Categories
Review

Sudden division: Dub Will Tear Us Apart ... Again

Once again not a classic one Dub Album in Reggae Offbeat. So not necessarily something for either Dub-Purists. Nevertheless, it is always amazing to hear which acoustic blossoms our small but fine genre Dub so drives.
The two American musicians Brad Truax (bass) and Barry London (keyboards) developed the idea of ​​recording tracks by the British post-punk band Joy Division in a whimsy Dub-Import context. In order to put the project into practice, Oneida percussionist John Colpitts (aka Kid Millions), Chris Millstein on drums and a few additional musicians from the bands “Oneida” and “Home” were brought into the studio. The recordings were made within a day. That was in 2004 and Sudden division sold the EP, with four tracks and a mini edition of 800 copies, exclusively at their live concerts. 15 years later, a reissue with five tracks is added to the Jäh Division: "Dub Will Tear Us Apart ... Again“(Ernest Jenning Record Co.) again made available to the public. In addition to the four already published Joy Division covers, the new edition will be joined by two recordings from the original session plus three from a discarded album. The "isolation Dub", Another Joy Division cover, follows two original compositions (the almost 10-minute band improvisation" Paramount Lobby "and" Sloppy Homework ") and a Desmond Dekker (" Fu Manchu Dub") And a Jackie Mittoo (" Champion Of The Arena Dub“) Cover.

The psychedelic ones created in the shadow of New York's Williamsburg Bridge Dub- Interpretations skilfully span an arc from Manchester, England, to the Jamaican Mixing Desk Wizards, which we know well, to New York.
Jäh Division only stays relatively close to the original on the title track. The melody of "Love Will Tear Us Apart" is so distinctive that it might be familiar even to those who only vaguely know Joy Division. In my opinion, you don't necessarily have to be familiar with the post-punk band Joy Division in order to "Dub Will Tear Us Apart… Again ”. The rest of the tracks reveal a more deconstructivist approach to the Dub-Garment. Tones are stretched to the limit to give the songs an almost elastic, pulsating sound. The album is actually to be seen rather as an independent unit, which takes the music of the Joy Division classics as a starting point for releasing them through the Dub-Wolf to spin. Suddenly Division seemed to like the idea of ​​exploring all possibilities, what Dub has to offer. Exploring what the analog equipment and the studio "dubtechnically ”, Jäh Division and Barry London“ at the controls ”had a lot of fun.
Later elaborates of the Easy Star All-Stars like "Radiodread" and "Dub Side Of The Moon ”or also DubXanne: "Police In Dub“Stayed much closer to the original. Nevertheless, or precisely because of this, "Dub Will Tear Us Apart… Again “a fascinating example of dignified Dub-Art.

Trivia: Jäh Division had to choose the "umlaut version" because there was already a Polish band called Jah Division.

Rating: 4.5 out of 5.

10 responses to "Sudden division: Dub Will Tear Us Apart ... Again "

Thank you for the detailed review and all the background information about the record. I bought the release LP + single last year and was really excited. "Of course" because I like Joy Division, but because it's an all-round successful record that I like to hear. Great album. Thanks to this meeting, find out again ...

Thanks Ras, I appreciate him for such tips dubblog especially. This is another album to my liking. Keep it up!!!

I read the review yesterday but haven't had time to check out the album. The sentence is important in order to better understand what follows.
First of all, I have to say that the DubEffects and spherical "aerosols" really liked. Purely Dubtechnically I have nothing to complain about.
But the basslines here I call - as a reggae spoiled bassline fetishist - simply crappy. These basslines are one of the main reasons I use "white music"
and that includes punk not really being able to respect it. And to underline that again, I'll come back to my first sentence. I really didn't have all the details from the review to hand, because "a lot of time" has passed from yesterday to today. And so I came to the conclusion, quite impartially, that the only bassline (s) that is good here is that of Desmond Dekker “Fu Manchu Dub“Is. And believe it or not, with “Champion Of The Arena Dub“I felt exactly the same way. You could even expose me now and say …… ätschibätsch lemmi, we just screwed you, not a single basic bassline is playing here strictly from Jamaica. The two basslines were or are not familiar to me at all. So I can be completely wrong with saying “strictly from Jamaica”. In that case I would be prepared, -) and would say that if these bass lines actually come from a punk bassist, then the notorious blind chicken has found a grain again. In any case, I find the basslines mentioned as balm for my soul, while the rest of the basslines really just bored me. And if I'm boring you now with my “Manifesto” for basslines, I would have to say you have no right to be bored, because reggae and Dub consists of 99% bassline !!! (Yes, I admit, my enthusiasm for basslines just ran away with me again. As always, I hope that I haven't exaggerated too much and haven't got too close to anyone).

