Categories
Review

Finn The Giant meets Sandmonk: Two Worlds Clash

Last weekend I made a foray through my archive and Finn The Giant meets Sandmonk: "Two Worlds Clash”(In-house production) rediscovered. No, even if it sounds like it at first, not a modern continuation of the Swedish legend about a giant from Lund by the name of Jatten Finn. Finn The Giant or Jatten Finn are stage names for Finn Stillerud, a reggae producer and Dubmixer from Malmö. His older brother introduced him to roots reggae at an early age and also influenced him significantly. At the tender age of 13, Finn lived in America for a year and his interest in roots reggae, more modern reggae and dancehall continued to grow abroad. In high school, he joined the reggae band "Soon Come". After returning to Sweden, Finn The Giant started his own reggae at the same time Dubs to make. Along with Sandmonk, a former member of the "Soon Come" band, became a couple in 2001 Dub-Demos recorded. Due to various circumstances, the recordings were never published and so they rotten in some small room. It wasn't until 2007 that the eleven were recorded with great passion and analogue Dubs awakened from its slumber and remastered in the newly created studio. The end result can really be heard. The opener: “Hidden Knowledge” reminds me of Tomas Hegert, who is also very much appreciated by me: “Dub på Svenska ”. (Again and again: Thanks for the tip, René!) On “Greenhouse Stadion” I mean hearing a kind of accordion from 1:44 onwards. “Minga Girls” is reminiscent of a Swedish, somewhat polka-like folk song. Sometimes we hear a very sparingly used but precise melodica melody. The organ plays these Nordic, somewhat undercooled but very beautiful, crystal clear organ sounds that I have known from Bo Hansson (tip: Lord Of The Rings or Attic Thoughts - no reggae) since the early 70s. Heavy, rich drums and benthically meandering basslines are flanked by an abundance dubbiger effects. The two protagonists made convincing use of the wealth of options that a new studio brings with it.
Although Finn The Giant appeared very rarely or not at all in the past few years, “Two World Clash” (Old and New World?) Is an album for me that should by no means go unnoticed and above all unheard into oblivion.

Rating: 3.5 out of 5.

5 responses to "Finn The Giant meets Sandmonk: Two Worlds Clash"

Yeah man thanks Ras Vorbei !

This DubWe really shouldn't let go by unheard. And certainly not to disappear into oblivion. At least since the four-headed band,
that we all like to know well from the 70s, but whose name I remember in the DubDon't trust my blog, I know that Swedes have a good feeling for music. The only thing that stuck with me was the tune “SOS”, which I still enjoy listening to today.
I'm also blown away with the opener "Hidden Knowledge". As smoothly as the riddim embeds itself in my body and caresses my soul, I can only melt away. But I have this feeling here with most of them Dubs and that's why I'm excited about the whole album. Only the tunes in the Steppers Riddim take something
from the very relaxed basic feeling of the entire disc and remind us of the reggae and Dub is not just made to "float in Sweden". But as hard as I could try to look for any little hair in the soup, I won't find one for now and won't ruin my relaxed feeling by looking for points of criticism here. The whole disc grooves !!! Sometimes the style reminds me a little of Ragana from Poland (?). And that's when I mostly melt away completely. The description "benthic meandering basslines" is no longer completely new to me, but as soon as it comes down to it, I will perk up my ears in the future so as not to miss anything.
Nevertheless, I fear that in the end these data will in a certain way disappear into a kind of oblivion because I cannot touch them. In the meantime, however, I also see something quite relaxed, because this week, for example, I'm looking at the horny DubDisc of "Mad Professor meets Gaudi". I always remembered them very well, but one
You can touch a disc more often on the plate or in the slot for CD's than when it becomes a kind of mass-produced product in the large swamp of Internet data. Maybe
I will have this disc in my hands for the near future, real and "fundamental", so that I can hear it over and over again at home in my magic triangle with a sublime grin. Until then, however, it will be added to my data playlist very quickly so that it doesn't get completely forgotten.

