Categories
Review

Stefanosis meets Samson Benji: Brass Echo Chamber

The Cypriot Dubophonic Records have just re-released an instrumental album that was supposed to be released in the early 2000s by the now defunct Springline Records: Stefanosis meets Samson Benji: "Brass echo chamber". The online release had already failed then and so the album was forgotten. The lost original recordings on a CD have been in the shadows for many years until they have now been rediscovered. The American Stefanosis aka Steve Steppa once single-handedly recorded all the instruments for this low-fi production. Then Samson Benji - a musician from Freiburg i. Br. - the recordings to superimpose the saxophone passages. The whole package then went to Gibsy Rhodes from Corsica, the man behind Springline Records. After adding a few effects and nice samples, he mastered the whole thing for the final album. Now Stefanosis has taken on the recovered music files, thoroughly revised them and raised some audio levels with the help of modern technology. Almost twenty years after its actual release, the “Brass Echo Chamber” shines in a new light, polished and cleaned.

Still, the only 25 minutes long album can't really convince me. It has a weak point that almost all “saxophone reggae albums” have: It sounds a little too good, too conservative. The brevity of the album even has something positive here, it makes the opus audible in one go, without getting bored. With the first track "Brass Down Babiwrong", a remake of the traditional "Rastaman Chant", we get the flying cymbals on our ears in typical Bunny Lee / King Tubby manner. The classic tubby sound runs like a red thread through (almost) all recordings. On Dub-Fireworks or at least some exciting ones, dubBut we don't really get good sound effects here. The seven tracks sound more like “dug up”, slightly dusty Bunny Lee / King Tubby meets Tommy McCook recordings. For me, “Brass Echo Chamber” is a rock solid, unspectacular album with some very interesting passages, no more but no less either.

Rating: 3 out of 5.

14 responses to "Stefanosis meets Samson Benji: Brass Echo Chamber"

Good Morning !

I think the review hits the nail on the head. “An unspectacular album with some very interracial passages” !!!
And these passages start with “Brass Nuckles” and even more with “Kingston Brass”. Just a small effect that reminds me of an echo sounder lets me immerse myself deeper in the music, which shouldn't be surprising, since you are with one
Sonar can finally explore the shallows of the seas. And it is precisely this exploration of the shallows that attracts me DubMusic is always fascinating. DubMusic likes to look behind the scenes and bring the hidden to the surface, making it even more mysterious. If that sounds contradicting itself, for me it gets right to the point. Because reggae and Dub is and remains for me pure magic and not just music, which everyone immediately and immediately
opens up. Not even me. The more I click on it, the more I like “Lost Satellite”, although here I find a bit of the hidden mysticism of an enchanted one DubTunes are missing. Still has Dub a certain charm that I don't want to evade. "King Tubby's Brass" has a somewhat conservative melody for me, but the drum and bass line travels out for me. I am not saying that Dub and reggae should only consist of drum and bassline for me, because I also like all the trappings very much, but if this basis of drum and bass fits, then you can do a reggae or DubTune almost no longer break for me. And it is exactly this drum and bass line that fits exactly into my wish list for “Luffy And Tuffy” and for the high-flyer on this album. For me, this high-flyer is by far “Conquering Brass” !!! For me this part is a really fat board with a pithy bassline and mystical drums. The saxophone also plays here nicely free of any constraints and is made possible by the DubTechnology raised to the highest sound level that a lemmi can imagine. In addition, the keyboard plays at a very fine frequency, which leaves nothing to be desired for me.
Even if the album got "only" three stars here and is not able to convince everyone, I have to say that it was definitely worth it for me to talk about it. Because “Conquereing Brass” has to be in my All Time Evergreen Favorite List. A really fat part, I like to repeat myself.
The biggest weak point is the overall sound of this disc for me. Sounds like pushing water through a nozzle that is leaking and most of the pressure is squirting out the sides. Or like an athlete who draws secondary air due to an incorrect breathing technique. It sounds too breathy to me than breathy. But sometimes you have to go through it when the music is so good.

Until ………………… .. lemmi

Hi Lemmi,

a little more than three stars would have been possible. But if I put in relation which albums got four stars from me, then that's okay. After all, three stars are still a "good", so not terribly bad.
We can also say positively that Stefanosis managed to create an album in the classic 70s style with a few nice hook lines and a Mikey Dread jingle at the very end. I'm a little surprised that you don't mind the “Flying Cymbals Sound” during the recordings. We have already discussed the topic / problem several times. The main thing is that "Brass Echo Chamber" is, by and large, pleasing.

