Categories
Dub (Revolution Review

Dub Revolution, September 2006

Noise shaper they are here again! And exactly where we want them. After their last album, "Rough Out There", which was very much oriented towards reggae mainstream, they take care of the new one "Real To Reel" (Echo Beach / Indigo) again with sophisticated “housey downbeats with a fat reggae flavor”. Despite the numerous vocal tunes included, the focus is again on the sound. The voices are added attributively, like another instrument, instead of dominating the whole track. Besides, there are just as many Dubs represent vocals, which make Real to Reel an album that is as varied as it is interesting. Some of the pieces gathered here like “Rise”, “You Take Control”, “Jah Dub"," Moving Together "," All A Dem A Do "," Dunk "and of course" The Only Redeemer "are already from older Noiseshaper albums (z. B. the great “Prelaunch Sequence” published on Different Drummer) and are now rerecorded and remixed here. In doing so, they even gained in drive and dynamism and increased in complexity - perhaps because the great Adrian Sherwood is responsible for the mix. But the album also offers brand new tunes such as the great "The Creator", a bombastic, ultra-separate roots stepper, garnished with the occasional lyrics by Juggla. Completely different tones sound on "Wake Up". This tune flows warm and infinitely relaxed, accompanied by Jahcoustix's singing, from the speakers. Most typical, however, is the Grace Jones tribute "Love To The Rhythm". The early influence of Rockers HiFi can be clearly felt here, under whose wing Noiseshaper released the first two albums. In general, the two boys from Vienna, Axel Hirn and Florian Fleischmann, have already had a remarkable musical journey into the epicentres of Dub-Music that currently took her to London. The highlight of their career was undoubtedly the use of their song "The Only Redeemer" in the US television series CSI: Miami, which earned them a mainstream single release on Palm Pictures and catapulted their music onto the dance floors around the world. "The Only Redeemer" can also be heard on "Real To Reel" in a newly recorded version, the mix of which is a lot dubis bigger and at the same time clearer and more present. This shows, in direct comparison, the championship of Adrian Sherwood. How good that he and Noiseshaper found each other! Their work together has produced the best fruit in recent months on the Dub-Market to buy goods.

Alpha & Omega have new ones Dubs recorded - although that can't really be said, because the sound of the British couple is so constant that every tune is a single - but very welcome - deja vu. Heavy beats and endless sluggish beats that drag themselves from measure to measure, garnished with bizarre jungle sounds as well as the massive use of reverb and echo are their trademark. As with Lee Perry's Black Ark sound, every clear sound is blurred in a great primordial soup of eruptive beats. Hence her new album "City Of Dub"(Alpha & Omega / Import) do not measure according to conventional quality standards such as production quality or songwriting. What counts here is atmosphere and uncompromising attitude. The City of Dub which was built on 13 tracks, with - with three exceptions - each track appears twice: as a vocal and as a Dub-Version. When it comes to production economics, Alpha & Omega have never given up on issues. The round of vocalists consists of the usual suspects: Jonah Dan, Nishka, Jah Zebbi, Coz Tafari and others. It should be noted on a positive note that they occasionally contribute very beautiful, concise melodies, such as z. B. Coz Tafari on the track “Marching Warriors”, or - really great - the Portuguese singing Valnei Aine on “Massacre In The Ghetto”. And this shows that Alpha & Omega productions can also benefit from good vocals - which was recently clearly heard on the albums by Ryan Moore (Twilight Circus). With “City Of Dub“Maybe the best A&O album of the last few years is available - which, however, does not apply to the cover. Here the old Ethiopian illustrations were much better. It's hard to understand why A&O abandoned their “corporate design”.

Let's stay a little longer in England and turn to the new one Dub- Mad Professor's album too: "Mad Professor Meets Mafia & Fluxy - A New Galaxy Of dub Sci Fi 2 " (Ariwa / Rough Trade). The professor undoubtedly deserves credit for his indefatigable Dub-Albums released. For over 20 years he has been the great constant in the British Dub - yes that Dub at all. Apart from him there is hardly anyone who has stuck to this genre so steadfastly and consistently. While Mad Professor used to have his house band, the Robotics, record all the tracks, in recent years he has brought various guest musicians into the house to bring in new material. Mafia & Fluxy have often connected their computers in the Ariwa Studio and relentlessly copied new rhythms onto the professor's tapes. Maybe a little too often, because the new galaxy of the Dubs does not hold any new discoveries or surprises. The rhythms are unwound here too routinely and although Neil Frazer intensively turns the controls, you can clearly hear that he has simply run out of ideas. But maybe the rhythms were too uninspired for him, too. Mad Prof. last showed that he still has it with his great Sly & Robby album - the second part of which he announced a long time ago. Hopefully it will come soon, because an exciting new one Dub-Album from the house of Ariwa is necessary!

