Categories
Review

The Ullulators: Dub Royale - Chapter One

The Ullulators are a band from Bath (GB) that have existed since the late 1980s. Actually, they are an indie rock band with a penchant for reggae that has achieved cult status over the years. The liaison of punk but also indie rock with reggae /Dub goes back to the early 80s when bands like z. B. The Clash released their epoch-making triple album "Sandinista" in collaboration with Mikey Dread. Almost a year ago The Ullulators "Dub Royale Chapter One"(The Ullulators self-released), on which they" screwed "over two years and put a lot of work into it. The head of the band, Gavin Griffiths, had the intention to create an album for this project that would capture the mood and the sound of the 70s-80s rootsDub-Reggae embodies. The present 16 tracks offer a broad musical spectrum ranging from rootsDub until world music has all the ingredients. All recordings were mixed and mastered by Gavin Griffiths. As far as possible, Griffiths used analog studio technology and classic equipment. I think the work and the effort were worth it, because it is a nice potpourri of different styles of music - always under the aspect Dub - got together. In the end product, you can easily hear that the musical source material of the Ullulators was much more rock than is usually the case. Overall, we're getting the development of an iconic indie band in here Dub-Riddim reveals, and if we are to believe Mr. Griffiths, that's just "the first prank and the second will follow immediately."

Rating: 4 out of 5.

7 replies to "The Ullulators: Dub Royale - Chapter One "

Yeah man !!!

I'm running out of time again, but I had to briefly check that out. Already the first one Dub really makes you want more. There will dubtechnically not really messed up but pocked out. Sound-wise almost reminiscent of Dry And Heavy, die
familiar with the DubTechniques are also not used sparingly or have been used. So I just skipped quickly so far
but if I were in the store now, I would have already packed the disc and would be really looking forward to being home. Really BOLD !!!
I would already give 5 stars deluxe. No matter if indie or punk, their love for reggae has always been very sympathetic to me. And here at the Dub- "Disk" they show that their love is real. I'm excited. Thank you Ras Vorbei !!!
Gollom would say ... my jjjjjjjjschatz !!!

Must go home ... weekend !!! …………………………… .lemmi

Dear René, congratulations! If someone is into reggae & DUB knows, then you are the luminary! Thanks for so much inspiration and knowledge-sharing, please never stop!
Do you agree when I give your "praise" of the Dub in DREADheadz, the Dub& Reggae show at http://www.querfunk.de on March 17.3th quote, (22:00 - 24:00) via livestream worldwide? Kind regards from Karlsruhe: tomcat & Jah Kito

Great album. Another thing I would do without it Dubblog would probably never have found.
The very first tune combines almost everything I like about the genre.
It's just a shame that it is not available at Tidal.

High rop up !!!

We need to talk …….

The same thing happened to me. The first tune /Dub has almost everything a good one Dub need. What does almost mean, for me it is Dub Perfect.
But that's not the point now. Keyword Tidal! I looked in there and they write something about two different ones
Tariffs. The “cheap version” costs just as much (or little?) As the Spotify version. The correct version should cost twice as much. My question now is whether I am being fooled on Spotify all the time and just listening to an illusion of good sound. Or is Spotify just fairer and not kidding music lovers with an overpriced deluxe version, which in my opinion should be standard. I want reggae deluxe and Dub Deluxe or I need maximum sound.

Even if my question is off-topic again, it is aimed at everyone who reads here and I would be very grateful if someone here could prescribe reassurance in the form of non-alternative facts.

By and large, I still can't cope with paying money for something that I don't have the slightest control over. In other words, I don't like the fact that I actually only borrow data and cannot reliably store it for myself in the least. I go into total dependency and "sell" my soul in the process.

I know you don't think it's all that bad, but I get a loo in my throat from it.

But if you want to call Spotify and the like (in this case, I mean that negatively), you can only get into one
infinite loop that irritates the mind of a completely normal citizen to the extreme.

Yes sorry, it was that time again …………………… .. lemmi

oh the streaming services ... on the one hand there are free months everywhere that you can celebrate first. At first, that doesn't matter. My problem is rather that I hardly get the time to listen to all the free releases ...
As far as quality is concerned, you can choose four levels in the Tidal program. the smallest “standard” corresponds roughly to what you get from YouTube in the best case, the next corresponds to Spotify, Lossless corresponds to CD and Master (hardly ever available in our genre) should be even better.

I'll be honest: as much as I'd like to hear a difference, from the second level (around 300kbit / s) everything sounds the same to me.

Much more relevant is that often no good version of the old stuff is available digitally. But they all have that problem, and I already know that from CDs.

Thank you ropp up!

