Categories
Review

DubBeach Allstars: Dubbing up the coast

(This text has been machine translated.) You want new scientistDubs hear about the Roots Radics? You don't need to look any longer for them Dubstrand Allstars (Brizion with his brother as drummer) come on their second album "Dubbing up the coast "(Dubstrand Music) is very close to this listening experience. 

Already the debut "Dubbing on the bay“Was that dubblog.de worth a review - even if the reviewer found something to hump around: uniformity, sometimes in the form of boring e-drums that sound the same, sometimes in the form of monotonous listlessness, sometimes simple due to a lack of musical ideas. In other words: Nice try, but that could be much better.

And how to do it better: On "Dubbing on the coast “, the e-drums have given way to a live kit, which has already brought life to the sound booth; that is the sound that is needed to let handmade music breathe freely. The new pieces, arranged in the classic 80's style, appear deeply relaxed in this way, freed from the tonal dreariness. Only a snare that sounds a little too sharp disturbs the sound - which is undoubtedly a question of taste or personal preferences.

Also new is the successful melody - simple and memorable bass lines “old-school Jamaican style” (Flabba Holt sends his regards) lead to this light trance-like state that the reviewer loves so much about reggae. One likes to tip in there; you quickly begin to move in rhythm. In addition, fine guitar work and keyboards, which sometimes make it difficult for the listener, between instrumental, version and Dub to distinguish. Even the apparently indispensable melodica these days is not overused and fits unobtrusively into the musical scene. So in the overall picture a nice, well-rounded thing that clearly shows a musical development - that might mean something if you think of Brizion's enormous, but not particularly versatile Solo output as the measure of all things.

What that Dub- As far as mixing is concerned, the initial comparison with Scientist was of course exaggerated; although the direction is correct if one compares it with the corresponding recordings from the early 1980s. We don't have any spectacular ones here Dub-Caprioles, sound gimmicks or innovative mixing in front of us, but rather solid craft - although I doubt that an old-school mixing board was worked on. It doesn't have to be - it's the result that counts, and a frugal echo or reverb makes you really happy somehow.

Rating: 4 out of 5.

6 replies to "DubBeach Allstars: Dubbing up the coast "

Next week we have here at the dubblog a nice interview with Brizion that sheds light on the background of his music.

Thumbs Up!

Im DubAt René's blog we sit in the front row ;-)

Greetings …………………… lemmi

Oh how happy I am!

I really can't explain the secret of effective basslines with words or in any other way, but the bassist from Dubstrand Allstars has - from my point of view - deciphered the secret. I sit here completely relaxed and melt away. The basslines (especially the first 4) are pure and pure medicine for me, with no negative side effects. The drums do the rest and set skilful accents. The snare is not too hot for my taste either. Since I had feared worse after the "advance warning". Because I'm also very sensitive there. If anything, the hi-hat sound bothers me with Ocean Front Rock, but it only reminds me very weakly of the excessive distortion from the old King Tubby days. I can live with it very well, especially since the whole rhythm carpet is fluffy and thickly woven on a very stable foundation.
As for the freestyle, which circles on the foundation, I would say that the compulsory program was completed solidly, but in the end I could use a little more.
But it doesn't necessarily have to be. However, to get to the ingenious and groundbreaking Dubs by Scientist and Roots Radics, I am still missing a few small but very soulful piano solos with occasional, veiled synthesizer swaths that float through space and time like in ghost robes - again - and for the psychoactivity that is felt again and again DubWorry about the upper room. But I only mentioned that so that the Dubstrand Allstars don't think they already have EVERYTHING under control ;-)
Yes, what would the Steppa fans say about that, I ask myself? To give the answer yourself would be slightly dubious, but I can well imagine that you will leave the room again
or fall asleep on the way to the exit, if they haven't managed to crawl into the next room on all fours at least.
Here there is no "in the face" but here the soul is prepared for nirvana. At least that's how it feels to me. And that's more than just a good thing.
(But that doesn't mean that I want to get into nirvana as quickly as possible. I can also live with the anticipation for a few more decades ;-))

Well, if the world wasn't the way it is, I would now like to go to a nice record store and get this nice album, also as a tangible and therefore really understandable “music matter”. I also wear a mask (mouth and nose protection or muzzle, call it what you want).

