Categories
Review

JonQuan & Associates

Who is JonQuan? I had never heard of him, and then the man bangs out this album: "JonQuan & Associates" (Easy Star) – one of the most beautiful reggae and Dub-Albums of the entire corona pandemic.

JonQuan's love of Jamaican music began with collecting records. Then he went from a collector to a DJ and then even a musician and composer. His new album came into being during the lockdown, as he explains: "I was inspired by the pandemic to create my own riddims to kill boredom and heal the ailments of being locked in rather than on a stage to be able to stand. Once I got into the studio and could unleash my creative energy, it became easier for me to deal with the crap.” Once JonQuan had the riddims for an album ready, he would enlist musicians and singers from and beyond reggae to help complete the album . Victor Rice ended up mixing the tracks at his studio in São Paulo, Brazil - which brings us to the point, because we're mostly interested in those here Dub-Versions - and these were of course created by Victor Rice. Actually I think that a good one Dub by no means needs a vocal original. There is ample evidence for this thesis. But with this album it has to be said that the songs that make up the first half of the album are just terrific. A pure Dub-Album would only be worth half as much. The songs bring the wonderful atmosphere of classic rocksteady and early reggae to life again. Here you indulge in the most beautiful soulful reggae vibes. This intense atmosphere occurs in the Dub-Versions naturally somewhat in the background. Instead, the rich, analogue, even "breathing" sound of the productions comes into its own. The authentic sound of real instruments is refreshing and the artistry of the musicians is impressive. It's only logical that Mr. Rice's mix is ​​kept absolutely classic. Tubby & Co would have sounded similar. JonQuan and Victor Rice don't just stick to the imitative reproduction of old riddims and sounds. They may stand on the shoulders of the great reggae artists and musicians of decades past, but there, at great (qualitative) heights, they develop completely new and unheard songs and compositions.

Rating: 4.5 out of 5.

4 responses to “JonQuan & Associates”

Unfortunately, the vinyl album will be released without them Dub-versions. But: better digital than not at all.

If only I could be such a balanced person with such a sunny disposition.
“Better digital than not at all”
I try to formulate it diplomatically, politically correct. I think it's a pity that they didn't make a perfect double album out of this beautiful, powerful album.
Maybe the cover could have been made a bit more spectacular, but I actually think it's ok. When I think of the "jazz pianist" I don't think of reggae at all, but as is so often the case in life, it's the "still waters"
which are the deepest. I'm very pleased that the review for the album came across so well here, because my first impression of this very nice album was clearly confirmed here.
Come on now, give lemmi and all the other fans a complete double album ;-) Then you can also play DJ again and after the vocal version you can go straight to the Dubhang up version. Really nice in showcase style !!!
However, you then need two turntables or you think up cool “sayings” or announcements like JAH Shaka when changing the disc.
A very good album but I'll tell the sellers straight away. I only buy the album in its entirety or I stream it in its entirety. Only the vocal disc just reminds me again of our human imperfections.

So long …………… .. lemmi

Post a comment

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Kategorien
Review

JonQuan & Associates

Wer ist JonQuan? Ich hatte noch nie von ihm gehört, und dann haut der Mann dieses Album raus: „JonQuan & Associates“ (Easy Star) – eines der schönsten Reggae- und Dub-Alben der gesamten Corona-Pandemie.

JonQuans Liebe zur Musik Jamaikas begann mit dem Sammeln von Schallplatten. Dann wurde er vom Sammler zum DJ und dann sogar zum Musiker und Komponist. Sein neues Album entstand während des Lockdowns, wie er erklärt: „Ich wurde durch die Pandemie dazu inspiriert, meine eigenen Riddims zu kreieren, um die Langeweile zu killen und die Leiden zu heilen, die damit verbunden sind, eingesperrt zu sein statt auf einer Bühne stehen zu können. Als ich endlich ins Studio kam und meine kreative Energie freisetzen konnte, wurde es für mich einfacher, mit dem Mist umzugehen.“ Sobald JonQuan die Riddims für ein Albums fertig hatte, engagierte er Musiker und Sänger aus und jenseits des Reggae, um das Album fertigzustellen. Victor Rice mischte die Tracks schließlich in seinem Studio in São Paulo, Brasilien – womit wir nun langsam zum Thema kommen, denn uns interessieren hier vor allem die Dub-Versions – und diese wurden natürlich von Victor Rice geschaffen. Eigentlich bin ich der Meinung, dass ein guter Dub keineswegs ein Vocal-Original braucht. Belege für diese These gibt es zuhauf. Aber bei diesem Album muss erwähnt werden, dass die Songs, die die erste Hälfte des Albums ausmachen, einfach grandios sind. Ein reines Dub-Album wäre nur halb so viel wert. Die Songs lassen die wunderschöne Atmosphäre klassischen Rocksteadys und Early Reggaes wieder lebendig werden. Hier schwelgt man in schönsten soulful Reggae-Vibes. Diese intensive Atmosphäre tritt bei den Dub-Versions naturgemäß etwas in den Hintergrund. Dafür kommt der reiche, analoge, ja „atmende“ Sound der Produktionen voll zum tragen. Der authentische Klang echter Instrumente ist erfrischend und die Kunst der Musiker beeindruckend. Logisch, dass auch der Mix von Mr. Rice absolut klassisch gehalten ist. Tubby & Co hätten ähnlich geklungen. Dabei verharren JonQuan und Victor Rice keineswegs im epigonenhaften Reproduzieren alter Riddims und Sounds. Sie stehen zwar auf den Schultern der großen Reggae-Artists und -Musiker vergangener Jahrzehnte, aber dort, in großer (qualitativer) Höhe, entwickeln sie vollständig neue und ungehörte Songs und Kompositionen.

Bewertung: 4.5 von 5.

4 Antworten auf „JonQuan & Associates“

Könnte ich doch auch nur so ein ausgeglichener Mensch mit einem so sonnigen Gemüt sein.
„Besser Digital als gar nicht“
Ich versuche es diplomatisch, politisch korrekt zu formulieren. Ich finde es schade, das man aus diesem schönen kraftvollen Album kein perfektes DoppelAlbum gemacht hat.
Vielleicht hätte man das Cover dafür noch etwas spektakulärer gestalten können aber ich finde es eigentlich auch so ganz ok. Ich denke bei dem „JazzPianisten“ zwar überhaupt nicht an Reggae aber wie das so oft im Leben ist, sind es die „stillen Wasser“,
die am tiefsten sind. Ich bin sehr erfreut, das die Rezension für das Album hier auch so gut rüberkommt, denn mein erster Eindruck von diesem sehr schönen Album wurde hier ganz klar bestätigt.
Jetzt kommt schon, gebt dem lemmi und allen anderen Fans ein komplettes DoppelAlbum ;-) Dann kann man auch wieder schön einen auf DJ machen und sich nach der VocalVersion gleich die DubVersion auflegen. So richtig schön im Showcase Style !!!
Allerdings braucht man dann zwei Plattenspieler oder man denkt sich beim wechseln der Scheibe so coole „Sprüche“ bzw. Ansagen wie JAH Shaka aus.
Ein sehr gutes Album aber ich sags den Verkäufern gleich. Ich kaufe das Album nur komplett oder ich streame es komplett. Nur die VocalScheibe erinnert mich wieder nur an unsere menschlichen Unzulänglichkeiten.

So long …………….. lemmi

Kommentar verfassen

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.