Categories
Five Star Review

Israel Vibration: The Same Song Dub

"And you don't know what tomorrow's gonna bring... Life is one big road..." - Cecil "Skelly" Spence.
The next mainstay of classic roots reggae has broken away and headed to its ancestors towards Mount Zion. Cecil "Skelly" Spence from Israel Vibration died on August 26th in a New York clinic at the age of almost 70. For this sad occasion I have for the umpteenth time the "Israel Vibration: The Same Song Dub“ belongs. I'll say it right away: A fascinatingly beautiful record that has accompanied me almost my entire "reggae life". Skelly's death hit me all the harder. This fragile man, to whom we owe such glorious songs as "The Same Song", "Why Worry", "I'll Go Through", "Prophet Has Arise" and many other beautiful songs, has died of complications from an untreatable cancer.

Kingston, Jamaica was the birthplace of reggae harmony group Israel Vibration. After a polio epidemic swept the island in the early 1950s, many children contracted polio. Polio vaccines were still in their infancy, and many children around the world were still contracting this insidious disease. Cecil "Skelly" Spence, Lascelle "Wiss" Bulgin and Albert "Apple Gabriel" Craig met as children when they met at the Mona Rehabilitation Clinic. In the 1970s they formed the roots reggae ensemble Israel Vibration.
After hearing the three men sing in a wooded area outside of Kingston, Hugh Booth, a member of the Twelve Tribes Of Israel, raised funds for the three boys and gave them the opportunity to record their first album. Their first release was the single Why Worry, recorded at Treasure Isle Studios in 1976 and released later that year on the Twelve Tribes label. Due to the popularity the group gained with the release of the single, many Jamaican artists such as Dennis Brown, Inner Circle and even Bob Marley asked them to open for one of their concerts.
Israel Vibration then began collaborating with producer Tommy Cowan, releasing the single "The Same Song" on the Top Ranking label in 1977. The following year, 1978, they released the album of the same name. On "The Same Song" they were joined by members of the Inner Circle Band. The plate and you Dub- counterpart "The Same Song Dub' were internationally successful, leading to a partnership with EMI label Harvest to release the album in the UK.
Now for the Dub-Album: The relatively unknown Jamaican singer/songwriter Paul Donaldson sat at the mixing desk, of whom very little exists. But with the albums The Same Song and The Same Song Dub“ he has set a monument to himself, because both albums are great moments of reggae/Dub. For example, listen to my favorite song “Ball Of Fire” from the Dubalbum, you might hear that an opus like this doesn't show up in reggae heaven every day. Simply a masterpiece full of sadness and fragility. Skelly's voice fragments whizzing through the room make me humbly get on my knees again and again.
Note: There is a second, completely different mix of the album: "Fatman Riddim Section: Israel Tafari', also produced by Tommy Cowan and released on the Lewis brothers' Top Ranking label. Both albums deserve the title "particularly valuable".

RIP Cecil "Skelly" Spence, your live performances will never be forgotten.

Rating: 5 out of 5.

6 Responses to “Israel Vibration: The Same Song Dub"

Thank you for the beautiful and comforting obituary Ras Vorbei !

Unlike you, I listen to the “Same Song Dub“ very very rare. I was so blown away by the Roots album from the first moment and I still am like the first day I saw the Dubs but rarely presented. "Oddly" I just got a few yesterday Dubs from the "Same Song in Dub' hung up at home. And again I had to realize that there were "better" Dubs exist and I still find the vocal disc untouchable.
Yes, and just as I've gotten to know you in the meantime, you'll get a treasure that I've never known before from the treasure chest. "FatMan Rhythm Section Israel Tafari" !!! Is my old "disease" breaking out again here, that I basically find the versions that I don't know or don't have the best, or are they DubIt's actually way better here!?! The "Fatman Dubs" are much more voluminous for my taste and above all with much more Dubequipped with accessories.
So much for the music. I also think your obituary is so nice because you “supplied” some information about Israel Vibration that I didn’t know yet.
And so I also add myself to the list that commemorates Cecil "Skelly" Spence and pays him "last" respects. However, also in the hope that the Dubblog does not become a kind of condolence book for reggae artists. But “….. you don't know what tomorrow's gonna bring” …….

