Categories
Review

Michael Palmer: Showcase I'm Still Dancing

Dub Mixes by Peter Chemist are characterized by an unconventionally brittle aesthetic. Because Chemists output with just a handful Dub-LPs has remained quite manageable, here is a showcase album that he produced. You don't know for sure: Does the LP now have the title “Showcase” or is it just an indication that “I'm Still Dancing” is a showcase album? In any case, it is certain that the singer is not called Michael, as on the cover, but Michael Palmer. His first LP from 1983 had been wanted for a long time and rightly so, and could hardly be bought for less than a three-digit figure. Enriched with liner notes by John Masouri on an extra sheet, the record is now available in French, true to the original Iroko label. With the old cover including misprints, Limonious comic back side and without a bland barcode. Michael Palmer, born in 1960, had his first single “Mr. Landlord ”, but the tune only became successful on the Get In The Groove riddim after Sonia Pottinger recorded it again in 1980. From then on, Palmer became one of the acclaimed singers of the pre-digital Dancehall Foundation in recent years. He wasn't a dread, he saw himself as a roots reality singer. Palmer came from the “fiery hell” of Kingston 13 (Maxfield Park) and sang in the opener of his debut produced on Channel One: “Uptown people want to dance funky - people in the ghetto dance the waterpumpee. Uptown people dance electric boogie - people in the ghetto do the cool & deadly ”. The riddims came from the Roots Radics and were presumably recorded by Scientist. There is no other way of explaining how his name got on the cover. Because "I'm Still Dancing" is the work of Peter Chemist, whom Palmer specifically mentions in "Ghetto Dance". The sound of the production, with barely noticeable hihat and idiosyncratic echoes, also points to Peter Chemist. He's producing rough ones in an extraordinarily spartan way Dubs to the six vocaltunes. He mixes the party time riddim without a hihat with playful echoes and accents on the snare. "Ghetto Dub“Positions the drums with gated reverb effects around a distorted guitar theme. "Gwan Dub“Reduces the drum kit to a kick drum with underlaid snare echoes. Palmer continued his collaboration with Peter Chemist on his George Phang-produced, extremely successful follow-up album "Lick Shot", on the back of which he talks about his way of writing songs. Which makes the statement “all tracks written by Jah Thomas” on “I'm Still Dancing” seem questionable. Thomas had produced the album for his Midnight Rock label, but otherwise stayed out of it. He left the deejay part for a Greensleeves Maxi of the hit "Ghetto Dance (Babylon give wi a chance)" to Jim Brown, another Greensleeves Maxi with the title track from the LP and Robert French's "No War" on the B-side is due to the Peter Chemist Mixes a sought-after rarity that is worth every investment. The sonically convincing new edition of the LP attracts not only strong vocaltunes but also its unusual Dub-Style. (The slightly changed text first appeared in RIDDIM 02/21)

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Categories
Five Star Review

Alborosie: Back-a-yard Dub

(This text has been machine translated.) It's Friday April 23rd and Alborosie's sixth dub album is out today. Let's not kid ourselves, the candidate has been chosen. "Back-a-yard Dub“ will hardly be able to be pushed from the pole position of this years Dub-Charts. Because it's not just grandiose sounding, modern old school Dub is in the tradition of real versions, but also an audio event that works on its own, which even without deejay, dancehall or sound system blows away everything that gets in its way with murderous waves. The album is the counterpart to the Wailing Souls LP "Back A Yard" released a few weeks ago, which Alborosie produced in his studio with a lot of Eighties fanfare, Simmons and synth drums. Flabba Holt from the Roots Radics played bass, Tyrone Downie from the Wailers played the keyboards. After the powerful old work of the Wailing Souls was in the can, Puppa Albo has the "Alborosie Dub Station "thrown on. It's his newest toy, a plug-in he developed that is able to reproduce the typical effects from King Tubby's studio. The reverb and the sound of the tubby tape echo are less spectacular, but very nice. Absolutely awesome, however, is the digital replica of the high pass filter. In combination with the variety of instruments of the Wailing Souls template and the Dubskills from Alborosie, the new effect board creates a monstrous spectacle. Assembled to an anarchic ping-pong excess full of reverb and filter effects that have never been heard before. Comparable to the force of sound of a Groucho Smykle. But he has to record additional keyboards to stage his wall of sound. Alborosie, on the other hand, benefits from the complexity of its production and packs for him Dub a few more felt dB on it. No matter what the people say, these sounds lead the way! His mix is ​​like a sales recommendation for the device he has developed, and initial reactions in social media are already showing that this plug-in will be able to use it in the near future Dub is mastered over a wide area. That the LP “Back-A-Yard Dub“Means - and means: back in Jamaica - and the packaging is reminiscent of the aesthetics of the old stamp print cover, not only alludes to the fact that alborosies are by chance Dub is created where it comes from. If there were 10 stars, this LP would get 15.

