Categories
Review

Pachyman: At 333 House

So here we have a release called "from scratch" as Dub-Album was designed; a production that was probably created out of joy and love for classic reggae or analog Dub-Technique originated. But the album also seems to correspond to a trend that has been heard more and more recently: It presents a sound image that gives the impression that one is with the artist in a rather musty, dull rehearsal room padded for sound insulation. Nothing is embellished there; the loud hi-hat and the cymbals sound tinny, the bass drum and the bass sound dry and flat. Musicians will feel transported back to their beginnings when they listen - back then, with the band in the damp, cold basement for whom the term “rehearsal room” was a bad joke. 

So a sound that has nothing to do with the deep bass and the sharp highs of e.g. Jamaican productions. In this respect, classic Dubheads no great pleasure in Pachyman's "At 333 House“(Mock Records) have. It is the second (solo) album by the LA-based Puerto Rican who obviously draws the inspiration for his self-written and almost single-handedly recorded riddims from the late 70s. He is not alone in this either; In the last few months there have been productions that have dedicated themselves in every respect to the golden era of reggae. The Revolutionaries or the early Roots Radics send their regards - if it was great then, why not today?

This concept only works to a limited extent. Pachyman may be talented and able to play multiple instruments - but that all seems just average. The quality of his bass runs ranges from unspeakable boredom (“Smokeshop”) to wonderfully groovy (“Babylon Will Fall”). The sound mix is ​​difficult and tiring, as the instruments are almost equally loud, i.e. mixed without dynamics. The Dub-Mix per se is unspectacular and devoid of any highlights: Sometimes a reverb, here a reverb; Pachyman is rather stingy with echo and the Mad Professor is much better at the bass, which is pitched high in places. And between us: Fade-outs are no longer necessary or common today, you can also use them as Dub-Mixer conjure up brilliant things.

So is it safe to throw “At 333 House” off the playlist again? Maybe; but one should readily admit to Pachyman that there is a lot of potential. I suspect he could use it better if he left the cocoon and had his ideas filtered, animated and implemented by the band, mixing engineer or sound engineer. Well worth a try, Pachyman.

Rating: 2 out of 5.

6 replies to "Pachyman: At 333 House"

Hi,

after listening to the album twice, I have to break a lance for Pachy García aka Pachyman. When I close my eyes, the work sounds almost 2: 1 like a classic Roots Radics album, and in my opinion there are much worse and more boring elaborates from the Radics. Flabba Holt's bass runs are not always the best. For a Puerto Rican living in the USA who did almost everything himself, “At 1 House” sounds like it was made in the late 333s - the heyday of reggae. In short, that bad, musty and boring, I don't find Pachyman's new album with the best of intentions.

Hello everyone …… .. we are Audio Active!

Yes, I had to smile warmly first. The sound is reminiscent of the “damp, cold cellar from back then” and that's what it means
Label also “Mock Records”, as if you can even smell the damp, cold “SchimmelSound”.
Since my bed at home is often teeming with silverfish (lemmi, you are sometimes really disgusting) I feel very secure in this ambience and in this atmosphere and can't find that much bad thing about it. The opposite of that would be against this sterility, which we have often thrown out of all imaginable playlists. For some time now, the golden mean has been with Umberto Echo, Aldubb and dem Dubvisionists as well as with Paolo Baldini
and surely you can list more examples ...... but should be enough for now.
I feel the quality of the bass runs almost the same way. “Smokeshop” is a “nice” example of a slack bassline and
“Babylon Will Fall” could also come from the pen of Errol “Flabba” Holt. Whereby I see it like RasVorbei that even a Flabba Holt has not conjured up the most global, all bad, bassline every day. Since we are positive people, we only remember the good basslines that Flabba Holt produced with his gold fingers
and hopefully continue to be produced. Most of Pachyman's bass lines have the Jamaican groove or charm
and therefore meet me in the middle of my reggae heart. You only notice that Pachyman doesn't have as much strength in his fingers as for example Flabba Holt or Robbie Shakespeare. At least I imagine that I can tell whether someone is having trouble following the bass line with their fingers or whether the fingers can create the groove with a certain “carefree ease of being”. For me, Pablo Gad from ASWAD is one of those bass players who can handle the bass lines by themselves. Of course there is more ...... .. but it should be enough for now.
I'm not one of the classic ones Dubheads, because I like almost all varieties of reggae and that's why I would have been happy with this album, but when it comes to streaming it is just like the water of a river
- in the true sense of the word - flows past me and then completely goes down the drain. It then gathers somewhere in the great ocean of music and just maybe comes back to me as a scattered rain drop.
If all of these Dubs had been made in Victor Rice's echo chamber, I wouldn't be the least bit surprised. Sounds almost exactly like Victor Rice to me, even if he usually screws the nipples a little more enthusiastically.
In any case, I do not find the MusicDataPackage bad under any circumstances and not in the least boring. If there is anything
sounds musty, so that would by far not be the first time and, as I have already mentioned before, not that bad, as long as the music is good.
I feel the same way with this album as with many others. If I haven't been that long Dub resp. Reggae and if I didn't already know so much, then this album would have to take me home. So I listen to another Victor Rice album and am happy that it is MINE.

