Categories
Review

Dub Attack

For two short years, between 1979 and '80, that brought that originally to Bunny Lee ATTACK Label that already belonged to Trojan at the time, exorbitantly popping Maxis out, most of them recognizable by the logo highlighted in yellow, with red letters on a dark green background. In some cases the blue Trojan label was also used. There were a total of 25 pieces, most of which are in great demand today because of the mixes of Prince Jammy and Scientist that can be found here and only here. Including extended killer versions of Barry Brown's "Living As A Brother", "Separation" and "Cool Pon Your Corner", Morwell's "Kingston Twelve Tuffy", Linval Thompson's "Pop No Style" and Michael Rose's "Born Free". The picture with the labels of these maxis comes from the booklet of a strangely compiled one DoCDon which one, separated from the vocals, 19 of that attackDubs as - as the booklet calls it - finds “generous” bonus material. Including the previously mentioned titles. But there are two completely different hooks for the compilation Dub-Albums that absolutely do not match each other stylistically. On the one hand, “A.1 Dub", Mixed with Blacka Morwell in Kingston in 1980 Dubs for Morwell's 1979 LP “Cool Runnings” and mixing the “Taxi” and “Get In The Groove” riddims. On the other hand, “Cry Tuff Dub Encounter Chapter IV ”, the counterpart to Prince Far Is“ Voice Of Thunder ”, mixed a year later in London by Adrian Sherwood. Although the DoCD's liner notes endeavor to link the albums and both LPs are individually excellent, the Attack BonusDubt's the real reason this set is better not to be missed. Especially since you would have to invest significantly more money for each of these maxi than for the always inexpensive DoCDs from the English re-issue label Doctor Bird. (A shorter version of the text appeared in RIDDIM 01/21)

Rating: 4 out of 5.

7 replies to "Dub Attack "

It's not like I wouldn't want to check out this tip too. But so far I haven't found anything to listen to. If you like to sit at the computer and move the mouse back and forth all day, you might find what you are looking for at some point, but then I would need a link where it starts right away. Sorry if that sounds a bit snotty, but that's my "humor" today.
Basically, an honorable thought is what drives me to make a short comment. I wanted to express that I have ignored neither the review nor the recommendation.
For example, I did hear the "extended killer version" by Barry Brown on YouTube. I envy everyone who can pull this magical black plastic out of the fat cover at home, only to "drop" the needle into this fat groove shortly afterwards. Who needs Fat Freddys Drop ?! (Ok, private joke)
But of course, “Cry Tuff …… Chapter 4 (!) Unfortunately for me it ends at Chapter 3. And so I have the fantastic versions resp. Dubs from the
“Voice Of Thunder” (and then mixed by the boss) not only not at the start, but never heard before. I hear gtkriz screaming "Blasphemia" again ;-) and this time too I can't disagree.
Instead I can put “Sir Pinkerton” and “Tumultus II” on the plate today. So I'm still steadily improving ;-)

And my hope is high that the governor of Münster ;-) will eventually become my hero again .............................................................

Unfortunately, I feel the same way, even if I already belong to the online native group. Either I order the thing from the UK, despite Brexit-related delivery problems and scarce money, or I leave it ... Streaming services have a few individual tracks, including YouTube. But is it the CD version?

my weekly dub but fix has mostly been delivered free of charge from King Shiloh on Youtube for a year. There are tons of rarities to be heard there too :)

I was already too slow by then.

The parts were already sold out.

Greetings ………………… lemmi

Lemmi, at JPC you can get the CD for € 18,99. You can also listen to all the tracks: https://www.jpc.de/jpcng/poprock/detail/-/art/morwell-unlimited-princ-a-1-dub-bonus-tr/hnum/10256306
You can get them in England Dub Vendor or directly from the label for 12 pounds: https://www.cherryred.co.uk/product/morwell-unlimited-prince-far-i-the-arabs-a-1-dub-cry-tuff-dub-encounter-chapter-iv-2cd/
And with King Shiloh you are always right. That's where we meet :-)

Do you have a specific link or am I always right with King Shiloh?

