Categories
Review

Satori vs. Dr. Echo: Dub Defender sessions

Satori, a Japanese Buddhist term for knowledge, awakening and understanding, is derived from the Japanese verb satoru. The main motive of Zen Buddhism is the knowledge of the universal nature of existence. It can only be understood through personal experience.
Aha, so that's one way. We are approaching this realization more on the musical track, because it was a few days ago Satori vs. Dr. Echo: "Dub Defender sessions“(Anicca Records) out. Satori is the alter ego of Steven Jess Borth II and Dr. Echo by Justin De Hart. The two Californians from Sacramento, Borth and De Hart, have known each other for a number of years and have worked together for a long time. Satori currently lives in Denmark and as a saxophonist belongs to the direct environment of the Guiding Star Orchestra or works on some projects with the jazz duo Bremer & McCoy, while the sound engineer Dr. Echo has now set up shop in New Zealand. Despite the spatial distance, the two protagonists finally succeeded in sharing the fruits of their collaboration between 2007 and 2009 in the form of “Dub Defender Sessions ”. The collection contains recordings that have never seen the light of day. About half of the tracks have vocals and - despite the sweetish voice reminiscent of Ali Campbell (UB40) - spread a somewhat dark mood. Nevertheless, the interacts dubgood music excellent with the lyrics. The rest of the album are very nice, chill-dubbig instrumentals. We don't actually get anything spectacular here, but the high quality of the album lies in the Dubs that Dr. Echo and Satori produced together. Dr. Echo uses its decades of mixing experience and draws on the possibilities of technology. In doing so, he overloads them Dubs not with a flood of effects, but creates in his Dubs space for quiet and ambient sounds. "Dub to Nowhere ”is, in my opinion, an excellent example of this. Another highlight and at the same time the final point of the album is with its Rasta drumming and its relaxed atmosphere "Dub Decision ".

Conclusion: If you give the album time, it inspires with its soulfully played roots reggae, buttery soft keyboard and saxophone passages and its partly rooted in the ambient Dubs. A very beautiful, unobtrusive work that unfairly gathered dust on some shelves for many years.

Rating: 4 out of 5.

One reply to "Satori vs. Dr. Echo: Dub Defender Sessions "

As a matter of fact ! A very nice album!

Only the keyboard on “Little Do They Know Dub“Goes past my taste. That sounds too much like an "instrument" from the chewing gum machine.
The beginning is also a little blatant, because it starts right away without an intro with the bassline. But like all the other bass lines here, it's very good for my taste.
The singing is also nice and relaxed and not a bit unobtrusive. But best remains Dub just without singing! And if you're singing, please do it again and again
Let it fade away with reverb and echo, which is not necessarily the number one stylistic device here. All in all, I get “a little too little” doctored on the vocals.
The pure ones Dubversions have everything mine DubHeart desires. Very powerful bass lines, which you can clearly see "the soulful played roots origin" in interaction with the drums
notes. The basslines and the riddims alone make the sun rise in my mind. The keyboard passages are great on all the other pieces (except no.1)
beautifully dreamy and carry me very gently into the "realm of the senses" or into the realm where the Zen Budhists would also like to come. Without Dub Music will make it difficult for the Zen monks, but what the heck, they have all day.
So, for me a really great album with no starting points to complain about and my highlights here are also "Dub To Nowhere "and"Dub Decision ". Especially with "Dub To Nowhere "
I have the feeling that The Mighty Flabba Holt is standing here live and directly in my room and that the bass, with all fingers and thumbs, is vibrating and me
"Universal beings of existence" once again come very close. "Intimate Dubolution “is just great!

So, actually I just wanted to write about two words so that it doesn't hurt so much again when some “on / off provider” swallows my laboriously scraped together words.

But it's that easy to get an old one DubDon't discourage Head ;-)

