Categories
Review

African Head Charge

CS2811836-02A-BIG

Adrian Sherwood's legendary On-U Sound label is making progress on the mission that began in 2015 to revise the famous back catalog and offer the highlights worthy re-releases. By "worthy" is meant primarily vinyl, remastered by "Dubplates & mastering ”in Berlin“ for maximum bass pressure ”. The start of the new year 2016 is taken over by the first four albums by African Head Charge, the studio project that Sherwood launched with the Jamaican percussionist Bonjo Iyabingi Noah in the early 1980s: My Life In A Hole In The Ground from 1981, Environmental Studies from 1982, Drastic season from 1983 and finally Off the beaten track from 1986. As we know, Sherwood has always been a producer with a wide, very wide horizon. Reggae forms the core of his label's brand, but post-punk, industrial, noise, electronica and verquere Dub-Experiments were also part of the repertoire. In any case, African Head Charge is part of the latter - but with a complete renunciation of reggae. We have to imagine Adrian, Bonjo, and the usual On-U suspects sitting in the basement studio, how they tinker with experimental freeform rhythms, at the center of which are drum, bass and percussion, cut up tapes and try their hand at what later " Sampling "will be called. Occasionally they mix in a couple of weird wind instruments, sometimes voices, or whatever sounds can be processed in the studio. While the first two albums are still in the context of moderate abstraction, mean well with the listener and offer them a continuous rhythm or some African singing, the two following albums are pure experiment. Sherwood describes “Drastic Season” in the following words: Experiments in active frequencies, out of time noises, rhythms within rhythms, and endless tape edits ”. And he's right. Who on Karlheinz Stockhausen-Dub is hereby blessed. For all others it only serves to distinguish them from the mainstream mob. What is the verdict when you listen again in 2016 ?: Important historical documents, but they are not fun.

Rating 2 stars

6 responses to "African Head Charge"

After three tracks I gave up, it's actually not fun. Possibly as a soundtrack for substance abuse ;-)

To come down, I heard a nice new old-style album:
Jerry Harris - Roots Reggae Tracks

That's right, the album is nice. But they are more instrumentals (which is not a problem).

Reply

I can of course understand anyone who messes with these DubExperiments nothing but nothing at all. I personally got to know African Head Charge through "Drastic Season". When I put the record on for the first time, I thought my turntable was running backwards. I hadn't heard anything like that "sick" before and after.
But even then there was already this certain substance with which you could use the curvature of the room to widen your own horizon in the truest sense of the word. One could also maliciously write that I “smoked” the disc for myself. Anyway, after the first two Dub-Experiments I suddenly found the disc really awesome. There are so enraptured Dubs on it that really send you into a kind of parallel universe. And I think that's extremely good when our known universe has become a little too small again.
After that, of course, I needed more of it and so I also got "My Life in a hole in the ground". To this day I only have one Dub found, which I like very much. As an On.U - Sound fanatic I have also bought all other African Head Charge albums and can say that I found the full range of what is possible there. From unheard of bad to inedible to complete enthusiasm, I have experienced everything from African Head Charge. There was once an attempt by Bonjo Iyabingi to release a vocal record with African Head Charge without Adrian Sherwood's involvement. I bought the record without hearing it because I was now a fan of African Head Charge. But even after two attempts and the application - which was almost "improper" - of a certain substance, the disc just didn't get any better. I really stepped on it out of anger with my foot and kicked her into the trash can without touching her hands again.
Still, I have to say that the Dubworld would have a limited horizon without the African Head Charge.
In my life I've had the opportunity to play the DJ here and there and rock the evening, so to speak. I always didn't care how people thought about it, at least I always had two hours first DUB. Of course, not everyone thought that was great, but I got questions from African Head Charge about who it actually is. And in certain circles, African Head Charge has become a very popular change from everyday life.

Well, to cut a long story short …… “My life in a hole in the ground” is not the best advertisement for African Head Charge ……………… ..

