Categories
Five Star Review

Christos DC: Tessera Dub

They actually still exist Dub-Albums preceded by an original vowel counterpart. We are talking about "Card Dub“(Honest Music) that DubAlbum one Christos DC, an American multi-instrumentalist with Greek roots. Both for the vocal parts of the vocal album "Tessera" and for the Dub-Mixes, Christos DC invited tons of illustrious guests and the great thing is, everyone made a fantastic contribution. Of the total of 12 tracks on the 2017 album, five were left to Laurent “Tippy I” Alfred to do the mixing. He does - as always (e.g. Dub Chronicles, Akae Beka) - his thing is perfect and delivers stripped down tracks with rich bass and drums. The relaxed “What Is Happening Dub“Convinces with the ethereal vowel fragments of an Akae Beka (Vaughn Benjamin) and the effects floating above the lush riddims. Overall, I like everyone Dubs that were created under the care of Tippy I. But also all other sound engineers, such as B. Mad Professor (GB), Jah Servant (CDN), Dub Architect (USA), Paolo Baldini (I), Mr. B (CH) inspire with good craftsmanship and all deliver gripping, very relaxed Dubs - possibly too relaxed for some. Paolo Baldini (Ex-Africa Unite) was given “Boots & Tie” for editing. The riddim from 1980 is unmistakably from Sly & Robbie. Paolo Baldini mixes the “Boots & Tie Dub“Like he's always been part of the taxi gang. The crisp mix is ​​actually reminiscent of the early work of a scientist. With “Desperate Dub“, A Nina Simone Original, is what Canada-based Jah Servant (Mark Giles) demonstrates.

Christos DC's “Tessera Dub“Inspires me on all levels. A brilliant work, the most diverse Dubs represented from different regions of the world and yet shines as a self-contained complete work. My respect goes to everyone who was involved in this project and who put together such a varied album.

Rating: 5 out of 5.

3 replies to “Christos DC: Tessera Dub"

High Ras Vorbei !

Maybe it would be better if I'd rather wait a few days with my comment. I don't want to spread “bad vibes” again right away. “Bad Vibes” is probably a bit too negative and I may not be in good shape today. Anyway, they have me DubIt's really not that packed here. I guess I belong to the group that is not relaxed enough at least for the moment to share your enthusiasm for this album.
I went back to October 2018 to see if it was really Tippy I that I celebrated in connection with the Zion I Kings. It was actually him who I put a huge “laurel wreath” around his DubHead down. I couldn't believe how good and good he is with the versions. I also know Paolo Baldini well
crisper and bolder. He managed to get Mellow Mood to at least “In Dub“I really like it. Usually they are much too “normal” for me. The example of “Boots and Tie” by Sly and Robbie makes it very clear to me. His Dubversion really bores me a little, whereas the version on the vocal disc knocks me off my feet. I didn't even know the tune from Sly and Robbie. And then with Mad Professor I finally realized where my problem with this album was. Mad Professor is - for me - always weak, even when the riddim is weak too. And although the drums here sometimes approach Style Scott, the basslines don't even make it into the hallway with me. With the best will in the world, I can't explain rationally when a bassline grabs me and when it doesn't. Almost all of these drip off me. ???????????????????????????????????????????
All right with you lemmi ???????????????????????
Is something else. Actually, I should completely delete my comment, but I'll leave it as it is. Everything I wrote above describes my first hearing impression. When I listened again to check my impression again, I looked for the basslines that were draining completely on me and I couldn't find a single one that I didn't care about.
Now I thought again, the whole disc isn't that bad after all! Well, some people might go to the doctor now at the latest and relax a little on the couch, but what should I do, my inner conflict is the purest for me
Normal state. Maybe my "bad vibes" in the first part of my comment released a blockage in me, so that the second time I didn't have a stake in my head and the quality of the Dubs could perceive better. Besides, I'll probably always look for the fly in the ointment so I don't have to finish every soup. Because too much food makes you fat and full.

"Mama Hungry Papa Hungry, do something for the poor, open up the door" ………………………………… .. lemmi

Not the big hit, but a technically through & through successful album. As a streamer, I didn't know who they were Dubmixer were - to me it sounded like a single one. Not even close :)
Anyway: Neil Young's "Heart of Gold" ... what more could you ask for!

That's awesome!

Today, almost a whole year later, I actually ordered the record. I remembered it as a very well rated album and Dubs that can be bought are pretty good for me anyway.
But I also wanted to know again how I found this disc when I only got to hear the data. And as I read through the first part of my comment here, I just thought, “oh no! why have I ordered the part now?! ”Fortunately, I read my comment to the end and can now look forward to the disc.

Somehow my subconscious already suspected at the time that it was worth reconsidering the first opinion.