“Listen to the riddim of the drum and the bassline” ASWAD LIVE AND DIRECT… “You know what Live and Direct mean? Mean LIVE AND DIRECT “……………… .. lemmi

Hi lemmi,

you can't even say that I didn't warn you in the first two sentences of my review. ;-)
Really full bass lines are also abundant, unfortunately not the reggae typical for you. Personally, I can and want to live with the circumstance from time to time. If there is then another "Dub-Album “is ... all the better.
Thank you for your - as always - honest answer. I was pretty sure that "Dub Will Tear Us Apart… Again ”definitely won't be your“ Album Of The Year ”. ;-)))

High Ras

Yes, your warning was meant very well, but since you tend to refer to it for my understanding Dub-Sending purists, I didn't feel addressed in the slightest. For me it doesn't necessarily have to come from reggae
but please not from punk. I don't like punk music at all and then no reverb and no echo helps to make it tasty for me.
However, I also have the saying, "an Adrian Sherwood would manage for me that I even find punk good".
But it's nice to see that there are also commentators who see or hear it very differently than I do. And that kind of diversity is the end of the line
the salt (not the hair) in the soup.

"Tune in to the Kings of Sound and Blues a Reggae Music I will never refuse" …………………… ..lemmi

Hi lemmi,

I was also far from seeing you as a "hardcoreDub-Purists “- who you are de facto not - to be pilloried. Anyone who appreciates ON-U Sound and Adrian Sherwood is far from the purist. I agree with you 100%.
The liaison between punk and reggae became more frequent. Even Misty In Roots had punk bands as a suppoting act in the opening act. The Clash have teamed up with reggae greats twice. On their debut album, “Remote Control” was produced by none other than Lee Scratch Perry. Another time it was Michael Campbell (Mikey Dread), with whose help they created the triple LP "Sandinista". In the opposite direction, "Sandinista" has the interest of some punkers in reggae /Dub awakened. So the one conditions the other. But as we have always said: it's all a question of personal taste.

Hehe, the clash!

In the end they managed to do it.
In an interview with Lee Perry, he winked a little,
when the language came about his collaboration with the Clash. If I got it right, he first had to teach The Clash to play together to some extent. They had absolutely no plan from Groove. That seemed to be his opinion and I would 100%
to confirm.
"Thats why I am sitting on my Throne Of Gold" arrogant and aloof
to everything that is not high grade music. In other words
REGGAE IS THE MEASUREMENT OF ALL OF MY THINGS !!!

I know this is not OK for everyone (definitely not woman) but me
once again write from gut instinct and I just leave my head out of the way. It's pretty far from my stomach anyway.

If De Niro hadn't had such an unsympathetic role in "The Fan", I would say

I am “THE FAN” ……………. lemmi

Part 2 :

I remember that the punks were interested in reggae, while the Rastas found it very sympathetic.
So maybe the punks were allowed to play in the opening act.
Even today it is traditionally still "good form" for punks to have a real reggae classic in theirs every now and then
Pack playlist. I really don't know if punks are still doing it though
to meet pogo. I actually remember another little "nasty" remark about it. This pogo “dancing” is somehow not exactly in the rhythm of the music, but rather serves to let the excess energy run out uncontrollably.

To all punks who read something here, please don't take me so seriously.

