Categories
Review

Michael Palmer: Showcase I'm Still Dancing

Dub Mixes by Peter Chemist are characterized by an unconventionally brittle aesthetic. Because Chemists output with just a handful Dub-LPs has remained quite manageable, here is a showcase album that he produced. You don't know for sure: Does the LP now have the title “Showcase” or is it just an indication that “I'm Still Dancing” is a showcase album? In any case, it is certain that the singer is not called Michael, as on the cover, but Michael Palmer. His first LP from 1983 had been wanted for a long time and rightly so, and could hardly be bought for less than a three-digit figure. Enriched with liner notes by John Masouri on an extra sheet, the record is now available in French, true to the original Iroko label. With the old cover including misprints, Limonious comic back side and without a bland barcode. Michael Palmer, born in 1960, had his first single “Mr. Landlord ”, but the tune only became successful on the Get In The Groove riddim after Sonia Pottinger recorded it again in 1980. From then on, Palmer became one of the acclaimed singers of the pre-digital Dancehall Foundation in recent years. He wasn't a dread, he saw himself as a roots reality singer. Palmer came from the “fiery hell” of Kingston 13 (Maxfield Park) and sang in the opener of his debut produced on Channel One: “Uptown people want to dance funky - people in the ghetto dance the waterpumpee. Uptown people dance electric boogie - people in the ghetto do the cool & deadly ”. The riddims came from the Roots Radics and were presumably recorded by Scientist. There is no other way of explaining how his name got on the cover. Because "I'm Still Dancing" is the work of Peter Chemist, whom Palmer specifically mentions in "Ghetto Dance". The sound of the production, with barely noticeable hihat and idiosyncratic echoes, also points to Peter Chemist. He's producing rough ones in an extraordinarily spartan way Dubs to the six vocaltunes. He mixes the party time riddim without a hihat with playful echoes and accents on the snare. "Ghetto Dub“Positions the drums with gated reverb effects around a distorted guitar theme. "Gwan Dub“Reduces the drum kit to a kick drum with underlaid snare echoes. Palmer continued his collaboration with Peter Chemist on his George Phang-produced, extremely successful follow-up album "Lick Shot", on the back of which he talks about his way of writing songs. Which makes the statement “all tracks written by Jah Thomas” on “I'm Still Dancing” seem questionable. Thomas had produced the album for his Midnight Rock label, but otherwise stayed out of it. He left the deejay part for a Greensleeves Maxi of the hit "Ghetto Dance (Babylon give wi a chance)" to Jim Brown, another Greensleeves Maxi with the title track from the LP and Robert French's "No War" on the B-side is due to the Peter Chemist Mixes a sought-after rarity that is worth every investment. The sonically convincing new edition of the LP attracts not only strong vocaltunes but also its unusual Dub-Style. (The slightly changed text first appeared in RIDDIM 02/21)

Rating: 4 out of 5.

One reply to "Michael Palmer: Showcase I'm Still Dancing"

There is very interesting information for me in this review. Especially the reference to the Iroko label could be really important again if I should feel like a rarity.
I don't know Michael Palmer very well. At first I thought of Triston Palmer, who also only seems to be known to me through a single record. The riddims on “I am still dancing” are mostly very familiar to me (us). Michael Palmer sings beautifully unobtrusively and the riddims have been “boiled down” to the essentials. The Dubs are downright minimalist but skilful and Style Scott sets the tone where they belong. There is also a real echo and reverb on the snare here and there, according to the Dub was able to make a precision landing for the time. I can still do very well. Especially since the sound of "hihat gecymbele" was really very considerate, and in some cases the hihat was almost completely dispensed with.
Briefly and painlessly, I would say, yes, I would also like to have the disc, but only for the now acute double-digit amount ;-)

I would have to think for a long time before I can think of music for which I would pay three-digit amounts. As important as music is to me and as good as it does me, “the church has to stay in the village” somewhere. If, for example, Bob Marley discs were only available for three-digit sums, I would say, ok, then let's be fine.