I had the courage to leave a gap Ras Vorbei ;-)

The truth is, I just forgot about the Flying Cymbals. In general, I'm at first Dub Tune
“Brass Down Babiwrong” was not received at all. If everyone were here DubTunes like that, then I would probably not have left a single “green hair” in my comment on this album. Nothing suits me here except for the basic rhythm. Even if the saxophone warns the melody of “Rastaman Chant”, it touches me Dub not in the least. The flying cimbals are so bad here (for me) that I dared to do this one DubTune not even to comment. With everyone else Dubs
I don't find any flying cymbals, at least nothing annoyed me in that direction. Except that the whole album sounds like it was only recorded via the Flying Cymbals microphones. But this “rustling” from the cymbals is only for me with the first one Dub badly heard. Overall, I like the EP file. But I also have to say that King Tubby and I don't know who else recorded it so brutally have exhausted the number with the cymbals much more than
the Stefanosis, completely unknown to me until now. Unfortunately, I also know from my own experience that flying cymbals are not necessarily worse than "flounces". With the "Mouches" you have to turn a blind eye every now and then and with the cymbals you press Skip (Mc Donald ;-))

Cheers ………………. lemmi

Salle miteinand us'm Schöni Freiburg;)

Just wanted my dad to hear the link (http://www.dubophonic.com/2020/01/stefanosis-meets-samson-benji-brass.html) - and afterwards I came across this review while googling.

What can I say - I often read net reviews of my music, so it was interesting.

Don't think we know each other - the story, how the whole thing came about and what I am Dub-Sax has been doing quite an interesting thing at this point for years ... As far as I can remember, the recordings are about 15 years old. Was active on the Versionist.com forum back then (you know it, don't you?) And met Steve there. Collabs were a thing, and as an instrumentalist I thought it was nice that people were interested in getting recordings of me. As a plug with a blower and a rough fetish for big fat basslines, I thought it was cool. The links brought me to London, to Murcia, to New Orleans (!!!)… It was an Irie community. I think you would recognize a few others right away - Don Fé, for example.

To me - I've been blowing for years since I was twelve. I went to high school in Canada and got jazz ed there. Years later, a few things with Fred Locks (album "Music is My Calling"), Selections ft. Frankie Paul, Warrior King and so on. I did a few things with Don Goliath. And I'm particularly proud of this one, give it to you and be as honest as above, please - sure, it's just "saxophone reggae";) https://www.reverbnation.com/samsonbenji/song/30615768-samson-benji-satta-pon-mountain

To Steve - nice guy, California style ... Who knows, feels it.

Hope you run into each other somewhere on a sound system dance - come by and make a wish, I'll blow everything for you;)

UP

Tek-weh-knowledge-eeh ...

Recordings are about 15 years old. Originated in the Versionist.com environment ... Others from the clique - Don Fé, for example. The links brought me to London, Murcia and New Orleans.

See you in some sound system session with a lot of bass - come and make a wish!

UP

Regarding the review and your comments: Thank you, Feedforward from Heads is always very welcome - I would have expected nothing else!

At that time I was working on the collab with Steve via the Versionist link - recording more than less haphazardly in difficult, humble circumstances alone with an outdated version of Cubase, fucking myself down over my poor workflow ... and doing it Experience gained, how's it, right?

I think the three stars are nice, think about four au Irie, thank you;)

I get bored after 25 minutes. Unlike most DubHeads I get bored after just 20 seconds, so everything's cool.

Can't even remember that the Flying Cymbals were so moderate back then - personally found it refreshing to hear it again, I can also listen to a few tracks more than once; p

Tommy McCook Compare Irie, I get it a lot - but I prefer Cedric Im Brooks. The comparisons come because of the jazz background.

Good Morning !

lemmi - "An unpectacular album with some very interracial passages" !!! ;)

Well described… “Just a small effect that reminds me of an echo sounder lets me immerse myself deeper in the music, which shouldn't be surprising, since you can finally explore the shallows of the seas with an echo sounder. And it is precisely this exploration of the shallows that attracts me DubMusic is always fascinating. "

I wouldn't have come up with “honest” with “King Tubby's Brass”, but I can understand.

“Conquering Brass” as the big tune of the project? RASpekt to your taste - I hear it the least, because after a few tracks I get bored at the latest when I turn it on;) "Free of any constraints / highest sound level" - JAH know, thank you, I gave channeled, forwarded, simply forwarded - sharing is caring! These are the inspired creative "moments", which is why I make music and am a bass fetishist ...

Overall sound: yes, far too much reverb to somehow retouch the terrible quality of recordings, as I would say. As I said - haphazardly recorded, how do you record a sax, what do I know, is too stressful for me, and then again? I am too stupid;) That about half my life later comments come in such a way that whoever hears the music and who is busy with and writes about it, and then in German? Hammer, winner - longevity is the name of the game. I'm a vibesman, and after all these years people still react to vibes from me - it flashes me, you entertained me more than I entertained you ... Five stars for it, hihihi

Big UP lemmi: if you ever hear me blowing somewhere, come "over" (!!!;)) and say 'who you like' and make a wish for you, I'll play everything for you, inna real life, for real, for real, straight UP.