It got me, I'm positively crazy and I don't want to change the slightest thing about that. Because it's just so awesome on cloud nine.

"Talking about togetherness" (what a vocal - Dub from the syndicate! I can flip my lips again, go crazy and lose control completely / Where did my sweatpants go? ) ………………… .. lemmi

There are a lot of scientific treatises why reggae with punk or the other way around. "Pogo" hasn't opened up to me either.

To Perry:
Also taken by punk's socio-political awareness was producer Lee "Scratch" Perry, who, while less than impressed with the Clash's version of a song he had co-written, "Police and Thieves" (1977), was sufficiently excited by the ethos of the band to work with them on the recording of their major label-bashing single, "Complete Control" (1977). It was Perry who explained to Marley how punk's engagement of the still underground reggae style could help promote the music and spread its messages (Gilbert, p.159). By the end of the year reggae's primary performer had penned "Punky Reggae Party" (1977), releasing it as the B-side to "Jamming". On the song Marley proposed "party" unity between the two uprising movements, positioning both reggae and punk against the "boring old farts" of the mainstream music industry. (Iain Ellis, popmatters)

@ lemmi
As you can see, you remembered very well once again. Your range of knowledge is fabulous.

"Inimitable: Dub Spencer & Trance Hill "

I see or hear exactly like that! I don't know the originals (except for London Calling
and it's really not that bad in the original / no, I admit it,
it's very good! …… is he even from The Clash? )

Dub Spencer and Trance Hill definitely make high grade music for me, although I left their debut album in the store. The spark for me first tunneled or jumped over “Live And Direct”. After they "knew" me, they probably thought, ok, we have to improve a bit for the Lemmi ;-) Which they did again and again.

Its Dub Time Now ……………… .. lemmi

Post a comment

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Kategorien
Dub

Jäh Division: Dub Will Tear Us Apart… Again

Wieder einmal kein klassisches Dub Album im Reggae Offbeat. Also auch nicht unbedingt etwas für Dub-Puristen. Trotzdem ist es doch immer wieder verblüffend, zu hören, welche akustischen Blüten unser kleines aber feines Genre Dub so treibt.
Aus einer Schnapslaune heraus entwickelten die beiden amerikanischen Musiker Brad Truax (Bass) und Barry London (Keyboards) die Idee, Tracks der britischen Post-Punk-Band Joy Division im Dub-Kontext einzuspielen. Um das Projekt in die Tat umzusetzen, wurden der Oneida Perkussionist John Colpitts (aka Kid Millions), Chris Millstein an den Drums und ein paar zusätzliche Musikerkollegen der Bands “Oneida” und “Home” mit ins Studio geholt. Die Aufnahmen waren innerhalb eines Tages im Kasten. Das war 2004 und Jäh Division verkaufte die mit vier Titeln und in einer Miniauflage von 800 Stück gepresste EP ausschließlich bei ihren Live-Konzerten. 15 Jahre später wird ein um fünf Tracks angereichertes Reissue Jäh Division: “Dub Will Tear Us Apart… Again” (Ernest Jenning Record Co.) erneut der Öffentlichkeit zugänglich gemacht. Zu den vier bereits veröffentlichen Joy Division Covers gesellen sich bei der Neuauflage zwei Aufnahmen aus der Original-Session plus drei eines verworfenen Albums. Dem “Isolation Dub”, ein weiteres Joy Division Cover, folgen zwei Eigenkompositionen (die fast 10-minütige Bandimprovisation „Paramount Lobby“ und „Sloppy Homework“) sowie ein Desmond Dekker (“Fu Manchu Dub”) und ein Jackie Mittoo (“Champion Of The Arena Dub”) Cover.

