Categories
Review

Yabby You: Beware Dub

cs3252309-02a-big

Everyone knows Dicky Burton's anthem "Beware, god is watching you", produced by Yabby You. Now here are those Dub-Versions to: "Beware Dub“(Pressure Sounds). And that in two versions: The fantastic one Dub-Original as well as a previously unreleased and even from today's perspective absolutely extraordinary mix, which only consists of organ offbeats and vocals. A nice prelude to a successful re-release of this legendary album from 1978. An album, by the way, that is different from others Dub-Works by Yabby You, not considered all in one go DubAlbum was produced and mixed, but actually was something like a Yabby You 7 ”B-side sampler. The rhythms were recorded by the Revolutionaries and the Gladiators and the Dubs optionally mixed by King Tubby or Prince Jammy. In addition to the ten tracks of the original, the rerelease was supplemented by a further six tracks, of which the Tommy McCook instrumental "Sensiena" is particularly worth mentioning.

Rating 4 stars

One reply to “Yabby You: Beware Dub"

I actually wanted to shut up about this, but I still have some time.
Basically I don't want to say anything against all these re-releases, because I've already filled a lot of holes with them myself. Here, too, I might have two versions, not exactly exactly like that, but I think I'm well stocked when it comes to Yabby You.

At some point someone puts one of the two versions on the plate at some dance (in the warm up) and then I ask myself, hmmmm ....... why do I actually have almost everything from Yabby You but this version is exactly what I am missing ?!

Well, sometimes you just have to have a little courage to take a gap.

Greetings …………………… lemmi

Post a comment

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Kategorien
Dub

Yabby You: Beware Dub

cs3252309-02a-big

Jeder kennt Dicky Burton’s Hymne „Beware, god is watching you“, produziert von Yabby You. Hier gibt’s nun die Dub-Versions dazu: „Beware Dub“ (Pressure Sounds). Und das gleich in zwei Versionen: Das fantastische Dub-Original sowie ein bisher unveröffentlichter und selbst aus heutiger Sicht absolut außergewöhnlicher Mix, der nur aus Orgel-Offbeats und Gesang besteht. Ein schöner Auftakt zu einer gelungenen Wiederveröffentlichung dieses legendären Albums von 1978. Ein Album übrigens, das anders als andere Dub-Werke von Yabby You, nicht in einem Zug als Dub-Album produziert und gemixt wurde, sondern tatsächlich so etwas wie ein Yabby You 7“-B-Seiten-Sampler war. Die Rhythms wurden von den Revolutionaries und den Gladiators eingespielt und die Dubs wahlweise von King Tubby oder Prince Jammy gemixt. Neben den zehn Tracks des Originals, wurde das Rerelease um weitere sechs Tracks ergänzt, von denen vor allem das Tommy McCook-Instrumental „Sensiena“ besonders erwähnenswert ist.

Rating 4 Stars

Eine Antwort auf „Yabby You: Beware Dub“

Ich wollte hierzu eigentlich mal meinen Mund halten aber ich hab noch etwas Zeit.
Im Grunde will ich auch nix gegen diese ganzen Wiederferöffentlichungen sagen, denn ich habe selbst schon viele Löcher damit gestopft. Auch hier habe ich vielleicht zwei Versions nicht exakt genau so aber ich denke mal in Sachen Yabby You bin ich inzwischen gut bestückt.

Irgendwann legt dann jemand bei irgendeinem Dance ( im Warm Up ) einen von den zwei Versions auf den Teller und ich Frage mich dann, hmmmm ……. warum habe ich eigentlich fast alles von Yabby You aber genau diese Version fehlt mir jetzt wider ?!

Naja, manchmal muss man halt auch ein bischen Mut zur Lücke haben.

Greetings …………………… lemmi

Kommentar verfassen

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.