Categories
Review

Roots organization: Stricktly Recreational

I've said it so often: “Instrumental reggae is a gigantic, supranational, omnipresent over-hype!” Honestly! Here we have another perfect example of that: "Stricktly Recreational" from the Roots Organization. And again, this wind-driven, brilliant work comes from the Alps - like the last "Winds of Matterhorn". But unlike the winds, the root organization is located more in the sound spectrum of jazz - whatever sounds a bit like Ska, although the EP is free of corresponding rhythms. As a producer, aDUBta responsible. He recorded the nine-member band live in the stress studio in Graz - which helps to explain the sound. Since I play brass in reggae and especially in Dub I like the EP very much and can also do a lot with their solos. The sound is airy, the arrangements extremely varied and the tempo lively. The mix even conveys a little discreetly from time to time Dub-Appeal. Nice.

Rating: 4 out of 5.

3 replies to "Roots Organization: Stricktly Recreational"

Fine album with beautiful brass sections, if you could have made the mix a little more differentiated (not all instruments have to have the same volume) and bass-heavy (kick drum) - because of the stress studio (brilliant attempt at explanation, René).

I am glad that our music has returned to craftsmanship in recent years - that's my impression. More of it, pa-lease !!!

Thank you for the nice review!!! Little info: In July 2022 we will release our first album "A Tale Of Skanking Horns" (also vinyl!!!) There are already a few singles online so have a listen!!! Greetz outa Graz!!! Root's organization

Hello EveryOne!

I remember (ok, I have to admit that I read it again) that the "Winds Of Matterhorn" did not cast a spell over me because of the many fans. And when I read this review here, I thought I could save myself a "listen", as it is announced here again that a good fan. But then I'm not always so confused and so I treated myself to the EP - in parts. I don't know if the blower won't get too much for me in the long run, but my overall impression of this EP is rather relaxed. Ok, with “Fuen Fare” there is already a mighty “marching band” but so far I have the impression that I like the melodies as a whole as well as in the solos. And the rhythm carpet is - for my taste - quite artfully and above all "groovy" woven. However, from about the middle of the tune, the saxophone is already at my pain limit again. All other winds play in "my frequency range" and let me endure this tune quite well.
Really cool DubI get that feeling with “Wicked Dub“(Where else ;-)) Here the wind instruments appear rather as small snippets and the Ryhthmus carpet has, from my point of view, a maximum of magic, as the instruments and their players have achieved it, a genuinely mystical unity To create sound and rhythmic atmosphere.
Perhaps you will understand me better if I try to describe it very concretely - to the second. In the “Wicked Dub“From minute 2:36 a change of tuning happens, which for me, as so often in the Dubthat really brings magic to a boil. Then the "squeaking" of the saxophone comes to an end and makes room for space and time, so that the already ingenious BassLine can concentrate even more on the essentials. For this purpose, almost mystical piano snippets are played and with very spherical guitar chords, on the upper edge of the "Dubmosphere "for a truly mind-expanding listening experience with a" subtle "but very substantial"DubAppeal "increased.
In “Strictly Recreational”, the flute in particular shows once again how great it goes with our favorite music. Flute players have also managed to annoy me a lot, but luckily that rarely happens and it suits me very well here. The other instruments - such as trumpet and trombone (?) - are also allowed to play sovereign and skilful solos, which are not disturbed by a hyperactive soloist who absolutely wants to prove his virtuosity. The BassLine also grooves excellently here and thus creates the foundation for good music or music. Dubfeeling
The trumpet just appeals to me more than the saxophone and with "gtown choon" it occasionally creates images in my head that also remind me a lot of Clint Eastwood riding into his next adventure with a poncho and glowing stick in the corner of his mouth.
All in all, the solos on this EP don't come across as overloaded or over-ambitious and that in connection with the sometimes even magical riddims tempts me to say, I like the EP ;-)!

Otherwise I'll say “Sembela Eno” without knowing what that means. But René, you probably know exactly what I mean. Anyway, I'm in love with the tune and the leading actress ;-) …… .. Shoo bee doo bee doo….

How long …………………. lemmi

Post a comment

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Kategorien
Review

Roots Organisation: Stricktly Recreational

Ich habe es ja schon so oft gesagt: „Instrumentaler Reggae ist ein gigantischer, supranationaler, omnipräsenter Über-Hype!“ Ehrlich! Hier haben wir wieder ein perfektes Beispiel dafür: „Stricktly Recreational“ von der Roots Organisation. Und wieder kommt dieses Bläser-getriebene, fulminante Werk aus den Alpen – wie zuletzt die „Winds of Matterhorn“. Doch anders als die Winde, verortet sich die Wurzel-Organisation mehr im Klangspektrum des Jazz – was immer auch einwenig nach Ska klingt, obwohl die EP frei ist von entsprechenden Rhythmen. Als Produzent zeichnet aDUBta verantwortlich. Er nahm die neunköpfige Band im Grazer Stressstudio live auf – was hilft, den Sound zu erklären. Da ich Blechbläser im Reggae und insbesondere auch im Dub sehr mag und auch viel mit deren Soli anfangen kann, gefällt mir die EP ausnehmend gut. Der Sound ist luftig, die Arrangements äußerst abwechslungsreich und das Tempo beschwingt. Der Mix vermittelt sogar gelegentlich dezent ein wenig Dub-Appeal. Nice.