I'm just an “online / digital immigrant” ;-) ………………… .. lemmi

Post a comment

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Kategorien
Review

Dub Attack

Zwei kurze Jahre lang, zwischen 1979 und ’80, brachte das ursprünglich mit Bunny Lee verbundene ATTACK Label, das zu der Zeit bereits Trojan gehörte, exorbitant knallende Maxis raus, die meisten erkennbar am gelb unterlegten Logo, mit roten Lettern auf dunkelgrünem Grund. In einigen Fällen wurde auch mit blauem Trojan Label gepresst. Insgesamt gab es 25 Stück, von denen die meisten heute heiß begehrt sind wegen der hier und nur hier zu findenden Mixe von Prince Jammy und Scientist. Darunter extended Killer-Versions von Barry Browns „Living As A Brother“, „Separation“ und „Cool Pon Your Corner“, Morwells „Kingston Twelve Tuffy“, Linval Thompsons „Pop No Style“ und Michael Rose’s „Born Free“. Das Bild mit den Labels dieser Maxis stammt aus dem Booklet einer merkwürdig zusammen gestellten DoCD, auf der man, abgetrennt von den Vocals, 19 jener Attack-Dubs als – wie es das Booklet nennt – „generöses“ Bonusmaterial findet. Dabei auch die zuvor erwähnten Titel. Aufhänger der Kompilation jedoch sind zwei ganz andere Dub-Alben, die stilistisch absolut nicht zueinander passen. Zum einen „A.1 Dub“, 1980 von Blacka Morwell in Kingston gemischt, mit Dubs zu der Morwells LP „Cool Runnings“ von 1979 sowie Mixen der „Taxi“ und „Get In The Groove“ Riddims. Zum anderen „Cry Tuff Dub Encounter Chapter IV“, dem Gegenstück zu Prince Far Is „Voice Of Thunder“, ein Jahr später in London von Adrian Sherwood gemischt. Obwohl die Linernotes der DoCD sich bemühen, einen Link zwischen den Alben herzustellen und beide LPs einzeln betrachtet hervorragend sind, die Attack-Bonus-Dubs sind der wahre Grund, warum man dieses Set besser nicht verpassen sollte. Zumal man für jede einzelne dieser Maxi deutlich mehr Geld investieren müsste als für die stets preiswerten DoCDs des englischen Re-Issue Labels Doctor Bird. (Eine kürzere Version des Textes erschien in RIDDIM 01/21)

Bewertung: 4 von 5.

7 Antworten auf „Dub Attack“

Es ist ja nicht so, das ich diesen Tipp nicht auch gern abchecken würde. Aber bisher habe ich nichts zum Anhören gefunden. Wer gern am Rechner sitzt und den ganzen Tag die Maus hin und herschiebt, wird eventuell irgendwann doch fündig aber ich bräuchte dann schon einen Link, wo es dann auch gleich losgeht. Sorry, wenn das etwas patzig klingt aber das is heute mein „Humor“.
Im Grunde ist auch hier wieder ein ehrenhafter Gedanke mein Antrieb, einen kurzen Kommentar abzugeben. Ich wollte damit zum Ausdruck bringen, das ich weder die Rezension noch die Empfehlung ignoriert habe.
Auf YouTube habe ich zum Beispiel dann doch die „extended Killer Version“ von Barry Brown gehört. Ich beneide jeden, der Zuhause dieses magische schwarze Plastik aus dem fetten Cover ziehen kann, um kurz darauf die Nadel in diese fette Rille zu „droppen“. Wer brauch da noch Fat Freddys Drop ?! ( Ok, Privatwitz )
Besonders scharf macht mich aber natürlich auch „Cry Tuff …… Chapter 4 (!) Bei mir hörts leider bei Chapter 3 auf. Und somit habe ich die fantastischen Versions bzw. Dubs von der
„Voice Of Thunder“ ( und dann auch noch vom Chef gemixt ) nicht nur nicht am Start, sondern noch nie gehört. Ich höre gtkriz schon wieder „Blasphämie“ schreien ;-) und kann dem auch diesmal nicht widersprechen.
Dafür kann ich heute „Sir Pinkerton“ und „Tumultus II“ auf den Teller legen. Es geht also auch bei mir immer noch stetig bergauf ;-)

Und meine Hoffnung ist groß, das der Gouverneur von Münster ;-) am Ende auch da wieder zu meinem Held wird ………………………..

Geht mir leider ähnlich, auch wenn ich mich schon zur Online-Native-Fraktion zähle. Entweder ich bestell trotz Brexit-bedingter Lieferschwierigkeiten und knapper Kohle das Ding aus GB oder ich lass es… Streaming-Dienste haben davon ein paar einzelne Tracks, Youtube auch. Aber ob das jeweils die CD-Version ist?

mein weekly dub fix kommt aber seit einem Jahr meist frei Haus von King Shiloh auf Youtube. Auch da gibt es tonnenweise Raritäten zu hören :)

Da war ich wohl schon wieder zu langsam.

Die Teile waren doch glatt schon alle ausverkauft.

Greetings ………………… lemmi

Lemmi, bei JPC kriegst du die CD für 18,99 €. Da kann man auch in alle Titel reinhören: https://www.jpc.de/jpcng/poprock/detail/-/art/morwell-unlimited-princ-a-1-dub-bonus-tr/hnum/10256306
In England kriegst du sie bei Dub Vendor oder direkt beim Label für 12 Pfund: https://www.cherryred.co.uk/product/morwell-unlimited-prince-far-i-the-arabs-a-1-dub-cry-tuff-dub-encounter-chapter-iv-2cd/
Und bei King Shiloh bist du immer richtig. Da treffen wir uns dann :-)

Hast du mal einen konkreten Link oder liege ich bei King Shiloh immer richtig ?

Bin ja nur ein „Online / Digital Immigrant“ ;-) ………………….. lemmi

Kommentar verfassen

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.