So long ……………… .. lemmi

high lemmi,

unfortunately he will Dubblog slowly but surely a kind of "condolence book". Unfortunately, many of my old heroes go the way of all things earthly.
Drummie Zeb aka Angus Gaye is already on his way to Mount Zion. Therefore, in this context, I would like to refer again to the “ASWAD: A New Chapter Of Dub" refer.
RIP Drummie Zeb

Reply

Drummie Zeb has already left us. I can not believe it.
And my last comments about ASWAD were pure BadeVibes because they dared to perform without a band. I still stand by that, but I would have much preferred to be able to praise another nice fresh album from ASWAD.
Well, maybe the many reggae musicians will be spared from dying to death from the heat and drought. I don't know if my "sarcasm" about all the happenings here on earth is rather inappropriate, especially since there are already a lot of people who actually die of hunger - drought death. Whereby the hunger thing is just pure political tricks by mentally ill political tricksters and murderers.

Ok, I really hope Mount Zion really exists and our ReggaeHeroes and ReggaeSheroes are there in their paradise. To be honest, that's where I would like to go, if only because I actually want to listen to reggae for all eternity. In this sense …..

….. Rest In Peace Angus “Drummie Zeb” Gaye

Mmmh yes, maybe I don't get a lot of understanding now, but on the one hand I would like to introduce one of my many favorite tunes from ASWAD and on the other hand I would like to show what I mean by a fantastic, galactic and anyway unearthly trumpet solo.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l5PBZbLz2gQ From minute
Due to the current situation (the sword of Damocles is hanging over us), the song is really topical! Which actually still applies to almost all reggae tunes, because unfortunately Babylon has not developed for the better in any way. But on the contrary ! It looks like FaschoBabylon has already won and just needs to tie the sack. Songs like "Free Nelson Mandela" by Burning Spear are no longer up-to-date in terms of lyrics, but they are still very beautiful or very good. And you know "2×3 makes nine and I make the world I like". That's why I say, if someone asks me how I still get along with the lyrics today, "you can see how strong this tune (and reggae anyway) is. Someone from the other end of the world sings, "Free Nelson Mandela" and now it's free! Hopefully he's in Mount Zion by now. I mean Nelson Mandela! Just to prevent misunderstandings, because I'm not in the mood for our "condolence book" to be filled so quickly.
Ok, maybe that was all too much out of my special sewing box, but I didn't think it was that far off the mark.

"I don't want no see Nuclear Soldier! In This Time! Oh no no, don't want no more war crimes” ……………….. Me Too ( lemmi )

("Check off the real situation! Nation was against Nation! Where did it all begin? When will it end? Well it seems like total destruction the only solution!)

Unfortunately, heads of state listen to too much classical music, operas and son' zeugs' - downpressor music, full of stiff seriousness. It would be better if they had a feeling for reggae, then almost all reggae lyrics would be out of date, but the lovers tunes always work. I've got a lot more sentences like that in my head, but I notice myself that I'm falling back into my very own naivety and I'm not quite sure if you want to follow me there.

"Come Back Jesus!" (Although I think the Hancocks would help us more effectively......)

………….. OK Bye ……..

boom ! I guess I can't really cope with starting work yet.
The trumpet solo begins at around 3:36 min. But beware! The trumpet plays discreetly and in no way imposes itself. If you prefer blowers to be "full throttle", you don't even have to listen to them.

(so now I'll leave you alone for the time being...... lemmi)

"…..what I mean by a fantastic, galactic and anyway otherworldly trumpet solo."

High lemmi, you have perfect pitch!
I think you mean the solo by the late, legendary anti-apartheid activist and jazz trumpeter Hugh Masekela. Of course, that is and remains a fabulous solo by a really big one! Because of South Africa's inhuman apartheid policy, Masekela lived in exile in the USA for many, many years. His 1987 single Bring Him Back Home became the liberation anthem for Nelson Mandela.
After the end of apartheid he returned to South Africa, where he died in 2018.