"African Head Charge is on the Empire" ………………… .. lemmi

Hehe, I already know a lot DubBut I first had to google the word “connoisseur”. I don't have time for general education. On the one hand, that's probably the case, but on the other hand, I always get a crisis when the sound system can do it for at least two hours Dub hang up, of which I don't know a single one. And if this DubI think all of them have done a good or very good job Dubs, yes even all of my roots Dub Reggae "collection" shit. It then takes two or three days until I get settled again. When I am then immersed in music nirvana again at home and look at my shelves, I think again full of inner satisfaction ……………. "MY DARLING" !

Oh, it's wonderful when you have that little "knock" away ……………… lemmi

Post a comment

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Kategorien
Dub

African Head Charge

CS2811836-02A-BIG

Das legendäre On-U Sound-Label von Adrian Sherwood schreitet voran auf der 2015 begonnenen Mission, den famosen Back-Catalog aufzuarbeiten und den Highlights würdige Wiederveröffentlichungen zu bieten. Unter „würdig“ versteht man hier vor allem Vinyl, remastert bei „Dubplates & Mastering“ in Berlin „for maximum bass pressure“. Den Start ins neue Jahr 2016 übernehmen die ersten vier Alben von African Head Charge, jenem Studio-Projekt also, das Sherwood mit dem jamaikanischen Perkussionisten Bonjo Iyabingi Noah Anfang der 1980er Jahre ins Leben rief: My Life In A Hole In The Ground von 1981, Environmental Studies von 1982, Drastic Season von 1983 und schließlich Off The Beaten Track von 1986. Wie wir wissen, war Sherwood immer schon ein Produzent mit weitem, ja sehr weitem Horizont. Zwar bildet Reggae den Markenkern seines Labels, aber Post Punk, Industrial, Noise, Electronica und verquere Dub-Experimente gehörten ebenso zum Repertoire. African Head Charge jedenfalls ist bei letzterem anzusiedeln – allerdings unter vollständigem Verzicht auf Reggae. Wir müssen uns Adrian, Bonjo, und die üblichen On-U-Verdächtigen im Kellerstudio sitzend vorstellen, wie sie an experimentellen Freiform-Rhythmen basteln, in deren Zentrum Drum, Bass und Percussion stehen, Bänder zerschnippeln und sich an dem versuchen, was später „Sampling“ heißen wird. Sie mischen gelegentlich ein paar schräge Bläser unter, auch mal Stimmen, oder was sich sonst noch so an Sounds im Studio verarbeiten lässt. Während sich die beiden ersten Alben noch im Rahmen mäßiger Abstraktion befinden, es gut mit dem Hörer meinen und ihm auch mal einen durchlaufenden Rhythmus oder etwas afrikanischen Gesang anbieten, sind die beiden folgenden Alben pures Experiment. „Drastic Season“ beschreibt Sherwood mit folgenden Worten: Experiments in active frequencies, out of time noises, rhythms within rhythms, and endless tape edits“. Und Recht hat er. Wer auf Karlheinz Stockhausen-Dub steht, wird hiermit selig. Allen anderen dient es lediglich zur Distinktion vom Mainstream-Pöbel. Wie lautet das Urteil beim Wiederhören im Jahre 2016?: Wichtige historische Dokumente, aber Spaß machen die nicht.

Rating 2 Stars

6 Antworten auf „African Head Charge“

Nach drei Tracks habe ich es aufgegeben, macht tatsächlich keinen Spaß. Evtl als Soundtrack bei Substanzenmissbrauch ;-)

Zum Runterkommen habe dann ein schönes neues Old-Style-Album gehört:
Jerry Harris – Roots Reggae Tracks

