Categories
Five Star Review

Joe Yorke: Noise and Emptiness

Of course, falsetto isn't for everyone. That's why there isn't a single Cedric Myton track in my playlists, let alone one of his albums. The situation is different with falsetto backing vocals in the style of the early Aswad, Steel Pulse or Tamlins recordings - it just fits there, harmonic and tonally reliable head voice singing was delivered. See "Baltimore" - what would the track be without those harmonies?

Also Joe Yorke's debut "Noise and Emptiness' (Rhythm Steady) delivers flawless, accurate falsetto at times - both on lead and wonderfully accomplished backing vocals. But now that's us dubblog.de and voices interest us only peripherally; therefore it should be pointed out that the album with dubis interspersed with big instrumentals. It's all in the mix; it frees the release prophylactically from the dreaded falsetto overdose. Undoubtedly, Yorke's diverse responsibilities as singer, producer and composer contribute to the production's success; one or the other collaboration with mid-range vocalists will also play their part.

So there is a fresh wind blowing from England towards the international reggae community, which is particularly evident in the excellent production - everything is clean and, above all, not excessively arranged. This gives the sometimes almost sparse instrumentation room to breathe - similar to what we saw in the bone-dry Rub-a-Dub of the early 1980s. And yes, you can hear some fat bass here too:

Of course, “Noise and Emptiness” is an offer that values Dub-Connoisseur has to let in first - it wasn't love at first sight for me either. But: The tunes have enormous potential for growth and have clung to the reviewer's ear canal. And so it is that the album is one of my personal favorites of the year and deserves a big recommendation.

Rating: 5 out of 5.

8 Responses to “Joe Yorke: Noise and Emptiness”

Like Jimmy Somerville to be exact, who himself recorded a few reggae tunes. Guess every falsetto outside classical music will be compared to Somerville.

Reply

Mmmmmmmh, maybe not the best day to comment on a "Dub“Leave disc. Normally I don't get a headache when I drink beer, but today my head is pounding a bit in connection with football.
Joe Yorke's album is (was) even available on vinyl from my trusted dealer. It's now sold out and seems to be really popular with "many" people.
I'm not quite sure. Sometimes I think my enthusiasm for reggae and Dub slowly fading away. I think the disc is quite good, but it just doesn't stand up to comparison with the veterans. Quite apart from the fact that I also had to throw away discs by ASWAD and Steel Pulse, they all brought me to a very strong and fun to play, as well as energetic reggae and thus shaped me forever and ever.
I also think this record by Joe Yorke has an excellent sound. The disc sounds crystal clear and really fat !!! The riddims are mostly to my liking as well. So with "Lane Walking" I'm immediately reminded of my "imprint" and feel almost exactly as if I'm having one again Dub hear from the Roots Radics. Even if Scientist is a bit (a lot) missing here. All in all, I got the feeling that the music was rippling along and my muscles in the brain weren't really tense. In other words, the power and expressiveness of Steel Pulse, ASWAD, Tamlins, Capital Letters, Black Roots, LKJ and the Dennis Bovell Dubband and all others from that time, was not reached. So old reggae and Dub Connoisseurs like me can't help but compare every new tune and every new disc with the time it was coined. I'll just say it like that, without really knowing whether it's the same for you and many others (at my age). I would have bought the disc too, because I really like the sound and riddim-technically, despite everything I've said here. Basically, I have nothing against chilling out on a beautiful spring or summer day in a green meadow (without flies or other vermin) and a crystal-clear mountain stream rippling by next to me. To be honest, for me the sound of a clear mountain stream is the most beautiful sound that nature has ever produced. Despite all the BassLines from Jamaica. Well, of course, that only applies if you're really thirsty. Ok, the connection between water and Dub can, or could probably really only DubConnoisseurs and Lee "Scratch" Perry explain themselves. As I said, I was very close to buying the disc, but falsetto and the frequent beeping noises are two stylistic devices that don't make me buy a disc at the "Nice" VinylPrice. Then there must be more. Or the vocals have to come out almost completely.
Otherwise, I see it all very differently, maybe next spring, but today I feel a bit weak for a given reason ;-) . I need a particularly strong Upliftment boost today and I know that the Africans can make a huge contribution there, both in terms of football and music.

