Categories
Reggae Review

Fat Freddy's Drop: Live At Roundhouse

Fat Freddy's Drop are definitely one of the most interesting reggae bands on the globe according to my taste at the moment, which is simply due to the very idiosyncratic, hardly classifiable style of the New Zealanders. In the lowest BPM speed range you cross a puzzling landscape, where the ground comes from Dub, the mountains are reggae, the trees are jazz and the sky is soul. Perhaps it is even an underwater landscape through which fat Freddy, with lead-weighted shoes, trudges in slow motion. The sound is dampened by the water and turns into a dark rumble, while slowly rising air bubbles release voices and sounds. Yes, that is a beautiful picture. If you mentally transport it into the unique world of New Zealand, you get an idea of ​​what Fat Freddy's Drop is all about. And now let's do another thought experiment by imagining that we're not enjoying this sluggish, casual, heavy sound in 4-5-minute bites, but in a continuum of 10 minutes and up. Because that's the quality of "Live At Roundhouse" (The Drop / Rough Trade), a concert recording from December 2008, in which we can listen to the seven-piece band improvising a song for 15 minutes or more. That this is the real, authentic and only true Fat Freddy's Drop experience hardly needs to be mentioned (especially if you were allowed to experience it live). The then unheard material served a year later as the basis for the album “Dr. Boondigga & The Big BW ". So we mainly hear pieces from this album, which is known to have deviated a bit from the reggae foundation of its predecessor. Still: I'm thrilled.

Categories
Review

Best of deep root

Neil Perch is one of the few, tireless sound system operators and producers who dedicated himself to the early 1990s Dub-Sound (instrumental or with vocals) and are still active today. Under the motto "Dubwise - No Compromise ", he has the rise of the UKDub and witnessed its decline, has been at the forefront of the movement with Zion Train, a major deal in its pocket and the fortunes of the Dub had in hand. A true veteran and Dub-Activist. Since 1998 he has been publishing mostly his own productions on his “Deep Roots” label, exclusively vinyl in 7 "and 10" formats. Now is the premiere, because with "Best Of Deep Root" (Universal Egg / Cargo) the first album and CD appear. The title says it all: here are the highlights of the label, 8 in number, always as a vocal version followed by Dub (16 pieces in total). I have a real love-hate relationship with the sound of Neil Perch. Actually, 20 years after its invention, I don't want to listen to a UK stepper anymore. The synth sounds have been used up, the militant beat has marched its feet sore. But! If the DubWhen the bass explodes and the bass drum hits me in the stomach, when the intense energy of the rhythm chases shock waves through my body and sucks my brain into the windings of the echo chamber, then, yes, I'm a big fan of this proud again , time-honored sounds from Mr. Perch!

Categories
Review

Lee PerrySipple Out Deh

Every true reggae fan has a small (or large) extra section in their record collection, which is dedicated to the work of Lee Perry. This is where the fast-bouncing upset recordings from the very early 1970s are located. But the worn records all come from the period between 1974 and 1978, i.e. from the time when Lee Perry lived in his Black Ark studio and created the craziest and at the same time most mystical sounds that could be heard in reggae up until then. The master also produced a lot of crap, which is marketed again and again as "obscure, unpublished cult recordings" to this day. But he also (and above all) created fantastic masterpieces, some of which he licensed to Iceland-Records and some to Trojan. The latter are now on the double CD Lee "Scratch" Perry & Friends "Sipple Out Deh - The Black Ark Years" (Trojan / Sanctuary) published - a total of 44 pieces, nicely arranged in chronological order. Of course you know them all and already have them in your collection, distributed on different sound carriers. But still it is an uplifting experience to hear them again with such concentration and to follow the master through the years of his work, to perceive the change in his style and to witness the condensation of his sound, up to an impenetrable jungle of sound. Above all, it is fascinating that Perry's recordings are still able to cast a spell over the listener almost 40 years after they were made. What is it that makes this music too timeless? Maybe it's the fact that Perry was little interested in commercial success and therefore just created real art regardless of market laws. But perhaps - to argue a little more rationally - it was simply Perry's focus on the sound that makes his music seem too contemporary today. While his competitors were producing real hit songs, Perry buried himself deeper and deeper in the sound world of his Black Ark studio and created an incredibly complex sound structure there that was so far ahead of its time that it now, 2010, perfectly matches ours today , "Sound-oriented" listening habits fit. Be that as it may, listening to the double CD is not only simply beautiful, it also fuels the respect and appreciation of Perry's genius. Unfortunately it burned out too soon.

