Categories
Dub (Revolution Review

Dub Revolution, March 2005

Nikolai Beverungen, owner of the Hamburg Echo Beach label, is always looking for interesting ones DubManifestations. He is increasingly finding what he is looking for in the most remote corners of the world. Just in time for the last edition of Riddim, he presented his “South Africa in Dub“-Sampler, so he now serves us "The Sound Of Dub - New Zealand in Dub" (Echo Beach / Indigo) freshness Dub-Tunes from New Zealand. The crazy thing is that no matter where they are from Dubs come from, be it from France, Brazil, England, the USA, Germany or even from Kiwi country, they are always highly interesting music experiments that, surprisingly, hardly have any regional characteristics. It almost seems as if they would Dub-Plant, no matter where they sprout from the ground, always from the same one that pervades the entire globe, Dub-Rhizome nourished. Dub is not folk music, but studio music, so it is not surprising that the 15 tracks on “New Zealand in Dub“Don't sound like Shire or Mordor, but like London, Paris or Hamburg. It's “The Sound Of Dub“, As it logically emblazoned on the Echo Beach samplers. In New Zealand, this sound is in full bloom and is cherished by the local label "Loop". For three years, Mr. Beverungen viewed material and has now imported the 15 best tracks to Europe. Although the pieces of 12 different Dub-Producers, the sampler is very closed and stringent. All tracks are based on solid, warm reggae beats and from there explore the world of urban sounds such as drum 'n' bass, electronics, downbeat and melodic pop. The names of the artists include Confucius, The Black Seeds, 50Hz, Pitch Black or Rhombus - complete nobodies at international level Dub-Parquet, very wrongly, because hers Dub-Tunes undoubtedly belong in the first division. Especially the Black Seeds should have real hit potential in Europe with their pop melodies. Lee Tui is of a completely different caliber. In an angry rap - over a stoic, bass-driven beat - he demands social and ecological responsibility. The perfectly arranged one is also outstanding Dub “Winds” by Rhombus, crowned by the bewitching voice of Raashi Malik. Very, very nice, the whole thing. Let's hope that DubImporter from Hamburg still has many interesting flowers of the Dub-Rhizomes will be able to track down. Here's a first suggestion: How about Japan?

Poland is also an undiscovered one Dub-Country. The two samplers are currently available again "Dub Out Of Poland Part 1 " and "Part 2" (both import) from 2001 and 2002, on which the Polish DubScene presents. Even if some tracks are not yet properly modeled on the UKDub of the 90s, so is the quality of the one presented here Dubs extremely good. Especially on “Part 2” there are a few first-class productions, such as z. B. Dj Ridm feat. Roots Temper with “Zion”, a nice uptempo rockers track. Or even better: "ViolinDub“From the Crazy Sound System, on which a violin strikes melancholy Polish folk tunes. Memories of the Trebunja family are awakened!

Likewise Alpha & Omega speak up again, in the truest sense of the word, because their new album "Trample the Eagle and the Dragon and the Bear" (Greensleeves / Rough Trade) is a showcase album with guest vocalists. Probably inspired by Rootsman and Twilight Circus, who launched similar projects last year, Mrs. Woodbridge and Mr. Spronsen also felt like a little company in the studio. Among other things, they have invited a special star guest that nobody expected: Gregory Isaacs! A little desperate he sings against the A&O rhythm. The idea is good, but Gregory's voice needs space that this typically overcrowded rhythm doesn't give it. And so the master sounds pretty lost in the sound jungle from London. Even more striking is the disparity between voice and sound allover in the title track, on which Reuben Master desperately tries to be heard. Maybe Woodbridge and Spronsen didn't trust their concept for the final mix after all and turned the voices down to the level of the instruments. Only on the first track of the album is the ratio correct, and this was typically mixed by Mad Professor. With this vocalist in particular, it almost didn't matter whether you understood him or not, because nobody else produces as much verbal nonsense as he does: Lee Perry. The professor has succeeded in mixing the A&O rhythm in such a way that it sounds like an original Black-Ark-Ryhthm, to which Perry fits absolutely ingeniously with his minimal melody. Hands down the best tune on the album. In addition to Perry and Gregory, there are also Bunny Lie Lie, Horace Martin, Addis Youth and Reuben Master on the album, although the latter is absolutely not convincing. Unfortunately he just voiced three tracks ...