Die im Schatten der New Yorker Williamsburg Bridge entstandenen psychedelischen Dub-Interpretationen spannen gekonnt einen Bogen vom englischen Manchester über die uns bekannten jamaikanischen Mixing Desk Wizards bis New York.
Jäh Division bleibt lediglich beim Titeltrack relativ nahe am Original. Die Melodie von “Love Will Tear Us Apart” ist so markant, dass sie selbst denen vertraut sein könnte, die Joy Division nur flüchtig kennen. Meines Erachtens muss man aber nicht zwingend mit der Post-Punk-Band Joy Division vertraut sein, um “Dub Will Tear Us Apart…Again” schätzen zu können. Die restlichen Tracks offenbaren eher einen dekonstruktivistischeren Ansatz im Dub-Gewand. Töne werden bis zum Äußersten gedehnt, um den Songs einen fast elastischen, pulsierenden Klang zu verleihen. Das Album ist tatsächlich vielmehr als eine eigenständige Einheit zu sehen, welches die Musik der Joy Division Klassiker als Ausgangspunkt nimmt, um sie genüsslich durch den Dub-Wolf zu drehen. Jäh Division schien vielmehr auch die Idee zu gefallen, alle Möglichkeiten zu erkunden, was Dub zu bieten hat. Das Ausloten, was das analoge Equipment und das Studio “dubtechnisch” so hergeben, hat Jäh Division und Barry London “at the controls” hörbar Spaß gemacht.
Spätere Elaborate der Easy Star All-Stars wie “Radiodread” und “Dub Side Of The Moon” oder auch DubXanne: “Police In Dub” sind da wesentlich näher am Original geblieben. Dennoch oder gerade deshalb ist und bleibt “Dub Will Tear Us Apart… Again” ein faszinierendes Beispiel gediegener Dub-Kunst.

Trivia: Jäh Division musste die “Umlautversion” wählen, weil es bereits eine polnische Band namens Jah Division gab.

Bewertung: 4.5 von 5.

10 Antworten auf „Jäh Division: Dub Will Tear Us Apart… Again“

Vielen Dank für die ausführliche Besprechung und all die Hintergrundinfos zu der Platte. Ich hab mir den Release Lp+Single letztes Jahr gekauft und war ganz begeistert. “Natürlich” weil ich Joy Division mag, aber weil das eine rundum gelungene Platte ist die ich gerne hören mag. Tolles Album. Dank dieser Besprechung gleich mal wieder raussuchen…

Danke Ras, wegen solcher Tipps schätze ich den dubblog ganz besonders. Das ist wieder ein Album so ganz nach meinem Geschmack. Macht weiter so!!!

Gestern habe ich die Rezension gelesen, hatte aber noch keine Zeit, das Album zu checken. Der Satz ist wichtig, damit man das nun folgende besser versteht.
Zunächst muss ich sagen, das mir die DubEffekte und sphärischen “Aerosole” richtig gut gefallen. Rein Dubtechnisch habe ich überhaupt nix auszusetzen.
Aber die Basslines hier bezeichne ich – als ein vom Reggae verwöhnter Basslinefetischist – schlichtweg als grottig. Diese Basslines sind ein Hauptgrund dafür, warum ich “weiße Musik”
und dazu gehört auch Punk nicht wirklich respektieren kann. Und um das nochmal zu untermauern, komme ich jetzt auf meinen ersten Satz zurück. Ich hatte die Details von der Rezension echt nicht mehr alle parat, weil von Gestern auf Heute schon “sehr viel Zeit” vergangen ist. Und so bin ich ganz unvoreingenommen zu der Erkenntnis gekommen, das die einzige (n) Bassline (s), die hier was taugt, die vom Desmond Dekker “Fu Manchu Dub” ist. Und ob ihr es nun glaubt oder nicht, mit “Champion Of The Arena Dub” ging es mir exakt genauso. Man könnte mich jetzt sogar blosstellen und sagen …… ätschibätsch lemmi, wir haben dich nur verarscht, hier läuft keine einzige basic Bassline strictly from Jamaica. Die beiden Basslines waren bzw. sind mir in keinster weise geläufig. Daher kann ich mich mit dem “strictly from Jamaica” auch voll irren. In dem Fall wäre ich aber vorbereitet ,-) und würde sagen, wenn diese Basslines tatsächlich von einem PunkBassisten kommen, dann hat eben das berüchtigte blinde Huhn auch mal wieder ein Korn gefunden. Jedenfalls empfinde ich die erwähnten Basslines als Balsam für meine Seele, während mich die restlichen Basslines echt nur anöden. Und wenn ich euch inzwischen langweile, mit meinem “Manifest” für Basslines, so müsste ich sagen, ihr habt kein Recht, gelangweilt zu sein, denn Reggae und Dub besteht zu 99% aus Bassline !!! ( Ja, ich gebe zu, mein Enthusiasmus für Basslines ging hier grad wieder mit mir durch. Wie immer hoffe ich, das ich nicht zu sehr übertrieben habe und niemandem zu nahe getreten bin ).

