Categories
Review

DubBeach Allstars: Dubbing on the bay

There is this "New Releases" section on dubblog.de, which the reviewer likes to look into regularly - even if it's just to see what the colleagues put in between good and bad. That is the very, very wide range; only special and / or interesting things (in a positive or negative sense) find their way into the reviews. So bravely jumped into the flood of innovations, listened in randomly and actually found what you were looking for: It is Dubstrand Allstars' debut album "Dubbing on the bay“ (Dubstrand Music), which I am dragging into the glaring review light.

Admittedly, it's the drums again that grabbed my first attention; In their mix they are very reminiscent of releases from 1981, as if there were Peter Tosh's "Wanted Dread & Alive", Jimmy Cliff's"Give the People What They Want"Or Pablo Mosers'"Pave the way". This hard sound, which wasn't particularly bass-heavy, but with its punch at the appropriate volume probably left holes in the eardrum; this kick drum, which comes across as quite martial and almost commands where to go. The then relatively short-lived trend can now be found on the "Dubbing on the Bay ”album again - whether that was intentional or a coincidence remains open.

My second attention has that Dubstrand Allstars themselves counted - never heard, never seen, who should that be? The online research lets me run up completely for the time being; then there is still a fragment of information and it shows Brizion down. I have noticed the man several times; less because of his mediocre music than because of the sheer volume of his output: The Californian should cough once and at the other end shoot 5 albums, which unfortunately sound that way. A clear case of quantity over quality. Imagine if Vaughn Benjamin had teamed up with Brizion ... that would have been an endless flood of babbling albums.

The DubStrand Allstars, on the other hand, are thankfully not another solo project by Brizion; he takes (hurray!) a second musician - that is, a drummer - on board. No question about it, that brings the music to life, albeit with a downer: the man plays e-drums, which per se do not offer any great tonal variations. Strikes on the e-snare always sound tiring, an acoustic snare, on the other hand, sounds a little different with each strike - depending on where the stick hits the head. A small difference that makes a sound world.

Back to the album - it's not particularly bass-heavy with what feels like a cutoff at 60Hz, but see above: What was good enough for Tosh and Cliff back then should also be today Dubconceding beach all stars. Ultimately, there remains a collection of classic looking riddims; sparingly orchestrated with unobtrusively incorporated Dub-Effects. Not much has been done wrong, and yet everything seems uniform, monotonous. This is certainly not only due to the drums, but rather to the fact that only two musicians give their best: One plays the drums, the other plays the manageable rest of the instruments. There is no desire, musical ideas cannot be found. The whole thing seems more like a compulsory exercise and is therefore far from a masterpiece. However, if you are willing to lower your expectations accordingly, you will definitely enjoy "Dubbing on the Bay ”. 

Rating: 2.5 out of 5.

8 replies to "DubBeach Allstars: Dubbing on the Bay "

Well, it is by far not the first time that a review speaks from the heart to me, but this one could have been almost one to one of mine, although of course I already want to
practiced or the reviewer's innate eloquence. So I had to google “mediocre music” first. But I like to do that, because when I incorporate such words into our workshop slang, it's always nice to look into the faces of my colleagues. So, even if I “suffer” from an allergy to learning, I confess that I am very happy to learn something in this way. Learning new knowledge using a concrete example is like “learning by doing” and that's the only way it works for me.
Yes, sometimes I also look out of the pure fulfillment of duty to my never-ending curiosity in matters of reggae and Dub in "New Releases". And just now, of course, I stumbled across this Brizion. There are a lot of stones from him, in or on the way. Well now what else should I say?!? It's reggae or Dub and therefore basically my thing! But after I worked my way through part of his work, the exact same sentence was on the tip of my tongue.
“A clear case of quantity over quality”. I can listen to everything, but my belly button doesn't really tingle. With this kind of Dub, I could the whole "thing"
in the end get tired and lose my curiosity in the end. This is not new for the reggae business either, but too much production is also a kind of overproduction. So far everyone has failed because of this. Gregory Isaacs as well as Sizzla. And the “Duncehall Ting” is the culmination of this overproduction. Sure, Bob Marley could live on a disc all his life. That brought in so much. As a result, he was able to take a whole year for a record, which then expressed itself in quality and not in quantity. That corresponds to a “positive vicious circle”, not to say that it is then a “God's circle”.
But I can well understand that this Dubstrand Scheibe made it into a review after all, because I think it also has very crisp riddims. And when you
Associations (wow, sometimes I am enthusiastic about myself, which words I already know) to Peter Tosh, Jimmy Cliff and then also to one of my "All Time Favorites" album "Pave The Way" by Pablo Moses, can do that not be that bad. Go to Dub from my point of view not anyway. I can't think of much about the album either, because it has too little “hiss and poof” for my taste and also sticks to “political correctness” too much with reverb and echo.