I honestly don't hear any difference here at work either. A lot of background noises require a volume that ultimately makes enough oomph and the little subtleties in music and sound are not that important at work. Only at home in my magic triangle do I find the sound somehow too "sappy" when it comes out of the computer. Schlonzig may be ok for risotto, but risotto is not one of the things I like or eat at all. It's a bit like chocolate. In the past, I couldn't stop until such a board was completely empty. Since half of “chocolate” has consisted of palm oil dirt, I've been feeling sick after a bar. I recently bought organic chocolate for double the price and I ate two bars of it in a row. And lo and behold, it is without palm fat dirt! So there are four levels and in our genre the best are not even available. Then I won't provide 20 euros a month either. I will probably never understand that, the whole ocean is full of plastic, tomatoes and all vegetables are shrink-wrapped in plastic almost everywhere, and vinyl LPs and CDs
will be abolished first.
But let's be okay, I'll be fine somehow ;-)

"It's a mad world" so "Dub Me Crazy “……… lemmi

Post a comment

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Kategorien
Dub

The Ullulators: Dub Royale – Chapter One

The Ullulators sind eine Band aus Bath (GB), die bereits seit Ende der 1980er existiert. Eigentlich sind sie eine Indie-Rockband mit einem Hang zum Reggae, die es im Laufe der Jahre zu Kultstatus gebracht hat. Die Liaison von Punk aber auch Indie-Rock mit Reggae/Dub reicht schon bis in die Zeit der frühen 80er zurück, als Bands wie z. B. The Clash in Zusammenarbeit mit Mikey Dread ihr epochales Triple-Album “Sandinista” veröffentlichten. Vor knapp einem Jahr haben The UllulatorsDub Royale Chapter One” (The Ullulators self-released) veröffentlicht, an dem sie über zwei Jahre “geschraubt” und jede Menge Arbeit reingesteckt haben. Der Kopf der Band, Gavin Griffiths, hatte die Intention für dieses Projekt ein Album zu kreieren, das die Stimmung und den Sound des 70er-80er Roots-Dub-Reggae verkörpert. Die vorliegenden 16 Tracks bieten ein breites musikalisches Spektrum, das von Roots-Dub bis Worldmusik sämtliche Ingredienzen aufweist. Alle Aufnahmen wurden von Gavin Griffiths gemischt und gemastert. Griffiths hat so weit es ging auf analoge Studiotechnik und klassisches Equipment zurückgegriffen. Ich finde, die Arbeit und der Aufwand haben sich gelohnt, denn es ist ein schönes Potpourri verschiedenster Musikstile – immer unter dem Aspekt Dub – zusammengekommen. Bei dem Endprodukt kann man auf jeden Fall leicht heraushören, dass das musikalische Ausgangsmaterial der Ullulators doch bedeutend rockiger war, als das sonst der Fall ist. Insgesamt gesehen bekommen wir hier die Entwicklung einer kultigen Indie-Band im Dub-Riddim offenbart und wenn wir Mr. Griffiths glauben dürfen, ist das lediglich “der erste Streich und der zweite folgt sogleich”.

Bewertung: 4 von 5.

7 Antworten auf „The Ullulators: Dub Royale – Chapter One“

Yeah Mann !!!

Bin grad mal wieder in Zeitnot aber das musste ich doch noch kurz abchecken. Schon allein der erste Dub macht so richtig Lust auf mehr. Da wird dubtechnisch echt nicht gekleckert sondern geklotzt. Erinnert soundtechnisch schon fast an Dry And Heavy, die
mit den Dubtechniken ebenfalls nicht sparsam umgehen, bzw. umgegangen sind. Also ich habe bis jetzt nur schnell durchgeskippt
aber wäre ich jetzt im Laden, hätte ich die Scheibe schon eingepackt und würde mich voll auf Zuhause freuen. Richtig FETT !!!
Ich würde jetzt schon 5 Sterne Delux vergeben. Egal ob jetzt Indie oder Punk, deren Liebe zu Reggae war mir schon immer sehr symapathisch. Und hier bei der Dub-“Scheibe” zeigen sie, das deren Liebe echt ist. Ich bin begeistert. Danke Ras Vorbei !!!
Gollom würde sagen …… mein jjjjjjjjschatz !!!

Muss nach Hause …… Wochenende !!! …………………………….lemmi

Lieber René, herzlichen Glückwunsch! Wenn sich jemand im Reggae & DUB auskennt, dann bist du die Koryphäe ! Danke für so viel Inspiration und Wissens-Teilung, bitte höre nie auf damit!
Bist du damit einverstanden, wenn ich deinen “Lobpreis” des Dub in DREADheadz, der Dub&Reggae-Sendung beim http://www.querfunk.de am 17.3. zitiere, (22:00 – 24:00) via livestream weltweit? Herzliche Grüße aus Karlsruhe: tomcat & Jah Kito

Tolles Album. Wieder mal so ein Ding was ich ohne den Dubblog wohl niemals gefunden hätte.
Direkt der erste Tune vereint fast alles was ich an dem Genre schätze.
Schade nur dass es nicht bei Tidal verfügbar ist.