“Listen to the riddim of the Drum and The Bassline” ASWAD LIVE AND DIRECT … “you know what Live and Direct mean ? Mean LIVE AND DIRECT” ……………….. lemmi

Hi lemmi,

du kannst noch nicht einmal sagen, dass ich dich nicht bereits in den ersten beiden Sätzen meiner Rezension gewarnt hätte. ;-)
Richtig satte Basslines sind auch reichlich vorhanden, für dich leider nicht die reggaetypischen. Persönlich kann und will ich mit dem Umstand von Zeit zu Zeit ganz gerne leben. Wenn’s dann noch ein “Dub-Album” ist…umso besser.
Vielen Dank für deine – wie immer – ehrliche Antwort. War mir ziemlich sicher, dass “Dub Will Tear Us Apart… Again” ganz gewiss nicht dein “Album Of The Year” werden wird. ;-)))

High RasVorbei !

Ja, deine Warnung war sehr gut gemeint aber da du diese für mein Verständnis eher an Dub-Puristen gesendet hast, fühlte ich mich nicht im geringsten angesprochen. Es muss für mich echt nicht unbedingt aus dem Reggae kommen
aber bitte nicht vom Punk. Ich mag Punk Musik überhaupt nicht und da hilft dann auch kein Hall und kein Echo um mir das dann doch Schmackhaft zu machen.
Allerdings stammt von mir auch der Spruch, “ein Adrian Sherwood würde es bei mir schaffen, das ich sogar Punk gut finde”.
Schön ist es aber doch zu sehen, das es auch Kommentatoren gibt, die das ganz anders sehen bzw. hören als ich. Und diese Art von Diversität ist dann letztenendes
das Salz ( nicht das Haar ) in der Suppe.

“Tune in fe di Kings of Sound and Blues a Reggae Music I will never refuse” ……………………..lemmi

Hi lemmi,

es lag mir auch fern, dich als “Hardcore-Dub-Puristen” – der du de facto nicht bist – an den Pranger zu stellen. Wer ON-U Sound und Adrian Sherwood schätzt, ist weit vom Puristen entfernt. Da gebe ich dir zu 100% recht.
Die Liaison von Punk und Reggae wurde häufiger vollzogen. Selbst Misty In Roots hatten häufiger Punkbands als Suppoting Act im Vorprogramm. The Clash haben sich gleich zweimal mit Reggae-Größen zusammengetan. Auf ihrem Debüt-Album wurde “Remote Control” von keinem geringeren als Lee Scratch Perry produziert. Ein weiteres Mal war’s dann Michael Campbell (Mikey Dread), mit dessen Hilfe sie die Triple-LP “Sandinista” schufen. “Sandinista” hat dann in umgekehrter Richtung das Interesse einiger Punker für Reggae/Dub geweckt. So bedingt(e) das Eine das Andere. Aber wie wir schon immer sagen: alles eine Frage des persönlichen Geschmacks.

Hehe, the Clash !

Letztenendes haben sie es dann doch einigermaßen hinbekommen.
In einem Interview mit Lee Perry hat er ein wenig mit den Augen gezwinkert,
als die Sprache auf seine Zusammenarbeit mit the Clash kam. Wenn ich es richtig verstanden habe, musste er The Clash erst mal beibringen eineigermaßen zusammen zu spielen. Von Groove hatten die überhaupt keinen Plan. So schien seine Meinung zu sein und ich würde das zu 100%
bestätigen.
“Thats why I am Sitting on my Throne Of Gold” arrogant und abgehoben
gegenüber allem, was nicht High Grade Music ist. Mit anderen Worten
REGGAE IST DAS MASS All MEINER DINGE !!!