It is a very nice, experimental album "Conversations" (Suite Inc./Import) by Dubital. Behind this name are two Italians called Raffaele Ferro and Matteo Magni, who obviously love to play distorted voices and crazy sounds to solid, bass-grounded rhythms. That fits together wonderfully, because while the rhythm conveys security and structure, the effects constantly counteract this hold and thus create a very strange tension of concentration and confusion. Completely fascinating is the piece "Mama Don't Cry", which runs over a stoic-brazen computer bass and is accompanied by sugar-sweet, strange organ sounds and reverberating vocals.

“As a child, I was given cough syrup containing codeine and then watched the world around me in slow motion. I tried to convey this feeling in the sound of the Codeine tracks and songs, ”says Digital jockeywhat to him with his album “Codeine Dub" (Poets Club / Soul Seduction) succeeded in an excellent way. Especially “Opium Dub“, The album's 9-minute penultimate track is a study of slowness. Even Ernestus and von Oswald should take off their hats here. The fact that digital jockey, who is half of the computer jockeys from Cologne, has his roots in electronic music, can hardly be overheard. His tracks are extremely minimalistic and almost rationally constructed. Often it's just a jazzy piano solo that brings a certain unpredictability and organic movement to the tune, sometimes it's the voice of Terry Armstrong. Then the structures dissolve again in a complete noise all-over, only to be replaced by an old-fashioned song with piano accompaniment. Very fascinating.

Now we come to the revival selection. The two most important reissue labels, Pressure Sounds and Blood and Fire, have announced their new albums. The latter celebrates its tenth anniversary "Run It Red" (Blood And Fire / Indigo), a selection from their own pool, put together by Simply Red frontman Mick Hucknall - which is also pretty obvious, since Hucknall is one of the founders of Blood And Fire alongside Steve Barrow and Bob Harding. Amazingly, Hucknall has predominantly for his birthday serenade Dub- Pieces selected by King Tubby and his protégé Prince Jammy. All pieces are from the 70s, most of them from the first half. A solid selection, the real one Dub-Friends won't be knocked off their feet either, because the Dubs of the classic Bunny Lee productions are well known. Actually, it's the mixture with the vocal pieces that makes the anniversary album interesting. Tunes by Gregory Isaacs, Big Youth, Prince Alla, the Congos and others are interspersed here with regularity - whenever it just starts to get a bit boring.

Stylistically, the Pressure Sounds album is not too far removed from this "Down Santic Way" (Pressure Sounds / Rough Trade) with productions by Leonard Chin from 1973 to 1975. There are also some vocal tracks here, z. B. by Freddie McKay, I Roy or by a certain William Shakespeare, who turns out to be Gregory Isaacs. The sound of the productions is - in keeping with the style of the time - bone dry, brittle and at the same time rough. Even when Tubby occasionally turns in a little reverb or Augustus Pablo thinks about his melodica, the groove doesn't want to flow. Rough and unpolished, the minimalist rhythms stumble on, driven by the dryly struck snarre and tight guitar riffs. Even if the Pressure Sounds people leave no doubt that they have unearthed a real treasure here, the keterrian remark that this treasure requires a certain capacity for suffering in the listener is allowed.

How much the sound has changed with the appearance of the Revolutionaries (with Sly & Robbie) can be seen "Earthquake Dub" (Hot Pot / Indigo) by Ossie Hibbert Listen. The beats roll like clockwork here, driven by Sly's unmistakable rockers drumming. Four to the floor it goes here with a dynamic through the rhythms that one can only be amazed. Hibbert, who mixed the album at record speed, may have benefited from this, because it sounds particularly exciting Dub-Mix not. But what the tracks lack in an interesting mix, the superbly rehearsed rhythms like "Pick Up The Pieces", "Declaration Of Right" or "So Jah Say" more than make up for it.

This is followed by the album "Leroy Smart In Dub" (Jamaican Recordings). Here the beats sound even rounder and the bass warmer. Tubby wasn't exactly exhausted with the mixes (how could he, with an average of 200 Bunny Lee rhythms per week) and delivered a routine minimal mix. Sly Dunbar also seems to have calmed down a little more here. He and Santa Davis hit the snarre more sparingly, but no less impulsively, while Robbie plays gently grooving basslines. Occasionally a well-known bassline like "My Conversation" or "Zion Gate" sounds. Everything was very relaxed and peppered with scattered Leroy Smart snippets. Not sensational, but very pleasant - ideal after a long day full of nerve-wracking experimentalDubs ...