Categories
Reggae

Gappy Ranks: Put The Stereo On

I usually listen to a new album two or three times and then new material attracts my attention. But the new album by Gappy Ranks, "Put The Stereo On" (Greensleeves / Groove Attack) turns this practice on its head. I have now listened to it 10 to 20 times while new CDs are sealed on my desk. What a nice album! Produced by Peckings brothers Chris and Duke Price, who were also responsible for Bitty McLean's “On Bond Street”. While for McLean they only resorted to old original Treasure Isle rhythms (they are allowed to do so due to ancient license agreements between Duke Reid, Coxsone Dodd and father Price), Gappy Ranks mainly uses Studio One productions - and we can do more find that what Coxsone has practiced all his life, namely to recycle his recordings from the 1960s and 70s and thus constantly produce new hits, still works. Perhaps it is the greatness of this music that inspires the singers to write beautiful songs again and again. In any case, Mr. Ranks is no exception and offers us (especially in the first half of the album) a couple of great retro songs, where you inevitably feel transported back to the golden days of reggae (and secretly ashamed that you - like all the old rock men - still loves the music of their own youth). I cannot praise the album highly enough. To my liking, it's even better than the heavenly-acclaimed McLean album "On Bond Street," which, to be honest, was a bit too sappy for me. But since we are here in England, a few Lovers Rock songs should not be missing from Gappy Ranks - and as the press information reports, the Oberschnulz song “Heaven In Her Eyes” was number one in British reggae for 13 weeks -Charts. But if that's the price to be paid to enjoy the rest of the album, then I'll pay it with pleasure.

Kategorien
Dub Reggae

Fat Freddy’s Drop: Live At Roundhouse

Fat Freddy‘s Drop sind nach meinem Geschmack zur Zeit definitiv eine der interessantesten Reggae-Bands auf dem Globus, was schlicht und ergreifend an dem sehr eigenwilligen, kaum einzuordnenden Stil der Neuseeländer liegt. Sie durchkreuzen im untersten BPM-Drehzahlbereich eine rätselhafte Landschaft, wo der Boden aus Dub, die Berge aus Reggae, die Bäume aus Jazz und der Himmel aus Soul bestehen. Vielleicht ist es sogar eine Unterwasserlandschaft, durch die der dicke Freddy, mit bleibeschwerten Schuhen, im Zeitlupentempo stapft. Der Schall wird durch das Wasser gedämpft und verwandelt sich in dunkles Grollen, während gemächlich aufsteigende Luftblasen Stimmen und Töne freisetzen. Ja, das ist ein schönes Bild. Verfrachtet man es gedanklich in die einzigartige Welt Neuseelands, dann bekommt man eine Vorstellung davon, was Fat Freddy‘s Drop ausmacht. Und nun machen wir noch ein Gedankenexperiment, indem wir uns vorstellen, dass wir diesen trägen, lässigen, schweren Sound nicht in 4-5-Minuten-Häppchen genießen, sondern in einem Kontinuum von 10 Minuten aufwärts. Denn das ist die Qualität von „Live At Roundhouse“ (The Drop/Rough Trade), einem Konzertmitschnitt vom Dezember 2008, bei dem wir der siebenköpfigen Band dabei zuhören können, wie sie einen Song 15 Minuten und länger improvisierend variieren. Dass dies das eigentliche, authentische und einzig wahre Fat Freddy‘s Drop-Erlebnis ist, braucht wohl kaum erwähnt zu werden (vor allem, wenn man es hätte live miterleben dürfen). Das damals noch ungehörte Material diente ein Jahr später als Grundlage für das Album „Dr. Boondigga & The Big BW“. Wir hören also vor allem Stücke dieses Albums, das sich ja bekanntlich etwas vom Reggae-Fundament des Vorgängers entfernt hatte. Trotzdem: Ich bin begeistert.

