Categories
Five Star Review

Youtie & Macca Dread: Nomad Skank

When we speak of trumpet in reggae, two or three names spontaneously come to mind: Johnny "Dizzy" Moore, Bobby Ellis and David Madden. Since the first album "Silver Wind" by Juliette Bourdeix aka Youtie from 2018, we can add an interpreter to the list. Youtie started playing the trumpet at the age of 6 and started studying classical trumpet at the Paris Conservatory at the age of 17, where she now works as a professor and teaches trumpet playing. She also trained in jazz and improvisation with Ibrahim Maalouf, a French-Lebanese jazz trumpeter and composer. In summer 2019, Youtie & Macca Dread was released "Nomad Skank"(Youtie Records), an instrumentalDub-Album with many sources of inspiration: Reggae, Rocksteady, Ska, Jazz, Balkans, Oriental, Jewish (Klezmer), Spanish-Andalusian and classical music. Both Youtie with her trumpet and numerous melodic arrangements, as well Dubmaster Macca Dread and his mix know how to impress. On the 16 tracks of the album, the oriental influences on tracks like "Oriental Skank" or "Monkey Temple" with wonderful flute playing can be heard very nicely. But also the classic roots reggae like in “Double Rainbow”, “The Wild Horn” and “Irie Land” are by no means neglected. It sounds Andalusian-Spanish with “Al-Andalus”, swing-jazzy with “Swing City”, Cuban with “Jaruco” and Asian with “Pagoda”. In short, a colorful mixture of different musical styles, but all of them from reggae and Dub are inspired and grounded. An excellent musical tour of the world in reggae beat like a piece.
The album is extremely well arranged and not a single second is boring. Above all, the oriental themes give me a lot of fun and put me in a good mood. Comparing Youtie with her famous oriental trumpeter and teacher Ibrahim Maalouf is not too difficult for me here. Nevertheless, “Nomad Skank” bears the very personal signature of Youtie & Macca Dread.

The album also features Youtie's two sisters, Jalaya (Alice Bourdeix) on flute and Clara (Bourdeix) on violin. Macca Dread single-handedly made the riddims in his studio. "Nomad Skank" is an almost overlooked highlight in the reggae sky and reflects a cultural mix that makes up the true wealth of humanity.

PS: Yout (h) ie is sometimes written with and sometimes without an "h". She herself says that the "h" on the cover is wrong!

Rating: 5 out of 5.

4 responses to "Youtie & Macca Dread: Nomad Skank"

Woah ... very nice album! Thanks for introducing Ras Vorbei. More like an instrumental album than Dub, but that doesn’t detract from the beauty (I personally don’t think “Swing City” is so cranky, but it’s only one of 16). What is your star rating like?

When I read the review and your comments on it, my heart becomes very warm. Here I feel safe and at the cutting edge. I found her debut (?) About two years ago to be rather slack and much too good, so now she has packed me full with Nomad Skank. Their melodies and impregnations fulfill my need for "anti-establishment". The feeling of hearing Rebel Music here again is reinforced by the crisp riddims by Macca Dread.

FREE JULIAN ASSANGE !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! …………………. lemmi

Post a comment

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Youtie & Macca Dread: Nomad Skank

Wenn wir im Reggae von Trompete sprechen, fallen uns spontan zwei, drei Namen ein: Johnny „Dizzy“ Moore, Bobby Ellis und David Madden. Seit dem ersten Album „Silver Wind“ von Juliette Bourdeix aka Youtie aus 2018, können wir die Liste um eine Interpretin erweitern. Youtie begann mit 6 Jahren das Trompetenspiel und startete mit 17 Jahren das Studium der klassischen Trompete am Pariser Konservatorium, wo sie heute selbst als Professorin arbeitet und das Trompetenspiel lehrt. Bei Ibrahim Maalouf, einem französisch-libanesischen Jazz Trompeter und Komponisten absolvierte sie außerdem eine Jazz- und Improvisationsausbildung. Im Sommer 2019 erschien nun Youtie & Macca Dread „Nomad Skank“ (Youtie Records), ein Instrumental-Dub-Album mit vielen Inspirationsquellen: Reggae, Rocksteady, Ska, Jazz, Balkan, orientalische, jüdische (Klezmer), spanisch-andalusische und klassische Musik. Sowohl Youtie mit ihrer Trompete und zahlreichen, melodischen Arrangements, als auch Dubmaster Macca Dread mit seinem Mix, wissen hier zu beeindrucken. Auf den 16 Tracks des Albums sind die orientalischen Einflüsse auf Tracks, wie „Oriental Skank“ oder „Monkey Temple“ mit wunderschönem Flötenspiel, sehr schön zu hören. Aber auch der klassische Roots-Reggae wie bei „Double Rainbow“, „The Wild Horn“ und „Irie Land“ kommt keineswegs zu kurz. Andalusisch-spanisch klingt es bei „Al-Andalus“, Swing-jazzig bei „Swing City“, kubanisch bei „Jaruco“ und asiatisch bei „Pagoda“. Kurz, eine bunte Mischung verschiedenster musikalischer Stilrichtungen, die jedoch allesamt vom Reggae und Dub inspiriert und geerdet sind. Eine exzellente musikalische Weltreise im Reggaebeat wie aus einem Guss.
Das Album ist extrem gut arrangiert und keine einzige Sekunde langweilig. Mir bereiten vor allem die orientalischen Themen richtig Spaß und machen gute Laune. Youtie mit ihrem berühmten orientalischen Trompeter und Lehrmeister Ibrahim Maalouf zu vergleichen, fällt mir hier nicht allzu schwer. Dennoch trägt „Nomad Skank“ die ganz persönliche Handschrift von Youtie & Macca Dread.

Auf dem Album sind übrigens auch die beiden Schwestern von Youtie, Jalaya (Alice Bourdeix) an der Flöte und Clara (Bourdeix) an der Geige vereint. Die Riddims hat Macca Dread in seinem Studio im Alleingang angefertigt. „Nomad Skank“ ist ein fast übersehenes Glanzlicht am Reggaehimmel und spiegelt einen kulturellen Mix, der den wahren Reichtum der Menschheit ausmacht.

PS: Yout(h)ie wird mal mit, mal ohne „h“ geschrieben. Sie selbst sagt, das „h“ auf dem Cover sei falsch!

Meine Wertung:

4 Gedanken zu „Youtie & Macca Dread: Nomad Skank“

  1. Woah… sehr feines Album! Danke für’s vorstellen Ras Vorbei. Eher Instrumental-Album als Dub, aber das tut der Schönheit keinen Abbruch („Swing City“ find‘ ich persönlich halt nicht so knorke, aber is‘ ja nur eins aus 16). Wie sieht Deine Sternbewertung aus?

  2. Wenn ich mir die Rezension und eure Kommentare dazu durchlese, wird mir ganz warm ums Herz. Hier fühle ich mich geborgen und am Puls der Zeit. Fand ich doch ihr Debut (?) vor etwa zwei Jahren noch ziemlich lasch und viel zu artig, so hat sie mich jetzt mit Nomad Skank voll gepackt. Ihre Melodien und Imprivisationen erfüllen mein Verlangen nach „Anti-Establishment“. Das Gefühl, hier mal wieder Rebel Music zu hören wird durch die knackigen Riddims von Macca Dread noch bestärkt.

    FREE JULIAN ASSANGE !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! …………………. lemmi

Kommentar verfassen

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.