This is how it can go …………………………… lemmi

Post a comment

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Kategorien
Dub Five Star

Christos DC: Tessera Dub

Es gibt sie tatsächlich noch, die Dub-Alben, denen ein originäres Vokal-Pendant vorausgeht. Die Rede ist von “Tessera Dub” (Honest Music), das Dub-Album eines Christos DC, einem amerikanischen Multiinstrumentalisten mit griechischen Wurzeln. Sowohl für die Gesangsparts des Vocal-Albums “Tessera” als auch für die Dub-Mixes hat Christos DC jede Menge illustre Gäste geladen und das Tolle daran ist, alle haben einen fantastischen Beitrag abgeliefert. Von den insgesamt 12 Tracks des 2017er Albums, wurden fünf Laurent “Tippy I” Alfred fürs Mixing überlassen. Er macht – wie immer (z. B. Dub Chronicles, Akae Beka) – seine Sache perfekt und liefert abgespeckte Tracks mit sattem Bass und Drums. Der relaxte “What Is Happening Dub” überzeugt mit den ätherischen Vokal-Fragmenten eines Akae Beka (Vaughn Benjamin) und den über den satten Riddims schwebenden Effekten. Insgesamt gefallen mir alle Dubs, die unter der Obhut von Tippy I entstanden sind. Aber auch alle anderen Sound-Engineers, wie z. B. Mad Professor (GB), Jah Servant (CDN), Dub Architect (USA), Paolo Baldini (I), Mr. B (CH) begeistern mit gutem Handwerk und liefern allesamt packende, sehr relaxte Dubs – für einige möglicherweise zu relaxt. Paolo Baldini (Ex-Africa Unite) wurde “Boots & Tie” zur Bearbeitung übertragen. Der Riddim aus dem Jahr 1980 stammt unüberhörbar von Sly & Robbie. Paolo Baldini mischt daraus den “Boots & Tie Dub”, als wäre er schon immer Teil der Taxi-Gang. Der crispe Mix erinnert tatsächlich an die frühen Arbeiten eines Scientist. Bei “Desperate Dub”, einem Nina Simone Original, zeigt der in Kanada ansässige Jah Servant (Mark Giles) sein Können.

Christos DCs “Tessera Dub” begeistert mich auf allen Ebenen. Ein brillantes Werk, das unterschiedlichste Dubs aus den verschiedensten Regionen der Erde repräsentiert und dennoch als in sich geschlossenes Gesamtwerk erstrahlt. Meine Hochachtung geht an alle, die an diesem Projekt beteiligt waren und ein solch abwechslungsreiches Album auf die Beine gestellt haben.

Bewertung: 5 von 5.

2 Antworten auf „Christos DC: Tessera Dub“

High Ras Vorbei !

Vielleicht wäre es besser, wenn ich mit meinem Kommentar lieber mal ein paar Tage warte. Ich möchte ja nicht gleich schon wieder “Bad Vibes” verbreiten. “Bad Vibes” ist wahrscheinlich auch ein bischen zu negativ ausgedrückt und eventuell habe ich heute mal wieder keine gute Tagesform. Jedenfalls haben mich die Dubs hier echt nicht so gepackt. Ich gehöre wohl zu der Fraktion, die zumindest im Moment nicht relaxt genug ist, um deine Begeisterung für dieses Album zu teilen.
Ich bin bis in den Oktober 2018 zurückgegangen, um noch mal zu schauen, ob es wirklich Tippy I war, den ich im Zusammenhang mit den Zion I Kings, so abgefeiert habe. Er war es tatsächlich, dem ich einen riesigen “Lorbeerkranz” um seinen DubKopf gelegt habe. Ich konnte es nicht glauben, wie brav und artig er hier mit den Versions umgeht. Auch Paolo Baldini kenne ich wesentlich
knackiger und frecher. Er hat es geschafft, das mir Mellow Mood zumindest “In Dub” richtig gut gefällt. Normalerweise sind die mir auch viel zu “normal / gewöhnlich”. Am Beispiel “Boots and Tie” von Sly and Robbie wird es für mich ganz deutlich. Seine Dubversion langweilt mich regelrecht ein wenig, wohingegen die Version auf der VocalScheibe mich komplett von den Socken haut. Den Tune kannte ich noch gar nicht von Sly and Robbie. Und bei Mad Professor ist mir dann entgültig klar geworden, wo mein Problem mit diesem Album liegt. Mad Professor ist – für mich – auch dann immer schwach, wenn der Riddim auch schwach ist. Und obwohl hier die Drums zeitweise auch an Style Scott heranreichen, schaffen es die Basslines bei mir noch nicht mal bis in den Flur. Das kann ich beim besten Willen nicht rational erklären, wann mich eine Bassline packt und wann nicht. Diese hier tropfen nahezu alle an mir ab. ???????????????????????????????????????????
Alles klar mit Dir lemmi ???????????????????????
Is mal was anderes. Eigentlich müsste ich meinen Kommentar komplett löschen aber ich lasse ihn mal so stehen. Alles was ich oben schrieb, beschreibt meinen ersten Höreindruck. Als ich nun nochmal reingehört habe, um meinen Eindruck erneut zu überprüfen, suchte ich nach den Basslines, die komplett an mir abtropften und ich fand keine Einzige, die mir so ganz egal war.
Jetzt dachte ich wieder, is doch gar nicht so schlecht die ganze Scheibe ! Nunja, manch einer würde vielleicht spätestens jetzt mal zum Arzt gehen und ein wenig auf der Couch relaxen aber was soll ich machen, meine innere Zerrissenheit ist für mich der reinste
Normalzustand. Eventuell haben meine “Bad Vibes” im ersten Teil meines Kommentars eine Blockade in mir gelöst, so das ich beim zweiten mal keinen Pflock mehr im Kopf hatte und die Qualität der Dubs besser wahrnehmen konnte. Außerdem werde ich wohl immer nach dem Haar in der Suppe suchen, damit ich nicht jede Suppe aufessen muss. Denn zu viel Essen macht dick und satt.

“Mama Hungry Papa Hungry, do something for the poor, open up the door” ………………………………….. lemmi

Nicht der große Wurf, aber ein handwerklich durch & durch gelungenes Album. Als Streamer wußte ich nicht, wer die Dubmixer waren – für mich hat es nach einem Einzigen angehört. Weit gefehlt :)
Wie auch immer: Neil Youngs “Heart of Gold”… was will man mehr!

Kommentar verfassen

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.