That's enough. I'll make a beat again in ten minutes, it will take me three hours to upload it to ReverbNation, where nobody will listen to it - and I don't care. If you have an idea what I should do, write to me - I'll do it as a thank you.

Over and out.

No offense to Samson Benji, but I would like to give you and all others who can still tolerate this my opinion.
Seriously now! What should such a recording give us? Nothing at all comes across from all that DubEvent. Above all, there is no bass sound that a cell phone simply cannot and should not convey, because cell phones are supposed to make us stupid and not enrich our lives. (Ok, you could argue about that again now).
In any case, that can't be an advertisement for our favorite music because you hardly hear the music. All I perceive there are a few shrill, scratchy, nasty tones that quickly make me skip on to avoid this "mishap"
to forget as quickly as possible. I am so rude and anticipate your answer. At least you could rightly claim that you only wanted to show us a few pictures in which you were also live and direct active. But ... and I hope you understand me as DubAs a fan, I need sound above all - as I wrote recently - MAXIMUM SOUND ala Cirkus Maximus with “Carma Coma in Roma” and whipped cream on the icing on the cake. No cell phone video can match that. And that's why it's no good to me.
The sound is - from my experience - a very special reggae /Dub Thing. I am not aware of any other music that the DJs screw their own system together to get the sound as optimal as possible
to get into the bellies of the audience. Then there are excesses that go in a different direction. This is how I feel, for example, the sound of the bass with so-called DubEvents in the same way as a whole Christmas tree perceives its mast to bring in as much income as possible at Christmas. But then it just becomes a fat whole and has nothing to do with enjoyment.
Ok, "now" should be enough of me for now. I hope I got it across that reggae was somewhat mild
and Dub without an almost perfect sound is not enough. So that we can stay “friends”, I remind you again that in another context I wanted to put whole galaxies at your feet and nothing has changed.

I'm in writing mode today ……………………. lemmi

High Samson Benji!

You ask below, “How do you record a sax?”….
Well, I'm just an end consumer and in the end I don't know how to record a sax, let alone how to play it. But I can say with certainty that if you take it in exactly the same way as here, I won't just tell you at least every time
Give 5 stars deluxe, but put a whole galaxy with billions of stars at your feet. However, I am unfortunately not the Almighty and so it will probably stay with this little enthusiastic exaggeration forever.
“First of all,” I find this spacious reverb on the saxophone sound overwhelmingly magical and what you play there is almost even more important. This is exactly the opposite of a staid melody. Even if I see it completely wrong, because I'm not a musician, I can still say that every note here feels like an improvisation approved by JAH
appears (yes, the saxophone is not just a wind instrument here, but an appearance!). Even if your role model is more Cedric Im Brooks, at least in this case I want to ennoble you by reviving my top saxophonist Brian Trevers from UB40 and telling you that you want me in this one DubTune very reminiscent of his style. And no matter if you mean now, I have no idea, I have to tell you, the man was in his heyday (and by that I don't mean the times when they made a lot of money and then rowed it again) from UB 40 for me the best saxophonist ever.
Mind you for me! Apart from that, I've also heard melodies from Cedric and all the other saxophonists in the world that seem so conservative to me that Max Gregor could almost be called Deadly Headly.
So, you have to deal with this kind of enthusiasm, because from now on there will be sharp criticism. Although it still works, the sound of the entire rhythm carpet is on the verge of “sound failures” a la Skrillex and David Getter.
Flying cimbals, on the other hand, sound almost like dull tones in the infrasound range. Ok, ok, is of course grossly exaggerated again
but that's the best way to get across how I feel. But it's not that bad and I have to say that the entire sound carpet - the riddim, so to speak - goes really well into my blood.
I hope the sound shows people up dubstepdivisionrecordings really, "which is a rake." Because this one DubStep phenomenon and the “success” that this music had, I can only describe as a kind of “early corona stage”.
Yes, I have what we call Dubstep wanted to sell it as a disease. The funny thing was that the first so-called DubstepTunes still after correct Dub have sounded. For that reason alone, I felt this whole phenomenon was just a name stolen. Dub is just the coolest thing that ever was and will ever be and that's why they tried to cut some of this coolness. Poor people like Skrillex then completely contaminated it.

Yes, "Pay It All Back" ...... the verbal revenge is mine !!! "One day when you think its over all the wrongs you have done, you will pay"! Raging Fyaaaaaaaahhhhhhhh !!!

Ok, please do not put everything on the gold scales too much, what I say about myself ...... .. I am "DUbCollossus "resp. DubColeric
or just a gentle choleric.