PS: When the text was written, no streaming links were yet activated. There are audio samples here. Or you trust the reviewer and get the LP straight away. Vinyl won't be around forever anyway.

Rating: 5 out of 5.
Categories
Review

Raiders of the Lost Dub

In 1981, Indiana Jones began the hunt for the lost treasure, which not only caused a tremor in the cinema. In the same year, the booming one reacted Dubworld on the hype with "Raiders of the Lost Dub". It wasn't the first time that Dubinspired by Hollywood albums - just think of “Star Wars Dub"," Scientist & Jammys Strike Back "or the" Tough Guys "of the Fatman Riddim Section - but rarely has it been copied as brazenly as in this case. The cover artwork was a copy of the "Raiders Of The Lost Ark" soundtrack by John Williams, even the The lettering was identical. Island Records had approved the forgery, after all the vocal versions came from the Dubs from their greatest hits catalog. Burning Spears “Social Living” and I Jah Man's “Molding” had been pulled through the effect board by Karl Pitterson, “Man Next Door” in the version of the Paragons got one Dubtreatment by Steven Stanley. Sly & Robbie had produced and played six of the ten titles themselvesdubbt, including Junior Delgados “Fort Augustus” and “Guess Who's Coming To Diner” by Black Uhuru, who participated in the hunt with four songs. The album was shaped by the fact that the studio technology was no longer limited to four tracks and access was no longer limited to Dubben had become more variable as a result. The mixes looked correspondingly hard and modern when the LP was released in the same year as the film and soundtrack. As soon as it came, it disappeared again. It is said that legal issues with the cover meant that “Raiders of the Lost Dub“Has never been re-pressed. Music On Vinyl has the Brutal DeluxeDub-Adventure refreshed by a dust-free master and the LP reissued for the first time in almost 40 years with the original artwork. (The slightly changed text first appeared in RIDDIM 01/21)

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Categories
Review

Dub Attack

For two short years, between 1979 and '80, that brought that originally to Bunny Lee ATTACK Label that already belonged to Trojan at the time, exorbitantly popping Maxis out, most of them recognizable by the logo highlighted in yellow, with red letters on a dark green background. In some cases the blue Trojan label was also used. There were a total of 25 pieces, most of which are in great demand today because of the mixes of Prince Jammy and Scientist that can be found here and only here. Including extended killer versions of Barry Brown's "Living As A Brother", "Separation" and "Cool Pon Your Corner", Morwell's "Kingston Twelve Tuffy", Linval Thompson's "Pop No Style" and Michael Rose's "Born Free". The picture with the labels of these maxis comes from the booklet of a strangely compiled one DoCDon which one, separated from the vocals, 19 of that attackDubs as - as the booklet calls it - finds “generous” bonus material. Including the previously mentioned titles. But there are two completely different hooks for the compilation Dub-Albums that absolutely do not match each other stylistically. On the one hand, “A.1 Dub", Mixed with Blacka Morwell in Kingston in 1980 Dubs for Morwell's 1979 LP “Cool Runnings” and mixing the “Taxi” and “Get In The Groove” riddims. On the other hand, “Cry Tuff Dub Encounter Chapter IV ”, the counterpart to Prince Far Is“ Voice Of Thunder ”, mixed a year later in London by Adrian Sherwood. Although the DoCD's liner notes endeavor to link the albums and both LPs are individually excellent, the Attack BonusDubt's the real reason this set is better not to be missed. Especially since you would have to invest significantly more money for each of these maxi than for the always inexpensive DoCDs from the English re-issue label Doctor Bird. (A shorter version of the text appeared in RIDDIM 01/21)

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Categories
Review

Star Wars Dub

The hype about the empire will never stop. So Secret Records reissued it four years ago "Star Wars Dub" Burning Sounds LP re-pressed in "authentic" red vinyl. It is one of those sought after Dub LPs that Phil Pratt sold to the English label at the end of the 70s without any further information, the first presses of which always came in colorful vinyl. You hear that the tracks' home station was Channel One Studio and that Sly Dunbar was in the engine room. But you have to cruise through the Jamaican galaxy for a long time to come across originals like Jimmy London's “Ride On” or “Open The Gate” by Well Pleased & Satisfied. Difficult to say who mixed. Nevertheless, despite Darth Vader on the cover, liner notes dramatically flying past interesting facts and the occasional cracking of the pressure, you don't crash into the mixes. (An earlier version of the text appeared in RIDDIM 04/20)

Rating: 3 out of 5.