Post a comment

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Kategorien
Five Star Review

Israel Vibration: The Same Song Dub

„And you don’t know what tomorrow’s gonna bring… Life is one big road…“- Cecil „Skelly“ Spence.
Die nächste tragende Säule des klassischen Roots-Reggae ist weggebrochen und hat sich zu den Vorfahren in Richtung Mount Zion aufgemacht. Cecil „Skelly“ Spence von den Israel Vibration ist am 26. August knapp 70-jährig in einer New Yorker Klinik verstorben. Aus diesem traurigen Anlass habe ich mir zum x-ten-Mal die „Israel Vibration: The Same Song Dub“ angehört. Ich sage es gleich: Eine faszinierend schöne Platte, die mich beinahe mein ganzes „Reggae-Leben“ begleitet. Umso härter hat mich Skellys Tod getroffen. Dieser zerbrechliche Mann, dem wir so herrliche Songs wie „The Same Song“, „Why Worry“, „I’ll Go Through“, „Prophet Has Arise“ und viele andere wunderschöne Songs verdanken, ist an den Folgen einer unbehandelbaren Krebserkrankung gestorben.

Kingston, Jamaika war der Geburtsort der Reggae-Harmonie-Gruppe Israel Vibration. Nachdem Anfang der 1950er eine Polio-Epidemie über die Insel gefegt war, erkrankten viele Kinder an Polio. Polio-Impfseren steckten noch in den Kinderschuhen und so erkrankten auch noch sehr viele Kinder auf der ganzen Welt an dieser heimtückischen Krankheit. Ihre erste Begegnung hatten Cecil „Skelly“ Spence, Lascelle „Wiss“ Bulgin und Albert „Apple Gabriel“ Craig schon als Kinder, sie lernten sich in der Mona Rehabilitation Clinic kennen. In den 1970er Jahren gründeten sie das Roots-Reggae-Ensemble „Israel Vibration“.
Nachdem Hugh Booth, ein Mitglied der Twelve Tribes Of Israel, die drei Männer in einem Waldgebiet außerhalb Kingstons singen gehört hatte, sammelte er für die drei Jungs und eröffnete ihnen mit einer Spende die Möglichkeit, ihr erstes Album aufzunehmen. Ihre erste Veröffentlichung war die Single „Why Worry“, die 1976 im Treasure Isle Studio aufgenommen und Ende desselben Jahres auf dem Label der Twelve Tribes veröffentlicht wurde. Aufgrund der Popularität, welche die Gruppe mit der Veröffentlichung der Single erlangte, baten viele jamaikanische Künstler wie Dennis Brown, Inner Circle und auch Bob Marley darum, sie als Vorband bei einem ihrer Konzerte auftreten zu lassen.
Israel Vibration begannen dann mit dem Produzenten Tommy Cowan zusammenzuarbeiten und veröffentlichten 1977 auf dessen Top-Ranking-Label die Single „The Same Song“. Im folgenden Jahr, 1978, veröffentlichten sie das gleichnamige Album. Bei „The Same Song“ wurden sie von Mitgliedern der Inner Circle Band unterstützt. Die Platte und ihr Dub-Pendant „The Same Song Dub“ waren international erfolgreich, was zu einer Partnerschaft mit dem EMI-Label Harvest führte, um das Album in Großbritannien zu veröffentlichen.
Jetzt zum Dub-Album: Am Mischpult saß der relativ unbekannte jamaikanische Singer/Songwriter Paul Donaldson, von dem recht wenig existiert. Aber mit den Alben „The Same Song“ und „The Same Song Dub“ hat er sich selbst ein Denkmal gesetzt, denn beide Alben sind Sternstunden der Reggae/Dub. Hört euch exemplarisch meinen Lieblingssongs „Ball Of Fire“ aus dem Dubalbum an, dann hört ihr vielleicht, dass solch ein Opus nicht jeden Tag am Reggaehimmel auftaucht. Schlicht ein Meisterwerk voll Traurig- und Zerbrechlichkeit. Skellys durch den Raum schwirrende Stimmfragmente lassen mich immer wieder demütig auf die Knie gehen.
Anmerkung: Es existiert noch eine zweite, komplett andere Abmischung des Albums: „Fatman Riddim Section: Israel Tafari“, das auch von Tommy Cowan produziert und auf seinem Top-Ranking-Label erschienen ist. Beide Alben verdienen das Prädikat „besonders wertvoll“.