In short, I like the "disc" very much !!! ……………………………. lemmi

PS: You have to change your vocabulary today or adapt it to the "catastrophic" circumstances of the music industry. The word "disk" was always a fitting expression
for the medium where our music was to be found but today you can only use the word for politicians - especially drug commissioners and interior ministers - who still want to make us know that the earth is flat.

I think I'd rather go for a goalkeeper first ………………… lemmi

But I could eat a SLICE of bread first …………

Ah no sorry, you only write something like that on fazzebook twitter and the like but there you can find it DubBlog as far as I know. Besides, there is no bread today
there are Nuuuuuuuudeln !!!

Irie pasta !!! and Basta! (man have no pangs) …………………. lemmi

Hi lemmi!

“Benthic meandering basslines” - sorry, the geographer went through with me. But I think that these terms describe the music here best. Benthos: The depth of the sea. A meandering river: a lazily winding body of water. Before the straightening by the engineer Johann Tulla, the Rhine also had many meanders (loops) that were simply cut off. Today these cut meanders form the swampy Rhine meadows. The area around Speyer is still very nice to explore. Ok, off-topic ;-)

Yes, the "data music" is a double-edged sword. On the one hand, I'm happy that tons of music is available on the Internet and only a mouse click away, which I never even dared to dream of before. On the other hand, the offer is so huge that something often slips through, is overlooked (see above) and slumbered for years. Even for me, Finn the Giant is a "new discovery".
Even while researching Internal Dread, Finn's album didn't come back to mind. Much too good actually.
Oh yes, for those interested: I have a few more Swedish ones in the comments on Internal Dread Dub-Bands recommended.
https://dubblog.de/papa-dee-meets-the-jamaican-giants-vs-internal-dread-in-dub/#comments

Proof that Sweden has much more to offer musically than this 4-letter band and Dr. Alban.

Why sorry" Ras Vorbei ?

I hope you didn't find that ironic of me. I like it very much because of it
also my “eloquent articulation elaborated” …… .. that sounds ironic again from my “mouth”, but I can really learn something from it. Should I have proven to be exactly the opposite with “eloquent articulation elaborated”, because that doesn't make sense, I'm also very happy to allow myself to be improved.
The Papa Dee disc (!) Was very well received by me, while I was with the Dubs still had a few wishes unfulfilled, if I'm not mistaken.

"Hello Africa Tell Me How You Doin´´ ……………… .. lemmi

Post a comment

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Kategorien
Dub

Finn The Giant meets Sandmonk: Two Worlds Clash

Vergangenes Wochenende habe ich einen Streifzug durch mein Archiv gemacht und dabei Finn The Giant meets Sandmonk: „Two Worlds Clash” (Eigenproduktion) wiederentdeckt. Nein, auch wenn es im ersten Moment so klingen mag, keine moderne Fortsetzung der schwedischen Legende um einen Riesen aus Lund mit dem Namen Jätten Finn. Finn The Giant oder Jätten Finn sind Künstlernamen für Finn Stillerud, einen Reggae-Produzenten und Dubmixer aus Malmö. Sein älterer Bruder hat ihn schon im frühen Kindesalter mit Roots Reggae vertraut gemacht und auch maßgeblich beeinflusst. Im zarten Alter von 13 Jahren lebte Finn ein Jahr in Amerika und auch in der Fremde wuchs sein Interesse für Roots Reggae, moderneren Reggae und Dancehall, weiter. Auf der Highschool trat er dann der Reggaeband „Soon Come” bei. Nach seiner Rückkehr nach Schweden begann Finn The Giant gleichzeitig seinen eigenen Reggae aber auch Dubs zu machen. Zusammen mit Sandmonk, einem ehemaligen Band-Mitglied aus „Soon Come”-Zeiten, wurden 2001 einige Dub-Demos aufgenommen. Aufgrund verschiedenster Umstände wurden die Aufnahmen nie veröffentlicht und so gammelten sie in irgendeinem Kämmerlein vor sich hin. Erst 2007 wurden die elf analog und mit viel Passion aufgenommenen Dubs aus ihrem Dornröschenschlaf erweckt und im neu entstandenen Studio remastered. Das Endresultat kann sich echt hören lassen. Bereits der Opener: „Hidden Knowledge” erinnert mich an den, auch von mir sehr geschätzten, Tomas Hegert: „Dub på Svenska”. (Immer wieder: Danke für den Tipp, René!) Auf „Greenhouse Stadion” meine ich ab 1:44 eine Art Akkordeon zu hören. „Minga Girls” erinnert an ein schwedisches, etwas polkaähnliches Volkslied. Manchmal bekommen wir eine sehr sparsam eingesetzte aber punktgenaue Melodica-Melodie zu hören. Die Orgel spielt diese nordischen, etwas unterkühlten aber sehr schönen, kristallklaren Orgelklänge, die mir seit Anfang der 70er von Bo Hansson (Tipp: Lord Of The Rings oder auch Attic Thoughts – kein Reggae) bekannt sind. Schwere, satte Drums und benthisch mäandernde Basslines werden flankiert von einer Fülle dubbiger Effekte. Die Fülle der Optionen, die ein neues Studio mit sich bringt, wurden durch die zwei Protagonisten überzeugend genutzt.
Obwohl Finn The Giant in den vergangenen Jahren sehr selten bis überhaupt nicht in Erscheinung trat, ist „Two World Clash” (Alte und Neue Welt?) für mich ein Album, das keinesfalls unbeachtet und vor allem ungehört in der Versenkung verschwinden sollte.