I'm not a Rasta but “Rasta never get weary yet !!!” ………………… lemmi

Post a comment

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Kategorien
Dub

Satori vs. Dr. Echo: Dub Defender Sessions

Satori, ein japanisch-buddhistischer Begriff für Erkenntnis, Erwachen und Verstehen, leitet sich vom japanischen Verb satoru ab. Das Hauptmotiv des Zen-Buddhismus ist die Erkenntnis vom universellen Wesen des Daseins. Es kann nur durch persönliche Erfahrung verstanden werden.
Aha, das ist also der eine Weg. Wir nähern uns dieser Erkenntnis dann doch eher auf der musikalischen Schiene, denn vor ein paar Tagen ist nun Satori vs. Dr. Echo:Dub Defender Sessions” (Anicca Records) erschienen. Satori ist das Alter Ego von Steven Jess Borth II und Dr. Echo von Justin De Hart. Die zwei aus Sacramento stammenden Kalifornier Borth und De Hart kennen sich schon etliche Jahre und arbeiten auch schon sehr lange zusammen. Zurzeit lebt Satori in Dänemark und gehört als Saxofonist ins direkte Umfeld des Guiding Star Orchestras oder arbeitet bei einigen Projekten mit dem Jazz-Duo Bremer & McCoy zusammen, während der Toningenieur Dr. Echo in der Zwischenzeit seine Zelte in Neuseeland aufgeschlagen hat. Trotz der räumlichen Distanz ist es den beiden Protagonisten endlich gelungen, die Früchte ihrer Zusammenarbeit aus den Jahren zwischen 2007 und 2009 in Form der „Dub Defender Sessions“ zu veröffentlichen. Die Sammlung enthält Aufnahmen, die bisher nie das Licht der Welt erblickten. Etwa die Hälfte der Tracks hat Gesang und verbreitet – trotz der süßlichen an Ali Campbell (UB40) erinnernden Stimme – eine etwas düstere Stimmung. Trotzdem interagiert die dubbige Musik vorzüglich mit den Texten. Der Rest des Albums sind sehr schöne, chillig-dubbige Instrumentals. Eigentlich bekommen wir hier nichts Spektakuläres geboten, aber die hohe Qualität des Albums liegt in den Dubs, die Dr. Echo und Satori gemeinsam produziert haben. Dr. Echo bringt seine jahrzehntelange Mixing-Erfahrung zum Einsatz und schöpft aus den Möglichkeiten der Technik. Dabei überfrachtet er die Dubs nicht mit einer Flut an Effekten, sondern schafft in seinen Dubs Raum für Ruhe und ambiente Klänge. „Dub to Nowhere“ ist meines Erachtens ein hervorragendes Beispiel dafür. Ein weiteres Highlight und zugleich der Schlusspunkt des Albums setzt mit seinem Rasta-Drumming und seiner relaxten Atmosphäre „Dub Decision“.

Fazit: Wenn man dem Album Zeit gibt, begeistert es durch seinen gefühlvoll gespielten Roots-Reggae, butterweichen Keyboard- und Saxofon-Passagen und seine teilweise im Ambient verwurzelten Dubs. Ein sehr schönes, unaufdringliches Werk, das zu Unrecht viele Jahre in irgendwelchen Regalen verstaubte.

Bewertung: 4 von 5.

Eine Antwort auf „Satori vs. Dr. Echo: Dub Defender Sessions“

In der Tat ! Ein sehr schönes Album !

Einzig und allein das Keyboard bei “Little Do They Know Dub” geht an meinem Geschmack vorbei. Das klingt mir zu sehr sehr nach “Instrument” aus dem Kaugummiautomat.
Der Anfang ist auch ein wenig krass, denn da geht es ja gleich ohne Intro mit der Bassline los. Aber die ist wie alle anderen Basslinien hier sehr gut für meinen Geschmack.
Der Gesang ist auch schön entspannt und kein bischen unaufdringlich. Aber am besten bleibt Dub eben doch ohne Gesang ! Und wenn Gesang, dann bitte immer wieder gern
mit Hall und Echo ausklingen lassen, was hier nicht unbedingt zum Stilmittel Nr.1 gehört. Insgesamt wird mir an den Vocals ein “wenig zu wenig” herumgedoktert.
Die puren Dubversions haben alles was mein DubHeart begehrt. Sehr kraftvolle Basslines, denen man ganz klar “die gefühlvoll gespielte RootsHerkunft” im Zusammenspiel mit den Drums
anmerkt. Schon allein die Basslines bzw. die Riddims an sich, lassen in meinem Gemüt die Sonne aufgehen. Die Keyboard-Passagen sind auf allen anderen Stücken ( except no.1 ) sehr
schön verträumt und tragen mich ganz sanft in´s “Reich der Sinne” bzw. in das Reich wo die Zen Budhisten auch gern hinkommen wollen. Ohne Dub Music wird das zwar schwierig für die Zen-Mönche aber was solls, die haben ja den ganzen Tag Zeit.
Also, für mich ein ganz tolles Album ohne Ansatzpunkte zum meckern und meine Highlights sind hier auch “Dub To Nowhere” und “Dub Decision”. Ganz besonders bei “Dub To Nowhere”
habe ich das Gefühl, das The Mighty Flabba Holt hier live and direct in meinem Zimmer steht und den Bass, mit allen Fingern und Daumen, in Schwingungen versetzt und mich dem
“universellen Wesen des Daseins” mal wieder ganz nahe kommen lässt. “Intimate Dubolution” ist auch einfach nur Spitze !!!

So, eigentlich wollte ich nur etwa zwei Worte schreiben, damit es nicht wieder so weh tut, wenn irgendein “on/off provider” meine mühsam zusammengekratzten Worte verschluckt.

Aber so leicht lässt sich ein alter DubHead eben nicht entmutigen ;-)

Ich bin zwar kein Rasta aber “Rasta never get weary yet !!!” ………………… lemmi

Kommentar verfassen

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.