Categories
Review

Destroy Babylon: Dub of Ages Vol. 2: DB Meets Prince Polo

Basically, when a band names themselves after a Bad Brains track, you can almost certainly predict where the wind is blowing from. Destroy Babylon are five friends from Boston, Massachusetts who are both into reggae /Dub, Hip-hop and post-punk ethos have their musical roots. The album "Dub of Ages Vol. 2: DB Meets Prince Polo“Was created in 2010, but that doesn't detract from it.
The ingenious cover alone reminds me of the fantastic cover design by Tony McDermott, with which he made many Scientist albums from his early phase unmistakable. Billy Szeflinski aka Prince Polo, is a Brooklyn, NY resident Dub-Producer, musician and sound engineer. He has been active in reggae since the late 90s and as a sound engineer in the Kennel Studios has already mixed a considerable number of works by some reggae artists. The list ranges from: Eek A Mouse, Lee Perry, I Wayne, Rebelution, and others. Even Clive Chin from VP Records has given a large number of original tapes, which have gathered dust in the studio in Jamaica for over 30 years, to Prince Polo's care for restoration, which also shows the importance of Prince Polo among American sound engineers. There it was for Destroy Babylon It would be a good idea to let the sound wizard from Brooklyn refine a few tracks in their repertoire. Prince Polo's great strength lies in his mixer skills. As an engineer, he is in top form when he takes full advantage of the freedom to create electrifying sound topographies. Unlike many others Dub- Producer Prince Polo uses his special skills to apply the mixing techniques to other genres (z. B. Cumbia) as Dub/ Reggae to apply. So here he is more than predestined to turn the somewhat punk rhythms of Destroy Babylon into a punkydubLink by party.
“Don't Use Your Mind on Me”, “Old Version Way” and “Angry People” are originals by Keith Hudson, a criminally underrated producer from the early days of reggae, I think. Keith Hudson was the first to release a reggae concept album. Lee Perry and The Heptones composed “In Your Easy Chair (Mr. President)” and “Journey Of Dub“Comes from the pen of the pianist / harpist Alice Coltrane. It is therefore clear that we will hear an instrument that is relatively rare in reggae, the harp. She can also be heard in "Blue Eyes Vulture". Despite the many cover versions we are not offered a stale infusion of old, well-known tracks, but a really nice, varied one Dub-Album. I'm really good at it!

Rating: 4 out of 5.

7 responses to "Destroy Babylon: Dub of Ages Vol. 2: DB Meets Prince Polo "

As a matter of fact Ras Vorbei !

I really like the cover alone. With the title “Destroy Babylon” I would have expected a steppers offensive at first, but you can also fight Babylon much more intensely and effectively from within. And for this, the sound engineer Prince Polo uses the effects strategically ingeniously and confident of victory. If I described in my last comment how I don't like the effects on the snare time so much, you will now come around the corner with an example, which makes me particularly ecstatic on this point. As is often the case with musicians who are not averse to punk, the sound of the bass sounds as if the strings were stretched almost twice as tight. Something of "warmth" is lost and it feels a bit drier than, for example, with Flabba or Familyman. But that's not supposed to be a criticism at all, I just wanted to say that it was me
particularly noticed. The ingenious one DubDisc from the Bad Brains, for example, is not like that at all, Here the bass bubbles sometimes really thick and creates a through and through,
cozy warmth. But even if the bass comes across a bit drier here, that's fine with me. I'd rather have a dry handshake than a damp hand
which tempts me to wipe my hands dry again on my pants. But I wanted to talk about the drums. I love it when on the snare and actually on all the other drums, the echo and reverb effects extend far into the cenotes of Mexico, when they were dry a long time ago. You can overdo it, but Prince Polo does this exactly to my taste. And all other instruments are very good at that too DubThe framework is maintained, does not play intrusively and supports the “electrifying sound topographies”. A harp is also very useful for me.
It's typical again that I liked “Don't Use Your Mind on Me”, “Old Version Way” and “Angry People” straight away, by far the best. What that was probably again ;-). At the end of the day, that always asks you, "What is jelejen about?"
So that we don't get completely lulled by good vibes and don't forget the seriousness of life, I'll write something again about what I didn't like or didn't like at all. It just has to be because, as a reggae fan, I'm very sensitive to it. “Blue Eyes Vulture” is actually quite ok and the harp suits me very well but here I can
we can hear what a blatant difference there is between reggae and punk or rock music. The fortunately only very short intro consists of chords that simply take my shoes off and fill me with deep inner dislike. In the last third of the DubTunes gets really bad because of this, because you just max out this rocksound a little longer and shoot me completely off my cloud. Dub Spencer and Trance Hill do something like that every now and then, but I always interpret it in a very special way.
They always wonderfully show the contrast between reggae and rock. First everything pulls together and when the reggae groove starts again, you (I) feel how everything relaxes and loosens up again. That's why I have the slogan “Roots Rock Reggae” in “Roots Dub Reggae ”, because I actually have nothing or nothing to do with rock. Exceptions prove the rule ;-)