Bewertung: 3.5 von 5.

5 Antworten auf „Finn The Giant meets Sandmonk: Two Worlds Clash“

Yeah Mann ! Danke Ras Vorbei !

Diese Dubs sollten wir tatsächlich nicht ungehört an uns vorbeiziehen lassen. Und schon gar nicht sollten sie in der Versenkung verschwinden. Spätestens seit der vieköpfigen Band,
die wir alle aus den 70 gern noch gut kennen, dessen Namen ich mir aber im DubBlog nicht traue zu nennen, weiß ich, das die Schweden ein gutes Feeling für Musik haben. Bei mir ist nur noch der Tune “SOS” hängengeblieben, den ich auch heute noch sehr gern höre.
Ich bin ebenfalls schon beim Opener “Hidden Knowledge” hin und weg. So smooth, wie sich der Riddim in meinen Körper einbettet und meine Seele streichelt, kann ich nur dahinschmelzen. Dieses Feeling habe ich hier aber bei den meisten Dubs und deshalb bin ich von der ganzen Scheibe begeistert. Lediglich die Tunes im Steppers Riddim nehmen etwas
von dem sehr entspannten Grundgefühl der gesamten Scheibe und erinnern daran, das Reggae und Dub eben nicht nur zum “Schweben in Schweden” gemacht wird. Aber so sehr ich mich auch anstrengen könnte, hier nach irgendeinem kleinen Häärchen in der Suppe zu suchen, ich finde erst mal keins und werde mir mein entspanntes Gefühl nicht damit kaputt machen, hier nach Kritikpunkten zu suchen. Die ganze Scheibe groovt !!! Manchmal erinnert mich der Style ein wenig an Ragana aus Polen (?). Und da schmelze ich auch meistens komplett dahin. Ganz neu ist mir die Beschreibung “benthisch mäandernde Basslines” nicht mehr aber sobald es darum geht, werde ich auch in Zukunft meine Ohren spitzen, um davon ja nix zu verpassen.
Dennoch befürchte ich, das diese Daten letztendes doch in gewisser Weise in einer Art Versenkung verschwinden werden, weil ich sie nicht anfassen kann. Inzwischen sehe ich aber auch sowas ganz entspannt, da ich mir in dieser Woche z.B. die geile DubScheibe von “Mad Professor meets Gaudi” zulegen konnte. Die hatte ich auch immer sehr gut in Erinnerung aber eine
Scheibe zum Anfassen kommt dann doch öfter auf den Teller bzw. in den Einschub für CD´s, als wenn sie im großen Sumpf der Internetdaten zu einer Art Massenware werden. Vielleicht
habe ich diese Scheibe ja auch in der nächsten Zeit, real und “fundamental” in meinen Händen, so daß ich sie mit einem erhabenen Grinsen zuhause in meinem magischen Dreieck immer wieder hören kann. Bis dahin kommt sie aber mal ganz schnell in meine Daten-Playlist, damit sie eben doch nicht ganz in Vergessenheit gerät.