Germany is coming home, its coming home, its coming home (oh no, they've been back for a long time) ………………….. lemmi

Understand you completely, lemmi. I'm also tempted to compare new releases to the bangers from my favorite era (late 70's to early 80's… from Black Uhuru's Showcase to Black Uhuru's Anthem, so to speak). But the time is over now, the people from back then are either dead or still dismantling their careers. In this respect, we would do well to appreciate the memories, but otherwise be completely open to new things in the here and now (a/k/a their art at any time).
The glory days of Blackwell are not coming back... "and that's a good thing".

Reply

Good disc, which I play again and again... but for me it's actually a vocal album... it's always there Dub-FXs sprinkled in, quite successful, but the vocals go through or are definitely too present for Dub how i like him
And while the riddims are good, especially the basslines, I like older Joe Yorke stuff a lot better. Eg a song like "Tonight" released together with the co-operators is missing for me... or a "Rough Sleeper" or "Gentrification"... somehow the sound and the sound of the drums on this LP is a bit too "digital" for me, simple such a gut feeling, can't exactly explain it...
Still, I agree with gtk when he writes that a lot sticks and the songs develop... a real one Dub-Counterpart to this work would den Dub-Connoisseur happy... and yes, the beeping is more like beeping at me, you could safely omit it... I'm like lemmi!

I've been thinking about the drums for a while... I'm (almost) certain that they're e-drums recorded live.
I have 7 of the 11 album tracks in "deep in dub“ recorded – because it's either perfect instrumentals/Dubs or because the sung part is shorter than the instrumental part. Such as with "Downtown", see YouTube clip above. That's what I would normally call Discomix... but the piece is only 3'13" long.
Anyone noticed the ingenious horn sections? Should only be trombones, but I'd have to listen more carefully.

Reply

right gtk !

The brass sections are really good. Unfortunately I forgot to mention. But I noticed it straight away. I found the brass sections to be like a refrain or – to put it even better – like a hook line that gives each tune its own distinctiveness. It's the same as I know it from the old days of ASWAD, who always had a very special knack for it. Instrumentals that only "apparently" are instrumentals because a saxophone or a trumpet or some other wind instrument "sings" almost continuously will probably always have a hard time with me, with a few exceptions.
And of course there were many, many more that had wind sections with the finest hook lines to offer. Both from Jamaica and England.
(And I will probably never understand this “Beep Beeps” either ……)
(You can spoil the very best tunes with this. It's even worse than pouring some filth on a "Rembrandt").

As long as ………………. lemmi

I asked the label and got the answer today that the LP will be re-pressed and will be available again from around April (depending on whether everything goes well in the pressing plant). Just to those who didn't get any from the first slide.

Post a comment

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Kategorien
Five Star Review

Joe Yorke: Noise and Emptiness

Schon klar, Falsetto ist nicht jedermanns Sache. In meinen Playlists findet sich gerade auch deswegen kein einziger Cedric Myton-Track, geschweige denn eines seiner Alben. Anders verhält es sich mit Falsetto-Backing Vocals in der Machart der frühen Aswad-, Steel Pulse- oder Tamlins-Aufnahmen – da passt’s einfach, da wurde harmonischer und ton-sicherer Kopfstimmen-Gesang abgeliefert. Siehe „Baltimore“ – was wäre der Track ohne diese Harmonies?

Auch Joe Yorke’s Debut „Noise and Emptiness“ (Rhythm Steady) liefert mitunter astreinen, treffsicheren Falsetto ab – sowohl als Lead- als auch als wunderbar gelungene Backing-Vocals. Nun sind wir aber das dubblog.de und Stimmen interessieren uns nur peripher; deshalb sei zur Entwarnung darauf hingewiesen, dass das Album mit dubbigen Instrumentals durchsetzt ist. Die Mischung macht’s aus; sie befreit den Release prophylaktisch von der gefürchteten Falsetto-Überdosis. Zweifellos tragen Yorke’s weit gestreute Tätigkeiten als Sänger, Produzent und Komponist zum Erfolg der Produktion bei; auch die eine oder andere Kollaboration mit mid-range Vokalisten wird ihren Anteil daran haben.

Es weht also frischer Wind von England gen die internationale Reggae-Community, was sich vor allem an der hervorragenden Produktion zeigt – alles sauber und vor allem nicht überbordend arrangiert. Das gibt der mitunter fast schon kargen Instrumentierung Raum zum atmen – ähnlich wie wir es aus dem knochentrockenen Rub-a-Dub der frühen 1980er kennen. Und ja, auch hier gibt’s fetten Bass zu hören:

Freilich ist „Noise and Emptiness“ ein Angebot, auf dass sich der werte Dub-Connaisseur erst einlassen muss – auch bei mir war es nicht Liebe auf den ersten Blick. Aber: Die Tunes haben enormes Wachstumspotential und krallten sich im Hörgang des Rezensenten fest. Und so kommt es, dass das Album zu meinen persönlichen Favoriten des Jahres zählt und eine fette Empfehlung wert ist.