What's the name of Keith Hudson's first concept reggae album? In any case, I never underestimated this man, but I don't get that much from him. Probably because so many others have always underestimated him, not that much of him has appeared.

"Jona Jona Jona Come Up Now" ………………… .. lemmi

What's the name of Keith Hudson's first concept reggae album?

Hi lemmi,

the album is: "Flesh Of My Skin, Blood Of My Blood" from 1974. Very dark sound with nice Nyahbinghi drumming. In my circle of acquaintances, I have made the observation that with Keith Hudson, opinions quickly differ. Personally, I like his (extraordinary) voice but also his - sometimes a bit weird - albums. The only exception is the soul-heavy "Too Expensive" album, which was created after his move to New York and which reveals a nasty ingratiation to the American music market. Even so, the album flopped and Keith Hudson was quickly dropped in thanks to Virgin Records.
Hudson's last album was "Tuff Gong Encounter" with fine Mad Professor Dubs, which only appeared many years after his premature death (38 years).

Lookup:

“The ingenious one DubDisc from the Bad Brains "

Do you also know the answer to the record from Echobeach ?:
“No Hate There? - Bad Brains Conducted By No Hate There - In Dub - Reggae Transformation "
Definitely worth a listen.

"Flesh Of My Skin, Blood Of My Blood" !!!

All right, it's really awesome. Sometimes his singing is unbearable. But it is also so beautifully weird and a bit off track, so that it is really good again. His riddims are something very special.
Another good tip is “Tuff Gong Encounter”. I haven't put them on for a long time, although I found them or find them really good. Not that I underestimated him in the end.
I know “No hate there” from Echo Beach. But only one Dub on one of the samplers. Do you mean a whole album?
In any case, with everything else that I have found from “no hate there”, only hatred comes towards me. For me this is “bad uncle music”. Not necessarily in terms of the text, that doesn't interest me, but the music just sounds "bad".
These are real badvibes! No, it's a matter of taste, my head says, but my stomach says, I have to go to the toilet …………… lemmi

Ok thank you Ras

It's not that bad now, but my daily form needs something better today.

"Destroy Babylon" !!! ………………………… lemmi

Post a comment

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Kategorien
Dub

Destroy Babylon: Dub of Ages Vol. 2: DB Meets Prince Polo

Wenn sich eine Band nach einem Bad Brains Track benennt, kann man im Grunde schon mit ziemlicher Sicherheit voraussagen, woher der Wind weht. Destroy Babylon sind fünf Freunde aus Boston, Massachusetts, die sowohl im Reggae/Dub-, Hip-Hop- und Post-Punk-Ethos ihre musikalischen Wurzeln haben. Das Album “Dub of Ages Vol. 2: DB Meets Prince Polo” ist zwar bereits 2010 entstanden, was dem Ganzen aber keinen Abbruch tut.
Alleine das geniale Cover erinnert mich an die fantastische Cover-Gestaltung eines Tony McDermott, mit der er viele Scientist Alben aus dessen Anfangsphase unverkennbar machte. Billy Szeflinski alias Prince Polo, ist ein in Brooklyn, NY ansässiger Dub-Produzent, Musiker und Sound-Engineer. Er ist schon seit den späten 90ern unter anderem im Reggae aktiv und hat als Toningenieur in den Kennel Studios schon eine beachtliche Anzahl von Werken einiger Reggae-Künstler abgemischt. Die Liste reicht von: Eek A Mouse, Lee Perry, I Wayne, Rebelution und andere. Selbst Clive Chin von VP Records hat eine große Anzahl von Originalbändern, die über 30 Jahre im Studio in Jamaika verstaubten, zur Restaurierung in Prince Polos Obhut übergeben, was auch den Stellenwert Prince Polos unter amerikanischen Sound-Engineers zeigt. Da lag es doch für Destroy Babylon nahe, den Sound-Wizard aus Brooklyn auch einmal einige Tracks ihres Repertoires veredeln zu lassen. Prinz Polos große Stärke liegt in seinen Fertigkeiten am Mischpult. Als Engineer ist er in Bestform, wenn er die Freiräume voll ausnutzt, um elektrisierende Soundtopografien zu erschaffen. Im Gegensatz zu vielen anderen Dub-Produzenten nutzt Prince Polo seine besonderen Fähigkeiten, um die Mixing-Techniken auch auf andere Genres (z. B. Cumbia) als Dub/Reggae anzuwenden. Somit ist er auch hier mehr als prädestiniert, die etwas punkigen Rhythmen der Destroy Babylon zu einer punky-dubby-Party zu verknüpfen.
“Don’t Use Your Mind on Me”, “Old Version Way” und “Angry People” sind im Ursprung Originale von Keith Hudson, einem sträflich unterschätzten Produzenten aus den frühen Tagen des Reggaes, wie ich meine. Keith Hudson war übrigens der Erste, der ein Reggae-Konzeptalbum auf den Markt brachte. “In Your Easy Chair (Mr. President)” haben Lee Perry und The Heptones komponiert und “Journey Of Dub” stammt aus der Feder der Pianistin/Harfenistin Alice Coltrane. Somit ist auch klar, dass wir ein im Reggae relativ seltenes Instrument zu hören bekommen, die Harfe. Sie ist auch in “Blue Eyes Vulture” zu hören. Trotz vieler Cover-Versions bekommen wir keinen schalen Aufguss alter, reichlich bekannter Tracks geboten, sondern ein richtig schönes, abwechslungsreiches Dub-Album. Mir taugt’s richtig!

