Categories
Five Star Review

Studio One Space Age Dub Special

at these Dubno one comes by: Studio One Space Age Dub Special (soul jazz). You can hear them all here, the beautiful, never-aging Studio One rhythms - in their purest form, without vocals. And above all in brilliant quality! I'm just thinking of my old vinyl releases: unbelievably bad JA pressings in white covers - not exactly an expression of appreciation on the part of the producer. But soul jazz people are different. They are real sound nerds who carefully preserve and maintain the Coxsone legacy. You have the Dubs remastered from the original tapes, packed into one phat album and decked out with a gorgeous cover art that features Clement Dodd in space orbit. Incidentally, an image inspired by Lone Ranger's 1982 Studio One album Badda Dan Dem, which featured Sir Coxsone at the controls of a spaceship in space on the cover.

Most of these tracks are from the long out of print series of Studio OneDub-Albums released between 1974 and 1980 including Zodiac Sounds, Ital Sounds and System, Roots Dub","Dub Store Special”, “Juks Incorporation” and others. Many of these classic albums were originally only released in Jamaica in limited editions with special screen printed sleeves, all with absolutely minimal designs, which today cost up to £100 on vintage vinyl.

The credit for the Dubs apply to a fictitious "Dub Specialist”, behind which Studio One sound engineer Sylvan Morris should actually be hiding. He, his producer and the brilliant musicians have created many of the best recordings in the reggae genre. They are here as timelessly beautiful Dubs to enjoy.

Rating: 5 out of 5.

One Response to “Studio One Space Age Dub Special "

The "DubTechnology" is of course not that far developed here. Hence these live Dubs for me from the timeless, original Riddims.
When I discovered reggae ( when reggae infected me ) the old Studio One "stuff" was far from being my first choice. The sound quality of the Jamaican sand-beach pressings simply overwhelmed me. On the other hand, everything I first got to know and love about Island Records was premium quality! In fact, it has remained so to this day. Only in the bass range was Island Records not up to date with today's technology.
I owe my entire musical “knowledge” about Studio One Music to this grandiose Soul Jazz Records initiative!!! All of the albums that have come out since have had the sand in the grooves removed and now have a sound that consistently convinces me and reveals the true potential of Studio One to me.

A big "BIG UP" to the SoundNerds from Soul Jazz Records !!! ……………………… Lemmy

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * marked

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Kategorien
Five Star Review

Studio One Space-Age Dub Special

An diesen Dubs kommt niemand vorbei: Studio One Space-Age Dub Special (Soul Jazz). Hier sind sie alle zu hören, die schönen, nie alternden Studio One-Rhythms – und zwar in Reinform, ohne Gesang. Und vor allen in brillanter Qualität! Ich denke da nur an meine alten Vinyl-Releases: Unfassbar schlechte JA-Pressungen in weißen Covern – nicht gerade Ausdruck von Wertschätzung auf Seiten des Produzenten. Aber die Leute Soul Jazz sind anders drauf. Sie sind echte Sound-Nerds, die das Coxsone-Erbe sorgfältig bewahren und pflegen. Sie haben die Dubs von den Originalbändern remastert, auf ein fettes Album gepackt und mit einem wundervollen Cover versehen, das Clement Dodd im Space-Orbit zeigt. Ein Bild übrigens, das von Lone Rangers Studio One-Album „Badda Dan Dem“ von 1982 inspiriert wurde, auf dessen Cover Sir Coxsone am Steuer eines Raumschiffs im Weltraum zu sehen ist.

Die meisten dieser Tracks stammen aus der lange vergriffener Reihe von Studio One-Dub-Alben, die zwischen 1974 und 1980 veröffentlicht wurden, darunter „Zodiac Sounds“, „Ital Sounds and System“, „Roots Dub“, „Dub Store Special“, „Juks Incorporation“ und andere. Viele dieser klassischen Alben wurden ursprünglich nur in Jamaika in kleinen Auflagen mit speziellen Siebdruck-Hüllen veröffentlicht, alle mit absoluten Minimaldesigns, die heute als Vintage-Vinyl bis zu 100 Britische Pfund kosten.

Den Credit für die Dubs gelten einem fiktiven „Dub Specialist“, hinter dem sich tatsächlich Studio One-Sound-Engineer Sylvan Morris verbergen dürfte. Er, sein Produzent und die genialen Musiker haben viele der besten Aufnahmen geschaffen, die das Genre Reggae vorzuweisen hat. Sie sind hier als zeitlos schöne Dubs zu genießen.

Bewertung: 5 von 5.

Eine Antwort auf „Studio One Space-Age Dub Special“

Die „DubTechnik“ ist hier natürlich noch nicht so weit entwickelt. Daher leben diese Dubs für mich von den zeitlosen, original Riddims.
Als ich Reggae entdeckte ( als der Reggae mich infizierte ) gehörten die alten Studio One – „Sachen“ für mich noch lange nicht zur ersten Wahl. Die Klangqualität der jamaikanischen SandStrandPressungen hat mich schlichtweg überfordert. Dagegen war alles, was ich zunächst von Island Records kennen und lieben gelernt habe, Premium Qualität ! Ist es eigentlich auch bis heute geblieben. Lediglich im Bassbereich war Island Records noch nicht auf dem heutigen Stand der Technik.
Mein gesamtes musikalisches „Wissen“ über Studio One Music, verdanke ich dieser grandiosen Soul Jazz Records Initiative !!! Alle Alben, die da erschienen sind, wurden von dem Sand in den Rillen befreit und haben jetzt einen Sound, der mich durchweg überzeugt und mir das wahre Potential von Studio One offenbart.

Ein fettes „BIG UP“ an die SoundNerds von Soul Jazz Records !!! ……………………… lemmi

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.