Categories
Dub (Revolution Review

Dub Evolution, May 2008

Meanwhile it is Lars Fenin yes a good friend in this column. After “Sustain” and “Grounded” we now turn to his new album "Been Through" (Shitkatapult / mdm), with which he made his mix driven to perfection Dub and techno remains loyal in principle, but still does not stand still. While his earlier beats were warmer, softer and closer to the “four to the floor” pattern, now they mix (DubThanks to step) there are more broken structures in the rhythms. With this, Fenin increases his distance to Rhythm & Sound on the one hand and The Modernist on the other. Extreme minimalism was never Fenin's thing anyway. He has always enriched his tracks with lots of ideas and woven refined arrangements from them. “Been Through” can no longer be grasped at all with the “Minimal” category. Fenin's pieces are developing more and more from “patterns” to full-fledged tunes - in those cases where he is supported by vocalists like Gorbi, even into genuine songs. “A Try” is such a song with beautifully melancholy vocals and a catchy melody. Likewise "Red Wine", a tongue-in-cheek quote from the UB40 hit, which of course has perfect song qualities. But while the British band packed the vocals into soft-washed beats, Fenin's version has rough edges, is far more complex and at the same time has a fat kick that makes the tune unreservedly suitable for clubs. Compared to earlier albums and EPs, Fenin's music now sounds much harder, almost as if the Berliner by choice wanted to end his synthesis Dub and techno add a few sprinkles of dancehall. Why not? Fenin's specialty is new approaches.

What a spring! So many good ones Dub- There were seldom releases in one place. Obviously, the material that was put together behind thick studio doors on dark, rainy winter days is now making its way to the public. How z. B. the great new album from Echo-Beach: "Police In Dub"(Echo Beach / Indigo). There is a detailed article on the subject at the front of the magazine. Here I just want to make an explicit purchase recommendation. The album is one of the best that has ever been done in Germany under the label “Dub“Was produced and plays in the first division even in international comparison. Producer Guido Craveiro and the band Okada recorded incredibly well thought-out tracks that were designed down to the last detail. The rhythms groove, the timing is perfect. The sound is miles and miles from noodled Dub- Clichés removed and still full of warmth and depth. Whenever you think it couldn't get any better, these grandiose, catchy Police melodies emerge from the sea of ​​bass, perform some elegant pirouettes, and then sink back into the depths of drum & bass. You could go into raptures!

The next big surprise is a Dub-Album from Jamaica! Who would have thought that 20 years after King Tubby's death the island would be one again? Dub-Album would make? The father of this project is Clive Hunt, a busy and versatile producer who produced artists like the Abyssinians, Dennis Brown and Max Romeo as early as the 1970s. In recent years he had romped around a lot in France (z. B. he produced Pierpoljak or Khaled). Maybe that's why it's his Dub-Album "Clive Hunt & The Dub Dancers "(Makasound / Rough Trade) also released on the French label Makasound. Well-known musicians such as Sly Dunbar, Leroy Wallace, Earl Chinna Smith or Sticky Thompson worked on the successful, surprising album. Because even if you know Clive Hunt as an innovative (and at the same time very modest) producer who has never really stepped into the light of fame, you would have such a sophisticated, varied and uncompromisingly modern from a Jamaican producer Dub-Album not expected. Clive Hunt is completely up to date with his work, as if Jamaica never had one Dub- Given a break of around 25 years. Fat, perfectly produced sound, fantastic riddims (with a few quotes like Realrock, Cuss Cuss, Cassandra), complex instrumentation, lots of FX and of course - from Hunt himself - extremely inspired mixed. But the greatest strength of the album is its diversity. Instead of pulling through one sound, it consists of 16 individual, very independent and always surprising tracks. Hunt is brimming with ideas. It would be so nice if this album wasn't an isolated case and Jamaican producers did Dub rediscovered. In order for this to happen, one thing would have to get around in Jamaica, namely that you should be with Dub Can make money. So: all nice Clive Hunt & The Dub Buy dancers (and don't download them illegally!)

