Categories
Review

Principal's: Treacherous Dub

One aspect that I consider Dub especially love is that Dub is a real world music. Developed in Jamaica, will Dub meanwhile produced all over the world, whereby no single nation is in the foreground - like the UK 25 years ago quite clearly. At best, it could be said that most Dubs are produced in Europe, followed by the USA, Asia and unfortunately with Jamaica at the bottom. Denmark is now also shooting itself with Principal Dub-Nations. Behind the name is Rasmus Allin, the one with "Treacherous Dub" (Stereo Royal) Dub-Debut submits. The now 50-year-old Dane's workplace is the music studio, where he has been working as a musician, songwriter and producer for the Danish music industry since the 1990s. Inspired by the British trip hop and drum 'n' bass scene, he discovered the classic Jamaican Dub by King Tubby, Lee Perry, Augustus Pablo, Scientist and other heroes. “I've spent endless hours in the studio listening to the sound of the Dub-Originators, "he says," Tape delays, filter boxes and other analog effects devices - I haven't left anything out. "Which brings him into the crowd of countless others Dub-Producers (like. z. B. Prince Fatty, Roberto Sanchez or Alborosie), those of the sound mysticism age Dub- Tracking down productions. It is therefore not surprising that “Treacherous Dub“In a classic sound guise Dubs is dressed. But the reproduction is scruffier Dub-Sounds isn't the only quality of the album. Allin confidently strings together ten powerful productions - albeit fairly short with an average of only three minutes playing time. No space-consuming X versions of a track (instrumental, Dub, Remix, etc.), but all original compositions in which he also recorded (almost) all of the instrumental tracks himself. The sound is really schizophrenic: powerful-dynamic and scruffy-analog at the same time. But that's how it has to be. Cleverly arranged and smartly mixed, sometimes with a touch of jazz with charming guitar sounds á la Ernest Ranglin, sometimes stripped to the bone, but always exciting and surprising. I can only say: Rasmus Allin - Welcome to the club.

Rating: 4 out of 5.

2 responses to “Principal's: Treacherous Dub"

The description of his apprenticeship totally reminds me of Twilight Circus. Which I think I discovered with you too: D Before I check out this release, I wanted to know: In Jamaica there is hardly any Dub produced? Reggae also not? So that's kind of ... shocking. Thank god so many other producers are infected! Has there ever been an article with you? I really care ...

Hi Doc

“In Jamaica there is hardly any Dub produced? Reggae also not? "
Can you leave it like that, the emphasis is on "hardly" and if ... then it is more of something produced and rehearsed in Jamaica Dub-Album by a European (z. B. Alborosia).

"Has there ever been an article with you?"
Not that I know. The subject is occasionally mentioned in a review.

Well, that's how times change. When I started to be interested in reggae and everything related to it, people turned up their noses when an album didn't come from the motherland of reggae. Even English bands (Steel Pulse, Aswad, Misty In Roots and others) were viewed extremely critically and had to be twice as good as the originals from Jamaica to get the recognition they deserved. Bands from other countries / continents (America, Africa, etc.) were only a copy of the original and were not noticed by the majority or were mildly ridiculed. Today one is very careful when the work or the band comes from Jamaica. With roots reggae it was pretty poor there for almost decades, but the last few years have seen a trend reversal.