Kurz um, die “Scheibe” gefällt mir sehr gut !!! ……………………………. lemmi

P.S. : Man muss ja heutezutage schon sein Vocabular ändern, bzw. an die “katastrophalen” Umstände der MusikIndustrie anpassen. Das Wort “Scheibe” war immer ein treffender Ausdruck
für das Medium, wo unsere Musik zu finden war aber heute kann man das Wort nur noch auf Politiker – insbesondere auf Drogenbeauftragte und Innenminister – anwenden, die uns immer noch weiß machen wollen, das die Erde eine Scheibe ist.

Ich glaube ich mache lieber erst mal wieder einen auf Torwart ………………… lemmi

Ich könnte allerdings auch erst mal ne SCHEIBE Brot essen …………

Ah nee sorry, sowas schreibt man ja nur bei fazzebook twitter und Konsorten aber da findet man den DubBlog ja auch, soweit ich weiß. Außerdem gibts heute gar kein Brot,
es gibt Nuuuuuuuudeln !!!

Irie Pasta !!! und Basta ! ( mann hab´ich n´ Schmacht ) …………………. lemmi

Hi lemmi!

“benthisch mäandernde Basslines” – sorry, da ist mit mir der Geograph durchgegangen. Ich finde aber, dass diese Termini am treffendsten die Musik hier beschreiben. Benthos: Die Tiefe des Meeres. Ein mäandernder Fluss: Ein sich träge dahinschlängelndes Gewässer. Der Rhein hatte vor der Begradigung durch den Ingenieur Johann Tulla auch viele Mäander (Schleifen), die einfach abgeschnitten wurden. Heute bilden diese abgeschnittenen Mäander die sumpfigen Rheinauen. In der Gegend um Speyer noch sehr schön zu erkunden. Ok, off-topic ;-)

Ja, das mit der “Datenmusik” ist schon ein zweischneidiges Schwert. Auf der einen Seite freue ich mich, dass massig Musik im Netz verfügbar und nur einen Mouse-Click entfernt ist, von der ich früher nicht einmal zu träumen gewagt habe. Andererseits ist das Angebot so riesig, dass einem auch gerne mal etwas durchrutscht, übersehen wird (s.o.) und jahrelang vor sich hin schlummert. Selbst für mich ist Finn the Giant eine “Neuentdeckung”.
Noch nicht einmal bei meiner Recherche zu Internal Dread, ist mir Finns Album wieder in den Sinn gekommen. Viel zu schade eigentlich.
Oh ja, für Interessierte: In den Kommentaren zu Internal Dread habe ich noch einige schwedische Dub-Bands empfohlen.
https://dubblog.de/papa-dee-meets-the-jamaican-giants-vs-internal-dread-in-dub/#comments

Der Beweis, dass Schweden musikalisch weit mehr zu bieten hat, als diese Band mit 4 Buchstaben und Dr. Alban.

Wieso “sorry” Ras Vorbei ?

Ich hoffe du hast das von mir nicht als Ironie empfunden. Ich mag sowas sehr, da es
auch meine “eloquente Artikulation elaboriert” …….. das klingt jetzt aus meinem “Munde” wahrscheinlich auch schon wieder ironisch aber ich kann daraus echt noch was lernen. Sollte ich mich mit “eloquente Artikulation elaboriert” als eben genau das Gegenteil erwiesen haben, weil das so keinen Sinn ergibt bin ich auch sehr gern bereit, mich Verbessern zui lassen.
Die Papa Dee Scheibe ( ! ) ist bei mir sehr gut angekommen, während ich bei den Dubs doch noch ein paar Wünsche offen hatte, wenn ich mich nicht irre.

“Hello Africa Tell Me How You Doin´´……………….. lemmi

Kommentar verfassen

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.