The Mad Prof. album is surpassed in terms of boredom by the new work of Tassili Players, “Ages Of The Earth In Dub"(Wibbly Wobbly / Download) which - probably due to the poor quality - has not brought it to a regular CD release and is only available as a download (iTunes Store). The tunes sound like very early Zion Train recordings and belong to the 90s. If Neil Perch doesn't want to sell us old material here, then the question remains, why does he enjoy still producing this outmoded sound.

The new album by sounds much more interesting Love Grocer "Across The Valley" (Wibbly Wobbly / Import), also from Zion Train. It owes its quality above all to the use of the horn section - typical for Love Grocer. The wind melodies float wonderfully lightly over the gentle and relaxed backings, lose themselves in the tightly woven sound atmosphere, only to be in the foreground again with full presence. So it's understandable that many of the tracks have more of an instrumental character than Dubs have - if it weren't for the typical Wibbly Wobbly sound, which inevitably has the stamp "Dub“Impresses. Although the tunes are extremely melodious thanks to the brass section, singers such as Earl 16, MC Spee and Jonah Dan were invited occasionally, of which the former in particular delivers a very strong tune. So all in all a nice, if not earth-shattering album. 

Comes from France miniman, aka Roland Rougé, who let us know on his last album that he is now trading under the name Seven Seals. To make the confusion complete, his new album was released "Opus In Dub Minor "(www.hammerbass.fr/Import) again under the name Miniman. So let's stick with it - although I liked him a little better as Seven Seals. His album Stars wasn't exciting, but the quality was good enough to import into my iTunes library. The opus in Dub-Moll this luck will not happen. It's just too boring. Similar to the Tassilli Players, it sounds like it has Dub made no progress since the 1990s. The synth sounds used here are definitely used up. Occasional, somewhat embarrassing samples of classical music and a thoroughly ambitious mix don't help either. If the body, i.e. the rhythm and the sound, are not good, then there is no point in screwing on ornaments. On the contrary, it makes matters even worse since the work cannot deliver what it first appears to be promising.

Burning Babylon should be familiar to the readers of this column. Behind this is Slade Anderson, whose last two albums "Knives To The Treble" and "Stereo Mash Up" were extensively praised at this point. Especially the latter, with its rough, hand-played sound, could convince in full length. Now Anderson lays "Garden Of Dub"(Mars Records / Import) in front. In a sense, it is episode 1 of the trilogy, because the recordings were made in 2001 in Anderson's living room studio and document his first steps in the realm of Dub. Recorded with the most primitive instruments and mastered on compact cassette, the sound does not come close to the quality of the two later albums. Musically it can't quite keep up either, although there are a lot of really good ideas, beautiful melodies and a dark atmosphere in the album. Andersons Dub-Talent sparkles here from every note, even if it was not polished to a high gloss.

Now we come to the revival selection. Take part in the beginning "Roots Radics Meets Scientist And King Tubby In A Dub Explosion "(roots / import?) a brilliant one Dub-Album from the famous Channel One studio, recorded by its house band with Style Scott on drums and Flabba Holt on bass. A typically minimalist work by the Roots Radics. Sparingly orchestrated with seemingly endless pauses between two notes - only the sluggish bass and the rhythmic hitting of hi hats can be heard over and over again - the reggae rhythm has never been more puristic and slower. Scientist and Tubby also took their time and moved the controls rather sparingly, which gives the tracks an extremely hypnotizing effect. If you listen to it quickly, the album may seem boring and unimaginative, but once you have let yourself into the flow of slowness, you can make new discoveries in every corner of the Echo Chamber. As an added bonus, the basslines are often nice classics like “Rougher Yet”, “Mama Used To Say” or “Things A Come Up To Bump”.