Love and Peace ………………………… .. lemmi

Yes, these computers are just too stupid. I specifically clicked the answer buttons under the respective comment in order to stay in the "context" as possible. If it was my fault ……… .. that can't be …… .. lemmi

That it was not my fault, you can see only from the fact that I felt badly about the answers at 14:45 p.m.
could what I wrote at 15:41 pm. Do I have to complain about it at all? Well, that's about writing
2 hours (with interruptions) on very important things and then it doesn't make any sense because you don't even know why I wrote something. Well, I'm built very close to madness.

At the moment it's a bit critical ……………………. lemmi

Post a comment

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Stefanosis meets Samson Benji: Brass Echo Chamber

Die zyprischen Dubophonic Records haben gerade ein Instrumental-Album wiederveröffentlicht, das bereits in den frühen 2000ern von den mittlerweile nicht mehr existierenden Springline Records heraus gebracht werden sollte: Stefanosis meets Samson Benji: „Brass Echo Chamber„. Die Online-Veröffentlichung war bereits damals gescheitert und so ist das Album in Vergessenheit geraten. Viele Jahre haben die verschollenen Originalaufnahmen auf einer CD ein Schattendasein gefristet, bis sie nun wiederentdeckt wurden. Der Amerikaner Stefanosis aka Steve Steppa hatte einst im Alleingang sämtliche Instrumente für diese Low-Fi-Produktion eingespielt. Anschließend bekam Samson Benji – ein Musiker aus Freiburg i. Br. – die Aufnahmen, um die Saxofonpassagen darüberzulegen. Das Gesamtpaket ging dann an Gibsy Rhodes aus Korsika, der Mann hinter Springline Records. Nach Zugabe einiger Effekte und schöner Samples, masterte er das Ganze zum endgültigen Album. Nun hat sich Stefanosis der wieder gefundenen Musikdateien angenommen, sie gründlich überarbeitet und einige Audiopegel mithilfe moderner Technologie angehoben. Fast zwanzig Jahre nach der eigentlichen Veröffentlichung erstrahlt die „Brass Echo Chamber“ aufpoliert und gereinigt in neuem Licht.

Trotzdem kann mich das nur 25 minütige Album nicht so recht überzeugen. Es hat einen Schwachpunkt, den fast alle „Saxofon-Reggae-Alben“ haben: Es klingt ein wenig zu brav, zu bieder. Die Kürze des Albums hat hier sogar etwas Positives, sie macht das Opus in einem Rutsch hörbar, ohne dass Langeweile aufkommt. Gleich beim ersten Titel „Brass Down Babiwrong“, ein Remake des Traditionals „Rastaman Chant“, bekommen wir in typischer Bunny Lee/King Tubby Manier die Flying Cymbals auf die Ohren. Der klassische Tubby Sound zieht sich wie ein roter Faden durch (fast) alle Aufnahmen. Ein Dub-Feuerwerk oder wenigstens ein paar spannende, dubbige Sound-Effekte bekommen wir hier aber nicht so recht geboten. Die sieben Tracks klingen eher wie „ausgegrabene“, leicht angestaubte Bunny Lee/King Tubby meets Tommy McCook Aufnahmen. Für mich ist „Brass Echo Chamber“ immerhin ein grundsolides, unspektakuläres Album mit einigen sehr interessanten Passagen, nicht mehr aber auch nicht weniger.

Meine Wertung:

14 Gedanken zu „Stefanosis meets Samson Benji: Brass Echo Chamber“

  1. Moin Moin !

    Ich finde die Rezension trifft den Nagel auf den Kopf. „Ein unpsektakuläres Album mit einigen sehr interrassenten Passagen“ !!!
    Und diese Passagen beginnen bei mir ab „Brass Nuckles“ und noch viel mehr bei „Kingston Brass“. Schon allein ein kleiner Effekt, der mich an ein Echolot erinnert, lässt mich tiefer in die Musik eintauchen, was nicht verwunderlich sein sollte, da man mit einem
    Echolot schließlich die Untiefen der Meere erforschen kann. Und gerade diese Erforschung der Untiefen ist es, was mich an DubMusik immer wieder fasziniert. DubMusic schaut gern hinter die Kulissen und bringt das Verborgene an die Oberfläche und macht es damit noch geheimnisvoller. Sollte das Widersprüchlich klingen, so bringt es für mich die Sache auch genau auf den Punkt. Denn Reggae und Dub ist und bleibt für mich pure Magie und nicht nur einfach Musik, die sich jedem gleich und sofort
    erschließt. Auch mir nicht. Je öfter ich es anklicke, desto mehr gefällt mir auch „Lost Satellite“, obwohl mir hier doch ein wenig von der verborgenen Mystic eines verwunschenen DubTunes fehlt. Trotzdem hat der Dub einen gewissen Charme, dem ich mich nicht entziehen will. „King Tubbys Brass“ hat für mich dann auch eine etwas biedere Melodie aber die Drum And Bass Line reist es für mich dann doch wieder raus. Ich sage nicht, das Dub und Reggae für mich nur aus Drum And Bassline bestehen sollten, denn ich mag auch das ganze Drumherum sehr aber wenn diese Basis aus Drum And Bass schon mal passt, dann kann man ein Reggae bzw. DubTune für mich schon fast nicht mehr kaputtmachen. Und genau diese Drum And Bass Line passt bei „Ruffy And Tuffy“ sowie bei dem Überflieger auf diesem Album exakt in meine Wunschliste. Dieser Überflieger ist für mich mit Abstand „Conquering Brass“ !!! Das Teil ist für mich ein richtig fettes Brett mit einer markigen Bassline und mystischen Drums. Auch das Saxophon spielt hier schön frei von irgendwelchen Zwängen und wird durch die DubTechnik in das höchste Klanglevel gehoben, was sich ein lemmi vorstellen kann. Dazu spielt das Keyboard in einer ganz feinen Frequenz, die bei mir keine Wünsche offen lässt.
    Auch wenn das Album hier „nur“ drei Sterne bekommen hat und nicht durchweg jeden zu überzeugen vermag, so muss ich doch sagen, das es sich für mich auf jeden Fall gelohnt hat, da mal drüber zu sprechen. Denn „Conquereing Brass“ muss in meine All Time Evergreen Favorite Liste. Ein richtig fettes Teil, so wiederhole ich mich gern.
    Der größte Schwachpunkt ist aber der gesamte Sound dieser Scheibe für mich. Klingt so, als ob man Wasser durch eine Düse drückt, die Undicht ist und der meiste Druck an den Seiten herausspritzt. Oder so wie ein Sportler, der aufgrund einer falschen Atemtechnik Nebenluft zieht. Es kligt mir zu sehr gehaucht als gefaucht. Aber da muss man manchmal durch, wenn die Musik so gut gefällt.

    Bis denne ………………….. lemmi

  2. Hi Lemmi,

    ein bisschen mehr als drei Sterne wären schon möglich gewesen. Wenn ich aber in Relation setze, welche Alben von mir vier Sterne bekommen haben, dann geht das schon in Ordnung. Drei Sterne sind immerhin noch ein „gut“, also auch nicht grottenschlecht.
    Wir können auch positiv werten, dass es Stefanosis gelungen ist, ein Album im klassischen 70er Jahre-Stil mit ein paar schönen Hook-Lines und einem Mikey Dread Jingle ganz am Schluss zu kreieren. Dass dich bei den Aufnahmen der „Flying Cymbals Sound“ nicht stört, überrascht mich ein wenig. Das Thema/Problem haben wir ja bereits mehrfach erörtert. Die Hauptsache ist, dass „Brass Echo Chamber“ im Großen und Ganzen dann doch gefällt.

    1. Da hatte ich Mut zur Lücke Ras Vorbei ;-)

      Die Wahrheit ist, das ich das mit den Flying Cymbals schlichtweg vergessen habe. Überhaupt bin ich auf den ersten Dub Tune
      „Brass Down Babiwrong“ gar nicht eingegangen. Wären hier alle DubTunes so wie der, dann hätte ich wohl kein einziges „grünes Haar“ in meinem Kommentar zu diesem Album gelassen. Hier passt mir außer dem Grundrhythmus überhaupt nix. Auch wenn das Saxophon hier die Melodie von „Rastaman Chant“ trällert, so berührt mich dieser Dub nicht im geringsten. Die Flying Cimbals sind hier so schlimm ( für mich ) das ich es gewagt habe, diesen DubTune noch nicht einmal zu kommentieren. Bei allen anderen Dubs
      finde ich keine Flying Cymbals, zumindest hat mich da nix in dieser Richtung genervt. Außer, das eben das ganze Album so klingt, als ob es nur über die Flying Cymbals Mikrofone aufgenommen wurde. Aber dieses „Geraschele“ von den Cymbals ist mir nur beim ersten Dub übel zu Ohren gekommen. Ingesamt gefällt mir die EP-Datei. Ich muss aber auch sagen, das King Tubby und ich weiß nicht, wer das sonst noch so brutal aufgenommen hat die Nummer mit den Cymbals wesentlich weiter ausgereizt haben als
      der, mir bisher völlig unbekannte, Stefanosis. Aus eigener Erfahrung weiß ich leider auch, das Flying Cymbals nicht unbedingt schlimmer sind als „Mouches Volantes“. Bei den „Mouches“ muss man halt hin und wieder mal ein Auge zudrücken und bei den Cymbals drückt man dann halt mal auf Skip ( Mc Donald ;-) )

      Greetings ………………. lemmi

      1. Salle miteinand us’m schöni Freiburg ;)

        Wollte meinem Vater gerade den Link zum Anhören (http://www.dubophonic.com/2020/01/stefanosis-meets-samson-benji-brass.html) schicken – und bin beim Googlen danach auf diesen Review gestoßen.