Good tip! gtkriz! ……. I lie down again, oh no, I have to work ……………………. lemmi

Hi all,
My first post.

Sorry, this is the hottest album I've heard in a long time. Thanks for that.
Greetings to Lemmi ...

Cheers

Yo Christian!

I enjoyed the album again on the weekend. If the year were already over, it should actually appear in the top 10. At least if I had something to say ;-)

Greetings …………. lemmi

Post a comment

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Kategorien
Review

Dubstrand Allstars: Dubbing up the Coast

Ihr wollt neue Scientist-Dubs von den Roots Radics hören? Da braucht ihr nicht mehr länger suchen, die Dubstrand Allstars (Brizion mit seinem Bruder als Drummer) kommen auf ihrem zweiten Album „Dubbing up the Coast“ (Dubstrand Music) diesem Hörerlebnis schon sehr nah. 

Schon das Debut „Dubbing on the Bay“ war dem dubblog.de eine Review wert – wenn auch der Rezensent einiges zum herummosern gefunden hat: Gleichförmigkeit, mal in Form langweilig-gleich klingender e-Drums, mal in Form eintöniger Lustlosigkeit, mal simpel mangels musikalischer Ideen. In anderen Worten: Netter Versuch, aber das ginge noch wesentlich besser.

Und wie das besser geht: Auf „Dubbing on the Coast“ sind die e-Drums einem live-Kit gewichen, was schon mal Leben in die Klang-Bude gebracht hat; das ist der Sound, den’s braucht um handgemachte Musik frei atmen zu lassen. So befreit von der klanglichen Tristesse wirken die neuen, im klassischen 80’s-Style arrangierten Stücke tiefenentspannt. Einzig eine etwas zu scharf klingende Snare stört das Klangbild – was zweifellos eine Frage des Geschmacks bzw. der persönlichen Präferenzen ist.

Neu auch die gelungene Melodieführung – einfache und einprägsame Basslinien „old-school jamaican style“ (Flabba Holt lässt grüßen) führen in diesen leichten Trance-ähnlichen Zustand, den der Rezensent am Reggae so liebt. Da kippt man gerne rein; da fängt man rasch an, sich im Rhythmus zu bewegen. Dazu noch feine Gitarrenarbeit und Keyboards, die es dem Hörer mitunter schwer machen, zwischen Instrumental, Version und Dub zu unterscheiden. Selbst die dieser Tage scheinbar unverzichtbare Melodica wird nicht überstrapaziert und fügt sich unaufdringlich ins musikalische Geschehen ein. Im Gesamtbild also eine schöne, runde Sache, die eine musikalische Weiterentwicklung gut erkennen lässt – das mag was heißen, wenn man Brizion’s enormen, aber nicht sonderlich wandlungsfähigen Solo-Output als Maß der Dinge nutzt.

Was das Dub-Mixing betrifft, war der anfängliche Vergleich mit Scientist natürlich übertrieben; wiewohl die Richtung stimmt, wenn man den Vergleich mit den entsprechenden Aufnahmen der frühen 1980er anstellt. Wir haben hier keine spektakulären Dub-Kapriolen, Sound-Gimmicks oder innovatives Mixing vor uns, sondern vielmehr solides Handwerk – obwohl ich bezweifle, dass da an einem old-school Mixing Board gearbeitet wurde. Muss ja auch nicht sein – allein das Ergebnis zählt, und genügsam eingesetztes Echo bzw. Hall machen irgendwie auch ganz schön glücklich.

Bewertung: 4 von 5.