So long …………… .. lemmi

Post a comment

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Kategorien
Review

Michael Palmer: Showcase I’m Still Dancing

Dub Mixe von Peter Chemist zeichnen sich durch eine eigenwillig spröde Ästhetik aus. Da Chemists Output mit nur einer Handvoll Dub-LPs recht überschaubar geblieben ist, hier ein von ihm produziertes Showcase Album. So genau weiß man es nicht: Trägt die LP nun den Titel „Showcase“ oder ist es lediglich ein Hinweis darauf, dass „I’m Still Dancing“ ein Showcase Album ist? Fest steht jedenfalls, dass der Sänger nicht wie auf dem Cover Micheal sondern Michael Palmer heißt. Dessen erste LP von 1983 war seit langem und zu Recht gesucht und kaum unter einem dreistelligen Betrag zu kriegen. Angereichert mit Liner Notes von John Masouri auf einem Extrablatt gibt es die Platte jetzt originalgetreu auf dem französischen Iroko Label. Mit dem alten Cover inklusive Druckfehler, Limonious Comic-Rückseite und ohne schnöden Barcode. Der 1960 geborene Michael Palmer hatte als Teenager für Ossie Thomas seine erste Single „Mr. Landlord“ aufgenommen, erfolgreich wurde der Tune auf dem Get In The Groove Riddim aber erst, nachdem Sonia Pottinger ihn 1980 nochmal aufgenommen hatte. Ab da wurde Palmer einer der gefeierten Sänger der letzten Jahre der prä-digitalen Dancehall-Foundation. Er war kein Dread, er verstand sich als Roots-Reality-Sänger. Palmer kam aus der „feurigen Hölle“ von Kingston 13 (Maxfield Park) und sang im Opener seines bei Channel One produzierten Debüts: „Uptown people want to dance funky – people in the ghetto dance the waterpumpee. Uptown people dance electric boogie – people in the ghetto do the cool & deadly“. Die Riddims stammten von den Roots Radics und wurden vermutlich von Scientist aufgenommen. Anders lässt sich nicht erklären, wie dessen Name auf das Cover kam. Denn „I’m Still Dancing“ ist das Werk von Peter Chemist, den Palmer ausdrücklich in „Ghetto Dance“ erwähnt. Auch der Sound der Produktion, mit kaum wahrnehmbarer Hihat und eigenwilligen Echos, weist auf Peter Chemist. Der fabriziert hier außergewöhnlich spartanisch raue Dubs zu den sechs Vocaltunes. Den Party Time Riddim mischt er ganz ohne Hihat mit verspielten Echos und Akzent auf der Snare. „Ghetto Dub“ positioniert die Drums mit Gated Reverb Effekten um ein verzerrtes Gitarrenthema. „Gwan Dub“ reduziert das Schlagzeug auf Bassdrum mit unterlegten Snare-Echos. Palmer setzte die Zusammenarbeit mit Peter Chemist bei seinem von George Phang produzierten, extrem erfolgreichen Nachfolgealbum „Lick Shot“ fort, auf dessen Coverrückseite er von seiner Art des Songschreibens erzählt. Was die Angabe „all tracks written by Jah Thomas“ auf „I’m Still Dancing“ fragwürdig erscheinen lässt. Thomas hatte das Album für sein Midnight Rock Label produziert, sich ansonsten aber rausgehalten. Den Deejay-Part für eine Greensleeves Maxi des Krachers „Ghetto Dance (Babylon give wi a chance)“ überließ er Jim Brown, eine weitere Greensleeves Maxi mit dem Titelstück der LP und Robert Frenchs „No War“ auf der B-Seite ist aufgrund der Peter Chemist Mixe heute eine gesuchte Rarität, die jede Investition wert ist. Die klanglich überzeugende Neuauflage der LP lockt neben starken Vocaltunes mit seinem ungewöhnlichen Dub-Style. (Der leicht geänderte Text erschien zuerst in RIDDIM 02/21)

Bewertung: 4 von 5.

Eine Antwort auf „Michael Palmer: Showcase I’m Still Dancing“

Sehr interressante Informationen stecken in dieser Rezension für mich mit drin. Ganz besonders der Hinweis auf das Iroko Label könnte ja nochmal richtig wichtig werden, wenn mir mal nach einer Rarität zumute sein sollte.
Michael Palmer ist mir nicht sonderlich bekannt. Zunächst dachte ich an Triston Palmer, der mir ebenfalls nur durch eine einzige Scheibe bekannt zu sein scheint. Die Riddims auf „I am still dancing“ sind mir ( uns ) auch größtenteils sehr geläufig. Michael Palmer singt schön unaufrdringlich und die Riddims sind auf das wesentliche „eingekocht“ worden. Die Dubs sind regelrecht minimalistisch aber eben gekonnt und Style Scott setzt die Akzente, da wo sie hingehören. Dazu gibt es hier und da noch mal so richtig Echo und Hall auf die Snare, so das der Dub für die damalige Zeit eine Punktlandung hinlegen konnte. Kann ich immer noch sehr gut ab. Zumal hier soundmäßig wirklich sehr rücksichtsvoll auf „Hihat-gecymbele“, ja sogar teilweise fast ganz auf ( der die das ) Hihat, verzichtet wurde.
Kurz und schmerzlos würde ich sagen, ja, die Scheibe hätte ich auch gern aber nur zu dem jetzt wieder akuten zweistelligen Betrag ;-)

Ich müsste sehr lange überlegen, bis mir Musik einfällt, für die ich dreistellige Beträge hinlegen würde. So wichtig mir Musik auch ist und so gut sie mir auch tut aber irgendwo muss „die Kirche auch im Dorf bleiben“. Wenn es z.B. Bob Marley-Scheiben nur noch für dreistellige unsummen geben würde, würde ich halt sagen, ok dann lass ma gut sein.

So long …………….. lemmi

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.