        Was soll ich sagen – oft lese ich net Reviews über meine Musik, von daher war’s interessant.

        Glaube nicht, daß wir uns kennen – die Geschichte, wie das Ganze entstanden ist und was ich als Dub-Sax so seit Jahren treibe isch ’ne recht interessante and dieser Stelle… Die Aufnahmen sind soweit ich mich erinnern kann ca. 15 Jahre alt. War damals auf dem Versionist.com-Forum aktiv (Ihr kennt’s, oder?) und habe dort Steve kennengelernt. Collabs waren da ein Ding, und ich als Instrumentalist fand’s nice, daß da Leute Interesse dran hatten, Aufnahmen von mir zu kriegen. Ich als Stöpsel mit’m Gebläse und ’nem derben Fetisch für dicke fette Basslines fand’s geil. Die Links haben mich nach London gebracht, nach Murcia, nach New Orleans (!!!)… War ’ne Irie Community. Ein paar andere würdet Ihr denke ich sofort wiedererkennen – Don Fé zum Beispiel.

        Zu mir – ich blas‘ seit Jahren, seit ich zwölf bin. Bin in Kanada zur High-School und bin dort in den Genuß von Jazz-Ed gekommen. Jahre später, paar Sachen mit Fred Locks (Album „Music is My Calling“), Selections ft. Frankie Paul, Warrior King und so. Mit Don Goliath hab‘ ich paar Sachen gemacht. Und auf den hier bin ich besonders stolz, gebt’s Euch und seid so ehrlich wie oben, bitte – klar, isch halt „Saxofon-Reggae“ ;) https://www.reverbnation.com/samsonbenji/song/30615768-samson-benji-satta-pon-mountain

        Zu Steve – dufter Kerl, California-Style… Wer’s weiß, der fühlt’s.

        Hoffe, man läuft sich irgendwo auf ’nem Soundsystem-Dance mal über’n Weg – kommt vorbei und wünscht Euch was, ich blas‘ Euch alles ;)

        UP

        1. Tek-weh-knowledge-eeh…

          Aufnahmen sind ca. 15 Jahre alt. Entstanden im Versionist.com-Umfeld… Andere aus der Clique – Don Fé z.B. Die Links haben mich u.a. nach London, Murcia und New Orleans gebracht.

          Man sieht sich bei irgendeiner Soundsystem-Session mit viel Bass – kommt und wünscht Euch was!

          UP

      1. Zum Review und Euren Kommentaren: Danke, Feedforward von Heads isch immer sehr willkommen – nix anderes hätte ich erwartet!

        Ich hab‘ an der Collab eben damals per Versionist-Link mit Steve dran gearbeitet – mehr als weniger planlos in schwer-bescheidenen Umständen alleine mit ’ner veralteten Version von Cubase aufgenommen, mich selbst übelst über meinen schlechten Workflow dabei downgef*ckt… Und dabei Erfahrung gesammelt, wie’s halt isch, ne?

        Die drei Sterne finde ich nice, sinnieren über vier au Irie, habt Dank ;)

        Mir wird’s nach 25 Minuten au langweilig. Im Gegensatz zu den meisten Dubheads wird’s mir aber au schon nach 20 Sekunden langweilig, also alles cool.

        Kann mich gar net dran erinnern, daß das so Flying Cymbals mäßig war damals – fand’s persönlich voll erfrischend, es mal wieder zu hören, paar Tracks kann ich mir au mehr als einmal anhören ;p

        Tommy McCook Vergleich Irie, krieg‘ ich oft – stehe aber eher auf Cedric Im Brooks. Die Vergleiche kommen wegen dem Jazz-Hintergrund.

        Moin Moin !

        lemmi – „Ein unpsektakuläres Album mit einigen sehr interrassenten Passagen“ !!! ;)

        Schön beschrieben… „Schon allein ein kleiner Effekt, der mich an ein Echolot erinnert, lässt mich tiefer in die Musik eintauchen, was nicht verwunderlich sein sollte, da man mit einem Echolot schließlich die Untiefen der Meere erforschen kann. Und gerade diese Erforschung der Untiefen ist es, was mich an DubMusik immer wieder fasziniert.“

        Auf „bieder“ wäre ich bei „King Tubbys Brass“ glaub‘ net gekommen, aber kann ich nachvollziehen.