Post a comment

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Kategorien
Dub Dub (R)evolution

Dub Revolution, März 2005

Nikolai Beverungen, Inhaber des Hamburger Echo Beach-Labels, ist stets auf der Suche nach interessanten Dub-Manifestationen. Dabei wird er zunehmend in den entlegendsten Winkeln der Erde fündig. Präsentierte er pünktlich zur letzten Ausgabe von Riddim seinen „South Africa in Dub“-Sampler, so serviert er uns nun mit “The Sound Of Dub – New Zealand in Dub” (Echo Beach/Indigo) frische Dub-Tunes aus Neuseeland. Das verrückte dabei ist, dass egal woher die Dubs herkommen, sei es aus Frankreich, Brasilien, England, den USA, Deutschland oder eben aus Kiwi-Land, immer sind es hochinteressante Musik-Experimente, die aber erstaunlicher Weise kaum regionaltypische Merkmale aufweisen. Fast scheint es, als würden die Dub-Pflänzchen, egal wo sie aus dem Boden sprießen, stets vom selben, den gesamten Erdball durchdringenden, Dub-Rhizom genährt. Dub ist keine Volks-, sondern Studiomusik, und so wundert es nicht, dass die 15 Tracks auf „New Zealand in Dub“ nicht nach Auenland oder Mordor, sondern nach London, Paris oder Hamburg klingen. Es ist „The Sound Of Dub“, wie es folgerichtig fett auf den Echo Beach-Samplern prangt. In Neuseeland steht dieser Sound jedenfalls in voller Blüte und wird vom heimischen Label „Loop“ gehegt und gepflegt. Drei Jahre lang hat Herr Beverungen Material gesichtet und nun die 15 besten Tracks nach Europa importiert. Obwohl die Stücke von 12 unterschiedlichen Dub-Producern stammen, präsentiert sich der Sampler als sehr geschlossen und stringent. Alle Tracks fußen auf soliden, warmen Reggae-Beats und erforschen von dort aus die Welt urbaner Sounds wie Drum ‚n’ Bass, Elektronik, Downbeat bis hin zu melodiösem Pop. Die Namen der Artists lauten u. a. Confucius, The Black Seeds, 50Hz, Pitch Black oder Rhombus – komplette Nobodys auf internationalem Dub-Parkett, sehr zu unrecht, denn ihre Dub-Tunes gehören zweifellos in die erste Liga. Vor allem die Black Seeds dürften mit ihren Pop-Melodien echtes Hitpotential in Europa haben. Lee Tui ist da von komplett anderem Kaliber. In einem erzürnten Rap – über einen stoischen bassgetriebenen Beat – fordert er soziale und ökologische Verantwortung. Herausragend ist auch der perfekt arrangierte Dub „Winds“ von Rhombus, gekrönt von der betörenden Stimme von Raashi Malik. Sehr, sehr schön, das Ganze. Hoffen wir, dass der Dub-Importeur aus Hamburg noch viele interessante Blüten des Dub-Rhizoms wird aufspüren können. Hier schon mal ein erster Vorschlag: Wie wäre es mit Japan?

Auch Polen ist so ein unentdecktes Dub-Land. Zurzeit wieder erhältlich sind die zwei Sampler „Dub Out Of Poland Part 1“ und „Part 2“ (beide Import) aus den Jahren 2001 und 2002, auf denen sich die polnische Dub-Szene präsentiert. Auch wenn manche Tracks sich noch nicht richtig vom Vorbild des UK-Dub der 90er Jahre emanzipiert haben, so ist die Qualität der hier vorgestellten Dubs ausgesprochen gut. Vor allem auf „Part 2“ finden sich ein paar Produktionen erster Güte, wie z. B. Dj Ridm feat. Roots Temper mit „Zion“, einem schönen Uptempo-Rockers-Stück. Oder noch besser: „Violin-Dub“ vom Crazy Sound System, auf dem eine Violine melancholische polnische Volksweisen anstimmt. Da werden Erinnerungen an die Trebunja-Family wach!