Greetings ……………… .. lemmi

Flabba H. should almost only play with his thumb, with Robbie S. I've seen it before. So because of powerful fingers :)

A tip about Pachyman: His videos on Instagram & YouTube - if you have the optics with you, the tracks are imo more interesting.

You are of course right that the icons sometimes miss the mark in the course of your work. I am currently working intensively on the “deeper in dub“Spotify playlist that deals with Dubs busy in the late 70's and early 80's. There is a lot of fine work there, but also some sound-technical garbage. I was a bit surprised because I thought this time span for the golden era of the Dubs or reggaes and the studio technology was already more advanced (than, for example, in Black Ark times). In the end, however, I find it liberating when you sometimes pull your musical heroes off the podium and recalibrate your own musical value system.

@lemmi
“I feel the same way with this album as with many others. If I haven't been that long Dub resp. reggae and if I didn't already know so much, then this album would have to take me home. "

It couldn't have been phrased more accurately. With the tide that rolls over us every day, many good to very good albums don't get the recognition they deserve in the least. That is exactly the problem for all of us, “the dose makes the poison”. We are simply overfed. Every day a new, groundbreaking one Dub- Finding album may not work. That was at the beginning of the Dub unthinkable anyway, but even today no sound engineer canDubbing "reinvent. For this reason, I often stretch my feelers for other things Dub-Games from. A fresh wind is always good.

Above all, my “problem” is that of everyone Dub like. No matter how much hair I have in the UK unitDub-Soup find over a uk-DubI would still be happy to dance in our street. Just shouldn't last all night.
Then all of the "do-it-yourselfers" with ProTools and a computer mixer, sometimes quite passable Dubscrew s together. I can't or won't ignore all of them. But my main interest is with records like "Heavy Rain" !!! On the one hand, because Alte Liebe never rusts and becomes deeper and more intimate through such albums. On the other hand, because not only the engineer is a positively crazy sound researcher here, but the entire team and above all the musicians. Here you don't just cook with water, but with very special ingredients that are difficult or impossible to open up to an earthly palate. And it gets really exciting when you boil water in a vacuum. Then 20 degrees Celsius is enough and the same thing happens as with atmosphere. Fascinating, if I may quote good old Spock.
Well, I just don't get to the point. On the one hand, I mainly look here at the DubBlog daily to see if there is a new one Dub there and on the other hand I wish that there are no new ones DubThere's more so I can get my whole old one Dubs
can finally hear it as often as it deserves.
Don't you listen to me !!! Forget my bullshit and hit them Dubs in here until all the servers burn up. Without your tips I am nobody and I can imagine much worse problems than basically anyone Dub to like.
And if not with everyone Dub freak out completely, then only because I want to have a normal moment in my life. I don't really need a breath of fresh air either. For me the wind just has to come from the right direction. If I want to go north, the wind should ideally come directly from the south and all other points of the compass behave accordingly. Unfortunately, the wind can't always know where I'm going.

I think I want to go home ……………………… lemmi

[...] My colleague gtkriz once criticized Pachy's sound harshly: “It presents a sound image that gives the impression of being with the artist in a rather musty, dull rehearsal room padded for sound insulation. Nothing is embellished there; the loud hi-hat and the cymbals sound tinny, the bass drum and the bass are dry and flat. ”Well, where he's right, he's right. But the question is: is it really to be assessed so negatively? Or should retroDub doesn't sound like that? If you answer yes to the last question, then of course the follow-up question immediately follows: Why the copy when there is the original? Which brings us to the philosophical proseminar. That's why I don't want to go into further depth here, but simply to announce: I like his new album "The Return oh Pachyman" exceptionally well. the DubIt's wonderfully playful, the melodies nestle in my ears and the mix makes for good entertainment. And yes: I also enjoy deciphering the many quotations. I get the feeling that Pachyman and I are "one of an kind". That's why I like him, I like to watch him in his basement studio and hear "Return ..." when I'm in a good mood. Welcome back Pachy! [...]