        „Conquering Brass“ als Big-Tune des Projekts? RASpekt an Deinen Geschmack – ich höre ihn am Wenigsten, weil’s mich dann doch au eben nach paar Tracks spätestens langweilt, wenn ich’s mal anmache ;) „Frei von irgendwelchen Zwängen/höchste Klanglevel gehoben“ – JAH know, hab‘ Dank, da gabe ich gechanneled, geforwarded, einfach weitergeleitet – sharing is caring! Das sind die inspirierten kreativen „Momente“, weshalb ich Musik mache und Bassfetischist bin…

        Gesamtsound: ja, viel zu viel Hall, um z.T. grottige Quali an Aufnahmen irgendwie wegzuretuschieren, as I would say. Wie gesagt – planlos aufgenommen, wie nimmt man ein Sax auf, was weiß den ich, isch mir zu stressig, und dann als nochmal wieder? Isch mir zu blöd ;) Daß da ungefähr mein halbes Leben später so Comments kommen, daß die Mucke überhaupt noch wer hört und sich wer mit beschäftigt und was drüber schreibt, und dann noch auf Deutsch? Hammer, Gewinner – longevity is the name of the game. Bin ein Vibesmann, und nach all den Jahren reagieren Leute noch auf Vibes von mir – mich flasht’s, Ihr habt mich mehr entertained als ich Euch… Fünf Sterne dafür, hihihi

        Big UP lemmi: wenn Du mich mal irgendwo blasen hörst, komm‘ „vorbei“ (!!! ;) ) und sag‘ wer Du bisch und wünsch‘ Dir was, ich spiel‘ Dir alles, inna real life, for real, for real, straight UP.

        Jetzt reicht’s. Ich bastel‘ wieder ’nen Beat in zehn Minuten, brauche drei Stunden, bis ich den auf ReverbNation hochgeladen habe, wo ihn dann keiner anhört – und mir isch es schnuppe. Wenn Ihr ’ne Idee habt, was ich basteln soll, schreibt’s mir – ich mach’s, als Dank.

        Over and out.

      2. Nix für ungut Samson Benji aber auch hierzu möchte ich Dir und allen andreren, die das noch tolerieren können, meine Meinung geigen.
        Jetz ma im Ernst ! Was soll uns so eine Aufnahme geben ? Da kommt rein gar nix von all dem rüber, was ein DubEvent ausmacht. Vor allem fehlt da der BassSound, den ein Handy einfach nicht vermitteln kann und auch nicht soll, denn Handies sollen uns ja verblöden und nicht unser Leben bereichern. ( Ok, da könnte man jetzt auch wieder drüber streiten ).
        Jedenfalls kann das ja keine Werbung für unsere Lieblingsmusik sein, da man die Musik kaum hört. Alles was ich da wahrnehme, sind ein paar schrille, kratzige, garstige Töne, die mich schnell weiter skippen lassen um dieses „Missgeschick“
        möglichst schnell zu vergessen. Ich bin so unverschämt und nehme deine Antwort gleich vorweg. Du könntest zumindest mit Recht behaupten, das Du uns nur mal ein paar Bilder zeigen wolltest, in denen du auch Live and Direct activ dabei gewesen bist. Aber … und ich hoffe du verstehst mich da, als DubFan brauche ich vor allem Sound und zwar – wie ich vor kurzem schon mal schrieb – MAXIMUM SOUND ala Cirkus Maximus mit „Carma Coma in Roma“ und Schlagobers auf dem I-Tüpfelchen. Das kann kein Handy-Video bieten. Und deshalb taugt mir das nix.
        Das mit dem Sound ist – aus meiner Erfahrung – auch ein ganz spezielles Reggae/Dub Ding. In keiner anderen Musik ist es mir bekannt, das sich die DJ´s ne eigene Anlage zusammenschrauben, um den Sound so optimal wie nur irgendwie möglich
        in die Bäuche der Zuhörer zu bekommen. Da gibt es dann auch wieder Auswüchse, die in eine andere Richtung gehen. So empfinde ich z.B. den Sound vom Bass bei sogenannten DubEvents in etwa so, wie eine Weihnachtsganz ihre Mast empfindet, um zu Weihnachten möglichst viel Ertrag einzubringen. Das wird dann aber einfach nur ne fette Ganz und hat nix mehr mit Genuss zu tun.
        Ok, soll „jetze“ auch erst mal genug von mir sein. Ich hoffe ich habe es einigermaßen milde rübergebracht, das mir Reggae
        und Dub ohne nahezu perfekten Sound nicht genügt. Damit wir „Freunde“ bleiben können, erinnere ich nochmal daran, das ich Dir in einem anderen Zusammenhang schon ganze Galaxien zu Füßen legen wollte und sich daran auch nix geändert hat.