Categories
Five Star Review

The Mikey Dread Show: African Anthem Dubwise

"Him don't steal, him don't gamble, talking 'bout man called Michael Campbell" it says at one point on the LP. Michael Campbell (1954 - 2008) alias Mikey Dread came to fame when he started a hugely successful radio show for the Jamaican Broadcasting Service (JBC) in 1976 after training as a radio and sound engineer, with which he spent four hours six days a week Midnight invented the reggae radio format. He was the first to go live on air in Sound System Style. After two years, Campbell fell out with JBC. He quit, founded the Dread At The Control (DATC) label, and began producing himself and others. The first LPs from 1979 copied both the principle and the title of his discontinued radio show: On the debut "Dread At The Controls" (aka "Evolutionary Rockers") Campbell presented himself as a mixture of MC and Deejay. Same with the successor "African Anthem Dubwise " then he not only succeeded in his best album ever, but also one of the most brilliant Dub LPs of all time. A monster of version culture that was essential to the European success story of the Dub contributed. The basis was two songs produced by Mikey Dread by Rod Taylor ("Behold Him" ​​+ "His Imperial Majesty") and Edi Fitzroy ("Country Man" + "Miss Molly") as well as five of his own tracks. The riddims were mixed by Prince Jammy in a night session at King Tubby and then shipped to London. There the Englishman Dave Hendley, who died in 2016 and who was close friends with Campbell and Jammy, dived on his short-lived cruise label “African Anthem Dubwise “appeared first, a truckload of jive talk, synth, sound and voice effects over the raw Dubs what gave them an archaic ferocity. In contrast to the over also made in Englanddubs with the Greensleeves albums by Scientist, the action was discussed with Mikey Dread or specifically ordered by him. He had given Hendley a prepared tape with Gimmix, all of which came from his radio show. Including many jingles such as “Oh my gosh, the music just turns me on”, “Riddim full of culture, ya” or “Brandnew - Good For You”, which became classics that were sampled a thousand times over. "African Anthem Dubwise “was last published 15 years ago in an extended deluxe version with a different - banal - cover. Music On Vinyl has re-released the LP in the original artwork, with a modern, bulbous and less shrill sound. It was first published in a limited edition of 1.000 numbered copies in blue vinyl, and on January 29.01.2020, 04 it will be available in black vinyl. Everything else there is to say about the record, Big Youth explains at the beginning of page two: “Who is the man who plays Roots Rock Reggae? Michael Campbell, the Dread at the control, to thrill your soul. Alright? Alright! "(The text first appeared in RIDDIM 20/XNUMX and has been updated.)

Rating: 5 out of 5.