Post a comment

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Kategorien
Dub

Pachyman: At 333 House

Hier haben wir also eine Veröffentlichung, die „from scratch“ als Dub-Album konzipiert wurde; eine Produktion, die wohl aus Freude und Liebe zum klassischen Reggae bzw. zur analogen Dub-Technik entstanden ist. Das Album scheint aber auch einem Trend zu entsprechen, der in letzter Zeit vermehrt zu hören ist: Es präsentiert ein Klangbild, dass den Eindruck erweckt, als würde man sich mit dem Künstler in einen ziemlichen muffigen, dumpfen, zur Schallisolierung ausgepolsterten Proberaum befinden. Da ist nichts geschönt; das laute Hi-Hat und die Becken klingen blechern, die Bass-Drum als auch der Bass trocken und flach. Musiker werden sich beim Hören an ihre Anfänge zurückversetzt fühlen – damals, mit der Band im feuchten, kalten Keller für den die Bezeichnung „Proberaum“ ein schlechter Witz war. 

Ein Sound also, der so gar nichts mit den tiefen Bässen und den scharfen Höhen von z.B. jamaikanischen Produktionen zu tun hat. Insofern werden klassische Dubheads keine große Freude an Pachyman’s „At 333 House“ (Mock Records) haben. Es ist das zweite (Solo-)Album des in LA lebenden Puerto-Ricaners, der die Inspiration für seine selbstgeschriebenen und nahezu im Alleingang eingespielten Riddims offensichtlich aus den späten 70ern bezieht. Auch damit ist er nicht allein; in den letzten Monaten gab es immer wieder Produktionen, die sich in jeglicher Hinsicht der goldenen Ära des Reggaes verschrieben haben. Die Revolutionaries oder die frühen Roots Radics lassen grüßen – wenn es damals schon großartig war, warum nicht auch heute?

Dieses Konzept geht nur bedingt auf. Pachyman mag zwar talentiert sein und mehrere Instrumente spielen können – dass alles aber anscheinend nur durchschnittlich. Die Qualität seiner Bassläufe reicht von unsäglicher Langeweile („Smokeshop“) bis wunderbar groovend („Babylon Will Fall“). Der Sound-Mix ist schwierig und ermüdend, da die Instrumente annähernd gleich laut, sprich ohne Dynamik, abgemischt sind. Der Dub-Mix per se ist unspektakulär und bar jeglicher Höhepunkte: Da mal ein Hall, hier mal ein Hall; mit Echo geht Pachyman ziemlich knausrig um und die stellenweise hochgepitchten Bässe hat der Mad Professor wesentlich besser drauf. Und unter uns: Fade-outs sind heute nicht mehr notwendig oder üblich, da kann man gerade auch als Dub-Mixer geniale Sachen zaubern.

Kann man „At 333 House“ also getrost wieder aus der Playlist schmeissen? Vielleicht; man sollte aber Pachyman ohne weiteres zugestehen, dass da gefühlt jede Menge Potential vorhanden ist. Ich vermute er könnte es besser nutzen, wenn er den Kokon verlassen und seine Ideen von Band, Mixing-Engineer bzw. Tontechniker filtern, beleben und umsetzen ließe. Einen Versuch wäre es wert, Pachyman.

Bewertung: 2 von 5.

5 Antworten auf „Pachyman: At 333 House“

Hi,

nachdem ich mir jetzt 2x das Album durchgehört habe, muss ich nun doch für Pachy García aka Pachyman eine Lanze brechen. Wenn ich die Augen schließe, hört sich das Werk beinahe 1:1 wie ein klassisches Roots Radics Album an und von den Radics gibt es meines Erachtens wesentlich schlechtere und langweiligere Elaborate. Auch Bassläufe von Flabba Holt sind nicht immer das Gelbe vom Ei. Für einen in den USA lebenden Puertorikaner, der fast alles in Eigenarbeit bewerkstelligt hat, klingt “At 333 House” als wäre es in den späten 70ern – ergo der Blütezeit des Reggaes – entstanden. Kurz, so schlecht, muffig und langweilig finde ich Pachyman’s neues Album jetzt beim besten Willen nicht.