The latter is also on the album, by the way "Version Dead" (Studio One / Heartbeat) to hear - in the original, because this is where the men and women of the popular Studio One reissue label “Heartbeat” have put together the “most coveted” B-sides of classic Studio One singles. All (not) mixed from Dub specialist, as Coxsone called himself, because apart from occasionally turning on the vocal track, this can be from Dub out of the question. But who cares with rhythms like “Mr. Fire Coal Man ”,“ Real Rock ”(as a real one, by the way Dub!), “Pick Up The Pieces”, “Declaration Of Rights” and of course “Things A Come Up To Bump”. As usual from Heartbeat, the tunes sound in a beautifully restored version, so that the bass of the Soul Vendors, Soul Dimension and Soul Defenders thunders powerfully from the speakers and can unfold all the charm of these so often copied mini melodies. Here you can hear it, the soul of reggae, pure and direct.

Now for an album that has a very strange story. We're talking about "King Tubby Meets Jacob Miller In A Tenement Yard" (Motionrecords /?). You can hear the rhythms of the famous Jacob Miller album "Tenement Yard" played by Inner Circle. But with rather idiosyncratic synth overdubs and the occasional bell-like sound of a xylophone. While the band's keyboardist, Bernhard “Touter” Harvey, is responsible for the former, the xylophone was in all probability played by Augustus Pablo. They owe their creation Dub-Tracks the Fatman Riddim Section's wish for usable B-sides for the hit tunes of the Tenement album. Although the tracks were never intended for an album, they were brought to Tubby - who mixed them routinely - and then, in 1976, published in tiny numbers and with the wrong label as a long player. No wonder that hardly anyone knew about the album and that Motionrecords now consider it the “rarest Dub Album ever released in Jamaica ”. The album undoubtedly possesses its qualities through the technical mastery of the Inner Circle band and the rhythms undoubtedly belong in the ranks of the best mid-70ties roots productions. Whether the overdubBut s now represent an enrichment is questionable. Quirkiness is not necessarily a quality feature - not even in the Dub.

Post a comment

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Kategorien
Dub Dub (R)evolution

Dub Revolution, September 2006

Noiseshaper sind wieder da! Und zwar genau dort, wo wir sie haben wollen. Nach ihrem letzten, sehr am Reggae-Mainstream orientierten Album „Rough Out There“, kümmern sie sich auf dem neuen „Real To Reel“ (Echo Beach/Indigo) wieder um ausgeklügelte „housey downbeats with a fat reggae flavor“. Trotz der zahlreich enthaltenen Vocal-Tunes, steht wieder der Sound im Vordergrund. Die Stimmen kommen attributiv hinzu, wie ein weiteres Instrument, statt den ganzen Track zu dominieren. Außerdem sind ebenso viele Dubs wie Vocals vertreten, die Real to Reel zu einem gleichmaßen abwechslungsreichen wie interessanten Album machen. Einige der hier versammelten Stücke wie „Rise“, „You Take Control“, „Jah Dub“, „Moving Together“, „All A Dem A Do“, „Dunk“ und natürlich „The Only Redeemer“ sind bereits von älteren Noiseshaper-Alben (z. B. dem auf Different Drummer erschienenen, großartigen „Prelaunch Sequence“) bekannt und liegen hier nun rerecorded und remixed vor. Dabei haben sie sogar noch an Drive und Dynamik gewonnen und an Komplexität zugelegt –, was vielleicht daran liegt, dass der große Adrian Sherwood für den Mix verantwortlich zeichnet. Doch das Album bietet auch brandneue Tunes wie etwa das großartige „The Creator“, ein bombastischer, ultradeeper Roots-Stepper, garniert mit gelegentlichen Lyrics von Juggla. Ganz andere Töne klingen auf „Wake Up“ an. Warm und unendlich relaxed fließt dieser Tune, begleitet vom Gesang Jahcoustix’, aus den Lautsprechern. Am typischsten jedoch ist das Grace Jones-Tribute „Love To The Rhythm“. Hier ist der frühe Einfluss von Rockers HiFi deutlich zu spüren, unter deren Fittichen Noiseshaper die beiden ersten Alben veröffentlichte. Überhaupt haben die beiden Wiener Jungs, Axel Hirn und Florian Fleischmann, schon eine beachtliche musikalische Reise in die Epizentren der Dub-Musik absolviert, die sie aktuell nach London führte. Höhepunkt der Karriere war zweifellos die Verwendung ihres Songs „The Only Redeemer“ in der US-Fernsehserie CSI: Miami, was ihnen eine Mainstream Singel-Veröffentlichung auf Palm Pictures einbrachte und ihre Musik auf die weltweiten Dancefloors katapultierte. „The Only Redeemer“ ist auch auf „Real To Reel“ in einer neu aufgenommenen Version zu hören, deren Mix viel dubbiger und zugleich klarer und präsenter ist. Hier zeigt sich, im direkten Vergleich, die Meisterschaft von Adrian Sherwood. Wie gut, dass Noiseshaper und er zueinander gefunden haben! Ihre gemeinsame Arbeit hat die besten Früchte hervorgebracht, die in den letzten Monaten auf dem Dub-Market zu kaufen waren.