Categories
Review

Errol Brown: Culture Dub & Medley Dub

"Culture Dub & Medley Dub" are two wanted Dub Albums by Doctor Bird together with an amazing 25 bonuses, some of them extremely raredubs from the estate of the Treasure Isle label were packed onto a DoCD. All tracks were created after Sonia Pottinger bought the business from Duke Reid in 1974. They were mixed by Errol Brown, the Resident Engineer at Treasure Isle, whom Mrs. Pottinger took over. She hired Brown to produce Dubalbums that the duke had refused until then. After the success of the first "Treasure" and "Pleasure" Dub-LPs from Reid's back catalog, Mrs Pottinger wanted an album with versions of her own productions from 1968 to '71. In 1976 the LP “Medley Dub“, An album that - apart from a Japanese CD edition - was difficult to find for a long time. Most of the tracks on it are by the Melodians, including four medleys, two of which were made famous through voicings from Dennis Alcapone. To do this a Dub to Max Romeo's “Let The Power Fall For I”, the confusing “Swing & Dub“Means what was probably just a misprint. Because one Dub for the Melodians hit “Swing & Dime” is also available. The LP also contained Dubs on titles by Errol Dunkley and Ken Boothe. Doctor Bird has enriched the album with 15 rare single B-sides from the late 70s, some of which are characterized by harsh short reverb effects. Including versions of "Lick And Run" by Ruddy Thomas, "Stormy Weather" by Bobby Ellis, and "Wake Up Everybody", a soultune by Harold Melvin & The Blue Notes or Teddy Pendergrass, which OC Roberts covered in 1976 for Sonia Pottinger . Two years later, Errol Brown produced "Harder Than The Rest", the second album by Culture, who split from Joe Gibbs and signed a deal with Virgins sub-label Fontline. For the vocal trio as well as for Brown, the move to Treasure Isle turned out to be a stroke of luck. After completing the LP, he toured with them and began to make a name for himself as dubbender live engineer. Before that, despite the frontline deal, he had one of eight songs on the "Harder Than The Rest" album for Sonia Pottinger's label Dub Mixed LP released with two different covers. Doctor Bird chose the uninspired Jamaican high note variant, although the Afro motif of the English edition - with slaves, warriors and shamans - is one of the most expressive covers of the genre. After all, the drawing of the UK Sky Note label is photographed in the booklet, which is otherwise only partially convincing, as the liner notes offer more adulation than facts with barely legible mini letters. Data on the origins of the bonus tracks would have been more appropriate. Nevertheless, this collection, which comes up with 10 other single B-sides of the group on the second CD in addition to the Culture LP, is a cornucopia with a total of 43 mixes by an exceptional sound engineer who missed the due recognition at Treasure Isle, therefore closed in 1979 Tuff Gong switched and Bob Marley became a live engineer. (The text first appeared in RIDDIM 04/19)

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Kategorien
Review

Michael Palmer: Showcase I’m Still Dancing

Dub Mixe von Peter Chemist zeichnen sich durch eine eigenwillig spröde Ästhetik aus. Da Chemists Output mit nur einer Handvoll Dub-LPs recht überschaubar geblieben ist, hier ein von ihm produziertes Showcase Album. So genau weiß man es nicht: Trägt die LP nun den Titel „Showcase“ oder ist es lediglich ein Hinweis darauf, dass „I’m Still Dancing“ ein Showcase Album ist? Fest steht jedenfalls, dass der Sänger nicht wie auf dem Cover Micheal sondern Michael Palmer heißt. Dessen erste LP von 1983 war seit langem und zu Recht gesucht und kaum unter einem dreistelligen Betrag zu kriegen. Angereichert mit Liner Notes von John Masouri auf einem Extrablatt gibt es die Platte jetzt originalgetreu auf dem französischen Iroko Label. Mit dem alten Cover inklusive Druckfehler, Limonious Comic-Rückseite und ohne schnöden Barcode. Der 1960 geborene Michael Palmer hatte als Teenager für Ossie Thomas seine erste Single „Mr. Landlord“ aufgenommen, erfolgreich wurde der Tune auf dem Get In The Groove Riddim aber erst, nachdem Sonia Pottinger ihn 1980 nochmal aufgenommen hatte. Ab da wurde Palmer einer der gefeierten Sänger der letzten Jahre der prä-digitalen Dancehall-Foundation. Er war kein Dread, er verstand sich als Roots-Reality-Sänger. Palmer kam aus der „feurigen Hölle“ von Kingston 13 (Maxfield Park) und sang im Opener seines bei Channel One produzierten Debüts: „Uptown people want to dance funky – people in the ghetto dance the waterpumpee. Uptown people dance electric boogie – people in the ghetto do the cool & deadly“. Die Riddims stammten von den Roots Radics und wurden vermutlich von Scientist aufgenommen. Anders lässt sich nicht erklären, wie dessen Name auf das Cover kam. Denn „I’m Still Dancing“ ist das Werk von Peter Chemist, den Palmer ausdrücklich in „Ghetto Dance“ erwähnt. Auch der Sound der Produktion, mit kaum wahrnehmbarer Hihat und eigenwilligen Echos, weist auf Peter Chemist. Der fabriziert hier außergewöhnlich spartanisch raue Dubs zu den sechs Vocaltunes. Den Party Time Riddim mischt er ganz ohne Hihat mit verspielten Echos und Akzent auf der Snare. „Ghetto Dub“ positioniert die Drums mit Gated Reverb Effekten um ein verzerrtes Gitarrenthema. „Gwan Dub“ reduziert das Schlagzeug auf Bassdrum mit unterlegten Snare-Echos. Palmer setzte die Zusammenarbeit mit Peter Chemist bei seinem von George Phang produzierten, extrem erfolgreichen Nachfolgealbum „Lick Shot“ fort, auf dessen Coverrückseite er von seiner Art des Songschreibens erzählt. Was die Angabe „all tracks written by Jah Thomas“ auf „I’m Still Dancing“ fragwürdig erscheinen lässt. Thomas hatte das Album für sein Midnight Rock Label produziert, sich ansonsten aber rausgehalten. Den Deejay-Part für eine Greensleeves Maxi des Krachers „Ghetto Dance (Babylon give wi a chance)“ überließ er Jim Brown, eine weitere Greensleeves Maxi mit dem Titelstück der LP und Robert Frenchs „No War“ auf der B-Seite ist aufgrund der Peter Chemist Mixe heute eine gesuchte Rarität, die jede Investition wert ist. Die klanglich überzeugende Neuauflage der LP lockt neben starken Vocaltunes mit seinem ungewöhnlichen Dub-Style. (Der leicht geänderte Text erschien zuerst in RIDDIM 02/21)

