erachtens der schlechteste Yessong überhaupt, ist nach der Dubbehandlung durch Dub Spencer & Trance Hill gut hörbar.

Kommentar verfassen

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.