        Bin heut´ im Schreibmodus ……………………. lemmi

    1. High Samson Benji !

      Du fragst da weiter unten, „wie nimmt man ein Sax auf ?“ ….
      Nun, ich bin ja nur ein Endkonsument und weiß letztenendes auch nicht, wie man ein Sax aufnimmt, geschweige denn, wie man es spielt. Ich kann aber mit Sicherheit sagen, das wenn Du es genau so aufnimmst wie hier, ich dir nicht nur jedesmal mindestens
      5 Sterne Deluxe gebe, sondern Dir gleich eine ganze Galaxie mit Milliarden von Sternen zu Füßen lege. Allerdings bin ich leider nicht der Allmächtige und somit wird es wohl ewig bei dieser kleinen enthusiastischen Übertreibung bleiben.
      „Erstens mal“ empfinde ich diesen großräumigen Hall auf dem Saxophon Sound überwältigend magisch und fast noch wichtiger ist das, was Du da spielst. Genau das ist eben das komplette Gegenteil von einer biederen Melodie. Auch wenn ich das vollkommen falsch sehe, weil ich kein Musiker bin, so kann ich doch sagen, das mir hier jeder Ton wie eine von JAH abgesegnete Improvisation
      erscheint ( ja, das Saxophon ist hier nicht nur einfach ein Blasinstrument, sondern eine Erscheinung ! ). Auch wenn dein Vorbild eher Cedric Im Brooks ist, so will ich dich zumindest in diesem Fall adeln, indem ich wieder mal meinen Topsaxophonisten Brian Trevers von UB40 auf-und hochleben lasse und dir sage, das du mich in diesem DubTune sehr an seine Art erinnerst. Und egal, ob Du jetzt meinst, ich habe keine Ahnung, so muss ich dir doch sagen, der Mann war zu Glanzzeiten ( und damit meine ich nicht die Zeiten, in denen sie viel Geld gemacht und wieder verrudert haben ) von UB 40 für mich der beste Saxophonist aller Zeiten.
      Wohlgemerkt für mich ! Ansonsten habe ich auch von Cedric und allen anderen Saxophonisten dieser Welt schon Melodien gehört, die mir so bieder erscheinen, das man Max Gregor schon fast als Deadly Headly bezeichnen könnte.
      So, mit dieser Art von Begeisterung musst Du nun klarkommen, denn ab jetzt kommt scharfe Kritik. Obwohl es gerade noch so geht aber der Sound vom gesamten Rhythmusteppich ist hart an der Grenze zu „Soundversagern“ a la Skrillex und David Getter.
      Dagegen klingen Flying Cimbals schon fast wie dumpfe Töne im Infraschallbereich. Ok,Ok, is natürlich wieder masslos übertrieben
      aber so kommt es am besten rüber, wie ich das empfinde. So schlimm ist es aber doch nicht und ich muss sagen, das mir auch der gesamte Soundteppich – also quasi der Riddim – richtig gut ins Blut geht.
      Ich hoffe mal, der Sound zeigt den Leuten bei dubstepdivisionrecordings mal so richtig, „was ne Harke ist.“ Denn dieses Dubstepphänomen und der „Erfolg“ den diese mucke hatte, kann ich nur als eine Art von „Frühcoronastadium“ bezeichnen.
      Ja, ich habe das was man uns als Dubstep verkaufen wollte als Krankheit empfunden. Das komische dabei war, das die ersten sogenannten DubstepTunes immer noch nach richtigem Dub geklungen haben. Schon allein deshalb habe ich dieses ganze Phänomen nur als Namensklau empfunden. Dub is halt das Coolste was es jemals gab und jemals geben wird und deshalb haben sie versucht, sich etwas von dieser Coolness abzuschneiden. Banausen wie Skrillex haben es dann komplett verseucht.

      Ja, „Pay It All Back“ …… die verbale Rache ist mein !!! „One day when you think its over all the wrongs you have done, you will pay“ ! Raging Fyaaaaaaaahhhhhhhh !!!

      Ok, bitte nicht alles zu sehr auf die Goldwaage legen, was ich so von mir gebe …….. ich bin „DUbCollossus“ bzw. DubColeriker
      oder eben auch einfach nur ein sanfter Choleriker.

      Love and Peace ………………………….. lemmi

      1. Ja, diese Computer sind aber auch einfach zu blöd. Ich habe speziell die Antwortbuttons unter dem jeweiligen Kommentar angeklickt, um möglichst im „Kontext“ zu bleiben. Falls es doch mein Fehler war ……….. das kann nicht sein …….. lemmi

        1. Das es nicht mein Fehler war, sieht man ja allein daran, das ich mir wohl schlecht um 14:45 Uhr selbst auf das Antworten
          konnte, was ich erst um 15:41 geschrieben habe. Muss ich darüber überhaupt meckern ? Nun ja, da schreibt man etwa
          2 Stunden ( mit Unterbrechungen ) ganz wichtige Sachen auf und dann ergibt es keinen Sinn, weil man gar nicht weiß, wozu ich überhaupt etwas geschrieben habe. Naja, bin halt sehr nah am Waahnsinnn gebaut.

          Momentan isses etwas kritisch ……………………. lemmi

Kommentar verfassen

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.