Bewertung: 4 von 5.

Kategorien
Five Star Review

Alborosie: Back-A-Yard Dub

Es ist Freitag, der 23. April, heute erscheint Alborosies sechstes Dub Album. Machen wir uns nichts vor, der Kandidat ist damit gekürt. Man wird „Back-A-Yard Dub“ kaum von der Pole Position der diesjährigen Dub-Charts verdrängen können. Weil es nicht nur grandios klingender, moderner Old School Dub in der Tradition echter Versions ist, sondern auch ein für sich allein funktionierendes Hörereignis, das selbst ohne Deejay, Dancehall oder Sound System mit mörderischen Wellen alles wegbläst, was sich ihm in den Weg stellt. Das Album ist das Pendant zu der vor wenigen Wochen veröffentlichten Wailing Souls LP „Back A Yard“, die Alborosie mit viel Eighties Tamtam, Simmons und Synthie Drums in seinem Studio produziert hat. Flabba Holt von den Roots Radics hat den Bass gespielt, Tyrone Downie von den Wailers die Keyboards. Nachdem das Kraft strotzende Alterswerk der Wailing Souls im Kasten war, hat Puppa Albo die „Alborosie Dub Station“ angeschmissen. Es ist sein neuestes Spielzeug, ein von ihm entwickeltes Plug-In, das in der Lage ist, die typischen Effekte aus King Tubbys Studio zu reproduzieren. Wobei der Hall und der Sound des Tubby Tape-Echos weniger spektakulär, aber doch sehr nice sind. Absolut krass jedoch der digitale Nachbau des High Pass Filters. In Kombination mit der Instrumentenvielfalt der Wailing Souls Vorlage und den Dubskills von Alborosie sorgt das neue Effektboard für ein monströses Spektakel. Montiert zu einem anarchischen Ping-Pong-Exzess voller Hall- und Filtereffekte, die man so noch nicht gehört hat. Vergleichbar mit der Soundgewalt eines Groucho Smykle. Der aber muss zusätzliche Keyboards aufnehmen, um seinen Wall Of Sound zu inszenieren. Alborosie dagegen profitiert von der Vielschichtigkeit seiner Produktion und packt für den Dub noch ein paar gefühlte dB mehr drauf. No matter what the people say, these sounds lead the way! Sein Mix ist wie eine Verkaufsempfehlung für das von ihm entwickelte Gerät, und erste Reaktionen in den Social Media lassen bereits erkennen, dass dieses Plug-In in nächster Zeit den Dub auf breiter Fläche beherrschen wird. Dass die LP „Back-A-Yard Dub“ heißt – und damit meint: zurück in Jamaika – und die Verpackung an die Ästhetik der alten Stempeldruck Cover erinnert, spielt nicht nur zufällig darauf an, dass Alborosies Dub dort entsteht, wo er herkommt. Gäbe es 10 Sterne, diese LP würde 15 kriegen.

PS: Als der Text geschrieben wurde, waren noch keine Streaming-Links freigeschaltet. Hörproben gibt’s hier. Oder man vertraut dem Rezensenten und besorgt sich gleich die LP. Das Vinyl wird’s eh nicht ewig geben.

