Categories
Review

Pyrotechnist: Fire Crackers

Then it's slowly enough again with the 70s revival. There have been plenty of new recordings lately with a glorified view of the good old days: Here a part Roots, there a part Lovers Rock, spiced with a touch of Ska and / or Rocksteady, which can be stirred or shaken with analog instruments and DubEffects - the new, old cocktail as it is now served on American and European platforms is ready. The roots-oriented productions of Roberto Sanchez proven: He has succeeded in replicating the essence of Jamaican productions of the late 70s and bringing it into the present day. With this, Sanchez has set a milestone that can be used to measure other productions - even if they start earlier and use recordings from the early 70s as a reference.

One can and should ask the question whether such a 70s revival trend makes sense at all: Why reproduce a sound of which there are plenty of excellent originals thanks to labels like Pressure Sounds? Why imitate the old masters of the genre if you can't muster up their inventiveness, enthusiasm for experimentation, but also audacity and disrespect for all technical standards and customs? Back then, these weren't considered, balanced sounds that caressed the ear, but rather the full broad side beyond the stop: A King Tubby didn't care whether an effect was completely overdriven and the PA or studio monitors were overloaded; only the result counted. The replicas completely lack this daring; Sometimes you can't help but get the impression that only mid-o-esque background sound was recorded for dignified shopping malls à la Galerie Lafayette: boring, irrelevant. And yet the revival bands have a certain status as a live act; With a much more powerful sound, they make the stage a place where the arrangements á la 70s can be really fun. 

I assume that it is similar with the Belgian band project Pyrotechnist. Their album "Fire Crackers" (Badasonic Records) has just been released and offers not only a clean sound but also dignified arrangements that are not too short DubEffects are offset. The focus is on the early 70s; memories of Jackie Mittoo, Augustus Pablo, Dave Barker & Ansel Collins, but also Sly Dunbar are sought. All in all, this results in an eclectic and unspectacular mixture of reggae and rocksteady with a hint of Ska. It only gets exciting when brass sections come into play; when drums are mixed so far in the background that only snare and fills can be heard; when (finally again) the Clavinet plays a role or the sometimes outstanding ones Dub-Push effects into focus. 

Of course, one can understand the album in its entirety as a bow to the aforementioned master instrumentalists; the recordings do not do justice to the originals. So who will enjoy “Fire Crackers”? Probably nostalgic and the Lafayette Gallery; I recommend the corresponding releases of Blood & Fire, Pressure Sounds & Co. to everyone else.

Rating: 2 out of 5.

3 replies to "Pyrotechnist: Fire Crackers"

I can't do much with Rocksteady, so I recommend the Roberto Sanchez productions "Ten Thousand Lions" (Ras Teo)
https://open.spotify.com/album/77fQw2MoiWbW3CCilCzc45?si=4nvO85nhRp-K0NJs8rBVGQ
and "Natty Farming" (Earl Sixteen)
https://open.spotify.com/album/05qt8lEQd7baYREZhpiNcK?si=2CnQCZaVTY-_99OIh9bOiw
as well as the wonderful compilation "Deep Roots Music & Dub: The 10 ″ Collection “
https://open.spotify.com/album/0kihxjAzpQz1eiiU39gPSs?si=3JAXPb5XQs2YHSic0WkKHQ

Sorry if this is only brief now (well, he finally wants to be brief, maybe some or all of them think) but I can only say that I have this disc on my shopping list, so I probably didn't find it at all so bad. Probably the connection to the fantastic originals blinded me again. But as gtkriz has already written so nicely, the remakes come with a clean sound, dignified (not staid) arrangements and not too concise Dubeffects in our ears and I probably can't get out of my skin again. I'm a nostalgic anyway, with
the penchant for science fiction. So a split personality with firm principles ... if anyone knows what I mean ;-)
Yes, and I will definitely like the new Alpheus again, like everything from him.

Cheers ……………………. lemmi

Post a comment

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Kategorien
Dub

Pyrotechnist: Fire Crackers

Langsam reicht’s dann auch wieder mit dem 70s Revival. Neuaufnahmen mit verklärten Blick auf die gute alte Zeit gab’s ja in letzter Zeit zuhauf: Hier ein Teil Roots, da ein Teil Lovers Rock, gewürzt mit einem Hauch Ska und/oder Rocksteady, das ganz wahlweise gerührt oder geschüttelt mit analogen Instrumenten und Dub-Effekten – fertig ist der neue, alte Cocktail wie er jetzt auf amerikanischen und europäischen Plattformen serviert wird. Dass der durchaus schmecken kann, haben vor allem die eher Roots-orientierten Produktionen von Roberto Sanchez bewiesen: Ihm ist es gelungen, die Essenz jamaikanischer Produktionen der späten 70er zu replizieren und ins heute zu verfrachten. Sanchez hat damit einen Meilenstein gesetzt, anhand dessen man andere Produktionen durchaus messen kann – auch wenn sie zeitlich eher ansetzen und Aufnahmen der frühen 70er als Referenz nehmen.