Yeah man "Pave The Way Rasta" !!! "Who Is The Greatest Rastaman Of Them All?!? YES !!! ……. Proverbs Extractions ...... "
And then this intro on Dig On! So saxophone has to ;-) ………………… .. lemmi

Nice comment, lemmi!

I think that the unmanageably large album output of many JA artists only began when the major labels had withdrawn - in the middle of the 80s, around the same time as computer-generated sounds that could be produced easily and quickly appeared . One can think good or bad of the majors, but they were sometimes good quality control and important regulations in the reggae industry. Who still remembers the longing waiting for this or that annual album to be released? That also had quality - the best example: Gregory Isaacs or Dennis Brown, whose major albums were excellent; the later albums produced on the assembly line, however, in the best case only so-so (exceptions confirm the rule).

On the other hand, singles in JA have always been more musical news and current comments on politics, crime, catastrophes, etc. - quickly produced & brought to all corners of the country as hot 45s via sound system. A good example of this is the "Gilbert" sampler, which summarizes singles that were released in 1988 immediately after the devastating Hurricane Gilbert.

Whether BM was able to make a living from the Iceland sales during its lifetime ... I'm not so sure about that. The live shows were imo more like his cash cows ... at least Iceland won't have held up the hand that much, I think.

Yes gtkriz,

I would also like to add that. Calling Jamaican music Duncehall may not be my place either, and it may seem quite arrogant again. But I know the term from the Jamaicans themselves and so it may be appropriate. For the Jamaicans, I think that's about Ex and Hop
Singles also perfectly fine. As a European, however, I have the Today and the Tagesshow every day and don't see music as a news magazine or even as gossip - press. For me, music is a permanent manifesto, a statue, so to speak
for eternity. Songs such as "Blackheart Man" by Bunny Wailer or the entire disc are not for ex and hopp. These are the Rembrandts from Jamaica!
You don't just paint them over. Unfortunately, Bunny Wailer is now where Rembrandt has been for a long time. Maybe it's better that way, who knows?!?

Rest In Peace BUNNY WAILER …………………………… lemmi

the youtube preview can be enjoyed better than the review suggests.
will give the work a chance.
If the mastering is not so good, the lack of deep bass can also ensure tonal tightness.
what I always appreciate very much about rootsreggae is the space in the mix ... dynamism. the kick kicks, the snare really pops in, as if you were just a few meters in front of it (assuming the appropriate playback volume and suitable speakers, modern consumer clutter like Sonos can't do that at all).
Here this pressure is present in the drums, even if they are e-drums. Half the battle with the bass. And Brizion has also caught my eye in a positive way. Until now thought he was French 8)

I'm with you, pop up ... the edrums definitely have a lot of punch, but the same sounds ... could have been made more individual for each piece, I'll say.

Brizion lives / works in San Diego.

Thanks for the review. This album was definitely a “compulsory exercise” as you put it.
Me and my brother (the drummer) created this project to have fun during lockdown and to practice making videos we could share with our friends cause there was no live music happening.
We also found it unfortunate to use a “e-kit” which was our only option at the time as where we live, cannot use a live drum kit at home. Our second album ("Dubbing Up the Coast ”) is a completely live drum kit.
And this was 100 percent a “quantity over quality” exercise; We told ourselves we must put together a new Dub with a full video every single week without fail. So regardless of what we had each week we put it out, and the result is all the tracks in this album. All of the tracks fully improvised and one take recordings, many of which were actually at various outdoor locations (for our videos). We had a lot of fun making these tracks / videos for these songs and really helped keep our sanity during lockdown.
Respects

Good to see you checking in - sounds like I wasn't too far off in my review.
Thanks for the reminder on the follow-up album ... I'll be doing a review here.
Keep up the good works!