Bewertung: 5 von 5.

8 Antworten auf „Joe Yorke: Noise and Emptiness“

Like Jimmy Somerville to be exact, who himself recorded a few Reggae-tunes. Guess every falsetto outside classical music will be compared to Somerville.

Mmmmmmmh, vielleicht nicht der beste Tag, um einen Kommentar zu einer „Dub“Scheibe abzugeben. Normalerweise bekomme ich keine Kopfschmerzen, wenn ich Bier trinke aber in Verbindung mit Fußball brummt mir heute doch ein wenig der Schädel.
Das Album von Joe Yorke gibt ( gab ) es sogar als Vinyl beim Händler meines Vertrauens. Is inzwischen ausverkauft und scheint dementsprechend auch wirklich bei „vielen“ gut anzukommen.
Ich weiß nicht so recht. Manchmal denke ich, mein Enthusiasmus für Reggae und Dub lässt langsam nach. Ich finde die Scheibe durchaus auch ganz gut aber sie hält einfach dem Vergleich mit den Veteranen nicht stand. Ganz davon ab, dass ich auch Scheiben von ASWAD und Steel Pulse mit Anlauf in die Tonne treten musste, haben die mich doch insgesamt auf einen sehr starken und spielfreudigen, sowie schwungvollen Reggae gebracht und mich damit für immer und ewig geprägt.
Ich finde auch, dass diese Scheibe hier von Joe Yorke einen exzellenten Sound hat. Die Scheibe klingt glasklar und richtig fett !!! Auch die Riddims sind größtenteils ganz nach meinem Geschmack. So werde ich bei „Lane Walking“ gleich wieder an meine „Prägung“ erinnert und fühle mich fast genauso, als ob ich mal wieder einen Dub von den Roots Radics höre. Auch wenn Scientist hier ein bisschen ( viel ) fehlt. Insgesamt ist bei mir aber auch so ein bisschen das Gefühl aufgekommen, das die Musik doch auch eher so ein wenig dahinplätschert und meine Muskulatur im Gehirn nicht so richtig auf Spannung kam. Mit anderen Worten, die Kraft und Ausdrucksstärke von Steel Pulse, ASWAD, Tamlins, Capital Letters, Black Roots, LKJ and the Dennis Bovell Dubband und alle anderen aus dieser Zeit, wurde nicht erreicht. So alte Reggae und Dub Connaisseure wie ich, können aber eigentlich gar nicht anders, als jeden neuen Tune und jede neue Scheibe mit der Zeit seiner Prägung zu vergleichen. Sage ich jetzt einfach mal so, ohne wirklich zu wissen, ob es bei euch und vielen anderen ( in meinem Alter ) genauso ist. Ich hätte mir die Scheibe auch gekauft, weil sie mir trotz allem, was ich hier so von mir gebe, Sound – und RiddimTechnisch doch ganz gut gefällt. Im Grunde habe ich nämlich auch nix dagegen, wenn ich an einem schönen Frühlings – oder Sommertag genüsslich auf einer grünen Wiese ( ohne Fliegen oder anderes Ungeziefer ) ganz relaxt chille und neben mir ein glasklarer Bergbach vorbeiplätschert. Der Klang eines klaren Bergbachs ist für mich ehrlich gesagt der schönste Sound, den die Natur jemals hervorgebracht hat. Trotz aller BassLines aus Jamaika. Naja, das „gildet“ natürlich nur, wenn man auch richtig Durst hat. Ok, den Zusammenhang zwischen Wasser und Dub können, bzw. konnten wahrscheinlich echt nur DubConnaisseure und Lee „Scratch“ Perry selbst erklären. Wie gesagt, ich war nah dran, die Scheibe zu kaufen aber Falsetto und des Öfteren auftauchende Piepgeräusche sind zwei Stilmittel, die mich nicht veranlassen, eine Scheibe zum „Nice“VinylPrice zu kaufen. Da muss dann schon mehr kommen. Bzw. müssen die Vocals dann eben fast ganz raus.
Ansonsten sehe ich das alles, vielleicht im nächsten Frühling, schon wieder ganz anders aber heute fühle ich mich aus gegebenem Anlass etwas schwach ;-) . Ich brauch heute eine besonders starke Dröhnung Upliftment und ich weiß, dass die Afrikaner da, sowohl in Sachen Fußball als auch in der Musik, einen sehr großen Beitrag leisten können.

