Categories
Review Second opinion

Sly & Robbie: Dub Serge

“Huh?”, I thought at first, “they recorded a 1: 1 remake of“ Aux Armes, etc ... ”, Serge Gainsbourg's all-time best seller? The album that you originally recorded in 1979? Are the two older gentlemen Sly Dunbar and Robbie Shakespeare totally crazy now? ”Well, it's true: "Dub Serge" (Tabou1) by Sly & Robbie is actually an exact remake of the 1979 original. Even the entire band (besides Sly & Robbie) is the same as it was 41 years ago: Mikey Chung, Dougie Bryan, Robby Lyn and Sticky Thompson - only Ansel Collins is missing. Insane! But the story behind it puts the work in the right light. The remake was recorded back in 2011, when Tabou1 label boss Guillaume Bougard was in the studio with Sly, Robbie and the band, all recordings for a funk album had been recorded and there was still an unused studio day available. They decided to use the remaining day for the remake of the legendary Serge Gainsbourg album: Just like that, for fun and without ambitions. In fact, the rhythm twins and their co-workers got the entire album up and running in just six hours. What an achievement! The recordings went to the archive. Bougard only remembered her when Universal Records asked him for a Sly & Robbie interview that was to be filmed for a Serge Gainsbourg documentary on the occasion of the fortieth anniversary of "Aux Armes etc ...". "Why not earn some money on the anniversary," thought Bougard. After all, Sly & Robbie only received $ 1979 each for the recordings of the bestseller in 250, and not another cent in royalties. Incredible, but that's how it was back then in Jamaica. So Bougard pulled out the 2011 recordings dubpracticed it in no time (probably to keep up with the original recording speed) on an old PC and released it into the world. This is what it looks like folks: How can you give a negative review of an album with such a genesis? I don't have the heart to do it - and to be honest, it's not that bad.

Also read the review from my colleague gtkriz

Rating: 3 out of 5.

One reply to "Sly & Robbie: Dub Serge"

Recorded in just 6 hours and run on a PC in next to no timedubbt? Of course that explains a lot :)

1979 ... S&R were just studio musicians who did their part (even if it's awesome ... but other studio musicians sometimes just as much contribute to the production and are not in the credits, i.e. they don't get any royalties). You should also consider what you got for your dollar in 1979, especially in Jamaica ... where the US $ has always had the upper hand versus the YES $.
On the other hand, I still have a 1 YES $ note from one of my first trips to the island. It hasn't been around for a very, very long time… and such a note must have been worth something (otherwise it would have been a coin). I'll have the bill framed :)

Just sayin '- food for thought.

Post a comment

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Kategorien
2. Meinung Dub

Sly & Robbie: Dub Serge

„Hä?“, dachte ich zuerst, „die haben ein 1:1-Remake von „Aux Armes, etc …“ eingespielt, Serge Gainsbourgs All-Time-Best-Seller? Dem Album, das sie ursprünglich 1979 aufgenommen hatten? Spinnen die beiden älteren Herren Sly Dunbar und Robbie Shakespeare jetzt total?“ Tja, es stimmt: „Dub Serge“ (Tabou1) von Sly & Robbie ist tatsächlich ein exaktes Remake des 1979er Originals. Selbst die komplette Band (neben Sly & Robbie) ist dieselbe, wie vor 41 Jahren: Mikey Chung, Dougie Bryan, Robby Lyn und Sticky Thompson – nur Ansel Collins fehlt. Verrückt! Aber die Geschichte dahinter rückt das Werk ins rechte Licht. Das Remake wurde bereits 2011 aufgenommen, als sich Tabou1-Label Chef Guillaume Bougard mit Sly, Robbie und der Band im Studio befand, alle Aufnahmen für ein Funk-Album eingespielt waren und noch ein ungenutzter Studiotag zur Verfügung stand. Sie beschlossen, den verbleibenden Tag für das Remake des legendären Serge Gainsbourg-Albums zu nutzen: Nur so, aus Spaß und ohne Ambitionen. Tatsächlich haben die Rhythm-Twins und ihre Co-Worker das komplette Album innerhalb von nur sechs Stunden im Kasten gehabt. Was für eine Leistung! Die Aufnahmen wanderten ins Archiv. Bougard erinnerte sich ihrer erst wieder, als Universal-Records ihn für ein Sly&Robbie-Interview anfragte, das für eine Serge Gainsbourg-Doku gefilmt werden sollte, zum Anlass des vierzigjährigen Jubiläums von „Aux Armes etc …“. „Warum nicht am Jubiläum mitverdienen“, dachte sich Bougard. Immerhin hatten Sly & Robbie 1979 für die Aufnahmen des Bestsellers nur je 250 Dollar erhalten, und keinen weiteren Cent an Tantiemen. Unglaublich, aber so war das damals in Jamaika. Also kramte Bougard die 2011er Aufnahmen hervor, dubbte sie in Windeseile (wahrscheinlich um dem ursprünglichen Aufnahmetempo gerecht zu werden) auf einem alten PC und entließ sie in die Welt. So sieht’s aus Leute: Wie kann man ein Album mit solch einer Entstehungsgeschichte negativ rezensieren? Ich bringe es nicht übers Herz – und ehrlich gesagt: Es ist gar nicht so schlecht.

Lest auch die Rezension meines Kollegen gtkriz

Bewertung: 3 von 5.

1 Anwort auf „Sly & Robbie: Dub Serge“

In nur 6 Stunden eingespielt und in Windeseile auf einem PC gedubbt? Das erklärt natürlich einiges :)

1979… S&R waren halt Studiomusiker, die ihren Part abgeliefert haben (auch wenn der genial ist… andere Studiomusiker tragen aber mitunter ebenso wesentlich zur Produktion bei und sind nicht in den Credits, sprich kriegen keine Tantiemen). Man sollte auch bedenken, was man für seinen Dollar 1979 bekommen hat, insbesondere in Jamaica… wo der US-$ im Gegensatz zum JA-$ immer die Oberhand hatte.
Andererseits habe ich noch immer einen 1-JA-$-Schein von einem meiner ersten Trips auf die Insel. Den gibt’s ja schon sehr, sehr lange nicht mehr… und so ein Schein muss schon was wert gewesen sein (sonst wär’s ja eine Münze gewesen). Den Schein lass ich mir mal einrahmen :)

Just sayin’ – food for thought.

Kommentar verfassen

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.