Hello everyone …….. we are Audio Active !

Ja ich musste erst mal herzlich schmunzeln. Der Sound erinnert an den “feuchten kalten Keller von damals” und dann heist das
Label auch noch “Mock Records”,so als ob man den feuchten kalten “SchimmelSound” sogar riechen kann.
Da mein Bett Zuhause oft vor Silberfischen nur so wimmelt ( lemmi, du bist manchmal ganz schön eklig ) fühle ich mich in diesem Ambiente und in dieser Atmosphäre jedoch sehr geborgen und kann da gar nicht so viel schlechtes dran finden. Das Gegenteil davon wäre ja dann wider diese Sterilität, die wir ja auch schon oft aus allen erdenklichen Playlisten geschmissen haben. Die goldene Mitte liegt da für mich seit geraumer Zeit bei Umberto Echo, Aldubb und dem Dubvisionisten sowie auch bei Paolo Baldini
und sicherlich kann man da noch weitere Beispiele aufzählen …… aber soll erst mal reichen.
Die Qualität der Bassläufe, empfinde ich nahezu genauso. “Smokeshop” ist ein “schönes” Beispiel für eine schlaffe Bassline und
“Babylon Will Fall” könnte auch aus der Feder eines Errol “Flabba” Holt stammen. Wobei ich es wie RasVorbei sehe, das auch ein Flabba Holt nicht jeden Tag die weltumspannenste, alles Böse niederwalzende, Bassline hervorgezaubert hat. Da wir positiv eingestellte Menschen sind, merken wir uns aber nur die guten Basslines, die Flabba Holt mit seinen Goldfingern produziert hat
und hoffentlich weiterhin produziert. Die meisten Basslines von Pachyman haben aber den jamaikanischen Groove bzw. Charme
und treffen mich von daher doch mitten in mein ReggaeHerz. Man merkt lediglich, das Pachyman nicht so viel Kraft in seinen Fingern hat, wie zum Beispsiel Flabba Holt oder Robbie Shakespeare. Ich bilde mir umindest ein, das ich es heraushören kann, ob jemand Mühe hat, dem Basslauf mit seinen Fingern zu folgen oder ob die Finger den Groove mit einer gewissen “unbeschwerten Leichtigkeit des Seins” erzeugen können. Pablo Gad von ASWAD ist für mich auch so ein Bassist, dem die Basslines wie von selbst von der Hand gehen. Natürlich gibt es da noch mehr …….. aber soll erst mal reichen.
Ich gehöre ja nicht zu den klassischen Dubheads, denn ich mag nahezu alle Spielarten von Reggae und deshalb hätte ich mit diesem Album durchaus auch meine Freude aber beim Streamen ist es nunmal so, das es genauso wie das Wasser eines Flusses
– im warsten Sinne des Wortes – an mir vorbeiströmt und danach dann komplett den Bach runter geht. Es sammelt sich dann irgendwo im großen Ozean der Musiken und kommt nur vielleicht als vereinzeltes Regentröpfchen zu mir zurück.
Wenn all diese Dubs in der Echokammer von Victor Rice entstanden wären, würde ich mich nicht im geringsten wundern. Klingt für mich nahezu exakt nach Victor Rice auch wenn dieser meistens doch noch etwas enthusiastischer an den Nippeln schraubt.
Jedenfalls finde ich das MusikDatenPaket auch auf keinen Fall schlecht und auch nicht im geringsten langweilig. Wenn es etwas
muffig klingt, so wäre das bei weitem nicht das erste mal und wie ich das schon öfter mal erwähnte, auch nicht so schlimm, solange die Musik was taugt.
Es geht mir mit diesem Album genauso, wie mit vielen anderen auch. Wenn ich nicht schon so lange Dub bzw. Reggae hören würde und wenn ich nicht schon so viel kennen würde , dann müsste dieses Album mit zu mir nach Hause. So höre ich mir ein anderes Victor Rice Album an und freue mich, das es MEINS ist.

Greetings ……………….. lemmi

Flabba H. dürfte fast nur mit dem Daumen spielen, bei Robbie S. hab’ ich’s auch schon öfter gesehen. Also von wegen kraftvollen Fingern :)

Ein Tipp noch zu Pachyman: Seine Videos auf Instagram & YouTube – wenn man die Optik dabei hat, werden die Tracks imo interessanter.