Alpha & Omega haben neue Dubs aufgenommen – obwohl sich das ja nie so recht sagen lässt, denn der Sound des britischen Pärchens ist so konstant, dass jeder Tune ein einziges – aber sehr willkommenes – Dejà-vu ist. Tonnenschwere Beats und endlos träge, sich von Takt zu Takt schleppende Beats, garniert mit skurrilen Urwald-Sounds sowie der massenhafte Einsatz von Hall und Echo sind ihr Markenzeichen. Wie bei Lee Perrys Black Ark-Sound, verschwimmt hier jeder klare Klang in einer großen Ursuppe eruptiver Beats. Daher lässt sich ihr neues Album „City Of Dub“ (Alpha & Omega/Import) nicht nach herkömmlichen Qualitätsmaßstäben wie Produktionsqualität oder Songwriting messen. Was hier zählt ist Atmosphäre und Kompromisslosigkeit. Beides zeichnet die City of Dub aus, die auf 13 Tracks errichtet wurde, wobei – von drei Ausnahmen abgesehen – jeder Track doppelt auftaucht: als Vocal- und als Dub-Version. Auch in Fragen der Produktionsökonomie haben Alpha & Omega sich nie lumpen lassen. Der Reigen der Vokalisten besteht aus den üblichen Verdächtigen: Jonah Dan, Nishka, Jah Zebbi, Coz Tafari u. a. Dabei ist positiv anzumerken, dass diese gelegentlich doch sehr schöne, prägnante Melodien beisteuern, wie z. B. Coz Tafari auf dem Track „Marching Warriors“, oder – ganz großartig – der portugisisch singende Valnei Aine auf „Massacre In The Ghetto“. Und so zeigt sich, dass auch Alpha & Omega-Produktionen von guten Vocals profitieren können – was zuletzt auch bei den Alben von Ryan Moore (Twilight Circus) deutlich zu hören war. So haben wir mit „City Of Dub“ das vielleicht beste A & O-Album der letzten Jahre vorliegen – was allerdings auf das Cover nicht zutrifft. Hier waren die alten äthiopischen Illustrationen viel besser. Kaum zu verstehen, warum A & O von ihrem „Corporate Design“ gelassen haben.

Bleiben wir noch etwas in England und wenden uns dem neuen Dub-Album des verrückten Professors zu: „Mad Professor Meets Mafia & Fluxy – A New Galaxy Of dub Sci Fi 2“ (Ariwa/Rough Trade). Es ist dem Professor zweifellos hoch anzurechnen, dass er unverdrossen Dub-Alben veröffentlicht. Seit über 20 Jahren ist er die große Konstante des britischen Dub – ja des Dub überhaupt. Außer ihm gibt es kaum jemanden, der so unbeirrt und konstant an diesem Genre festgehalten hätte. Während Mad Professor früher seine Hausband, die Robotics, alle Tracks einspielen ließ, holt er sich in den letzten Jahren diverse Gastmusiker ins Haus, um sich neues Material einspielen zu lassen. Mafia & Fluxy haben im Ariwa Studio schon des öfteren ihre Computer angeschlossen und unverdrossen neue Rhythms auf die Tapes des Professors kopiert. Vielleicht ein wenig zu oft, denn die neue Galaxie des Dubs birgt keine Neuentdeckungen oder Überraschungen. Allzu routiniert werden hier die Rhythms abgespult und obwohl Neil Frazer intensiv an den Reglern dreht, ist deutlich zu hören, dass ihm schlicht und ergreifend die Ideen ausgegangen sind. Aber vielleicht waren auch ihm die Rhythms zu uninspiriert. Denn, dass er es noch drauf hat, zeigte Mad Prof. zuletzt bei seinem großartigen Sly & Robby-Album – dessen zweiten Teil er übrigens schon vor langer Zeit angekündigt hat. Hoffentlich kommt er bald, denn ein spannendes, neues Dub-Album aus dem Hause Ariwa tut Not!

