Categories
Review

Kutiman: Wachaga In Dub

The year 2020 is drawing to a close and I will find a suitable conclusion on time. A curiosity, one of those Dubious Music albums, which I love so much, have been rotating at least twice a day for two weeks. At first glance, the album sounds as if the ON-U sound legends Adrian Sherwood, African Head Charge and Strange Parcels have teamed up and have now released a side project under the stage name "Kutiman". Far from it, the Israeli kibbutznik, producer, filmmaker and multi-instrumentalist Ophir "Kutiman" Kutiel is behind it all. Musically, Kutiman is at home in a wide variety of genres such as funk, afrobeat, world music, jazz, psychedelic rock and alternative. He has now allowed himself a full six years to "Kutiman: Wachaga In Dub" to publish.
With large equipment (microphones, video recording devices), Kutiman, whom almost every child in Israel recognizes on the street, flew to Tanzania, Africa in 2014. There he worked with tribes of the Maasai and the Wachaga, a group of indigenous peoples who live at the foot of Kilimanjaro. Based on the field recordings made there by local musicians, tribal chants and singing school children from Arusha, he then meticulously put together “Wachaga” in his home studio. From five of the nine original titles of his fourth studio album, he has now created “Wachaga In Dub". More classic in spirit Dub-Albums, Kutiman takes parts of the original source material, rearranges them, adds delay, reverb and phaser to push his music to new hallucinogenic heights. The result is a truly unique concept that combines traditional African chants and rhythms with spiritual jazz and fresh-sounding electronics. The rhythm patterns, chants, and repetitive passages provide the perfect platform for Kutiman's mind-expanding explorations. The psychedelic “Awake In Dub“Sounds like Doug Wimbish recorded the rich bass lines. "Maasai In Dub“Is an acoustic-African trip - (m) a killer track. The mini-album is a tour de force that hits the bull's eye because it merges sampling, electronica, jazz and an extremely large number of them Dub-Effects reveals an exoticism that you rarely get to hear in this way. More of this, please, Kutiman.

Rating: 4.5 out of 5.

2 responses to “Kutiman: Wachaga In Dub"

Again due to time constraints, I haven't heard this fantastic "record" up and down. But it would be too “a shame” for that. Because I always like to put something on (or press play) when it's time for those very special moments. Then when everything fits, so to speak! Everyone is well looked after and nobody is annoying! Phone off and after me the “SinnFlut”….
Unfortunately there are only five Dubs, which all protrude far beyond the edges of any plate and once again show how infinitely large it is DubUniverse is. I even like the jazz here, which was probably played by Africans and therefore really grooves.
The music itself is extremely mystical, which is emphasized by the chants of the school children and the tribal members. This is a stylistic device from Adrian Sherwood, which is largely responsible for the fact that I appreciate or adore this man so much, not to say "adore". Most of it comes through with African Head Charge but also in various other tunes a "Hoi Hoi Hoi AAAAAUUUUUUUUHHHHH" is interspersed, so that I can only come to the conclusion that Yo that is exactly mine !!!
In addition to the mystical groove, there are actually a lot of completely weird ones DubAdded effects so that the Exotic could only be surpassed, if at all, by African Head Charge. You can of course let the “disc” run “up and down”, but just to hear it on the side, the good Kutiman would not have had to take six years. For my part, I would definitely like to have MORE OF THIS !!!
I fluctuate between “Maasai In Dub"And" Tanzania In Dub“And still can't decide which one Dub I think better now. Ok, then I'll take Awake In The Rain Dub". It's awesome too! I like them all! I would like to mention that I have no plan for jazz but if “Tanzania in Dub“Jazz is also, then jazz and I might also“ get into business ”. To the DubI can only say gimmicks, FANTASTIC! As already mentioned, I don't always need it, but when groove and effects let me rise to spheres where I no longer know where up and down, front or back is, then that feels extremely right to me.

"Every Moove Of the Individual Shakes The Cosmos" …………………………. lemmi

Hi lemmi,

Once again, there is nothing to add to your detailed comment. Except maybe the Black Uhuru / Michael Rose quote: "The whole World is Africa ..." With which M. Rose is absolutely right geographically, geologically (Pangea) and from an evolutionary point of view.

Stay tuned….