Ihr habt natürlich recht damit, dass auch die Ikonen mitunter ziemlich danebenhauen im Lauf Ihres Schaffens. Ich arbeite gerade intensiv an der “deeper in dub” Spotify-Playlist, die sich mit Dubs der späten 70er und frühen 80er beschäftigt. Da gibt es viele, viele feine Arbeiten, aber auch einigen soundtechnischen Müll. Hat mich etwas überrascht, weil ich diese Zeitspanne für die goldene Ära des Dubs bzw. Reggaes schlechthin halte und auch die Studiotechnik schon fortgeschrittener war (als z.B. zu Black Ark-Zeiten). Schlussendlich finde ich’s aber befreiend, wenn man seine musikalischen Heros mitunter vom Podest runterholt und das eigene musikalische Wertesystem re-kalibriert.

@lemmi
“Es geht mir mit diesem Album genauso, wie mit vielen anderen auch. Wenn ich nicht schon so lange Dub bzw. Reggae hören würde und wenn ich nicht schon so viel kennen würde , dann müsste dieses Album mit zu mir nach Hause.”

Treffender hätte man es nicht formulieren können. Bei der Flut, die tagtäglich über uns hinwegrollt, erfahren viele gute bis sehr gute Alben nicht im geringsten die ihnen zustehende Anerkennung. Das ist ganz genau unser aller Problem, “die Dosis macht das Gift”. Wir sind schlichtweg überfüttert. Jeden Tag ein neues, wegweisendes Dub-Album zu finden, kann nicht funktionieren. Das war zu Beginn des Dub sowieso undenkbar, aber auch heute kann kein Sound-Engineer das “Dubbing” neu erfinden. Aus diesem Grund strecke ich auch häufig meine Fühler nach andersartigen Dub-Spielarten aus. Frischer Wind tut immer gut.

Mein “Problem” ist vor allem auch, das mir im Grunde jeder Dub gefällt. Egal wie viele Haare ich in der UK-EinheitsDub-Suppe finde, über einen Uk-DubDance in unserer Straße würde ich mich trotzdem freuen. Sollte nur nicht die ganze Nacht dauern.
Dann diese ganzen “Heimwerker” die mit ProTools und Computermischpult teilweise auch ganz passable Dubs zusammenschrauben. Kann bzw. will ich auch nicht alle ignorieren. Aber mein Hauptinterresse liegt bei Scheiben wie “Heavy Rain”!!! Zum Einen, weil Alte Liebe Niemals Rostet und durch solche Alben noch tiefer und inniger wird. Zum Anderen, weil hier nicht nur der Engineer ein positiv durchgeknallter SoundForscher ist, sondern das gesamte Team und vor allem die Musiker. Hier wird eben nicht einfach nur mit Wasser gekocht, sondern mit ganz speziellen Zutaten, die sich einem irdischen Gaumen nicht oder nur sehr schwer erschließen. Und richtig spannend wird es, wenn man Wasser im Vakuum kocht. Dann reichen schon 20 grad Celsius und es passiert das Selbe, wie bei Atmosphäre. Faszinierend, wenn ich den guten alten Spock mal zitieren darf.
Also, ich bekomme das einfach nicht auf den Punkt. Einerseits schaue ich vor allem hier im DubBlog täglich nach, ob es denn einen neuen Dub gibt und andererseits wünsche ich mir, das es keine neuen Dubs mehr gibt, damit ich meine ganzen alten Dubs
endlich gebührend oft hören kann.
Hört bloß nicht auf mich !!! Vergesst meinen Schwachsinn und haut die Dubs hier rein, bis alle Server verglühen. Ohne eure Tips bin ich niemand und ich kann mir viel schlimmere Probleme vorstellen, als im Grunde jeden Dub zu mögen.
Und wenn ich nicht bei jedem Dub vollkommen ausflippe, dann nur, weil ich auch mal einen normalen Moment in meinem Leben haben möchte. Ich brauche auch eigentlich gar keinen frischen Wind. Für mich muss der Wind nur immer aus der richtigen Richtung kommen. Wenn ich nach Norden will, sollte der Wind am besten direkt aus Süden kommen und dementsprechend verhält es sich mit allen anderen Himmelsrichtungen. Leider kann der Wind auch nicht immer wissen, wo ich denn nun gerade hin will.

Ich glaub ich will nach Hause ……………………… lemmi

Kommentar verfassen

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.