Categories
Review

Tu Shung Peng: Dub Of light

On the track "Pass The Kushumpeng" (= Tu-Shung-Peng) Frankie Paul sang in 1980:
“I don't smoke cigarettes' cause it will stop I breath; I man don't sniff coke 'cause it will make I choke; All I smoke is the real tu-sheng-peng. "
Ergo, it's about the sacred "Rasta herb". The original instrumental "Darker Shade of Black" comes from Jackie Mittoo and was composed in the late sixties.
In the middle of the month the French Dub-Label ODGProd.com the album of a band named after the sacred "Rasta herb", Tu Shung Peng: "Dub Of light". Almost in line with tradition, the 40-minute long opus is again available as a free download this time.
Unfortunately, there is not much information to be found about Tu Shung Peng. Hopefully that will change soon with the quality of the band. Just this much, there are seven musicians who have already accompanied many Jamaican artists as a backing band such as: Ken Boothe, Michael Rose, U Roy, Derrick Harriott, Clinton Fearon, Justin Hinds and many others on their tour through France. Although many ODGProd artists are more dedicated to the French steppers, Tu Shung Peng spoils us with old school riddims, the true sound of classic roots reggae. All good craftsmanship with a well-presented brass section and arrangements that sometimes reveal soulful-jazzy influences. "Listen To Your Dub“Is a nice example of successful guitar licks, full blowers and magical Nyahbinghi drumming. The quality of the album is devastating, and memories of the early work of Prince Jammy and Scientist spring to mind while listening to it. You really can't complain about that.

Rating: 4 out of 5.

2 responses to "Tu Shung Peng: Dub Of Light "

Yes but hello!

Now that's a nice surprise here. At that time (about 10 years ago) I bought the record with Ras Daniel Ray and I have a very close relationship with the record
entered because it was and is just really awesome roots reggae that you could still get after the 70s. Not because of Ras Daniel Ray (but also), but even more because of the backing band, I was and still am enthusiastic about this record to this day. It was clear that I wished for nothing more than one day Dubs to hear about it or
on my shelf next to the vocal disc. Well, you can't have everything, but I can hear them Dubs at least now. And I can only say that I am very pleased!

Cool runnings ………………… lemmi

Danke sehr Ras Vorbei!

Ca fait super plaisir de savoir qu'on est écouté en Allemagne. On imagine bien qu'il ya des roots reggae lovers chez vous !!!

Positive!

Irie.

Fred
Tu Shung Peng

Post a comment

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Kategorien
Dub

Tu Shung Peng: Dub Of Light

Auf dem Track „Pass The Kushumpeng” (=Tu-Shung-Peng) sang Frankie Paul 1980:
„I don’t smoke cigarettes ’cause it will stop I breath; I man don’t sniff coke ’cause it will make I choke; All I smoke is the real tu-sheng-peng.”
Ergo, es geht um das heilige „Rastakraut”. Das Original-Instrumental „Darker Shade of Black” stammt übrigens von Jackie Mittoo und wurde bereits in den Spät-Sechzigern komponiert.
Mitte des Monats veröffentlichte nun das französische Dub-Label ODGProd.com das Album einer nach dem heiligen „Rastakraut” benannten Band, Tu Shung Peng: „Dub Of Light“. Schon fast traditionsgemäß, ist auch diesmal das über 40-minütige Opus wieder als kostenloser Download zu haben.
Über Tu Shung Peng ist bisher leider noch nicht viel Information zu finden. Das wird sich bei der Qualität der Band aber hoffentlich bald ändern. Nur soviel, es handelt sich um sieben Musiker, die bereits als Backing Band viele jamaikanische Künstler wie: Ken Boothe, Michael Rose, U Roy, Derrick Harriott, Clinton Fearon, Justin Hinds und viele andere auf ihrer Tour durch Frankreich begleiteten. Obwohl viele ODGProd-Künstler sich eher dem französischen Steppers verschrieben haben, verwöhnt uns Tu Shung Peng mit Old School-Riddims, dem wahren Sound des klassischen Roots-Reggaes. Alles gutes Handwerk mit einer bestens aufgelegten Blechbläsersektion und Arrangements die teilweise soulig-jazzige-Einflüsse offenbaren. “Listen To Your Dub” ist ein schönes Beispiel für gelungene Gitarrenlicks, sattem Gebläse und magischen Nyahbinghi-Drummings. Die Qualität des Albums ist umwerfend gut und es schießen einem beim Hören unwillkürlich Erinnerungen an die frühen Arbeiten von Prince Jammy und Scientist in den Kopf. Da kann man doch wirklich nicht meckern.

Bewertung: 4 von 5.

2 Antworten auf „Tu Shung Peng: Dub Of Light“

Ja aber Hallo !

Das is ja jetzt mal ne schöne Überraschung hier. Damals ( vor etwa mind. 10 Jahren ) legte ich mir die Scheibe mit Ras Daniel Ray zu und bin eine sehr innige Beziehung mit der Scheibe
eingegangen, weil das einfach richtig geiler Roots Reggae war und ist, den man nach den 70gern noch bekommen konnte. Nicht wegen Ras Daniel Ray ( aber auch ), sondern noch mehr wegen der Backing Band, war und bin ich von dieser Scheibe bis Heute begeistert. War doch klar, das ich mir nix mehr gewünscht habe, als eines Tages mal die Dubs davon zu hören bzw.
neben die VocalScheibe in mein Regal zu stellen. Naja, man kann nicht alles haben aber hören darf ich die Dubs ja jetzt wenigstens. Und ich kann nur sagen, ich bin sehr erfreut !!!

Cool Runnings ………………… lemmi

Danke sehr Ras Vorbei!

Ca fait super plaisir de savoir qu’on est écouté en Allemagne. On imagine bien qu’il y a des roots reggae lovers chez vous !!!

Positive !

Irie.

Fred,
Tu Shung Peng

Kommentar verfassen

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.