Categories
Dub (Revolution Review

Dub Revolution, November 2006

Matisyahu, ultra-Orthodox Jew from New York, was absolutely hype in the USA with his new album "Youth" at the beginning of the year. A Jew with a long beard and a black hat who plays reggae and cites Bob Marley as a great role model is indeed always worth a story. So it is not surprising that his person is at the center of media interest and not his songs. With the best will in the world, they would not have deserved it either. Because, although the album by Bill Laswell was produced, it did not stand out musically from the average of American pop music. To call it a reggae album at all would be daring, the songs get lost too much in uninspired guitar playing and moderately interesting beats - which could still be lived with if it weren't for Matisyahu's completely awkward vocals, which mercilessly dealt the album its death blow. But that Matisyahu's band, Roots tonicthat she can be really good without her boss, she proves on her "own" album "Roots Tonic Meets Bill Laswell" (ROIR / Cargo Records), that (thank goodness) none Dub-Version of "Youth" is. On the contrary: After "Youth" climbed to number 4 on the Billboard charts and everyone was concentrating on Matisyahu, producer Bill Laswell and the three Roots Tonics Josh Werner (bass), Aaron Dugan (guitar) and Jonah David (drums) the calm and retired to Laswell's Orange Studios in Brooklyn and took a thoroughbred there DubAlbum on. And what one! It's hard to believe that these are the same musicians as on "Youth", because on "Roots Tonic Meets Bill Laswell" there is really good, powerful music to be heard. Instead of Matisyahu's little voice, the bass sets the tone here. The heavy and at the same time melodiously swinging bass lines roll wonderfully powerfully out of the speakers and lay the strong foundation for guitar and mix, while the drums set precise beats either in a slow one-drop or in a tight stepper march. As tight as these rhythms may be, the joy of playing of the three musicians is unmistakable - the momentum of their groove must have inspired them too. Bill Laswell is also showing his best side. His mix is ​​perfectly dosed and sets well-considered accents instead of randomly applying effects to all instruments. Apparently he knew that he could trust the playing of the three instrumentalists. Laswell therefore relied on a classic old-schoolDub-Mix that sometimes sounds a bit like early Adrian Sherwood productions. He doesn't even touch the bassline. It runs through from the first to the last track without interruption. The drums were mixed extremely dry by the master - just as the Americans love it (which, by the way, occasionally gives the sound of the Dub Trios comes very close), while guitar and keyboard mostly swim in a lake of reverb and echoes. Laswell - clearly satisfied with his production - summarized the result of his work with Roots Tonic as follows: “A futurist space /dub transmission in which the spirit of Roots Radics, Sly & Robbie and Scientist gets re-electrified and blown to new proportions. “What else can you add to that?

At the same time last year, the furious album “Don't Stop Dub" from Dude presented. He presented himself as a representative of the hardcore variant of the classic 90s UKDub in front. Brute, electronic basslines, stoic drum machines and reverb-soaked synthie offbeats characterize his sound. Kanka also uses this style on his new album "Alert" (hammer bass / nocturne) consistently continue. In straight "Four To The Floor" - and for Dub maximum permissible top speed - he stomps through his tunes and lets it rattle and thunder all around. Kanka is tough: Warrior Style! And it's fun to see the good old 90s sound so consistently saved into the present day. Despite the photo on the Hammerbass website - judging by the fact that children's songs were sung to Monsieur Kanka in the 90s - his biography claims that he played in a reggae band in 1997 and had around 200 concerts. That should have been enough to familiarize him with the sound. He retired to his living room studio and tinkered his first solo in 2003DubAlbum together. Solo in the truest sense, because Kanka played all the instruments (drum machine, keyboards, bass, brass) himself (although - actually these are all just one instrument: the computer ?!). In 2005 the already mentioned “Don't Stop Dub"And now" Alert ", on which he works for the first time (on three tracks) with a vocalist: Brother Culture from Brixton. By the way, he does his job very well, because his three songs are really good. His “Town Get Vile” in particular is a real catchy tune - a song in which he tells of parts of the city that tourists (better) don't dare to venture into. In addition, a distorted bass hammers notes into the ear canals, which emphatically underlines Cultures' warning. To be on the safe side, this album should only be put on after the first coffee.