Post a comment

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Kategorien
Dub

Principal’s: Treacherous Dub

Ein Aspekt, den ich an Dub ganz besonders liebe ist, dass Dub eine echte Weltmusik ist. Entwickelt in Jamaika, wird Dub inzwischen überall auf der Welt produziert, wobei keine einzelne Nation mehr im Vordergrund steht – wie noch vor 25 Jahren ziemlich deutlich das UK. Im besten Fall ließe sich noch behaupten, dass die meisten Dubs in Europa produziert werden, gefolgt von den USA, Asien und leider mit Jamaika als Schlusslicht. Mit Principal schießt sich nun auch Dänemark den Dub-Nations an. Hinter dem Namen verbirgt sich Rasmus Allin, der mit „Treacherous Dub“ (Stereo Royal) sein Dub-Debut vorlegt. Arbeitsplatz des inzwischen 50jährigen Dänen ist das Musikstudio, wo er seit den 1990er Jahren als Musiker, Songwriter und Produzent im Dienste der dänischen Musikindustrie arbeitet. Inspiriert von der britischen Trip Hop- und Drum ‘n’ Bass-Szene, entdeckte er den klassischen jamaikanischen Dub von King Tubby, Lee Perry, Augustus Pablo, Scientist und anderen Heroen. „Ich habe endlose Stunden im Studio damit zugebracht, den Sound der Dub-Originators zu reproduzieren,“ gibt er zu Protokoll, „Tape Delays, Filter-Boxen und sonstige analoge Effektgeräte – ich habe nichts ausgelassen.“ Womit er sich in die Schar unzähliger anderer Dub-Produzenten (wie. z. B. Prince Fatty, Roberto Sanchez oder auch Alborosie) einreiht, die der Sound-Mystik alter Dub-Produktionen nachspüren. Daher verwundert es nicht, dass „Treacherous Dub“ ins Sound-Gewand klassischen Dubs gekleidet ist. Aber die Reproduktion schrammeliger Dub-Sounds ist nicht die einzige Qualität des Albums. Souverän reiht Allin hier zehn kraftvolle – wenn auch mit durchschnittlich nur drei Minuten Spielzeit ziemlich kurze – Produktionen aneinander. Keine Platz schindenden X Versionen eines Tracks (Instrumental, Dub, Remix, etc.), sondern alles originäre Kompositionen, bei denen er auch noch (fast) alle Instrumentalspuren selbst eingespielt hat. Der Sound ist dabei richtig schön schizophren: wuchtig–dynamisch und schrammelig-analog zugleich. Aber so muss es ja auch sein. Clever arrangiert und smart gemixt, manchmal mit leichtem Jazz-Einschlag durch charmante Gitarrenklänge á la Ernest Ranglin, manchmal stripped to the bone, aber immer spannend und überraschend. Ich kann nur sagen: Rasmus Allin – Willkommen im Club.

Bewertung: 4 von 5.

2 Antworten auf „Principal’s: Treacherous Dub“

Die Beschreibung seiner Lehrjahre erinnert mich total an Twilight Circus. Den ich glaub ich auch bei euch entdeckt hab :D Bevor ich mir diesen Release reinziehe, wollte ich wissen: In Jamaica wird kaum noch Dub produziert? Reggae auch net? Also des find ich irgendwie… schockierend. Gottseidank sind so viele andere Produzenten infiziert! Gabs dazu schon mal einen Artikel bei euch? Tät mich wirklich interessieren…

Hi Doc

“In Jamaica wird kaum noch Dub produziert? Reggae auch net? ”
Kann man so stehen lassen, die Betonung liegt auf “kaum” und wenn…, dann ist es eher ein auf Jamaika produziertes und eingespieltes Dub-Album eines Europäers (z. B. Alborosie).

“Gabs dazu schon mal einen Artikel bei euch?”
Nicht, dass ich wüsste. Die Thematik klingt gelegentlich mal in einer Rezension an.

Tja, so ändern sich die Zeiten. Als ich begonnen habe, mich für Reggae und alles drum herum zu interessieren, hat man die Nase gerümpft, wenn ein Album mal nicht aus dem Mutterland des Reggae kam. Selbst englische Bands (Steel Pulse, Aswad, Misty In Roots u. a.) wurden extrem kritisch beäugt und mussten zweimal so gut sein wie die Originale aus Jamaika, um die verdiente Anerkennung zu bekommen. Bands aus anderen Ländern/Kontinenten (Amerika, Afrika etc.) waren lediglich der Abklatsch des Originals und wurden vom Gros nicht wahrgenommen oder milde belächelt. Heute ist man sehr vorsichtig, wenn das Werk oder die Band aus Jamaika kommen. Mit Roots Reggae war es dort beinahe Jahrzehnte lang ziemlich mau, doch die letzten Jahre ist eine Trendwende zu beobachten.

Kommentar verfassen

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.