Reply

Brizion is legit I love the music and play it in Jamaica. I enjoy the laid back classic sounds of dubstrand he also makes roots tonic.

Post a comment

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Kategorien
Review

Dubstrand Allstars: Dubbing on the Bay

Es gibt da diese „New Releases“-Sektion auf dubblog.de, in die der Rezensent gerne und regelmäßig reinschaut – und sei’s nur um zu sehen, was die Kollegen da alles zwischen Gut und Böse reinstellen. Das ist die ganz, ganz breite Palette; nur Besonderes und/oder Interessantes (im positiven wie negativen Sinn) findet seinen Weg in die Reviews. Also mutig reingesprungen in die Flut an Neuheiten, stichprobenartig reingehört und tatsächlich fündig geworden: Es ist Dubstrand Allstars‘ Debut-Album „Dubbing on the Bay“ (Dubstrand Music), das ich hiermit ins grelle Rezensions-Licht zerre.

Zugegeben: Es sind wieder mal die Drums, die meine erste Aufmerksamkeit in Anspruch genommen haben; sie erinnern in ihrer Abmischung sehr an Releases aus dem Jahr 1981, als da wären Peter Tosh‘ „Wanted Dread & Alive“, Jimmy Cliff’s „Give the People What They Want“ oder Pablo Mosers‘ „Pave the Way“. Dieser harte Sound, der nicht sonderlich basslastig war, aber mit seinem Punch in entsprechender Lautstärke wahrscheinlich Löcher im Trommelfell hinterlassen hat; diese Kickdrum, die ziemlich martialisch daherkommt und quasi befiehlt, wo’s langgeht. Der damals relativ kurzlebige Trend findet sich jetzt auf dem „Dubbing on the Bay“-Album wieder – ob das beabsichtigt oder Zufall war bleibt offen.

Meine zweite Aufmerksamkeit hat den Dubstrand Allstars selbst gegolten – nie gehört, nie gesehen, wer soll das sein? Die online-Recherche lässt mich vorerst komplett auflaufen; dann findet sich doch noch ein Bruchstück einer Information und weist auf Brizion hin. Der Mann ist mir schon öfters aufgefallen; weniger wegen seiner mediokren Musik denn ob der schieren Menge seines Outputs: Der Kalifornier dürfte einmal Husten und am anderen Ende schießen 5 Alben raus, die dann leider auch so klingen. Klarer Fall von Quantität vor Qualität. Man stelle sich vor, Vaughn Benjamin hätte sich mit Brizion zusammen getan… das wäre wohl eine endlose Flut an dahinbrabbelnden Alben geworden.

Die Dubstrand Allstars hingegen sind dankenswerterweise kein weiteres Soloprojekt von Brizion; er nimmt sich (hurra!) doch glatt einen zweiten Musiker – sprich Drummer – an Bord. Keine Frage, das lässt die Musik aufleben, wenn auch mit Wermutstropfen: Der Mann spielt E-Drums, die per se keine großen klanglichen Varianten bieten. Schläge auf die E-Snare klingen immer ermüdend gleich, eine akustische Snare hingegen klingt bei jedem Schlag eine Nuance anders – je nachdem wo der Stick das Fell trifft. Ein kleiner Unterschied der eine Klangwelt ausmacht.

Zurück zum Album – es ist nicht sonderlich basslastig mit einem gefühlten Cutoff bei 60Hz, aber siehe oben: Was für Tosh und Cliff damals gut genug war, sollte man heute auch den Dubstrand Allstars zugestehen. Letztlich bleibt eine Ansammlung klassisch anmutender Riddims; sparsamst instrumentiert mit unaufdringlich eingearbeiteten Dub-Effekten. Da ist nicht viel falsch gemacht worden, und doch wirkt alles gleichförmig, eintönig. Das ist sicher nicht nur den Drums geschuldet, sondern eher dem, dass da lediglich zwei Musiker ihr Bestes geben: Der eine spielt Schlagzeug, der andere spielt den überschaubaren Rest der Instrumente. Lust kommt da keine auf, musikalische Ideen sind nicht zu finden. Das Ganze wirkt eher wie eine Pflichtübung und ist damit weit von einem Meisterstück entfernt. Wer jedoch gewillt ist seine Erwartungen entsprechend herunterzuschrauben, wird durchaus Freude an „Dubbing on the Bay“ haben. 