R.I.P. Cecil „Skelly“ Spence, eure Live-Performances bleiben unvergessen.

Bewertung: 5 von 5.

6 Antworten auf „Israel Vibration: The Same Song Dub“

Danke für den schönen und tröstlichen Nachruf Ras Vorbei !

Im Gegensatz zu dir höre ich die „Same Song Dub“ sehr sehr selten. Ich bin vom Roots Album vom ersten Moment an so begeistert gewesen und bin es immer noch wie am ersten Tag, das ich die Dubs doch eher selten aufgelegt habe. „Seltsamerweise“ habe ich gerade Gestern erst ein paar Dubs von der „Same Song in Dub“ zuhause aufgelegt. Und wieder musste ich feststellen, das es „bessere“ Dubs gibt und ich die VocalScheibe nach wie vor unantastbar finde.
Ja und so wie ich dich inzwischen kennengelernt habe, holst du dann einen mir bisher völlig unbekannten Schatz aus der Schatztruhe. „FatMan Rhythm Section Israel Tafari“ !!! Bricht hier wieder meine alte „Krankheit“ aus, das ich die Versions, die ich nicht kenne bzw. habe, grundsätzlich am Besten finde oder sind die Dubs hier tatsächlich um Längen besser !?! Die „Fatman Dubs“ sind für meinen Geschmack viel viel voluminöser und vor allem auch mit viel mehr DubAccessoires ausgestattet.
Soviel zur Musik. Ich finde deinen Nachruf auch deshalb so schön, weil du auch wieder ein paar Informationen über Israel Vibration mit“geliefert“ hast, die ich noch nicht kannte.
Und somit trage ich mich hier ebenfalls in die Liste ein, die Cecil „Skelly“ Spence in Erinnerung ruft und ihm die „letzte“ Ehre erweist. Allerdings auch in der Hoffnung, das der DubBlog nicht zu einer Art KondolenzBuch für ReggaeArtists wird. Aber „….. you don´t know what tomorrow´s gonna bring “ …….

So long ……………….. lemmi

High lemmi,

leider wird der Dubblog langsam aber sicher eine Art „Kondolenzbuch“. Viele meiner alten Helden gehen bedauerlicherweise den Weg alles Irdischen.
Drummie Zeb aka Angus Gaye ist auch bereits auf dem Weg in Richtung Mount Zion. Deshalb möchte ich auch in diesem Zusammenhang nochmals auf die „ASWAD: A New Chapter Of Dub“ verweisen.
R.I.P. Drummie Zeb

Drummie Zeb ist auch schon von uns gegangen. Ich fasse es nicht.
Und meine letzten Äußerungen zu ASWAD waren pure BadeVibes, weil sie es gewagt haben ohne Band aufzutreten. Dazu stehe ich weiterhin aber es wäre mir viel lieber gewesen, nochmal ein schönes frisches Album von ASWAD loben zu können.
Naja, vielleicht bleibt es den vielen ReggaeMusikern dadurch erspart, den Hitze und DürreTot zu sterben. Ich weiß nicht nicht, ob mein „Sarkasmus“ zu all den Geschehnissen hier auf Erden eher unpassend ist, zumal es ja schon sehr viele Menschen gibt die tatsächlich am Hunger – Dürretot sterben. Wobei das mit dem Hunger ja nur wieder eine reine Politrickserei von psychisch kranken Politricksern und Mördern ist.

Ok, ich hoffe sehr, Mount Zion existiert wirklich und unsere ReggaeHeroes und ReggaeSheroes sind dort in ihrem Paradies. Wo ich ehrlich gesagt dann auch gern hin möchte, schon allein, weil ich Reggae eigentlich bis in alle Ewigkeit hören möchte. In diesem Sinne …..