An Langeweile noch überboten, wird das Mad Prof.-Album vom neuen Werk der Tassili Players, „Ages Of The Earth In Dub“ (Wibbly Wobbly/Download) das es – wahrscheinlich aufgrund der mangelnden Qualität nicht zu einer regulären CD-Veröffentlichung gebracht hat und nur als Download (iTunes Store) erhältlich ist. Die Tunes klingen nach ganz frühen Zion Train-Aufnahmen und gehören in die 90er Jahre. Falls uns Neil Perch hier nicht altes Material verkaufen will, dann bleibt die Frage, warum er Spaß daran hat, diesen überkommenen Sound immer noch zu produzieren.

Viel interessanter klingt das neue Album von Love Grocer „Across The Valley“ (Wibbly Wobbly/Import), ebenfalls aus dem Hause Zion Train. Seine Qualität hat es vor allem dem – für Love Grocer typischen – Einsatz der Bläsersektion zu verdanken. Wunderbar leicht schweben die Bläsermelodien über die sanften und entspannten Backings, verlieren sich in der dicht gewebten Sound-Atmosphäre, um dann wieder mit aller Präsenz im Vordergrund zu stehen. Daher ist es auch verständlich, dass viele der Tracks eher den Charakter von Instrumentals denn Dubs haben – wäre da nicht der typische Wibbly Wobbly-Sound, der allem unweigerlich den Stempel „Dub“ aufprägt. Obwohl die Tunes dank der Bläser ausgesprochen melodiös sind, wurden zudem gelegentlich noch Sänger wie Earl 16, MC Spee und Jonah Dan eingeladen, wovon vor allem ersterer einen sehr starken Tune abliefert. Insgesamt also ein schönes, wenn auch nicht weltbewegendes Album. 

Aus Frankreich kommt Miniman, alias Roland Rougé, der uns auf seinem letzten Album wissen ließ, dass er nun unter dem Namen Seven Seals firmiert. Um die Verwirrung komplett zu machen, erschien sein neues Album „Opus In Dub Minor“ (www.hammerbass.fr/Import) wieder unter dem Namen Miniman. Bleiben wir also dabei – obwohl er mir als Seven Seals etwas besser gefallen hat. Sein Album „Stars“ war nicht aufregend, aber die Qualität reichte doch aus, um in meine iTunes-Bibliothek importiert zu werden. Dem Opus in Dub-Moll wird dieses Glück nicht widerfahren. Es ist schlicht zu langweilig. Ähnlich wie bei den Tassilli Players klingt es so, als hätte Dub seit den 1990er Jahren keinerlei Fortschritte gemacht. Die hier verwendeten Synthie-Sounds sind definitiv verbraucht. Da helfen auch gelegentliche, etwas verschämt wirkende Samples klassischer Musik und ein durchaus ambitionierter Mix nicht. Wenn der Körper, also der Rhythmus und der Sound, nicht gut sind, dann nützt es auch nichts noch Zierwerk anzuschrauben. Im Gegenteil, es macht die Sache sogar noch schlimmer, da das Werk nicht halten kann, was es dem ersten Anschein nach verspricht.

Burning Babylon dürfte den Lesern dieser Kolumne ein Begriff sein. Dahinter verbirgt sich Slade Anderson, dessen beide letzten Alben „Knives To The Treble“ und „Stereo Mash Up“ an dieser Stelle ausführlich angepriesen wurden. Vor allem letzteres, mit seinem rauen, handgespielten Sound, konnte auf voller Länge überzeugen. Nun legt Anderson „Garden Of Dub“ (Mars Records/Import) vor. Es ist gewissermaßen Episode 1 der Trilogie, denn die Aufnahmen entstanden 2001, in Andersons Wohnzimmerstudio, und dokumentieren seine ersten Schritte im Reich des Dub. Eingespielt mit primitivstem Instrumentarium und auf Compact Cassette gemastert, reicht es soundtechnisch nicht an die Qualität der beiden späteren Alben heran. Auch musikalisch kann es nicht ganz mithalten, obwohl in dem Album eine ganze Menge richtig guter Ideen, schöner Melodien und dunkler Atmosphäre stecken. Andersons Dub-Talent funkelt hier aus jeder Note, auch wenn diese nicht auf Hochglanz poliert wurde.