Bewertung: 5 von 5.
Kategorien
Review

Raiders of the Lost Dub

1981 begann für Indiana Jones die Jagd nach dem verlorenen Schatz, was nicht nur im Kino ein Beben auslöste. Noch im selben Jahr reagierte die gerade boomende Dubwelt auf den Hype mit „Raiders of the Lost Dub“. Es war nicht das erste Mal, dass sich Dubalben von Hollywood inspirieren ließen – man denke nur an „Star Wars Dub“, „Scientist & Jammys Strike Back“ oder die „Tough Guys“ der Fatman Riddim Section – doch selten wurde so dreist kopiert wie in diesem Fall. Das Cover-Artwork war eine Kopie des „Raiders Of The Lost Ark“ Soundtracks von John Williams, sogar der Schriftzug war identisch. Island Records hatte die Fälschung abgesegnet, schließlich stammten die Vocalversionen der Dubs aus ihrem Greatest Hits Katalog. Burning Spears „Social Living“ und I Jah Mans „Moulding“ waren von Karl Pitterson durch das Effektboard gezogen worden, „Man Next Door“ in der Version der Paragons bekam eine Dubbehandlung durch Steven Stanley. Sechs der zehn Titel hatten Sly & Robbie produziert und selbst gedubbt, darunter Junior Delgados „Fort Augustus“ und „Guess Who’s Coming To Diner“ von Black Uhuru, die mit vier Songs an der Jagd teilnahmen. Das Album war davon geprägt, dass sich die Studio-Technik nicht mehr auf vier Spuren beschränkte und der Zugriff beim Dubben dadurch variabler geworden war. Dementsprechend hart und modern wirkten die Mixe, als die LP noch im selben Jahr wie Film und Soundtrack veröffentlicht wurde. So schnell wie sie kam, verschwand sie auch wieder. Es heißt, rechtliche Probleme wegen des Covers hätten dazu geführt, dass „Raiders of the Lost Dub“ nie nachgepresst wurde. Music On Vinyl hat das Brutal-Deluxe-Dub-Abenteuer durch ein entstaubtes Master aufgefrischt und die LP nach knapp 40 Jahren zum ersten Mal im Original Artwork wieder aufgelegt. (Der leicht geänderte Text erschien zuerst in RIDDIM 01/21)

Bewertung: 4 von 5.

Kategorien
Review

Dub Attack

Zwei kurze Jahre lang, zwischen 1979 und ’80, brachte das ursprünglich mit Bunny Lee verbundene ATTACK Label, das zu der Zeit bereits Trojan gehörte, exorbitant knallende Maxis raus, die meisten erkennbar am gelb unterlegten Logo, mit roten Lettern auf dunkelgrünem Grund. In einigen Fällen wurde auch mit blauem Trojan Label gepresst. Insgesamt gab es 25 Stück, von denen die meisten heute heiß begehrt sind wegen der hier und nur hier zu findenden Mixe von Prince Jammy und Scientist. Darunter extended Killer-Versions von Barry Browns „Living As A Brother“, „Separation“ und „Cool Pon Your Corner“, Morwells „Kingston Twelve Tuffy“, Linval Thompsons „Pop No Style“ und Michael Rose’s „Born Free“. Das Bild mit den Labels dieser Maxis stammt aus dem Booklet einer merkwürdig zusammen gestellten DoCD, auf der man, abgetrennt von den Vocals, 19 jener Attack-Dubs als – wie es das Booklet nennt – „generöses“ Bonusmaterial findet. Dabei auch die zuvor erwähnten Titel. Aufhänger der Kompilation jedoch sind zwei ganz andere Dub-Alben, die stilistisch absolut nicht zueinander passen. Zum einen „A.1 Dub“, 1980 von Blacka Morwell in Kingston gemischt, mit Dubs zu der Morwells LP „Cool Runnings“ von 1979 sowie Mixen der „Taxi“ und „Get In The Groove“ Riddims. Zum anderen „Cry Tuff Dub Encounter Chapter IV“, dem Gegenstück zu Prince Far Is „Voice Of Thunder“, ein Jahr später in London von Adrian Sherwood gemischt. Obwohl die Linernotes der DoCD sich bemühen, einen Link zwischen den Alben herzustellen und beide LPs einzeln betrachtet hervorragend sind, die Attack-Bonus-Dubs sind der wahre Grund, warum man dieses Set besser nicht verpassen sollte. Zumal man für jede einzelne dieser Maxi deutlich mehr Geld investieren müsste als für die stets preiswerten DoCDs des englischen Re-Issue Labels Doctor Bird. (Eine kürzere Version des Textes erschien in RIDDIM 01/21)

Bewertung: 4 von 5.