Bewertung: 4 von 5.

6 Antworten auf „Destroy Babylon: Dub of Ages Vol. 2: DB Meets Prince Polo“

In der Tat Ras Vorbei !

Schon allein das Cover gefällt mir auch sehr gut. Beim Titel “Destroy Babylon” hätte ich jetzt zunächst erst mal eine Steppers-Offensive erwartet aber man kann Babylon ja auch viel intensiver und effektiver von innen heraus bekämpfen. Und dazu setzt der Sound-Engineer Prince Polo die Effekte strategisch genial und siegessicher ein. Habe ich in meinem letzten Kommentar noch beschrieben, wie ich die Effekte auf der Snare-Zeit nicht so mag, kommst Du jetzt mit einem Beispiel um die Ecke, was mich ganz speziell in diesem Punkt in größte Verzückung geraten lässt. Der Sound vom Bass, klingt hier wie oft bei Musikern, die dem Punk nicht abgeneigt sind so, als ob die Saiten nahezu doppelt so straff gespannt wurden. Da geht etwas an “Wärme” verloren und es fühlt sich etwas trockener an, als z.B. bei Flabba oder Familyman. Das soll jetzt aber gar keine Kritik sein, ich wollte nur mal sagen, das mir das
besonders aufgefallen ist. Bei der genialen DubScheibe von den Bad Brains ist das z.B. gar nicht so, Hier blubbert der Bass teilweise richtig dickflüssig und erzeugt eine durch und durch,
wohlige Wärme. Aber auch wenn der Bass hier etwas trockener rüberkommt, geht das für mich völlig in Ordnung. Auch ich habe lieber einen trockenen Händedruck, als eine feuchte Hand,
die mich dazu verleitet, meine Hände an der Hose wieder trocken zu wischen. Aber ich wollte ja über die Drums reden. Ich liebe es, wenn auf der Snare und eigentlich auch auf allen anderen Trommeln, die Echo – und Halleffekte bis weit in die Cenoten von Mexico hineinreichen, als diese vor langer Zeit mal trocken gelegen haben. Man kann das auch übertreiben aber Prince Polo macht das hier genau nach meinem Geschmack. Und auch alle anderen Instrumente werden sehr gut in das Dubgerüst eingepflegt, spielen nicht aufdringlich und unterstützen die “elektrisierenden Soundtopographien”. Da kommt mir auch eine Harfe sehr gelegen.
Richtig typisch ist mal wieder, das mir “Don’t Use Your Mind on Me”, “Old Version Way” und “Angry People” gleich auf Anhieb, mit Abstand am besten gefallen haben. Woran das wohl wieder gelegen hat ;-). Das fragste dich am Ende immer, “woran es jelejen hat” …..
Damit wir aber nicht komplett von Good Vibes eingelullt werden und den Ernst des Lebens nicht vergessen, schreibe ich jetzt noch mal etwas von dem was mir schlecht bzw. gar nicht gefallen hat. Das muss einfach sein, weil ich als ReggaeFan da ganz empfindlich bin. “Blue Eyes Vulture” ist eigentlich auch ganz Ok und die Harfe passt mir sehr gut aber hier können
wir schön hören, welch eklatanter Unterschied zwischen Reggae und Punk bzw. Rockmusik besteht. Das zum Glück nur sehr kurze Intro besteht aus Akkorden, die mir einfach die Schuhe ausziehen und mich mit tiefer innerer Abneigung erfüllen. Im letzten drittel des DubTunes wird es dadurch richtig schlecht, weil man hier einfach diesen rocksound etwas länger ausreizt und mich damit komplett von meiner Wolke runterschießt. Dub Spencer und Trance Hill machen sowas ja auch hin und wieder aber ich interpretiere das für mich immer ganz speziell.
Sie zeigen damit immer wunderbar den Kontrast von Reggae und Rock. Erst zieht sich alles zusammen und wenn dann der Reggae Groove wieder einsetzt, fühlt man ( ich ), wie sich alles wieder schön entspannt und locker macht. Ich habe deshalb den Slogan “Roots Rock Reggae” in “Roots Dub Reggae” umformuliert, weil ich mit Rock eigentlich gar nix bzw. überhaupt gar nix am Hut habe. Ausnahmen bestätigen die Regel ;-)