Bewertung: 4 von 5.

2 Antworten auf „Roots Organisation: Stricktly Recreational“

Feines Album mir schönen Bläsersätzen, wenn man auch den Mix etwas differenzierter (es müsse nicht alle Instrumente die gefühlt gleiche Lautstärke haben) und basslastiger (Kick-Drum) hätte gestalten können – von wegen Stressstudio (genialer Erklärungsversuch, René).

Ich bin froh, dass sich unsere Musik in den letzten Jahren wieder auf handwerkliches Können zurück besinnt – so mein Eindruck. Mehr davon, pa-lease!!!

Hello EveryOne !

Ich erinnere mich ( ok, zugegeben ich habe auch nochmal nachgelesen ), das mich die „Winds Of Matterhorn“ wegen dem vielen Gebläse nicht so in ihren Bann gezogen haben. Und als ich diese Rezension hier gelesen habe, dachte ich mir, ich könnte mir ein „Reinhören“ sparen, da hier ja wieder ordentliches Gebläse angekündigt wird. Aber ganz so vereingenommen bin ich ja dann doch nicht immer und so habe ich mir die EP – in Teilen – gegönnt. Ich weiß nicht, ob mir das Gebläse auf Dauer nicht doch noch zu sehr zusetzt aber mein Gesamteindruck von dieser EP ist doch eher ziemlich entspannt. Ok, bei „Fuen Fare“ ist schon eine mächtige „Blaskapelle“ dabei aber bisher habe ich den Eindruck, das mir die Melodien sowohl im Ganzen als auch in den Soli ganz gut behagen. Und der Rhythmusteppich ist – für meinen Geschmack – durchaus kunstvoll und vor allem „groovig“ gewoben. Allerdings ist mir das Saxophon ab etwa der Mitte des Tunes doch schon wieder arg an meiner Schmerzgrenze. Alle anderen Bläser spielen in „meinem Frequenzbereich“ und lassen mich diesen Tune ganz gut ertragen.
Richtig geiles DubFeeling bekomme ich bei „Wicked Dub“ ( wo auch sonst ;-) ) Hier treten die Bläser eher als kleine Schnipsel in Erscheinung und der Ryhthmusteppich verfügt, aus meiner Sicht, über ein Höchstmaß an Magie, da die Instrumente bzw. deren Spieler es vollbracht haben, eine echt mystische Einheit aus Klang und rhythmischer Atmosphäre zu schaffen.
Vielleicht versteht man mich besser, wenn ich das mal ganz konkret – auf die Sekunde genau – versuche zu beschreiben. Im „Wicked Dub“ passiert ab Minute 2:36 ein Stimmingswechsel, der für mich, wie so oft im Dub, die Magie erst richtig zum Kochen bringt. Da geht das „Gequäke“ vom Saxophon zuende und macht Platz für Raum und Zeit, so das sich die ohnehin schon geniale BassLine nochmal mehr auf das Wesentliche konzentrieren kann. Dazu werden dann geradezu mystische Klavierschnipsel eingespielt und mit sehr sphärischen GuitarrenAkkorden, am oberen Rand der „Dubmospäre“ zu einem wahrhaft bewusstseinserweiternden Hörerlebnis mit einem „dezenten“ aber sehr gehaltvollen „Dub-Appeal“ gesteigert.
Bei „Strictly Recreational“ zeigt vor allem mal wieder die Querflöte, wie toll sie doch zu unserer Lieblingsmusik passt. Auch QuerflötenSpieler haben es schon geschafft, mich massiv zu nerven aber das passiert zum Glück wirklich selten und hier passt es mir sehr gut. Auch die anderen Instrumente – wie Trompete und Posaune (?) – dürfen hier souveräne und gekonnte Soli spielen, die nicht durch einen hyperaktiven Solisten, der unbedingt seine Virtuosität unter Beweis stellen will, gestört werden. Die BassLine grooved auch hier ganz hervorragend und schafft damit das Fundament für ein gutes Musik-bzw. DubFeeling.
Die Trompete sagt mir einfach mehr zu, als das Saxophon und bei „gtown choon“ erzeugt sie gelegentlich Bilder in meinem Kopf, die mich auch sehr an Clint Eastwood erinnern, wie er mit Poncho und Glimmstängel im Mundwinkel in sein nächstes Abenteuer reitet.
Insgesamt kommen mir die Soli bei dieser EP nicht so überfrachtet bzw. überkandidelt rüber und das in Verbindung mit den teilweise sogar magischen Riddims, verleitet mich durchaus zu sagen, die EP gefällt mir ;-) !

Ansonsten sag ich mal „Sembela Eno“ ohne zu wissen, was das heißt. Aber René, du weißt bestimmt genau, was ich meine. Ich bin jedenfalls verliebt in den Tune und in die Hauptdarstellerin ;-) …….. Shoo bee doo bee doo ….

So long …………………. lemmi

Kommentar verfassen

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.