Now for the revival selection, back to 1977 as Lloyd "Bullwackie" Barnes the Dub-Album "Reckless Roots Rockers" (Wackies / Indigo) published. He had only recently moved from Jamaica to New York in the Bronx and had these recordings in his luggage. They were from 1974-75 and were recorded by the Soul Syndicate band in King Tubby's studio. So they don't sound like the typical bullwackie productions, even though Barnes mixed them in New York. Compared to the warm, mystical Wackies sound, they are far too dry and spartan - but no less interesting. Surprisingly, the ten tracks also include a vocal tune by Jah Carlos (Don Carlos of course), who was also recorded and voiced in Jamaica. "Prepare Jah Man" is a strong song about an almost even stronger rhythm that later became famous in the showcase version of the song "Moses" on Wayne Jarret's legendary "Bubble Up" album. There are also other rhythms that the Wackies collector should be familiar with as vocal versions, such as Joe Morgan's "Basement Session" or "I Belong To You" by Love Joys. So all in all a nice, if not very typical Wackies album

Post a comment

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Kategorien
Dub Dub (R)evolution

Dub Revolution, November 2006

Matisyahu, ultraorthodoxer Jude aus New York, war mit seinem neuen Album „Youth“ zu Beginn des Jahres in den USA absoluter Hype. Ein Jude mit Rauschebart und schwarzem Hut, der Reggae spielt und Bob Marley als großes Vorbild anführt, ist in der Tat immer eine Story wert. So verwundert es nicht, dass seine Person im Zentrum des Medieninteresses steht und nicht seine Songs. Diese hätten es – beim besten Willen – auch nicht verdient. Denn, obwohl das Album von Bill Laswell produziert wurde, ragte es musikalisch nicht aus dem Durchschnitt amerikanischer Popmusik heraus. Es überhaupt als Reggae-Album zu bezeichnen, wäre schon gewagt, zu sehr verlieren sich die Songs in uninspirierten Gitarrenspielereien und mäßig interessanten Beats – womit sich ja noch leben ließe, wäre da nicht Matisyahus gänzlich ungelenker Gesang, der dem Album erbarmungslos den Todesstoß versetzt. Dass hingegen die Band von Matisyahu, Roots Tonic, ohne ihren Chef richtig gut sein kann, beweist sie nun auf ihrem „eigenen“ Album “Roots Tonic Meets Bill Laswell” (ROIR/Cargo Records), das (Gott sei Dank) keine Dub-Version von „Youth“ ist. Im Gegenteil: Nachdem „Youth“ auf Platz 4 der Billboard-Charts geklettert war und alle Welt sich auf Matisyahu konzentrierte, nutzten Prodzent Bill Laswell und die drei Roots Tonics Josh Werner (Bass), Aaron Dugan (Gitarre) und Jonah David (Schlagzeug) die Ruhe und zogen sich in die Laswellschen Orange Studios in Brooklyn zurück und nahmen dort ein reinrassiges Dub-Album auf. Und was für eines! Kaum zu glauben, dass es sich hier um die selben Musiker handelt wie auf „Youth“, denn auf „Roots Tonic Meets Bill Laswell“ gibt es richtig gute, kraftvolle Musik zu hören. Statt Matisyahus Stimmchen, gibt hier der Bass den Ton an. Wunderbar druckvoll rollen die schweren und zugleich melodiös schwingenden Basslines aus den Lautsprechern und legen das starke Fundament für Gitarre und Mix, während das Schlagzeug entweder im schleppenden One-Drop oder in strammem Steppers-Marsch  präzise Beats setzt. So tight diese Rhythms auch sein mögen, die Spielfreude der drei Musiker ist unverkennbar – der Schwung ihres Grooves muss auch sie selbst beflügelt haben. Auch Bill Laswell zeigt sich von der besten Seite. Sein Mix ist perfekt dosiert und setzt wohlüberlegte Akzente, statt allen Instrumenten wahllos Effekte überzubügeln. Offenbar wusste er, dass er dem Spiel der drei Instrumentalisten vertrauen kann. Daher setzte Laswell auf einen klassischen Old-School-Dub-Mix, der manchmal ein wenig nach frühen Adrian Sherwood-Produktionen klingt. Die Bassline rührt er gar nicht an. Vom ersten bis zum letzten Track läuft sie ohne Unterbrechung durch. Das Schlagzeug wurde vom Meister extrem trocken gemischt – so wie es die Amis lieben (was übrigens gelegentlich dem Sound des Dub Trios sehr nahe kommt), während Gitarre und Keyboard meist  in einem See aus Hall und Echos schwimmen. Laswell – sichtlich zufrieden mit seiner Produktion – hat das Ergebnis seiner Arbeit mit Roots Tonic folgendermaßen zusammengefasst: „A futurist space/dub transmission in which the spirit of Roots Radics, Sly & Robbie and Scientist gets re-electrified and blown to new proportions.“ Was will man dem noch hinzufügen?