Ich weiß, das ist nicht OK für jedermann ( Frau schon gar nicht ) aber ich
schreibe mal wieder aus dem Bauchgefühl heraus und meinen Kopf lasse ich da einfach mal außen vor. Der is sowieso ziemlich weit entfernt von meinem Bauch.

Wenn De Niro in “The Fan” nicht so eine unsympathische Rolle gehabt hätte, würde ich sagen,

I am “THE FAN” ……………. lemmi

Teil 2 :

Ich habe das so in Erinnerung, das die Punks sich für Reggae interressiert haben, während das wiederum die Rastas ganz sympathisch fanden.
Deshalb durften die Punks da vielleicht auch mal im Vorprogramm spielen.
Auch heute gehört es für Punks wohl traditionsgemäß immer noch zum “guten Ton”, hin und wieder einen echten ReggaeKlassiker mit in ihre
Playlist zu packen. Ich weiß allerdings echt nicht, ob sich Punks immer noch
zum Pogo treffen. Da fällt mir eigentlich auch schon wieder ne kleine “garstige” Bemerkung zu ein. Dieses Pogo”tanzen” is ja irgendwie auch nicht gerade im Rhythmus der Musik, sondern dient eher dazu die überschüssige Energie unkonrtolliert auslaufen zu lassen.

An alle Punks, die hier was lesen, nehmt mich nicht so ernst bitte.

Mich hats erwischt, ich bin positiv bekloppt und daran möchte ich nicht das geringste ändern. Weils einfach so geil ist auf Wolke Sieben.

“Talking about togetherness” ( was für ein Vocal – Dub vom Syndikat ! ich könnt´ schon wieder auflippen, durchdrehen und komplett die Kontrolle verlieren / Wo ist blos meine Jogginghose hin ? ) ………………….. lemmi

Es gibt da jede Menge wissenschaftlischer Abhandlungen warum Reggae mit Punk oder auch andersherum. “Pogo” hat sich auch mir bis heute nicht erschlossen.

Zu Perry:
Also taken by punk’s socio-political awareness was producer Lee “Scratch” Perry, who, while less than impressed with the Clash’s version of a song he had co-written, “Police and Thieves” (1977), was sufficiently excited by the ethos of the band to work with them on the recording of their major label-bashing single, “Complete Control” (1977). It was Perry who explained to Marley how punk’s engagement of the still underground reggae style could help promote the music and spread its messages (Gilbert, p.159). By the end of the year reggae’s primary performer had penned “Punky Reggae Party” (1977), releasing it as the B-side to “Jamming”. On the song Marley proposed “party” unity between the two uprising movements, positioning both reggae and punk against the “boring old farts” of the mainstream music industry. (Iain Ellis, popmatters)

@ lemmi
Wie du siehst, hast du dich wieder einmal sehr gut erinnert. Dein Wissenspektrum ist fabelhaft.

“Unnachahmlich: Dub Spencer & Trance Hill”

Sehe bzw. höre ich genau so ! Ich kenne die Originale nicht ( außer London Calling
und der is echt auch im Original gar nicht mal so schlecht / Nein, ich gebe es zu,
der ist sehr gut ! …… is der überhaupt von The Clash ? )

Dub Spencer and Trance Hill machen für mich definitiv High Grade Music wobei ich deren Debut Scheibe noch im Laden stehen gelassen habe. Der Funke ist bei mir erst “Live And Direct” getunnelt bzw. übergesprungen. Nachdem sie mich dann “kannten” haben sie wohl gedacht, ok, für den Lemmi müssen wir uns noch etwas steigern ;-) Was sie dann ja auch immer wieder getan haben.

Its Dub Time Now ( Feierabend ) ……………….. lemmi

Kommentar verfassen

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.