Auch Alpha & Omega melden sich wieder zu Wort, und zwar im wahrsten Sinne, denn ihr neues Album „Trample the Eagle and the Dragon and the Bear“ (Greensleeves/Rough Trade) ist ein Showcase-Album mit Gast-Vokalisten. Wohl inspiriert von Rootsman und Twilight Circus, die letztes Jahr ähnliche Projekte lancierten, haben auch Mrs. Woodbridge und Mr. Spronsen Lust auf ein wenig Gesellschaft im Studio gehabt. Dazu haben sie u. a. einen speziellen Stargast geladen, mit dem wohl niemand gerechnet hat: Gregory Isaacs! Ein wenig verzweifelt singt er gegen den A&O-Rhythm an. Die Idee ist gut, aber Gregorys Stimme braucht Raum, den ihm dieser typisch übervolle Rhythm nicht gibt. Und so klingt der Meister ziemlich verloren in dem Sound-Dschungel aus London. Noch eklatanter ist das Missverhältnis von Stimme und Sound-Allover bei dem Titelstück, auf dem Reuben Master verzweifelt versucht, gehört zu werden. Vielleicht haben Woodbridge und Spronsen ihrem Konzept beim finalen Mix dann doch nicht mehr getraut und die Stimmen auf das Niveau der Instrumente heruntergepegelt. Nur auf dem ersten Track des Albums stimmt das Verhältnis, und dieser ist bezeichnenderweise von Mad Professor gemischt worden. Dabei wäre es gerade bei diesem Vokalisten fast egal gewesen, ob man ihn versteht oder nicht, denn niemand sonst produziert so viel verbalen Nonsens wie er: Lee Perry. Dem Professor ist es gelungen, den A&O-Rhythm so hinzumixen, dass er wie ein original Black-Ark-Ryhthm klingt, auf den Perry mit seiner Minimal-Melodie absolut kongenial passt. Zweifellos der beste Tune des Albums. Neben Perry und Gregory befindet sich noch Bunny Lie Lie, Horace Martin, Addis Youth und eben Reuben Master auf dem Album, wobei gerade letzterer absolut nicht überzeugen kann. Dummerweise hat gerade er drei Tracks gevoiced …

Ein sehr schönes, experimentelles Album ist „Conversations“ (Suite Inc./Import) von Dubital. Hinter diesem Namen verbergen sich zwei Italiener namens Raffaele Ferro und Matteo Magni, die es offensichtlich lieben, zu soliden, bass-geerdeten Rhythms verzerrte Stimmen und verrückte Sounds abzuspielen. Das passt wunderbar zusammen, denn während der Rhythmus Sicherheit und Struktur vermittelt, konterkarieren die Effekte diesen Halt stets aufs Neue und erzeugen so eine sehr merkwürdige Spannung aus Konzentration und Verwirrung. Völlig faszinierend ist das Stück „Mama Don’t Cry“, das über einen stoisch-dreisten Computerbass läuft und von zuckersüß-befremdlichen Orgelsounds und Hall-überladenem Gesang begleitet wird.

„Als Kind habe ich mal kodeinhaltigen Hustensaft bekommen und daraufhin die Welt um mich herum in Zeitlupe wahrgenommen. Dieses Gefühl habe ich versucht im Sound der Codeine Tracks und Songs rüberzubringen.“, sagt Digital Jockey, was ihm mit seinem Album „Codeine Dub“ (Poets Club/Soul Seduction) aufs vortrefflichste gelungen ist. Vor allem „Opium Dub“, der 9-minütige, vorletzte Track des Albums ist eine Studie in Langsamkeit. Hier dürften selbst Ernestus und von Oswald ihren Hut ziehen. Dass Digital Jockey, der die Hälfte der Computerjockeys aus Köln ist, seine Wurzeln in der elektronischen Musik hat, ist kaum zu überhören. Seine Tracks sind äußerst minimalistisch und geradezu rational konstruiert. Oft ist es nur ein jazziges Piano-Solo, das eine gewisse Unvorhersehbarkeit und organische Bewegung in den Tune bringt, manchmal ist es die Stimme von Terry Armstrong. Dann wieder lösen sich die Strukturen in einem kompletten Noise-Allover auf, um schließlich von einem altmodischen Song mit Klavierbegleitung abgelöst zu werden. Sehr faszinierend.