Kategorien
Dub

Best Of Deep Root

Neil Perch ist einer der wenigen, unermüdlichen Sound System-Betreiber und Produzenten, die sich Anfang der 1990er Jahre dem Dub-Sound (instrumental oder mit Gesang) verschrieben haben und heute noch aktiv sind. Unter dem Motto „Dubwise – No Compromise“ hat er den Aufstieg des UK-Dub und dessen Niedergang erlebt, hat mit Zion Train an der Spitze der Bewegung gestanden, einen Major-Deal in der Tasche und die Geschicke des Dub in der Hand gehabt. Ein wahrer Veteran und Dub-Aktivist. Seit 1998 veröffentlicht er auf seinem Label „Deep Roots“ zumeist eigene Produktionen, ausschließlich Vinyl im 7“- und 10“-Format. Nun ist Premiere, denn mit „Best Of Deep Root“ (Universal Egg/Cargo) erscheint das erste Album und die erste CD. Der Titel sagt es ja schon: versammelt sind hier die Highlights des Labels, 8 Stück an der Zahl, stets als Vocal-Version gefolgt vom Dub (also 16 Stücke insgesamt). Mich verbindet mit dem Sound von Neil Perch eine echte Hassliebe. Eigentlich will ich 20 Jahre nach dessen Erfindung keinen UK-Stepper mehr hören. Die Synthie-Sounds haben sich verbraucht, der militante Beat hat sich die Füße wund marschiert. Aber! Wenn die Dubs losstürmen, wenn der Bass explodiert und mir die Bassdrum in den Magen schlägt, wenn die intensive Energie des Rhythmus mir Schockwellen durch den Körper jagt und mein Hirn in die Windungen der Echokammer saugt, dann, ja dann bin ich wieder ein großer Fan dieses stolzen, altehrwürdigen Sounds von Mr. Perch!

Kategorien
Dub

Lee Perry: Sipple Out Deh

Jeder wahre Reggae-Fan hat in seiner Plattensammlung eine kleine (oder auch große) Extra-Abteilung, die dem Werk Lee Perrys gewidmet ist. Dort befinden sich die schnell hüpfenden Upsetter-Aufnahmen aus den ganz frühen 1970er Jahren. Aber die abgegriffenen Platten stammen alle aus der Zeit zwischen 1974 und 1978, also aus jener Zeit, in der Lee Perry in seinem Black Ark-Studio hauste und dort die verrücktesten und zugleich mystischsten Sounds kreierte, die bis dahin im Reggae zu hören waren. Dabei hat der Meister auch viel Mist produziert, der bis heute immer wieder als „obskure, unveröffentlichte Kult-Aufnahmen“ vermarktet wird. Aber er hat auch (und vor allem) fantastische Meisterwerke geschaffen, die er zum Teil an Island-Rekords und zum anderen Teil an Trojan lizensierte. Letztere sind nun auf der Doppel-CD Lee “Scratch” Perry & Friends „Sipple Out Deh – The Black Ark Years“ (Trojan/Sanctuary) erschienen – insgesamt 44 Stücke, schön chronologisch geordnet. Natürlich kennt man sie alle und hat sie, verteilt auf verschiedene Tonträger, auch schon in der Sammlung. Aber trotzdem ist es ein erhebendes Erlebnis, sie so konzentriert wieder zu hören und dabei dem Meister durch die Jahres seines Schaffens zu folgen, die Veränderung seines Stils wahrzunehmen und die Verdichtung seines Sounds, bis hin zu einem undurchdringlichen Klangdschungel, beizuwohnen. Faszinierend ist vor allem, dass Perrys Aufnahmen auch fast 40 Jahre nach ihrer Entstehung die Hörer immer noch in ihren Bann zu ziehen vermögen. Was ist es, das diese Musik zu zeitlos sein lässt? Vielleicht ist es die Tatsache, dass Perry wenig am kommerziellen Erfolg interessiert war und daher unabhängig von Marktgesetzen einfach echte Kunst kreiert hat. Vielleicht ist es aber – um etwas rationaler zu argumentieren – schlicht Perrys Konzentration auf den Sound gewesen, der seine Musik heute zu zeitgemäß erscheinen lässt. Während seine Konkurrenten richtige Hit-Songs produzierten, vergrub sich Perry immer tiefer in die Sound-Welt seines Black Ark-Studios und schuf dort ein unglaublich komplexes Klanggebilde, das seiner Zeit so weit voraus war, dass es jetzt, 2010, perfekt auf unsere heutigen, „soundorientierten“ Hörgewohnheiten passt. Aber wie dem auch sei, das Durchhören der Doppel-CD ist nicht nur schlicht und ergreifend schön, sondern es befeuert auch die Hochachtung und Wertschätzung von Perrys Genie. Leider ist es viel zu früh verglüht.