Kategorien
Review

Star Wars Dub

Der Hype um das Imperium wird niemals aufhören. Daher hat Secret Records die vor vier Jahren wiederaufgelegte Star Wars Dub LP von Burning Sounds noch einmal in „authentischem“ roten Vinyl nachgepresst. Es ist eine dieser gesuchten Dub LPs, die Phil Pratt Ende der 70er ohne weitere Informationen an das englische Label verdealt hat, deren Erstpressungen immer in buntem Vinyl kamen. Man hört, die Heimatstation der Tracks war das Channel One Studio und im Maschinenraum saß Sly Dunbar. Aber man muss lange durch die jamaikanische Galaxie cruisen, um auf Originale wie Jimmy Londons „Ride On“ oder „Open The Gate“ von Well Pleased & Satisfied zu stoßen. Schwer zu sagen wer gemischt hat. Dennoch, trotz Darth Vader auf dem Cover, dramatisch an Wissenswertem vorbei fliegenden Linernotes und gelegentlichem Knacken der Pressung erleidet man bei den Mixen keine Bruchlandung. (Eine frühere Version des Textes erschien in RIDDIM 04/20)

Bewertung: 3 von 5.

Kategorien
Five Star Review

The Mikey Dread Show: African Anthem Dubwise

„Him don’t steal, him don’t gamble, talking ‘bout man called Michael Campbell“ heißt es an einer Stelle auf der LP . Michael Campbell (1954 – 2008) alias Mikey Dread kam zu Ruhm, als er 1976 nach einer Ausbildung zum Radio- und Tontechniker eine enorm erfolgreiche Radioshow beim Jamaican Broadcasting Service (JBC) startete, mit der er an sechs Tagen der Woche vier Stunden lang um Mitternacht das Reggae-Radio-Format erfand. Er war der Erste, der im Sound System Style live on air ging. Nach zwei Jahren überwarf sich Campbell mit JBC. Er kündigte, gründete das Dread At The Control (DATC) Label und begann, sich selbst und andere zu produzieren. Die ersten LPs aus dem Jahr 1979 kopierten sowohl das Prinzip wie auch den Titel seiner eingestellten Radiosendung: Auf dem Debüt „Dread At The Controls“ (a.k.a. „Evolutionary Rockers“) präsentierte sich Campbell als eine Mischung aus MC und Deejay. Gleich mit dem Nachfolger „African Anthem Dubwise“ gelang ihm dann nicht nur sein bestes Album überhaupt, sondern auch eine der brillantesten Dub LPs aller Zeiten. Ein Monster der Version-Kultur, das wesentlich zur europäischen Erfolgsgeschichte des Dub beitrug. Als Basis dienten je zwei von Mikey Dread produzierte Songs von Rod Taylor („Behold Him“ + „His Imperial Majesty“) und Edi Fitzroy („Country Man“ + „Miss Molly“) sowie fünf seiner eigenen Titel. Die Riddims wurden von Prince Jammy in einer Nachtsession bei King Tubby gemischt und anschließend nach London verfrachtet. Dort kübelte der 2016 verstorbene, mit Campbell und Jammy eng befreundete Engländer Dave Hendley, auf dessen kurzlebigem Cruise Label „African Anthem Dubwise“ zuerst erschien, eine Wagenladung an Jive Talk, Synthie-, Sound- und Stimmeffekten über die rohen Dubs, was ihnen eine archaische Wildheit verlieh. Im Gegensatz zu den ebenfalls in England vorgenommen Overdubs bei den Greensleeves Alben von Scientist war die Aktion mit Mikey Dread abgesprochen bzw. ausdrücklich von ihm bestellt. Er hatte Hendley dafür ein vorbereitetes Tape mit Gimmix gegeben, die alle aus seiner Radioshow stammten. Darunter viele Jingles wie „Oh my gosh, the music just turns me on“, „Riddim full of culture, ya“ oder „Brandnew – Good For You“, die zu tausendfach gesampelten Klassikern wurden. „African Anthem Dubwise“ erschien zuletzt vor 15 Jahren in einer erweiterten Deluxe Version mit anderem – banalen – Cover. Music On Vinyl hat die LP im Original Artwork wiederveröffentlicht, mit modernem, bauchigen und weniger schrillen Sound. Zuerst erschien sie limitiert auf 1.000 nummerierten Exemplaren in blauem Vinyl, am 29.01.2020 kommt sie in schwarzem Vinyl. Alles was es sonst zu der Platte zu sagen gibt, erklärt Big Youth im Auftakt zu Seite Zwei: „Who is the man who plays Roots Rock Reggae? Michael Campbell, the Dread at the control, to thrill your soul. Alright? Alright!“ (Der Text erschien zuerst in RIDDIM 04/20 und wurde aktualisiert.)