Ich kann natürlich jeden verstehen, der mit diesen verqueren Dub-Experimenten nichts aber auch rein gar nichts anfangen kann. Ich persönlich habe African Head Charge durch “Drastic Season” kennengelernt. Als ich die Scheibe das erste mal aufgelegt habe, dachte ich, mein Plattenspieler läuft rückwärts. Sowas “krankes” hatte ich bis dahin und auch danach nicht gehört.
Aber auch damals gab es schon diese gewisse Substanz, mit der man die Krümmung des Raumes quasi nutzen konnte, um den eigenen Horizont im wahrsten sinne des Wortes zu erweitern. Man könnte auch böswillig schreiben, ich habe mir die Scheibe “schöngeraucht”. Wie auch immer, nach den ersten beiden Dub-Experimenten fand ich die Scheibe auf einmal regelrecht genial. Da sind dermaßen entrückte Dubs drauf, die einen wirklich mal in eine Art Paralleluniversum schicken. Und das finde ich extrem gut, wenn einem unser bekanntes Universum mal wieder etwas zu klein geworden ist.
Danach brauchte ich natürlich mehr davon und somit legte ich mir auch “My Life in a hole in the ground” zu. Da habe ich bis heute nur einen einzigen Dub gefunden, der mir aber sehr gut gefällt. Als On.U – Sound Fanatiker habe ich mir auch alle weiteren African Head Charge Alben zugelegt und kann sagen das ich da die gesamte Bandbreite des Machbaren gefunden habe. Von unerhört schlecht über ungenießbar bis hin zu vollkommener Begeisterung habe ich von African Head Charge alles erlebt. Es gab mal den Versuch von Bonjo Iyabingi eine Vocal-Scheibe mit African Head Charge ohne Mitwirkung von Adrian Sherwood rauszubringen. Ich habe mir die Scheibe ungehört zugelegt, da ich inzwischen Fan von African Head Charge war. Aber selbst nach zwei Versuchen und der Anwendung – die fast schon ins “Missbräuchliche” ging – von einer gewissen Substanz, wurde die Scheibe einfach nicht besser. Ich habe da wirklich aus Wut mit dem Fuß draufgetreten und sie ohne nochmal mit den Händen zu berühren in den Mülleimer gekickt.
Dennoch muss ich sagen, das die Dubwelt ohne African Head Charge einen eingeschränkten Horizont hätte.
Ich hatte in meinem Leben auch schon öfter die Gelegenheit, hier und da mal den DJ zu spielen und sozusagen den Abend zu rocken. Mir war es immer vollkommen wurscht, wie die Leute das finden, jedenfalls gab es bei mir immer erst mal zwei Stunden DUB. Natürlich fanden das nicht alle toll aber ich habe ausgerechnet bei African Head Charge Nachfragen bekommen, wer das eigentlich ist. Und in gewissen Kreisen wurde African Head Charge zu einer sehr beliebten Abwechslung ihres Alltags.

Naja, lange Rede kurzer Sinn ……”My Life in a hole in the Ground” ist auch aus meiner Sicht nicht die beste Werbung für African Head Charge ………………..

“African Head Charge is on the Empire” ………………….. lemmi

Hehe, ich kenne zwar schon viele Dubs aber das Wort “Connoisseur” musste ich erst mal googeln. Für Allgemeinbildung habe ich keine Zeit. Einerseits trfft das wohl schon zu aber andererseits bekomme ich immer ne Krise, wenn die Soundsystems es schaffen mindestens zwei stunden Dub aufzulegen, von dem ich nicht einen einzigen kenne. Und wenn diese Dubs dann auch noch gut bzw. sehr gut reingehauen haben, finde ich alle meine Dubs, ja sogar meine ganze Roots Dub Reggae “Sammlung” scheiße. Das dauert dann so zwei drei Tage, bis ich mich wieder einjekricht habe. Wenn ich dann zuhause auch wieder ins Musiknirvana eingetaucht bin und so in meine Regale schaue, denke ich dann wieder voller innerer Zufriedenheit ……………. “MEIN SCHATZ” !

Hach, es is doch herrlich, wenn man sonen kleinen “hau” weg hat ……………… lemmi

Kommentar verfassen

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.