Kategorien
Reggae

Gappy Ranks: Put The Stereo On

Normalerweise höre ich ein neues Album zwei, drei mal und dann wirbt schon neues Material um meine Aufmerksamkeit. Doch das neue Album von Gappy Ranks, „Put The Stereo On“ (Greensleeves/Groove Attack) stellt diese Praxis auf den Kopf. Ich habe es jetzt bestimmt 10 bis 20 mal durchgehört, während neue CDs eingeschweißt auf meinem Schreibtisch liegen bleiben. Was für ein schönes Album! Produziert von den Peckings-Brüdern Chris und Duke Price, die auch für Bitty McLeans „On Bond Street“ verantwortlich zeichneten. Während sie für McLean ausschließlich auf alte Original-Treasure-Isle-Rhythms zurückgriffen (das dürfen sie aufgrund uralter Lizenzabkommen zwischen Duke Reid, Coxsone Dodd und Vater Price), kommen bei Gappy Ranks überwiegend Studio One-Produktionen zum Einsatz – und wir können einmal mehr feststellen, dass immer noch funktioniert, was Coxsone sein leben lang praktiziert hat, nämlich seine Aufnahmen aus den 1960er und 70er Jahren zu recyceln und damit stets neue Hits zu produzieren. Vielleicht ist es die Großartigkeit dieser Musik, von der die Sänger immer wieder zu schönen Songs inspiriert werden. Mr. Ranks macht da jedenfalls keine Ausnahme und bietet uns (vor allem in der ersten Albumhälfte) ein paar grandiose Retro-Songs, bei denen man sich unweigerlich in die goldenen Zeiten des Reggae zurück versetzt fühlt (und sich insgeheim dafür schämt, dass man – wie all die Rock-Altherren – immer noch auf die Musik der eigenen Jugend abfährt). Ich kann das Album gar nicht hoch genug loben. Nach meinem Geschmack ist es sogar noch viel besser als das in den Himmel gelobte McLean-Album „On Bond Street“, das mir – ehrlich gesagt – etwas zu schnulzig war. Aber da wir uns hier in England befinden, dürfen auch bei Gappy Ranks ein paar Lovers-Rock-Songs nicht fehlen – und wie das Presseinfo mitteilt, war der Oberschnulz-Song „Heaven In Her Eyes“ 13 Wochen lang die Nummer eins der britischen Reggae-Charts. Aber wenn das der Preis ist, der für den Genuss des restlichen Albums zu zahlen ist, dann zahle ich ihn mit Vergnügen.