5 Antworten auf „Dubstrand Allstars: Dubbing up the Coast“

Nächste Woche haben wir hier hier im dubblog ein schönes Interview mit Brizion, das die Hintergründe seiner Musik beleuchtet.

Thumbs Up !

Im DubBlog bei René sitzen wir in der ersten Reihe ;-)

Greetings …………………… lemmi

Oh wie wohl ist mir !

Ich kann das Geheimnis von wirkungsvollen Basslines echt nicht mit Worten oder sonst wie erklären aber der Bassist von Dubstrand Allstars hat das Geheimnis – aus meiner Sicht – entschlüsselt. Ich sitze hier vollkommen entspannt und schmelze vor mich hin. Die Basslines ( vor allen erst mal die ersten 4 ) sind für mich die pure und reine Medizin, ohne negative Nebenwirkungen. Die Drums tuen ihr übriges und setzen gekonnte Akzente. Auch die Snare ist für meinen Geschmack nicht zu scharf „gewürzt“. Da hatte ich nach der „Vorwarnung“ schlimmeres befürchtet. Ich bin da nämlich auch sehr empfindlich. Wenn überhaupt, stört mich der HiHat Sound bei Ocean Front Rock aber das erinnert mich nur ganz schwach an die überzogenen Verzerrungen aus alten King Tubby Tagen. Da kann ich sehr gut mit leben, zumal der ganze Rhythmusteppich flauschig und dick gewoben auf einem sehr stabilen Fundament liegt.
Was die Kür betrifft, die auf dem Fundament ihre Kreise zieht, würde ich sagen, das Pflichtprogramm wurde solide absolviert aber da könnte ich im Endeffekt noch etwas mehr gebrauchen.
Muss aber auch nicht unbedingt sein. Jedoch, um an die genialen und wegweisenden Dubs von Scientist und Roots Radics anzuknüpfen, fehlen mir noch so ein paar kleine aber sehr gefühlvolle Klaviersolos mit gelegentlichen, verschleierten Synthesizerschwaden, die wie im GespensterGewand – mal wieder – durch Raum und Zeit schweben und für die, immer wieder gern empfundene psychoaktivität im DubOberstübchen sorgen. Das habe ich aber nur erwähnt, damit die Dubstrand Allstars nicht denken, sie hätten bereits ALLES im Griff ;-)
Ja, was würden wohl die SteppaFans dazu sagen, frage ich mich ? Die Antwort selbst zu geben wäre leicht unseriös aber ich kann mir gut vorstellen, das sie mal wieder den Saal verlassen
oder bereits auf dem Weg zum Ausgang einschlafen, wenn sie es nicht geschafft haben sollten, wenigstens auf allen Vieren in den Nebenraum zu kriechen.
Hier gibt es nicht „auf die Fresse“ sondern hier wird die Seele auf das Nirvana vorbereitet. Jedenfalls fühlt es sich für mich so an. Und das ist mehr als nur gut so.
( Das soll jetzt aber nicht heißen, das ich möglichst schnell ins Nirvana kommen möchte. Ich kann auch sehr gern noch ein paar Jahrzehnte mit der Vorfreude leben ;-) )

Taja, wäre die Welt nicht so wie sie ist, würde ich jetzt gern in einen schönen Plattenladen gehen und mir dieses schöne Album, auch als greifbare und damit erst richtig begreifbare „MusikMaterie“, zulegen. Von mir aus auch mit Maske ( Mund-Nase-Schutz oder Maulkorb, nennt es wie ihr wollt ).

Guter Tip ! gtkriz ! ……. ich leg mich wieder hin, ach nee, muss ja arbeiten ……………………. lemmi

Hallo zusammen,
Mein erster Beitrag.

Sorry, das ist das geilste Album, was ich seit langem gehört habe. Danke dafür.
Grüße an Lemmi…

Cheers

Kommentar verfassen

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.