Bewertung: 2.5 von 5.

5 Antworten auf „Dubstrand Allstars: Dubbing on the Bay“

Also, es ist bei weitem nicht das erste mal, das mir eine Rezension aus dem Herzen spricht aber diese hier hätte fast eins zu eins von mir sein können, obwohl es mir natürlich schon an der
geübten oder dem Rezensenten angeborenen Eloquenz mangelt. So musste ich „mediokre Musik“ erst mal googeln. Aber das mache ich gern, denn wenn ich solche Worte hier mal in unsreren Werkstattslang mit einbaue, ist es immer wieder schön, daraufhin in die Gesichter meiner Kollegen zu schauen. Also, auch wenn ich an einer Allergie gegen das Lernen „leide“, gestehe ich, das ich auf diesem Wege, durchaus sehr gern etwas dazu lerne. Neues Wissen am konkreten Beispiel erlernen ist wie „Learning by Doing“ und nur so läuft das bei mir.
Ja, auch ich schaue ja manchmal auch aus reiner Pflichterfüllung gegenüber meiner doch niemals enden wollenden Neugier in Sachen Reggae und Dub bei „New Releases“ rein. Und gerade zur Zeit bin ich da natürlich auch über diesen Brizion gestolpert. Da liegen ja ne Menge Steine von ihm, im bzw. auf dem Weg. Naja nun, was soll ich anderes sagen ?!? Es ist Reggae, bzw, Dub und von daher schon mal grundsätzlich mein Ding ! Aber nachdem ich mich durch einen Teil seines Schaffens durchgearbeitet habe, lag mir genau der selbe Satz auf der Zunge.
„Klarer Fall von Quantität vor Qualität“. Alles kann ich mir durchaus anhören aber so richtig prickelt es nicht in meinem Bauchnabel. Bei dieser Art von Dub, könnte ich der ganzen „Sache“
am Ende doch überdrüssig werden und meine Neugier letztendes verlieren. Das ist zwar für das ReggaeBusiness auch nicht neu aber zu viel Produktion ist auch eine Art der Überproduktion. Daran ist bisher jeder gescheitert. Gregory Isaacs genauso wie Sizzla. Und das „Duncehall Ting“ ist der Gipfel dieser Überproduktion. Klar, Bob Marley konnte von einer Scheibe sein ganzes Leben lang leben. So viel hat das eingebracht. Daraus resultierte dann, das er sich ein ganzes Jahr Zeit für eine Scheibe nehmen konnte, was sich dann eben in Qualität und nicht in Quantität äußerte. Das entspricht dann mal einem „positiven Teufelskreis“ um nicht zu sagen, das ist dann eben ein „GottesKreis“.
Aber ich kann auch gut nachvollziehen, das diese Dubstrand Scheibe es dann doch in eine Rezension geschafft hat, denn sie hat auch ganz knackige Riddims, wie ich finde. Und wenn sie
Assoziationen ( boah, manchmal bin ich von mir selbst begeistert, was ich schon für Worte kennne ) zu Peter Tosh, Jimmy Cliff und dann auch noch zu einer meiner „All Time Favorites“ Scheibe „Pave The Way“ von Pablo Moses weckt, kann das nicht so ganz schlecht sein. Geht bei Dub aus meiner Sicht sowieso nicht. Viel fällt mir zu der Scheibe aber auch nicht ein, denn sie hat für meinen Geschmack mal wieder zu wenig „Zisch und Puff“ und hält sich auch mit Hall und Echo zu sehr an „polotical correctness“.