Man kann und sollte die Frage in den Raum stellen, ob so ein 70s Revival-Trend überhaupt Sinn macht: Warum einen Sound reproduzieren, von dem es dank Labels wie Pressure Sounds exzellente Originale zuhauf gibt? Wozu die alten Meister des Genres imitieren, wenn man nicht deren Ideenreichtum, Experimentierfreude, aber auch Unverfrorenheit und Respektlosigkeit gegenüber jeglichen technischen Standards und Gepflogenheiten aufbringen kann? Das waren damals keine bedachten, ausgewogenen Klänge die das Ohr umschmeichelt haben, sondern die volle Breitseite über den Anschlag hinaus: Einem King Tubby war es hörbar egal, ob ein Effekt völlig übersteuert und die PA bzw. die Studiomonitore über Grenzen hinaus belasten; allein das Ergebnis zählte. Dieser Wagemut fehlt den Replika völlig; mitunter kann man sich des Eindrucks nicht erwehren, dass lediglich Mittoo-eske Hintergrundbeschallung für gediegene Einkaufstempel à la Galerie Lafayette aufgenommen wurde: Langweilig, belanglos. Und doch ist den Revival-Bands als Live-Act ein gewisser Stellenwert zu zusprechen; mit wesentlich druckvollerem Sound machen sie die Bühne zum Ort, wo die Arrangements á la 70s so richtig Spaß machen können. 

Ich gehe davon aus, dass es sich beim belgischen Band-Projekt Pyrotechnist ähnlich verhält. Deren Album „Fire Crackers“ (Badasonic Records) ist dieser Tage erschienen und bietet neben sauberem Sound gediegene Arrangements, die nicht zu knapp mit Dub-Effekten versetzt sind. Die frühen 70er stehen im Mittelpunkt; es werden Erinnerungen an Jackie Mittoo, Augustus Pablo, Dave Barker & Ansel Collins, aber auch Sly Dunbar bemüht. Das ergibt in summa eine eklektische und unspektakuläre Mischung aus Reggae und Rocksteady mit Ska-Anklängen. Spannend wird es lediglich dann, wenn Bläsersätze ins Spiel kommen; wenn Drums soweit in den Hintergrund gemixt werden, dass nur mehr Snare und Fills hörbar sind; wenn (endlich wieder einmal) das Clavinet eine Rolle spielt oder sich die mitunter hervorragenden Dub-Effekte in den Mittelpunkt drängen. 

Freilich kann man das Album in seiner Gesamtheit als Verbeugung vor den obgenannten Meister-Instrumentalisten verstehen; die Aufnahmen werden den Originalen aber nicht gerecht. Wer wird also Freude an „Fire Crackers“ haben? Vermutlich Nostalgiker und die Galerie Lafayette; allen anderen empfehle ich die entsprechenden Releases von Blood & Fire, Pressure Sounds & Co.

Bewertung: 2 von 5.

3 Antworten auf „Pyrotechnist: Fire Crackers“

Ich kann mit Rocksteady nicht viel anfangen, deshalb empfehle ich die Roberto Sanchez Produktionen “Ten Thousand Lions” (Ras Teo)
https://open.spotify.com/album/77fQw2MoiWbW3CCilCzc45?si=4nvO85nhRp-K0NJs8rBVGQ
und “Natty Farming” (Earl Sixteen)
https://open.spotify.com/album/05qt8lEQd7baYREZhpiNcK?si=2CnQCZaVTY-_99OIh9bOiw
sowie die wunderbare Compilation “Deep Roots Music & Dub: The 10″ Collection”
https://open.spotify.com/album/0kihxjAzpQz1eiiU39gPSs?si=3JAXPb5XQs2YHSic0WkKHQ

Sorry, wenn das jetzt nur kurz wird ( na endlich will er sich mal kurz fassen, denken vielleicht einige oder alle ) aber ich kann nur soviel sagen, das ich diese Scheibe hier auf meinem Einkaufszettel stehen habe, von daher fand ich die wohl gar nicht so schlecht. Wahrscheinlich hat mich die Verbindung zu den fantastischen Originalen wieder geblendet. Aber wie gtkriz schon so schön geschrieben hat, kommen die Remakes mit sauberem Sound, gediegenen ( nicht biederen ) Arrangements und nicht zu knapp gehaltenen Dubeffekten in unsere Ohren und da kann ich wohl wieder nicht aus meiner Haut. Ich bin eh ein Nostalgiker, mit
dem Hang zu Science Fiction. Also eine gespaltene Persönlichkeit mit festen Prinzipien …… if anyone knows what I mean ;-)
Ja und die neue Alpheus wird mir bestimmt auch wieder gefallen, so wie alles von Ihm.

Greetings ……………………. lemmi

Kommentar verfassen

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.