Zur gleichen Zeit im letzten Jahr, wurde an dieser Stelle mit überschwenglichen Worten das furiose Album „Don’t Stop Dub“ von Kanka vorgestellt. Er stellte sich darauf als ein Vertreter der Hardcore-Variante des klassischen 90er-UK-Dub vor. Brachiale, elektronische Basslines, stoische Drummachine und in Hall getränkte Synthie-Offbeats kennzeichnen seinen Sound. Diesen Style setzt Kanka auch auf seinem neuen Album „Alert“ (Hammerbass/Nocturne) konsequent fort. In straightem „Four To The Floor“ – und dem für Dub maximal zulässigen Höchsttempo – stampft er durch seine Tunes und lässt es ringsum scheppern und donnern. Kanka zählt zur harten Sorte: Warrior Style! Und es macht Spaß, den guten alten 90er-Sound so konsequent in die heutige Zeit gerettet zu sehen. Dem Foto auf der Hammerbass-Website zum Trotz – nach dem zu urteilen, Monsieur Kanka in den 90er Jahren noch Kinderlieder vorgesungen wurden – behauptet seine Biographie, dass er 1997 bereits in einer Reggae-Band spielte und rund 200 Konzerte absolvierte. Das dürfte gereicht haben, um ihn mit dem Sound vertraut gemacht zu haben. Er zog sich in sein Wohnzimmerstudio zurück und frickelte sich 2003 sein erstes Solo-Dub-Album zusammen. Solo im wahrsten Sinne, denn alle Instrumente (Drummachine, Keyboards, Bass, Bläser) spielte Kanka selbst (obwohl – eigentlich sind das alles doch nur ein Instrument: der Computer?!). 2005 folgte dann das bereits erwähnte „Don’t Stop Dub“ und nun „Alert“, auf dem er erstmals (auf drei Tracks) mit einem Vokalisten zusammenarbeitet: Brother Culture aus Brixton. Dieser macht seine Arbeit übrigens ganz hervorragend, denn seine drei Songs sind richtig gut. Vor allem sein „Town Get Vile“ ist ein echter Ohrwurm – ein Song, in dem er von Stadtteilen berichtet, in die sich Touristen (besser) nicht hineinwagen. Dazu hämmert ein verzerrter Bass brachial Noten in die Gehörgänge, die Cultures Warnung nachdrücklich unterstreichen. Dieses Album sollte man sicherheitshalber erst nach dem ersten Kaffee auflegen.

Nun zur Revival-Selection und zwar zurück in das Jahr 1977 als Lloyd „Bullwackie“ Barnes das Dub-Album „Reckless Roots Rockers“ (Wackies/Indigo) veröffentlichte. Erst kurz zuvor war er von Jamaika nach New York in die Bronx gezogen und hatte dabei diese Aufnahmen im Gepäck. Sie stammten aus den Jahren 1974-75 und waren von der Soul Syndicate-Band in King Tubbys Studio eingespielt worden. Daher klingen sie auch nicht nach den typischen Bullwackie-Produktionen, obwohl Barnes sie in New York gemixt hatte. Im Vergleich zum warmen, mystischen Wackies-Sound sind sie viel zu trocken und spartanisch – aber nicht minder interessant. Unter den zehn Tracks findet sich erstaunlicherweise auch ein Vocal-Tune von Jah Carlos (natürlich Don Carlos), der ebenfalls in Jamaika eingespielt und gevoiced worden war. „Prepare Jah Man“ ist ein starker Song über einen fast noch stärkeren Rhythm, der später in der Showcase-Version des Songs „Moses“ auf Wayne Jarrets legendärem „Bubble Up“-Album berühmt wurde. Daneben finden sich weitere Rhythms, die dem Wackies-Sammler als Vocal-Versionen gut vertraut sein dürften, wie etwa Joe Morgans „Basement Session“ oder „I Belong To You“ von den Love Joys. Insgesamt also ein schönes, wenn auch nicht sehr typisches Wackies-Album

Kommentar verfassen

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.