Germany Is Coming home, its coming Home, its coming home ( ach nee, die sind schon längst wieder hier ) ………………….. lemmi

Versteh‘ Dich vollkommen, lemmi. Ich bin auch versucht, neue Releases mit den Krachern aus meiner Lieblingszeit (Ende 70er bis Anfang 80er… sozusagen von Black Uhuru’s Showcase bis Black Uhuru’s Anthem) zu vergleichen. Aber die Zeit is‘ nu’mal vorbei, die Leut‘ von damals sind entweder tot oder demontieren immer noch ihre Karriere. Insofern täten wir gut daran, die Erinnerung zu schätzen, aber sonst völlig offen für Neues im hier und jetzt zu sein (a/k/a jeder Zeit ihre Kunst).
Die glorreichen Blackwell-Zeiten kommen nicht wieder… „und das ist gut so“.

Gute Scheibe, die bei mir immer mal wieder läuft… für mich aber eigentlich ein Vocal-Album… da hat es zwar immer mal wieder Dub-FXs eingeströselt, durchaus gelungen, aber die Vocals gehen durch oder sind definitv zu präsent für Dub wie ich ihn mag.
Und obwohl die Riddims gut sind, vor allem die Basslines, gefallen mir ältere Sachen von Joe Yorke deutlich besser. Z.B. ein Song wie „Tonight“ mit den Co-Operators zusammen rausgebracht, fehlt für mich… oder ein „Rough Sleeper“ oder „Gentrification“… irgendwie ist mir der Sound und der Klang der Drums auf dieser LP etwas zu „digital“, einfach so ein Bauchgefühl, kann es nicht genau begründen…
Trotzdem pflichte ich gtk zu, wenn er schreibt, dass vieles hängen bleibt und sich die Songs entwickeln… ein richtiger Dub-Counterpart zu diesem Werk würde den Dub-Connaisseur erfreuen… und ja, das gepiepe piept mich auch eher an, könnte man getrost weglassen… da hab ich’s wie lemmi!

Über die Drums habe ich länger sinniert… ich bin mir (so gut wie) sicher, dass es live eingespielte e-drums sind.
Ich habe 7 von den insgesamt 11 Album-Tracks in „deep in dub“ aufgenommen – weil’s entweder astreine Instrumentals/Dubs sind bzw. weil der gesungene Teil kürzer als der instrumentale Teil ist. Wie etwa bei „Downtown“, siehe YouTube-Clip oben. Sowas würd‘ ich üblicherweise Discomix nennen… aber das Teil ist ja nur 3’13“ lang.
Jemand schon die genialen Bläsersätze aufgefallen? Dürften nur Posaunen sein, müßt‘ ich aber noch genauer reinhören.

Stimmt gtk !

Die Bläsersätze sind richtig gut. Habe ich leider vergessen zu erwähnen. Is mir aber auch gleich sofort aufgefallen. Ich empfand die Bläsersätze so wie einen Refrain oder – noch besser formuliert – wie eine Hookline, die jedem Tune nochmal eine eigene „Markanz“ verleiht. Das ist dann auch schon wieder so, wie ich es ganz besonders aus den alten Zeiten von ASWAD kenne, die dafür immer ein ganz besonderes Händchen hatten. Instrumentals, die nur „scheinbar“ Instrumentals sind, weil dort ein Saxophon oder ne Trompete oder irgendein anderes Blasinstrument nahezu durchgängig „singt“, werden es wohl bis auf wenige Ausnahmen immer schwer bei mir haben.
Und es waren natürlich noch viele viele mehr, die Bläsersätze mit feinsten Hooklines zu bieten hatten. Sowohl aus Jamaika als auch aus England.
( Und diese „Piep Pieps“ werde ich wohl auch niemals verstehen ……)
( Damit kann man mir die allerbesten Tunes vermiesen. Is noch schlimmer als irgend eine Plörre auf einen „Rembrandt“ zu schütten ).

So long ………………. lemmi

Ich hab mal beim Label nachgefragt und heute als Antwort bekommen, dass die LP nachgepresst wird und ab ca April (je nachdem ob im Presswerk alles klappt) wieder verfügbar ist. Nur so an die, die von dem ersten Rutsch keine abbekommen haben.

Kommentar verfassen

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.