Kommen wir nun zur Revival-Selection. Die beiden wichtigsten Reissue-Labels, Pressure Sounds und Blood and Fire melden sich mit neuen Alben zu Wort. So feiert letzteres sein zehnjähriges Bestehen mit „Run It Red“ (Blood And Fire/Indigo), einer Selection aus dem eigenen Fundus, zusammengestellt von Simply Red-Frontmann Mick Hucknall – was auch einigermaßen nahe liegend ist, da Hucknall neben Steve Barrow und Bob Harding einer der Gründer von Blood And Fire ist. Erstaunlicherweise hat Hucknall für sein Geburtstagsständchen vorwiegend Dub-Stücke von King Tubby und dessen Protegé Prince Jammy ausgewählt. Alle Stücke stammen aus den 70er Jahren, die meisten aus der ersten Hälfte. Eine solide Auswahl, die wahre Dub-Freunde aber auch nicht gerade vom Hocker hauen wird, denn die Dubs von den klassischen Bunny Lee-Produktionen sind sattsam bekannt. Eigentlich macht erst die Mischung mit den Vocal-Stücken das Jubiläumsalbum interessant. In schöner Regelmäßigkeit werden hier Tunes von Gregory Isaacs, Big Youth, Prince Alla, den Congos u. a. eingestreut – immer dann, wenn es gerade beginnt, ein bisschen langweilig zu werden.

Davon stilistisch nicht allzu weit entfernt liegt das Pressure Sounds-Album „Down Santic Way“ (Pressure Sounds/Rough Trade) mit Produktionen von Leonard Chin aus den Jahren 1973 bis 1975. Auch hier finden sich einige Vocal-Tracks, z. B. von Freddie McKay, I Roy oder von einem gewissen William Shakespeare, der sich allerdings als Gregory Isaacs entpuppt. Der Sound der Produktionen ist – dem Stil der Zeit entsprechend – knochentrocken, spröde und zugleich rough. Selbst wenn Tubby gelegentlich ein wenig Hall reindreht oder Augustus Pablo seine Melodika drüberlegt, will der Groove nicht fließen. Rau und ungeschliffen stolpern die minimalistischen Rhythms voran, getrieben von der trocken angeschlagenen Snarre und knappen Gitarrenriffs. Auch wenn die Pressure-Sounds-Leute keinen Zweifel daran lassen, dass sie hier einen wahren Schatz gehoben haben, so sei doch die keterrische Bemerkung erlaubt, dass dieser Schatz beim Hörer eine gewisse Leidensfähigkeit voraussetzt.

Wie sehr sich der Sound mit Auftritt der Revolutionaries (mit Sly & Robbie) verändert hat, lässt sich auf „Earthquake Dub“ (Hot Pot/Indigo) von Ossie Hibbert hören. Hier rollen die Beats wie geschmiert, angetrieben von Slys unverwechselbarem Rockers-Drumming. Four to the floor geht es hier mit einer Dynamik durch die Rhythms, dass man nur staunen kann. Hibbert, der das Album im Rekordtempo abgemischt hat, mag dies zugute gekommen sein, denn sonderlich aufregend klingt sein Dub-Mix nicht. Doch was den Tracks an interessantem Mix fehlt, gleichen die superb eingespielten Rhythms, wie „Pick Up The Pieces“, „Declaration Of Right“ oder „So Jah Say“ mehr als aus.

Daran schließt nahtlos das Album „Leroy Smart In Dub“ (Jamaican Recordings) an. Hier klingen die Beats noch runder und der Bass wärmer. Tubby hat sich bei den Mixes nicht gerade verausgabt (wie sollte er auch, bei den durchschnittlich 200 Bunny Lee-Rhythms pro Woche) und einen routinierten Minimal-Mix abgeliefert. Auch Sly Dunbar scheint hier etwas mehr zur Ruhe gekommen sein. Sparsamer, aber nicht weniger treibend setzen er und Santa Davis die Snarre-Anschläge, während Robbie sanft groovende Basslines dazu spielt. Gelegentlich klingt eine bekannte Bassline wie „My Conversation“ oder „Zion Gate“ an. Alles sehr entspannt und gespickt mit versprengten Leroy Smart-Schnipseln. Nicht sensationell, aber sehr angenehm – ideal nach einem langen Tag voller nervenaufreibender Experimental-Dubs …

Kommentar verfassen

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.