High ropp auff !!!

Wir müssen reden …….

Mir geht es genauso. Der erste Tune/Dub hat nahezu alles, was ein guter Dub brauch. Was heisst nahezu, für mich ist der Dub perfekt.
Aber darum geht es jetzt gar nicht. Stichwort Tidal ! Ich hab da mal reingeschaut und die schreiben was von zwei verschiedenen
Tarifen. Die “Billigversion” kostet genauso viel ( oder wenig ? ) wie die Spotify-Version. Die korrekte Version soll das doppelte kosten. Meine Frage ist jetzt, ob ich mich die ganze Zeit bei Spotify verarschen lasse und mir nur eine Illusion von gutem Sound anhöre. Oder ist Spotify einfach nur fairer und verarscht die Musikliebhaber nicht mit einer überteuerten Deluxe-Version, die meiner Meinung nach Standart sein müsste. Ich will Reggae Deluxe und Dub Deluxe bzw. ich brauch Maximum Sound.

Auch wenn meine Frage hier mal wieder off-topic ist, richtet sie sich an alle, die hier lesen und ich wäre sehr dankbar, wenn mir hier jemand mal wieder eine Beruhigung in Form von nicht alternativen Fakten verschreiben könnte.

Ich komme im Großen und Ganzen immer noch nicht damit klar, das ich Geld für etwas bezahlen soll, worüber ich nicht die geringste Kontrolle habe. Mit anderen Worten, ich mag es nicht, das ich mir eigentlich nur Daten leihe und diese nicht im Geringsten für mich zuverlässig bewahren kann. Ich begebe mich in totale Abhängigkeit und “verkaufe” meine Seele dabei.

Ich weiß, ihr findet das alles nicht so schlimm aber ich bekomme davon öfter mal nen Klos im Hals.

Allein, wenn man Spotify und Konsorten ( in diesem Fall meine ich das negativ ) mal anrufen möchte, kommt man maximal in eine
unendliche Dauerschleife, die das Gemüt eines ganz normalen Bürgers auf das Äußerste reizt.

Ja sorry, es war mal wieder so weit …………………….. lemmi

ach die Streaming-Dienste… einerseits gibt es überall Gratis-Monate die man erstmal abfeiern kann. In der Zeit kann einem das erstmal egal sein. Mein Problem ist eher dass ich zeitlich schon kaum dazu komme die ganzen Free Releases anzuhören…
Was die Qualität betrifft kann man bei Tidal im Programm vier Stufen wählen. die kleinste “standard” entspricht etwa dem was man im besten Fall von Youtube bekommt, die nächste entspricht Spotify, Lossless entspricht CD und Master (in unserem Genre kaum mal verfügbar) soll noch besser sein.

Ich will ehrlich sein: so gern ich da einen Unterschied hören würde, ab der zweiten Stufe (also rund 300kbit/s) klingt für mich alles gleich.

Viel relevanter ist dass von den alten Sachen oft keine gute Version digital verfügbar ist. Das Problem haben sie aber alle, und das kenne ich schon von CDs.

Danke ropp auff !

Ich höre ehrlich gesagt hier auf der Arbeit auch keinen Unterschied. Viele Nebengeräusche erfordern eine Lautstärke, die letztenendes genug Wumms macht und die kleinen Feinheiten in der Musik und im Sound sind bei der Arbeit nicht so wichtig. Nur zuhause in meinem magischen Dreieck empfinde ich den Sound irgendwie zu “schlonzig”, wenn er aus dem Computer kommt. Schlonzig mag ja für risotto ganz ok sein aber risotto gehört auch nicht zu den dingen, die ich gern bzw. überhaupt esse. Ist in etwa so, wie mit Schokolade. Früher konnte ich nicht anhalten, bevor so eine Tafel komplett alle war. Seitdem “Schokolade” zur Hälfte aus Palmfettdreck besteht, wird mir nach einem Riegel schlecht. Neulich habe ich mir Ökoschokolade zum doppelten Preis gekauft und davon habe ich gleich zwei Tafeln hintereinader gegessen. Und siehe da, is ohne Palmfettdreck ! Es gibt also vier Stufen und in unserem Genre sind die besten noch nicht mal verfügbar. Dann werde ich auch keine 20 Euro im Monat zur Verfügung stellen. Ich werde das wohl nie begreifen, der ganze Ozean ist voller Plastik, Tomaten und alles Gemüse wird fast überall in Plastik eingschweißt und Vinyl LPs und Cds
werden als erstes abgeschafft.
Aber lasst mal gut sein, ich komme schon irgendwie klar ;-)

“It´s a mad world” also “Dub Me Crazy” ……… lemmi

Kommentar verfassen

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.