Kommen wir nun zur Revival-Selection. Den Anfang macht mit „Roots Radics Meets Scientist And King Tubby In A Dub Explosion“ (Roots/Import?) ein brillantes Dub-Album aus dem berühmten Channel One Studio, eingespielt von dessen Hausband mit Style Scott am Schlagzeug und Flabba Holt am Bass. Ein typisch minimalistisches Werk der Roots Radics. Sparsam instrumentiert mit scheinbar endlosen Pausen zwischen zwei Tönen – immer wieder ist nur der träge Bass und das rhythmische Anschlagen her Hi Hats zu hören – puristischer und langsamer war der Reggae-Rhythmus nie. Scientist und Tubby ließen sich ebenfalls Zeit und bewegten die Regler eher sparsam, was den Tracks eine ungemein hypnotisierende Wirkung verleiht. Beim schnellen Reinhören mag das Album langweilig und einfallslos erscheinen, aber sobald man sich auf den Flow der Langsamkeit eingelassen hat, kann man in jedem Winkel der Echo-Kammer neue Entdeckungen machen. Als zusätzlicher Bonus kommt hinzu, dass die Basslines oft schöne Klassiker sind wie „Rougher Yet“, „Mama Used To Say“ oder „Things A Come Up To Bump“.

Letzterer ist übrigens auch auf dem Album „Version Dead“ (Studio One/Heartbeat) zu hören – und zwar im Original, denn hier haben die Damen und Herren des beliebten Studio One Reissue-Labels „Heartbeat“ die „am meisten begehrten“ B-Seiten klassischer Studio One-Singles zusammengestellt. Alle (nicht) gemischt vom Dub Spezialist, wie Coxsone sich selbst nannte, denn abgesehen vom gelegentlichen Einschalten der Gesangsspur kann hier von Dub nicht die Rede sein. Aber wen kümmert es bei Rhythms wie „Mr. Fire Coal Man“, „Real Rock“ (übrigens als echter Dub!), „Pick Up The Pieces“, „Declaration Of Rights“ und natürlich „Things A Come Up To Bump“. Wie von Heartbeat gewohnt, erklingen die Tunes in sehr schön restaurierter Fassung, so dass der Bass der Soul Vendors, Soul Dimension und Soul Defenders kräftig aus den Lautsprechern wummert und den ganzen Charme dieser so endlos oft kopierten Mini-Melodien entfalten kann. Hier ist sie zu hören, die Seele des Reggae, ganz pur und direkt.

Nun zu einem Album, das eine sehr merkwürdige Geschichte hat. Die Rede ist von „King Tubby Meets Jacob Miller In A Tenement Yard“ (Motionrecords/?). Zu hören sind darauf die von Inner Circle gespielten Rhythms des berühmten Jacob Miller-Albums „Tenement Yard“. Allerdings mit recht eigenwilligen Synthie-Overdubs und dem gelegentlichen, glockengleichen Klang eines Xylophons. Während für erstere der Keyboarder der Band, Bernhard „Touter“ Harvey, verantwortlich zeichnet, wurde das Xylophon aller Wahrscheinlichkeit nach von Augustus Pablo gespielt. Ihre Entstehung verdanken die Dub-Tracks dem Wunsch der Fatman Riddim Section nach brauchbaren B-Seiten für die Hit-Tunes des Tenement-Albums. Obwohl die Tracks niemals für ein Album vorgesehen waren, wurden sie zu Tubby gebracht – der sie routiniert mixte – und anschließend, 1976, in winziger Auflage und zudem mit falschem Labelaufdruck als Longplayer veröffentlicht. Kein Wunder, dass kaum jemand von dem Album wusste und Motionrecords es nun als das „rarste Dub Album, das jemals in Jamaika aufgetaucht ist“ anpreist. Seine Qualitäten besitzt das Album fraglos durch die technische Meisterschaft der Inner Circle-Band und die Rhythms gehören zweifellos in den Reigen der besten Mid-70ties-Roots-Produktionen. Ob die Overdubs aber nun eine Bereicherung darstellen, ist fraglich. Skurrilität ist nicht unbedingt ein Qualitätsmerkmal – auch nicht im Dub.

Kommentar verfassen

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.