….. Rest In Peace Angus „Drummie Zeb“ Gaye

Mmmh ja, vielleicht stoße ich jetzt nicht auf das ganz große Verständnis aber zum Einen möchte ich hier mal einen meiner vielen LieblingsTunes von ASWAD vorstellen und zum Anderen möchte ich mal aufzeigen, was ich unter einem fantastischen, galaktischen und sowieso überirdischen TrompetenSolo verstehe.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l5PBZbLz2gQ Ab Minute
Der Song ist aus aktuellem Anlass ( das Damoklesschwert schwebt über uns ) richtig aktuell ! Was eigentlich für fast alle ReggaeTunes immer noch gilt, denn leider hat sich Babylon in keinster Weise zum besseren Entwickelt. Ganz im Gegenteil ! Es sieht so aus, als ob FaschoBabylon bereits gewonnen hat und den Sack nur noch zuschnüren muss. Songs wie „Free Nelson Mandela“ von Burning Spear sind vom Text her nicht mehr aktuell aber trotzdem immer noch sehr schön, bzw. sehr gut. Und ihr wisst ja “ 2×3 macht neun und ich mach mir die Welt, wiese mir gefällt“. Daher sage ich, wenn mich jemand fragen würde, wie ich mit dem Text heute noch klar komme, „da kannste mal sehen, wie stark dieser Tune ( und Reggae sowieso ) ist. Da singt jemand vom anderen Ende der Welt, „Free Nelson Mandela“ und nun issa´ frei ! Inzwischen ist er hoffentlich auch in Mount Zion. Ich meine Nelson Mandela ! Nur um Missverständnissen vorzubeugen, denn ich habe überhaupt keinen Bock, das unser „KondulenzBuch“ hier so schnell gefüllt wird.
Ok, eventuell war das jetzt alles viel zu sehr aus meinem speziellen Nähkästchen aber ich fand es jetzt auch nicht so abwegig.

„I don´t want no see Nuclear Soldier ! In This Time ! Oh no no, don´t want no more war crimes“ …………………………….. Me Too ( lemmi )

( „Check off the real Situation ! Nation war against Nation ! Where did it all begin ? When will it end ? Well it seems like total destruction the only solution ! )

Leider hören staatsoberhäupter zu viel klassik, opern und son´ zeugs´- Downpressor Music, voll mit steifem Ernst. Wäre besser, sie hätten ein Feeling für Reggae, dann wären zwar nahezu alle ReggaeLyrics nicht mehr aktuell aber die Lovers Tunes gehen immer. Ich hab´grad noch viel mehr soche Sätze im Kopf aber ich merke ja selbst, das ich gerade wieder in meine ureigene Naivität falle und bin mir nicht ganz sicher, ob man mir dahin folgen möchte.

„Come Back Jesus !“ ( Obwohl, ich glaube, das Ehepaar Hancock würde uns effektiver helfen …… )

………….. ok tschüss ……..

Boing ! Ich verkrafte wohl den Arbeitsbeginn noch nicht richtig.
Das TrompetenSolo beginnt etwa ab 3:36 min. Aber Achtung ! Die Trompete spielt dezent und drängt sich in keinster Weise auf. Wer Gebläse lieber „volle pulle“ hat, brauch gar nicht erst reinzuhören.

( so jetzt lasse ich euch aber erst mal wieder in Ruhe …….. lemmi )

„…..was ich unter einem fantastischen, galaktischen und sowieso überirdischen TrompetenSolo verstehe.“

High lemmi, du hast das absolute Gehör!
Ich denke, du meinst das Solo des bereits verstorbenen, legendären Anti-Apartheid Aktivisten und Jazztrompeters Hugh Masekela. Natürlich, das ist und bleibt ein sagenhaftes Solo eines ganz Großen! Masekela lebte aufgrund der menschenverachtenden Apartheidpolitik Südafrikas viele, viele Jahre im Exil in den USA. Seine 1987 veröffentlichte Single „Bring Him Back Home“ wurde zur Befreiungshymne für Nelson Mandela.
Nach Ende der Apartheid kehrte er nach Südafrika zurück, wo er auch 2018 verstarb.

Kommentar verfassen

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.