How to use Dub Phil Harmony shows with the free download that makes no money, but makes the community happy Dub-Sampler "Dubnight compilation Vol. 2 " (http://www.reggae-town.de/Downloads-req-viewdownload-cid-7.html). He has collected 25 (!) Tracks here (that is the equivalent of two CDs) from such well-known artists as Ganjaman, Zion Train, The Okada Supersound, Malone Rootikal, Dub Spencer & Trance Hill, Jahcoustix, Dubmatix, Aldubb and Phil Harmony himself. This selection is supplemented by many (still) unknown, but by no means bad DubProducers. Mr. Harmony not only showed a skillful hand in the selection, but obviously also demonstrated a lot of persuasiveness, because to have so many high quality tracks left for free is a great achievement. Now the only problem is marketing. Such an extraordinary project should be much better known.

Since it fits the topic so well: The other day I went to the Polish net label "Qunabu" (http://netlabel.qunabu.com/) Bumped into where is a gigantic 5-track album called "Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Dub Tape" can be downloaded for free. Five tracks of the best underwater minimalDubtechno, which - also qualitatively - is not far removed from rhythm & sound.

Post a comment

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Kategorien
Dub Dub (R)evolution

Dub Evolution, Mai 2008

Mittlerweile ist Lars Fenin ja ein guter Bekannter in dieser Kolumne. Nach „Sustain“ und „Grounded“ widmen wir uns nun seinem neuen Album „Been Through“ (Shitkatapult/mdm), womit er seinem zur Perfektion getriebenen Mix aus Dub und Techno prinzipiell treu bleibt, aber trotzdem nicht auf der Stelle tritt. Waren seine früheren Beats wärmer, weicher und näher am „Four to the floor“-Muster, so mischen sich nun (Dubstep sei dank) verstärkt gebrochene Strukturen in die Rhythms. Damit vergrößert Fenin seinen Abstand zu Rhythm & Sound auf der einen und The Modernist auf der anderen Seite. Extremer Minimalismus war ja sowieso nie Fenins Sache. Schon immer hat er seine Tracks mit vielen Ideen angereichert und raffinierte Arrangements daraus gewoben. „Been Through“ ist mit der Kategorie „Minimal“ nun überhaupt nicht mehr zu fassen. Fenins Stücke entwickeln sich immer mehr von „Patterns“ hin zu vollwertigen Tunes – in den Fällen, in denen er sich von Vokalisten wie Gorbi unterstützen lässt gar zu waschechten Songs. „A Try“ ist ein solcher Song mit wunderschön melancholischem Gesang und einer eingängigen Melodie. Ebenso „Red Wine“, ein augenzwinkerndes Zitat des UB40-Hits, das natürlich perfekte Songqualitäten besitzt. Doch während die britische Band den Gesang in weichgespülte Beats packte, hat Fenins Version Ecken und Kanten, ist ungleich komplexer und hat zugleich einen fetten Kick, der den Tune uneingeschränkt clubtauglich macht. Verglichen mit den früheren Alben und EPs klingt Fenins Musik nun deutlich härter, fast so, als wolle der Wahlberliner seiner Synthese aus Dub und Techno noch ein paar Sprengsel Dancehall hinzu addieren. Warum eigentlich nicht? Neue Wege sind Fenins Spezialität.

Was für ein Frühling! So viele gute Dub-Releases auf einem Haufen gab es selten. Offensichtlich drängt das in dunklen, verregneten Wintertagen hinter dicken Studiotüren zusammengetüftelte Material nun an die Öffentlichkeit. Wie z. B. das grandiose neue Album vom Echo-Beach: „Police In Dub“ (Echo Beach/Indigo). Vorne im Heft steht ein ausführlicher Artikel zum Thema. Hier sei nur nochmal eine ausdrückliche Kaufempfehlung ausgesprochen. Das Album gehört zum Besten, was je in Deutschland unter dem Label „Dub“ produziert wurde und spielt auch im internationalen Vergleich in der ersten Liga. Produzent Guido Craveiro und die Band Okada haben unglaublich durchdachte und bis ins letzte Detail durchgestaltete Tracks aufgenommen. Die Rhythms grooven, das Timing ist perfekt. Der Sound ist meilenweit von durchgenudelten Dub-Klischees entfernt und trotzdem voller Wärme und Tiefe. Immer, wenn man meint, besser könne es nicht werden, dann tauchen diese grandiosen, eingängigen Police-Melodien aus dem Meer von Bass auf, vollführen einige elegante Pirouetten, um dann wieder in den Tiefen von Drum & Bass zu versinken. Man könnte ins Schwärmen geraten!