Bewertung: 5 von 5.

Kategorien
Review

Errol Brown: Culture Dub & Medley Dub

„Culture Dub & Medley Dub“ sind zwei gesuchte Dub Alben, die von Doctor Bird zusammen mit sagenhaften 25, zum Teil äußerst raren Bonusdubs aus dem Nachlass des Treasure Isle Labels auf eine DoCD gepackt wurden. Alle Tracks entstanden, nachdem Sonia Pottinger im Jahr 1974 den Betrieb von Duke Reid aufgekauft hatte. Gemischt wurden sie von Errol Brown, dem Resident Engineer bei Treasure Isle, den Mrs Pottinger mit übernahm. Sie beauftragte Brown mit der Produktion von Dubalben, was der Duke bis dahin abgelehnt hatte. Nach den Erfolgen der ersten „Treasure“ und „Pleasure“ Dub-LPs aus Reids Backkatalog wollte Mrs Pottinger dann auch ein Album mit Versions ihrer eigenen Produktionen aus den Jahren 1968 bis ’71. So erschien 1976 auf High Note die LP „Medley Dub“, ein Album, das – abgesehen von einer japanischen CD Ausgabe – lange Zeit nur schwer aufzutreiben war. Die meisten der Titel darauf stammen von den Melodians, darunter vier Medleys, von denen zwei durch Voicings von Dennis Alcapone bekannt wurden. Dazu ein Dub zu Max Romeos „Let The Power Fall For I“, der verwirrend „Swing & Dub“ heißt, was vermutlich nur ein Druckfehler war. Denn einen Dub zu dem Melodians Hit „Swing & Dime“ gibt es ebenfalls. Dazu enthielt die LP Dubs zu Titeln von Errol Dunkley und Ken Boothe. Doctor Bird hat das Album angereichert mit 15 seltenen, zum Teil von harschen Kurzhalleffekten geprägten Single-B-Seiten aus den späten 70er Jahren. Darunter Versions zu „Lick And Run“ von Ruddy Thomas, „Stormy Weather“ von Bobby Ellis, und „Wake Up Everybody“, ein Soultune von Harold Melvin & The Blue Notes bzw. Teddy Pendergrass, den O. C. Roberts 1976 für Sonia Pottinger gecovert hat. Zwei Jahre später produzierte Errol Brown „Harder Than The Rest“, das zweite Album von Culture, die sich von Joe Gibbs getrennt und einen Vertrag mit Virgins Sublabel Fontline unterschrieben hatten. Für das Gesangstrio wie auch für Brown erwies sich der Wechsel zu Treasure Isle als Glücksgriff. Nach Fertigstellung der LP ging er mit ihnen auf Tour und begann, sich einen Namen als dubbender Live-Engineer zu machen. Zuvor hatte er, ungeachtet des Frontline Deals, von acht Songs des „Harder Than The Rest“ Albums für Sonia Pottingers Label eine Dub LP gemischt, die mit zwei unterschiedlichen Covern veröffentlicht wurde. Doctor Bird hat die uninspirierte jamaikanische High Note Variante gewählt, obwohl das Afro-Motiv der englischen Ausgabe – mit Sklavinnen, Krieger und Schamane – eines der ausdruckstärksten Cover des Genres darstellt. Immerhin wird die Zeichnung des UK Sky Note Labels im Booklet abgelichtet, das jedoch ansonsten nur bedingt überzeugt, da die Linernotes bei kaum noch lesbaren Minibuchstaben mehr Lobhudelei als Fakten bietet. Daten zu den Ursprüngen der Bonustracks wären eher angebracht gewesen. Dennoch ist diese Kollektion, die auf der zweiten CD neben der Culture LP mit 10 weiteren Single-B-Seiten der Gruppe aufwartet, ein Füllhorn mit insgesamt 43 Mixen eines Ausnahme-Tontechnikers, der bei Treasure Isle die gebührende Anerkennung vermisst hat, deshalb 1979 zu Tuff Gong wechselte und Bob Marleys Live-Engineer wurde. (Der Text erschien zuerst in RIDDIM 04/19)

Bewertung: 4 von 5.