Wie heist nochmal das erste KonzeptReggaeAlbum von Keith Hudson ? Ich habe diesen Mann jedenfalls nie unterschätzt aber so viel habe ich von ihm gar nicht. Wahrscheinlich, weil so viele andere ihn immer unterschätzt haben, ist nicht soooooo viel von ihm erschienen.

“Jona Jona Jona Come Up Now” ………………….. lemmi

Wie heist nochmal das erste KonzeptReggaeAlbum von Keith Hudson?

Hi lemmi,

das Album ist: “Flesh Of my Skin, Blood Of My Blood” aus 1974. Sehr dunkler Sound mit schönem Nyahbinghi-Drumming. In meinem Bekanntenkreis habe ich die Feststellung gemacht, dass sich bei Keith Hudson schnell die Geister scheiden. Persönlich mag ich seine (außergewöhnliche) Stimme aber auch seine – teilweise etwas schrägen – Alben. Einzige Ausnahme ist das Soul-lastige “Too Expensive” Album, das nach seinem Umzug nach New York entstanden ist und ein übles Anbiedern an den amerikanischen Musikmarkt offenbart. Trotzdem floppte das Album und Keith Hudson wurde zum Dank von Virgin Records schnell wieder fallen gelassen.
Hudsons letztes Album war “Tuff Gong Encounter” mit feinen Mad Professor Dubs, das erst viele Jahre nach seinem viel zu frühen Tod (38 Jahre) erschienen ist.

Nachschlag:

“Bei der genialen DubScheibe von den Bad Brains”

Kennst du auch die Antwort auf die Scheibe aus dem Hause Echobeach?:
“Kein Hass Da ?– Bad Brains Conducted By Kein Hass Da – In Dub – Reggae Transformation”
Lohnt sich auf jeden Fall, mal reinzuhören.

“Flesh Of my Skin, Blood Of My Blood” !!!

Alles klar, die is wirklich krass die Scheibe. Teilweise ist sein Gesang da unerträglich. Aber die is auch so schön schräg und etwas neben der Spur, so das sie schon wieder richtig gut ist. Seine Riddims sind etwas ganz besonderes.
Auch ein guter Tip ist “Tuff Gong Encounter”. Die habe ich auch schon lange nicht mehr aufgelegt obwohl ich die richtig gut fand bzw. finde. Nicht das ich ihn am Ende doch noch unterschätzt habe.
“Kein Hass da” kenne ich von Echo Beach. Aber nur einen einzigen Dub auf einem der Sampler. Meinst du ein ganzes Album ?
Jedenfalls kommt mir bei allem anderen, was ich von “kein hass da” gefunden habe nur Hass entgegen. Das ist für mich “böse onkels musik”. Nicht unbedingt vom Text her, der interressiert mich nicht aber die mucke klingt einfach nur “böse”.
Das sind echte badvibes ! Nein, ist Geschmacksache sagt mein Kopf aber mein Bauch sagt, ich muss mal aufs Klo …………… lemmi

Ok Danke RasVorbei !

Is jetzt nicht so schlecht aber meine Tagesform brauch heute was besseres.

“Destroy Babylon” !!! ………………………… lemmi

Kommentar verfassen

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.