Post a comment

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Kategorien
Review

Kutiman: Wachaga In Dub

Das Jahr 2020 neigt sich dem Ende entgegen und pünktlich finde ich noch einen passenden Abschluss. Eine Kuriosität, eines dieser Dubious-Music-Alben, die ich so sehr liebe, rotiert bei mir seit zwei Wochen Minimum zweimal täglich. Im ersten Moment klingt das Album, als hätten sich die ON-U Sound Legenden Adrian Sherwood, African Head Charge und Strange Parcels zusammengetan und veröffentlichten jetzt ein Seitenprojekt unter dem Künstlernamen „Kutiman“. Aber weit gefehlt, der israelische Kibbuznik, Produzent, Filmemacher und Multiinstrumentalist Ophir „Kutiman“ Kutiel steckt hinter dem Ganzen. Musikalisch ist Kutiman in ganz unterschiedlichen Genres wie Funk, Afrobeat, Worldmusik, Jazz, Psychedelic Rock und Alternative zu Hause. Ganze sechs Jahre hat er sich nun Zeit gelassen, um „Kutiman: Wachaga In Dub“ zu veröffentlichen.
Mit großer Ausrüstung (Mikrofone, Videoaufzeichnungsgeräte) flog Kutiman, den in Israel beinahe jedes Kind auf der Straße erkennt, 2014 nach Tansania, Afrika. Dort arbeitete er mit Stämmen der Massai und der Wachaga, einer Gruppe indigener Völker zusammen, die am Fuße des Kilimandscharo leben. Basierend auf den dort entstandenen Feldaufnahmen lokaler Musiker, Stammesgesängen und singenden Schulkindern aus Arusha, stellte er dann im heimischen Studio akribisch „Wachaga“ zusammen. Aus fünf der neun Originaltitel seines vierten Studioalbums schuf er jetzt „Wachaga In Dub“. Im Geiste klassischer Dub-Alben nimmt Kutiman Teile des ursprünglichen Ausgangsmaterials, ordnet sie neu, fügt Delay, Reverb und Phaser hinzu, um seine Musik in neue halluzinogene Höhen zu pushen. Entstanden ist ein wahrlich einzigartiges Konzept, das traditionelle afrikanische Gesänge und Rhythmen mit spirituellem Jazz und frisch klingender Elektronik kombiniert. Die Rhythmusmuster, Gesänge und die sich wiederholenden Passagen bieten die perfekte Plattform für Kutimans bewusstseinserweiternde Erkundungen. Das psychedelische „Awake In Dub“ klingt, als hätte Doug Wimbish die satten Bass-Lines eingespielt. „Maasai In Dub“ ist ein akustisch-afrikanischer Trip – (m)ein Killertrack. Das Mini-Album ist eine Tour de Force, die mitten ins Schwarze trifft, weil sich durch die Verschmelzung von Sampling, Electronica, Jazz und extrem vielen Dub-Effekten eine Exotik offenbart, die man in der Art sehr selten zu hören bekommt. Bitte mehr davon, Kutiman.

Bewertung: 4.5 von 5.

2 Antworten auf „Kutiman: Wachaga In Dub“

Mal wieder aus Zeitgründen, habe ich diese fantastische “Scheibe” auch noch nicht rauf und runter gehört. Aber dafür wäre sie auch viel zu “schade”. Denn sowas lege ich immer dann gern auf ( bzw. drücke auf Play ), wenn es mal wieder Zeit ist, für die ganz besonderen Momente. Dann, wenn sozusagen alles passt ! Alle sind gut versorgt und niemand nervt rum ! Telefon aus und nach mir die “SinnFlut”….
Es gibt leider nur fünf Dubs, die alle weit über jegliche Tellerränder hinaus ragen und mal wieder zeigen, wie unendlich groß das DubUniversum ist. Hier gefällt mir sogar der Jazz, der wohl von Afrikanern eingespielt wurde und deshalb auch richtig groovt.
Die Musik selbst ist schon extrem mystisch, was durch die Gesänge der Schulkinder und der Stammesmitglieder noch unterstrichen wird. Das ist ein Stilmittel von Adrian Sherwood, was zum großen Teil mitverantwortlich dafür ist, das ich diesen Mann so sehr schätze bzw. verehre um nicht zu sagen “anhimmele”. Am meisten kommt das bei African Head Charge durch aber auch in diversen anderen Tunes wird mal ein “Hoi Hoi Hoi AAAAAUUUUUUUUHHHHH” eingestreut, so das ich mal wieder nur zu dem Schluss kommen kann, Yo das is genau meins !!!
Zum mystischen Groove kommen dann tatsächlich noch jede Menge völlig abgefahrene DubEffekte hinzu, so das es an Exotic, wenn überhaupt, nur noch von African Head Charge übertroffen werden konnte. Man kann die “Scheibe” natürlich auch gern “rauf und runter” laufen lassen aber um sie nur nebenbei zu hören, hätte der gute Kutiman sich nicht sechs Jahre Zeit nehmen müssen. Ich, für meinen Teil, hätte auf jeden Fall auch gern MEHR DAVON !!!
Ich schwanke zwischen “Maasai In Dub” und “Tanzania In Dub” und kann mich immer noch nicht entscheiden, welchen Dub ich denn nun besser finde. Ok, dann nehme ich “Awake In The Rain Dub”. Der is auch genial ! Mir gefallen sie Alle ! Ich möchte noch erwähnen, das ich zwar keinen Plan von Jazz habe aber wenn “Tanzania in Dub” auch Jazz ist, dann kommen Jazz und ich vielleicht auch noch “ins Geschäft”. Zu den DubSpielereien kann ich nur sagen, FANTASTISCH ! Ich brauch es, wie schon oft erwähnt, auch nicht immer aber wenn Groove und Effekte mich in Sphären aufsteigen lassen, wo ich nicht mehr weiß, wo oben und unten, vorn oder hinten ist, dann fühlt sich das für mich extrem richtig an.

“Every Moove Of the Individual Shakes The Cosmos” …………………………. lemmi

Hi lemmi,

deinem ausführlichen Kommentar ist wieder einmal nichts hinzuzufügen. Außer vielleicht das Black Uhuru/Michael Rose Zitat: “The whole World is Africa…” Womit M. Rose geographisch, erdgeschichtlich (Pangaea) und entwicklungsgeschichtlich betrachtet absolut recht hat.

Stay tuned….

Kommentar verfassen

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.