Die nächste große Überraschung ist ein Dub-Album aus Jamaika! Wer hätte gedacht, dass die Insel 20 Jahre nach dem Tod King Tubbys noch einmal ein Dub-Album hervorbringen würde? Der Vater dieses Projektes ist Clive Hunt, ein ebenso umtriebiger wie vielseitiger Produzent der bereits in den 1970er Jahren Künstler wie die Abyssinians, Dennis Brown oder Max Romeo produzierte. In den letzten Jahren hatte er sich auch viel in Frankreich getummelt (z. B. produzierte er Pierpoljak oder Khaled). Vielleicht deshalb ist sein Dub-Album „Clive Hunt & The Dub Dancers“ (Makasound/Rough Trade) auch auf dem französischen Label Makasound erschienen. Namhafte Musiker wie Sly Dunbar, Leroy Wallace, Earl Chinna Smith oder Sticky Thompson arbeiteten an dem gelungenen, überraschenden Album mit. Denn auch wenn man Clive Hunt als innovationsfreudigen (und zugleich sehr bescheidenen) Producer kennt, der nie wirklich ins Licht des Ruhms getreten ist, hätte man von einem jamaikanischen Produzenten ein so ausgeklügeltes, abwechslungsreiches und kompromisslos modernes Dub-Album nicht erwartet. Clive Hunt ist mit seinem Werk voll auf der Höhe der Zeit, so als hätte es in Jamaika nie eine Dub-Pause von rund 25 Jahren gegeben. Fetter, auf den Punkt produzierter Sound, fantastische Riddims (mit einigen Zitaten wie Realrock, Cuss Cuss, Cassandra), komplexe Instrumentierung, lots of FX und natürlich – von Hunt persönlich – äußerst inspiriert gemixt. Doch die größte Stärke des Albums ist wohl seine Vielfältigkeit. Statt einen Sound durchzuziehen, setzt es sich aus 16 individuellen, sehr eigenständigen und stets überraschenden Tracks zusammen. Hunt sprüht nur so vor Ideen. Es wäre so schön, wenn dieses Album kein Einzelfall bliebe und jamaikanische Produzenten den Dub wiederentdeckten. Damit dies geschieht, müsste sich eines auf Jamaika herumsprechen, nämlich, dass man mit Dub Geld verdienen kann. Also: alle schön Clive Hunt & The Dub Dancers kaufen (und nicht illegal downloaden!)

Wie man mit Dub zwar kein Geld verdient, aber die Community glücklich macht, zeigt Phil Harmony mit dem kostenlos zum Download bereitstehenden Dub-Sampler „Dubnight Compilation Vol. 2“ (http://www.reggae-town.de/Downloads-req-viewdownload-cid-7.html). 25 (!) Tracks hat er hier versammelt (also umgerechnet zwei CDs) von so namhaften Artists wie Ganjaman, Zion Train, The Okada Supersound, Malone Rootikal, Dub Spencer & Trance Hill, Jahcoustix, Dubmatix, Aldubb und Phil Harmony himself. Ergänzt wird diese Selection von vielen (noch) unbekannten, aber keineswegs schlechten Dub-Produzenten. Mr. Harmony hat bei der Auswahl nicht nur ein geschicktes Händchen, sondern offensichtlich auch viel Überzeugungskraft bewiesen, denn so viele hochwertige Tracks kostenlos überlassen zu bekommen ist schon eine tolle Leistung. Jetzt hapert es nur noch am Marketing. Ein so außergewöhnliches Projekt müsste viel bekannter sein.

Da es gerade so gut zum Thema passt: Neulich bin ich auf das polnisches Net-Label „Qunabu“ (http://netlabel.qunabu.com/) gestoßen, wo sich ein gigantisches 5-Track Album mit dem Titel „Sgt. Pepper‘s Lonely Hearts Dub Band“ kostenlos downloaden lässt. Fünf Tracks bester Unterwasser-Minimal-Dubtechno, der – auch qualitativ – nicht weit von Rhythm & Sound entfernt ist.

Kommentar verfassen

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.