Yeah Mann „Pave The Way Rasta“ !!! „Who Is The Greatest Rastaman Of Them All ?!? J A H !!! ……. Proverbs Extractions ……“
Und dann dieses Intro bei Dig On ! So muss Saxophon ;-) ………………….. lemmi

Schöner Kommentar, lemmi!

Ich meine, dass mit dem unüberschaubar großen Alben-Output von vielen JA-Künstler*innen hat erst begonnen, als sich die Major Labels zurückgezogen hatten – so Mitte der 80er, ungefähr zur gleichen Zeit als computergenerierte und damit leicht und schnell zu produzierende Sounds auftauchten. Man kann von den Majors gut oder schlecht denken, aber sie waren mitunter eine gute Qualitätskontrolle und wichtiges Reglement in der Reggae-Branche. Wer erinnert sich noch an das sehnsüchtige Warten bis das jährliche Album von diesem oder jenem erschienen ist? Das hat dann auch Qualität gehabt – bestes Beispiel: Gregory Isaacs oder Dennis Brown, deren Major-Alben hervorragend waren; die späteren, am Fliessband produzierten Alben hingegen im besten Fall nur noch so-so (Ausnahmen bestätigen die Regel).

Andererseits waren Singles in JA immer schon mehr musikalische Nachrichten und aktuelle Kommentare zu Politik, Kriminalität, Katastrophen usw. – schnell produziert & als presswarme 45er via Soundsystem in alle Ecken des Landes gebracht. Ein gutes Beispiel dafür ist der „Gilbert“-Sampler, der Singles zusammenfasst, die 1988 unmittelbar nach dem verheerenden Hurrikan Gilbert erschienen sind.

Ob BM zu Lebzeiten gar so gut von den Island-Verkäufen leben konnte… da bin ich mir nicht so sicher. Die Live-Shows waren imo eher seine Cash-Cows… zumindest wird da Island nicht so sehr die Hand aufgehalten haben, denke ich.

Ja gtkriz,

das möchte ich gern noch dazu sagen. Jamaikanische musik als Duncehall zu bezeichnen, steht mir vielleicht auch nicht zu und erscheint eventuell wieder ziemlich arrogant. Aber ich kenne den Begriff von den Jamaikanern selbst und von daher ist er vieleicht doch angebracht. Für die Jamaikaner finde ich das mit den Ex und Hop
Singles auch völlig in Ordnung. Ich als Europäer habe aber täglich die heute- und die tagesshow und sehe Musik nicht als Nachrichtenmagazin oder sogar als Klatsch und Tratsch – Presse. Für mich ist Musik ein bleibendes Manifest, quasi eine Statue
für die Ewigkeit. Songs wie z.B. „Blackheart Man“ von Bunny Wailer bzw. die gesamte Scheibe, sind nix für ex und hopp. Das sind die Rembrandts aus Jamaika !
Die malt man nicht einfach über. Leider ist Bunny Wailer nun auch da, wo Rembrandt schon lange ist. Vielleicht ja auch besser so, wer weiß das schon ?!?

Rest In Peace BUNNY WAILER …………………………… lemmi

die youtube-preview lässt sich besser genießen als die Rezi vermuten lässt.
werde dem Werk eine chance geben.
fehlende tiefe bässe können bei nicht-so-gutem mastering auch für klangliche tightness sorgen.
was ich an rootsreggae immer sehr schätze ist der space im mix… dynamik eben. die Kick kickt, die Snare knallt richtig rein, als stünde man gerade mal paar meter davor (entsprechende Wiedergabelautstärke und geeignete Lautsprecher vorausgesetzt, moderner Consumer-Krempel wie Sonos kann sowas überhaupt nicht).
Hier ist dieser Druck in den Drums vorhanden, auch wenn es e-Drums sind. Zusammen mit dem Bass schon die halbe Miete. Und Brizion ist mir auch schon mal positiv aufgefallen. Dachte bis jetzt der wär Franzose 8)

Ich bin voll bei Dir, ropp auff… die edrums haben auf jeden Fall einen ordentlich Punch, aber die ewig gleichen Sounds… hätte man für jedes Stück individueller gestalten können, sag‘ ich mal.

Brizion lebt/arbeitet in San Diego.

Kommentar verfassen

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.